Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 522ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Difficult Start

1    8/7/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts out very poorly, but once you get to 3rd and 4th holes it makes a great comeback. Many long throws that are not open directly to the basket. You will have to play around obstacles throughout the entire course. One of my playing partners lost a disk, but found another one to replace it. Keep your disk on the groomed path and you will have a great time. Venture off the path and good luck on the hunt.
Cons: The underbrush off the fairways can be a little to thick at times. This is the first course I lost a disk on, but also the first course I found a replacement at the same time. The thick bushes and trees like to hold the disk and not allow them to fall to the ground. I am sure my disk will fall to the ground after a strong wind storm and found by the next golfer.

As for the first two holes it was like the course was created and they came up short of 18 holes. So to fix it the first two hole where created quickly and not laid out very well.

Few of the tee boxes have marker posts that are functional. Time needs to be spent to repair the broken or missing marker post. The post that are present where very helpful to guide play.
Other Thoughts: You must have the map to play the course. Play does not flow easy enough and it would make for a long day of hunting for the tee box and basket without a map. Small trash cans on the course and they are full of trash, but trash was very limited on the field of play. This is a good example of how a course can be maintained if the golfers do their part.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A rewarding Course

2-4    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: zac.hancock
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few holes that at a glance appear "impossible" but when you finish these holes you get a sense of accomplishment!
I always like a course that has both wooded and open field holes, this course delivers that.
Lots of blind holes, which I have always thought were fun.
Hole 1-2 can easily break your spirit, but they are my favorite holes on the course.
Cons: HARD to navigate, bring a map or another who knows the course.
Easy to lose discs in some of the wooded holes (and inherently find some discs), however I couldn't find a "Lost and Found."
Some signs were broken.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course only to advanced players. It is not only kind of a "big arm" course, some of the tactical, "thread the needle" shots will be needed to play this course successfully.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Travelerís Challenge

2-4    1/19/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 286  Reviewed: 269  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course OWNS the majority of a park with shelters, playground, bathrooms (in season), and a picturesque reflecting/duck pond, and rolls through and above a couple of woodsy creeks. You'll find Innova Discatcher baskets in good repair (even a practice basket) , and a broad variety of shots, from open field bombs (6, 14, 18), through tunnel shots (11, 16) to nearly impossibly wooded (2), or shots that finish with a tight turn into the woods (3, 15). Elevation comes into play on nearly every hole.

There are some memorable holes here! #1 hooks to the right after crossing the beautiful creek ravine. You'll have a love/hate relationship with hole #2, depending on your skill level. #9 is a long-ish beauty through a clearing, ending in a couple of dastardly basket positions on either side of the ravine. #11 is a long, left-hooking tunnel arched over by the foliage the whole way down the hill. You finish with a blind bomb downhill on 18 back toward the parking lot. This place will stick in your memory.

The infrastructure is decent for a well-traveled (veteran) course: the concrete tees are nicely sized for the distances involved, and the places where you need to cross creeks usually have stone steps, rocks placed across, or a very nice bridge (on 2). There are frequent trash buckets on the tee sign posts, and an occasional fallen tree is used as a bench. The course handles winter melt surprisingly well, so it probably also does well with warm weather moisture.

As a mid-level Rec player, there aren't a whole lot of birdie opportunities, so this course does a fairly good job of separating out the real talent. For example, hole 3 required my arm to place a clean drive around the right-hand bend, then make a clean 100' upshot (with a 40' rise) into a tight tunnel back into the woods, and I was happy to make par (3). I don't have the precision-controlled 340' uphill forehand (I'm RHBH) it would take to set up a birdie. There are a number of holes that require that kind of course management to shoot par here.
Cons: Tee signs are getting to be a little bit dilapidated (many are missing), and 'next tee' indicators are minimal (I saw a brick arrow in the ground once). Bring a map. Course navigation gets a little tricky in spots. For example, you'll walk 50 feet past the bridge to get to the 2nd tee. After hole 10, you need to walk around the 14th tee, and look for a narrow gap in the middle (not the end) of the hedgerow to get to the 11th tee. Then go beyond 11, along the 'barely there' path to 12 (which currently has a massive tree downed in it). After 14, walk past the 18th tee to your right for #15. Finally, you'll see (on your left) that the 16th tee requires a walk back up the 15th fairway.

Not to sound like a whiner, but holes 2 and 15 (in the long position) don't seem to have an intended path to the basket (they're really tight wooded lines, if so).

The first teepad is eroding into the creek, and could be a dangerous fall if you're not careful. The hedgerows can be very unforgiving in the summer, forcing you to make some conservative shots at times (not sure if that's a pro or a con, though). There are multiple pin positions (some not yet marked on the map), so a walk ahead may be required on some holes. It would be really neat if they could incorporate an indication of pin position if/when they upgrade the signage here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for any Intermediate or above who's traveling I-75 and looking for a workout break. It's one mile west of the interstate at OH exit 44, but when you turn left on Heinke Rd, you'll probably have to double back in the bank or Wendy's parking lot because the park entrance is tucked too close to the intersection to safely do an immediate left-and-left. Go to the end of the park drive, and start to the creek side of the 'Nature Center' shelter.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

2-4    11/14/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, well laid out course making good use of terrain features, especially the creeks on 1, 2 and 9. Many holes require planning to make par, such as 15, where an overdrive can land you in a moderately wooded gully. My personal favorite hole was 11 though, which was a relatively tight tunnel shot from the tee, that opens up down hill right to left to the basket. Last, the downhill bomb of 18 to wrap things up was also an enjoyable hole to shoot.
Cons: While the individual holes are well thought out and designed, the course as a hole loses cohesiveness on holes 11-16. Getting to 10 from 11 crosses the tee for 14; going from 14 to 15 crosses the teepad for 18, and getting to 16 crosses the long tee for 18. Last, the path from 11 to 12 could use some widening and reinforcement to reduce erosion as it was a bit narrow to walk down.

On the course itself, while the teepads and baskets are both in good shape, there are several holes with missing and damaged signs. Also, without a map, I don't know that it would be possible to navigate the course easily. Even if you do have a map, bring your land navigation skills.
Other Thoughts: While the biggest improvement that could be made to the course is a partial redesign, focused on improving the flow from holes 11 to 16, some smaller improvements would be welcome. Repairing/replacing tee signs as needed, and adding markers to help folks navigate from hole to hole would also be an outstanding addition here.

Overall, this is a very solid course and well worth the trip(about a 25 minute drive from where I am), but with a little bit of work could be that much better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite Dayton courses

5+    8/6/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: douglowe
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging, without beating you up like another local course I won't mention. There are a lot of elevation and terrain changes that add to the fun. The best advice I can give is to not rush and go with the first shot that comes to mind. Quite a few of these holes take some creativity to shoot well on.
Cons: This course is not easy to navigate. The signs have needed replaced for quite some time now. If you're a newer player and not up for a real challenge, this isn't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Download one of the maps for the course from this site before going for the first time. That's why maps exist. If you can't take the time to investigate a course a little bit before playing it, don't come on here afterwards and complain about how hard it was to find your way around.

This course is in my top 3 in the Dayton area. If you're anywhere in the vicinity I would deflinitely take the time to check Sycamore out. Every hole is unique and has it's own "personality". Don't get discouraged if you don't shoot par, because most non-pro players here don't.

Also, don't jugde the course based on the photos on this site. I've played there numerous times and these photos don't do it justice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Poorly maintained and marked

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: DragonVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lovely park, good location. Friendly and helpful player community.
Cons: Course is poorly maintained and marked. Many of the holes have no markings or layouts, and the holes do not flow from one to the next. You will spend more time looking for the next tee than playing. There is no par rating on any of the holes.

Problem Holes:
Hole 1: Fun, challenging hole, once you figure out where it is. The tee is not marked. The basket is not visible from the tee, or walking down the fairway. My game almost ended before it started. If some helpful players hadn't told me where it was, I never would have found it. The basket is across a creek bed, and up a hill. It is not visible until you climb the hill.

Hole 4: Ridiculous. Fairway is about three feet wide, with a steep, heavily wood hill on the right, for the entire length of the hole. I skipped it, since I didn't want to play "find the disk" for an hour.

Hole 10: The entire right side borders 725. I played the hole, but it made me nervous. I was concerned that I would peg a passing car with my disc.

Hole 11: This is where I quit. I couldn't find the tee. The path from the 10th basket leads you to tee 14. That tee is not even marked. I played through it, only to see a 14 on the basket when I got to the end. I then tried to find the 11th tee to no avail. When I got home, I used the map online to find it. You are supposed to walk past the 14 tee, into more woods, and find it. There are no signs to indicate this. Apparently, you are just supposed to know.

Other Thoughts: I won't be back. The course is not marked and isn't intuitively navigable. You will spend more time looking for tees and baskets than playing the game. This is a shame, because the course has some good holes and great potential, but without basic layouts and maintenance, it isn't playable. If you are considering playing this course, I recommend going with someone that is already familiar with the course. Otherwise, you will regret wasting your time.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Sycamore

5+    7/29/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro calibur coarse, extreme variety, extreme walking required, great 18 holes, open and wooded.
Cons: Really tough, youll find discs and lose them.
Other Thoughts: they just started addding some more trees, Hole 1 basket now sits atop stairs on a cement mound.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 tough and hard to navigate

1    7/21/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Oldmanplayin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 27.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You will need every shot you have for this course and then some. Fairly clean and well maintained. Easy access of I-75. Great place to work on lines. The wooded holes are tough and will make you think,,,twice. There are blind hole and you need to look for the pin before just tossing 'em out there. Great baskets. Practice basket and driving area.
Cons: Your best bet is to find someone who knows the course or follow a group. This is the most difficult course to follow I have ever played. Some of the holes have no rhym or reason as is #1 & #2. Especially 1, it really seemed to be a stupid layout. 2 is actally a shootable hole just difficult. A couple of regulars let me play with them which made it bearable. They scored +8 and +12 and have been playing 15+ years. This course will test your skill which is not a con
Other Thoughts: To me it is dumb to spend all that money on baskets and teepads and not to put up a few 2$ signs directing you to the next tee. It would take a few rounds here to know your way around . If you go by yourself you will spend more time hunting for the tee than playing. The reason I only gave it a 2 is for the next hunt for a tee, very frustrating map or not.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Learned to play here...

5+    2/28/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: TheSkid
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a must play for anyone in Dayton. It has everything a solid disc golf course needs. Open holes on 5,6,10,14 and 18. Nice mix difficulty in the wooded holes as well. 13 has a row of 5 trees directly in the fairway just off the tee. Course is well maintained.
Cons: Lack of signage is a problem for new players. There is an alternate tee on hole one because the first tee is almost washed out. Navigation from the basket of 10 to the tee for 11 does nt flow at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is maintained by a very nice man my friend and I were fortunate enough to meet. He is active in forward development of the course. That being said, the course is always changing. Bring water and maybe even a small snack as it is a hike to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

1    11/24/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 138  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sycamore Hills has a quality collection of open/woods holes. On the technical wooded holes, the fairways are generally quite narrow but thankfully are shorter in length so errant shot recovery is manageable (for example: #4, 12, 13 & 16 are all < 200ft. with only one woods hole - #2 - being over 300ft.) . The more open holes are generally longer (= or > 300ft with none more that 445ft.) but not excessive as to frustrate newer players or too easy for the more experienced player.

The course compels shot variety & has a decent balance of right/left/straight holes. Elevation was incorporated as much as it could be when available. In addition, pin placement consideration was noticeable with some on steep slopes, near water, tree jailed, etc. There is water in play on three holes as well (1, 2 & 9).

My favorite hole was #9 (despite it bordering Rt. 725) - a 420ft, lightly wooded, slightly downhill hole which meets a narrow strip of woods at the end, then introduces a modest ravine divided by a small creek. On the other side is the basket, uphill & placed on very fast, sloping green. A very enjoyable par 3 compound hole.

The most challenging hole is #2 - immediately off the tee is a throw over the creek through thick, technical woods, reverse S curving to a basket elevated on an extremely steep incline. It plays longer than 322ft and is one tough par 3 as roll away putt potential is probable.

The always preferred concrete tee pads were in good shape & the tee signs were sufficient as far as distance and hole layout. There were buckets on some tee signs for trash which, while a little odd and esthetically detracting, accomplished the objective.

Conveniently located off I-75 south of Dayton, it's definitely an easy drive-by play.
Cons: A map is essential for a first time player here. Navigation is sort of a mess and the 'layout by committee' design leaves much to be desired as far as flow is concerned - making the course feel disjointed and fragmented. Add in some long walks between fairways (passing other tees that are closer/seem like the next logical tee) as well as across fairways and these design flaws stick out like a sore thumb - significantly lowering the 'fun factor'.

There were some missing tee signs (vandalism?) but hole #1 having no sign whatsoever was a glaring omission . At the very least, spray paint the tee # on the concrete tee pad.

I liked the idea of 18's downhill bomb to end things but having it be blind is a safety issue.

Tee signs without par was noticeable however I just assumed all were a par 3.
Other Thoughts: This course undoubtedly has its fair share of challenging and enjoyable holes but suffers from some design/flow issues. It honestly feels like a 'tweener' in several ways....newer players may find it somewhat difficult (tight fairways/some longer holes) while the more experienced may find it lacking in some aspects (no real 'wow' factor and a lack of true pro-style holes magnifies the repetitive feel). It also doesn't feel quite mature (quirky layout/inconsistencies/underdeveloped holes) but at times flirts with perfection (holes 1-4 being a really stand-out sequence). It's as if the course hasn't yet found its identity and its potential not quite realized.

I have such ambivalence towards Sycamore Hills that I find it tough to recommend but can't not recommend it (if that contradiction and double negative makes any sense). While it's somewhere between a 3-3.5, this is one of those time where I feel a rounding down is necessary. Hopefully the next time I'm in the area, my schedule will allow another play in anticipation of growth, improvement & development.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center