Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
First time playing course

1    12/3/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Adownard
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing this course and I really enjoyed it, I am a decent disc golfer and I found this course to be one of the more (if not the most) challenging courses in the area. It has a bit of everything. By that i mean it has holes that are heavily wooded with tight corridors to throw down. Open fields to wing it. Uphill and downhill shots/baskets. Even some water hazards. Since I am playing the course in early December almost all leaves were off the trees, probably making it slightly easier. I recommend any intermediate golfer to give this course a try.
Cons: The course is not easy. Most holes seem fairly long and have challenging obstacles. Beginners should not be discouraged by playing this course poorly, because even experienced golfers should have some difficulty playing this course. Only thing I was a little confused about was that the signs on each of the tees had an A and a B basket location. Reading some reviews would have helped me realize there is only one basket per hole, but they are sometimes in different positions? I am not quite sure still.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sycamore has TEE SIGNS NOW!

5+    9/23/2016   9/23/2016
Review By: Gh0stNappa
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in Dayton!
- New Tee Signs installed
- Next Tee Signs installed (with some hanging from the baskets)
- Short technical shots and Long bomb throws, this course has it all!
- very clean course, grass cut weekly!
- Each hole feels like a separate hole.
- Baskets moved frequently to prevent repetitiveness
Cons: This is definitely a higher level course. But beginners should not stray away from it! It's a great course to play and learn new shots!
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Dayton area!

Beginners should not stray away from this course at all. This was the first course i ever played and I am much better off because of it. Learning on shorter courses will just make this one seem impossible. But starting out on a longer and tougher course will make all others seem EASY! It's a much better feeling!

Its all about how you present your data, longer holes means more practice!! :D

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good course with a little bit of everything.

5+    9/19/2016   9/22/2016
Review By: Gliming5000
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads
Nice variety of holes
New tee signs!
Tough but not impossible
Bathrooms
Practice tee
Cons: Some teepads are short
Very narrow wooded holes
No bridge across the creek (Hole 6-7&8-9)
Difficult to find
Other Thoughts: This course is Tough. There is a wide variety of holes starting off very narrow and wooded and then opening up in the middle just to narrow back down at the end. The wooded holes are very tight. Hole 16 for instance is only about 150 ft downhill, but the fairway is only 10 feet wide and there is a tree in the middle.The flip side of this is that the tight wooded holes are all pretty short. with the exception of 1 in the long positon and 11.

Long story being short, this is a great course to play if you want to get better at throwing through the woods. Just expect every disc you own to be slightly less stable when you leave.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Get some signs!

1    7/7/2016   7/7/2016
Review By: cplatt
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sycamore features varied and interesting hole design on the vast majority of its holes. The woods holes (1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 13, 16) all feature clear, purposeful design, even when the distance is short. Holes 5-10, 15, and 18 are all open, grassy holes. 8, 9 and 15 even feature honest-to-God fairways, demanding both relative power and accuracy. Only a few holes demand (and reward) a powerful drive, chiefly 3, 14, and 18 and, to a lesser extent, 6 and 7. I also appreciated the concrete tee pads and trash receptacles.
Cons: As nearly every review mentions, navigating from hole to hole is difficult. A copy of the course map (which is actually a solid map!) is a must. And yep, about half the holes lack tee box signs. A complete set of signs and clear navigation between holes would raise my rating from a 3.0 to a 3.5, maybe even a 4.0. On a lesser note, Hole 17 seems like an afterthought; it's a short hole with a moderate elevation gain on the edge of the woods near a picnic shelter. It's a bit of a letdown amid so many stronger holes.
Other Thoughts: The technical demands of this course put it alongside Handyman Ace Hardware in Fairborn in my book. But it's so disappointing to see the same negatives aired time and time again reading the years of reviews of this course. I'm not from Miamisburg nor plugged into its discing community, so I don't know where and when the navigation of this course will improve. Work is clearly done on the course, as grass is mowed and the underbrush is bearable, even now in the height of summer foliage. I live in Dayton, and, until improvements are made, I am going to have a hard time justifying a trip here versus Handyman, Belmont, or Englewood.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Building character.. one basket at a time

5+    6/26/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: ForearmGalore
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you to use every shot in your book, and maybe a few you don't have yet. When there hasn't been rain, and the creek is low, this is an incredible course.
-Open space to air it out for long drives
-Tight tunnels with plenty of places for error, BUT, there is a clear path to the basket.
-Some really unique tunnel shots, especially hole 11
-Every hole feels unique, there's no repetition at all
-Good tee pads
-Big park, with a good amount of parking
Cons: -The entrance is in a Terrible spot. You need to approach the entrance heading south. If you take 725 and then try to turn left into the park, you'll need to continue straight a few hundred feet and turn around in a parking lot
-You can loose a disc on every hole. Deep woods, thick tree lines, creek water, this course has it all.
-Bring/Download a map for this one. If you've never been it's hard to find your way to and from a few holes, especially 1 to 2, 7 to 9, and somewhat 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for beginners. But, it's a lot of fun.

TIP: I've found a roller to be the best option on 18, especially from the far tee pad. You've gotta throw about 100 ft., then it drops about 300 feet down a hill. Rollers have gotten me the closest every time. BUT you might have trouble tracking it down since you won't be able to watch it roll.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course is fun, Navigating it is not

1    7/30/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: treee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Some of the tunnel shots are really fun.

-Plenty of open holes for those who like to air it out

-A pretty looking park in general

-Good variance between flat holes and holes with elevation change.

Cons: -Course signage is minimal and flow from hole to hole is not always intuitive. (Going from hole 7 to 8 specifically)

-A lot of the tee signs are missing.

Other Thoughts: If you are playing this course for the first time I highly suggest you go with someone who is already familiar with it. Otherwise a fun design that could maybe use a little TLC.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Most of the course is gorgeous

1    7/31/2015   7/31/2015
Review By: jupiterthunder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of this course looks great. Holes are rather unique compared to other area courses. The holes with open fairways are nice because it allows beginners to sling freely. 18 is a fun open, but blind throw that makes the short player feel superhuman. I almost did this one in two seeing the course for the first time.
Cons: But a lot of the course is the last thing I expected. I've been playing for a month and a half. So when I took to the first four holes, I was caught off guard. 1-4 seem to be designed first for hiking and secondly for disc golf. I don't think anyone wandering onto these holes would expect to find that they are in the middle of a disc golf course. Especially with the stream running through hole one and the uphill climb.

Hole one has some rebar sticking up. It looks to have once held planks in place to create steps up to the basket but those planks seem to be gone. The rebar isn't obvious and could lead to a bad surprise if you don't know it's there. It's risky even when you do because of the ascent.
Other Thoughts: My child slipped and fell walking along four because the grade is rather steep and it is graded perpendicular to the direction of travel so it's not a case where you can shuffle sideways just to be safe.

I will go back when I have more time to spend. I will not be playing the first four holes due to the safety risks, first and the high potential for lost of damaged disk for this beginner.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

2-4    3/16/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes which give you chances to throw/learn different shots. Not overly crowded. Nice concrete tee pads.
Cons: Wooded holes muddy after rain, some of the tee signs could use some upgrades, trash cans don't seem to be emptied regularly. A few holes interact with park goers
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice course. I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner. This course will test your accuracy. Some of the par 3s should be par 4s. Reminds me of Indian Riffle only longer and tougher. I'm definitely putting this course on my playing rotation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety
Challenging course, but still presents ace and birdie opportunities.
Park gets very little traffic
Benches and a bathroom near the practice basket short drive from the mall in a good neighborhood
Cons: Course gets close to the street on several holes
VERY difficult for the average player
Can be easy to lose or find a disc, (Course motto is Sycamore giveth, Sycamore taketh away)
Creek gets very high after heavy rain
Other Thoughts: Sycamore is my personally appointed home course. Being only 15 minutes from my house, I have played this course almost once a month or more since I first began playing. Sycamore is NOT a beginner course, but has several short holes that are birdie or ace opportunities for anyone. Very tight woods, rolling terrain, OB and elevation changes make this course difficult to finish below +10 for an amateur player playing singles. There is something nostalgic about this course that keeps you coming back despite imminent bogeys or worse. This course will make you better no matter what your skill level.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sycamore DGC

1    8/23/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Physcal challenging course. Some recent work has been done here to make this place more challenging. Lots of elevation changes, and a nice varity of shots.
Cons: Some fresh signs by the tee pads would go a long way. Some are missing and others were just wrong.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.