Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Very Challanging, Very Fun

2-4    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: flyersfan331
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course for pros if you just want to get some practice before a tournement. It's not tournement worthy but very hard. This course is my favorite.
Cons: Great course for cons too beacause it's very hilly and has some long holes. This course is my favorite.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

2-4    6/16/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome holes! Very technical shots and requires some good shot placement! Nice mix of a hike through woods and open fields. Nice practice area for putting. Not a lot of other foot traffic other than disc throwers! Hole #3 is around a blind corner of trees! #11 hole awesome tunnel shot and #17 uphill around big tree! #18 nice finish downhill!
Cons: Hard to navigate with no map if it's your first time, not all holes have signs to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly recommend playing this one, just allow for enough time to find your disc on a few holes! The only advice I could offer is play shorter safety shots the first time you play so you don't lose any discs!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mix of Shots

1    5/29/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course will require a multitude of different shots and would be challenging for almost any level of player.
- No two holes were alike. There were a good mix of wooded holes, water hazards(1,2). and longer holes mixed throughout the course.
- Most of the tees had signs showing you where the hole was and the next tee in relation to that basket.
- A nice practice basket to warm up.
- Locals were nice in helping me find my way around the course.
Cons: - The first two holes are lacking signage. Once I got through those there were only a few other walks between holes that were tricky. (definitely take a picture of the course map before playing).
- #4 had a large downed tree that made navigation difficult.
Other Thoughts: - 1 and 2 are tight wooded holes
- 3 opens up into a field, but then 4 is right back in the woods for a nice challenge.
- Although 5 and 6 are out in the field they have a nice little challenge to them.
- 7 you have to hit a 10 yard opening to come back to the basket. 8 feels a little out of place.
- 9 requires a good tee shot and then back across the creek. 10 is a nice open anyhyzer shot.
- 11 is a cool tunnel hole. 12 and 13 are shorter wooded holes.
- 14 is a shorter version of #7. and #15 is also somewhat of a similar set up with a straight drive then an abrupt dogleg.
- 16 is a very short ace run. 17 is an uphill pretty straight forward hole.
- And then 18 is a long bomb, over a hill, blindshot.

- I love courses that require a good hike. and this course definitely has that feel. Only a few of the holes are in wide open fields otherwise you feel as though you are playing along trails.
- This wildness also seemed to hinder some of the holes as they felt overgrown in areas.
- This course is a good stop for anybody heading through the Dayton area, it was easy to find off the highway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    9/10/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays in a hilly park with a nice mix of open areas and tight woods. Many holes play through tight corridors, with some cool shots into or out of the woods and some open shots mixed in. A couple small creeks come into play adding a little bit of risk/reward without being disc eaters. The rough on most holes is thick enough to really punish you for missing your line.

There is a really good mix of lengths and hole shapes here. There are some ace run holes and some longer shots where you get to pull out a driver, with a nice variety in between. You'll need a good mix of shots to score well here, with a fairly balanced set of left and right turning holes. The baskets and concrete pads are in pretty good shape, and the signs that are in place are helpful with hole layout and distance, as well as direction to the next tee.
Cons: The navigation here is pretty weird, and often hard to follow even with the tee signs pointing the general direction. There are some long walks, you're often closer to a different tee than the one you need to go to next, and a couple walks cross other fairways. I had the course map up on my phone, without that it would have been difficult to find our way around.

The course info says this was designed by committee, and it shows. The course doesn't really have a consistent feel or really seem to be designed as a whole course, it really feels like a bunch of people came up with an idea for a hole and all of those got put together. The course doesn't use the elevation available nearly as well as it could have, which is a little disappointing. The best example of this is the last hole which has the potential to be a cool downhill finishing hole, but the tee was moved back on the top of the hill to make it more difficult. This turns the hole into a blind downhill shot where you don't get to see the flight of the disc, and you're throwing at two parking lots.
Other Thoughts: There are some fun holes here, and enough variety and challenge to make it worth a stop. It's a little disappointing that it feels a little run down with broken signs and trash, and fairways that need a little more clearing, some work could make this a really cool place to work. Beginners might find the challenge level a little high here, with several tight holes and some distance. More experienced players will enjoy several of the holes here, and will need to bring a variety of shots to score well.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of Dayton's best

5+    11/11/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Some shorter throws through narrow woods, some medium throws with a few tree obstacles, and some long open throws. In order to be successful, you will need be able to throw shots that curve to both the right and to the left.

In the event that your throw veers off into the woods, finding your disc isn't usually a problem. The woods are often thickest near the edge, but open up once inside.

For the most part, the signs are in good shape. They indicate the location of the pin relative to the tee, as well as the location of the next tee and the distance.
Cons: A few holes are missing signs.

No indication of par on any of the holes. I suppose everything can be considered to be a par 3, but this assumption is just unfair on a few difficult holes (#2 comes to mind, especially with the new pin placement).

Navigation may be an issue for some. There are many trails here, and in several instances the nearest trail does not lead to the next hole. Consequently, "next tee" signs would be very helpful (they don't exist here). After playing the course a few times, navigation does becomes much easier.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the first 4 holes are the toughest. #1 requires equal amounts of skill and luck to go through the woods, across the creek, and to the pin.

#2 may be the toughest hole on the course. Opening drive back across the creek will most likely strike a tree, forcing a difficult path up a hill through many trees to reach the pin. I've averaged about a 5 on this hole since the pin was moved up the hill, but I'm also pretty terrible.

#3 requires a long straight drive, followed by sharp right turn into an opening in the woods. Very difficult to make par on this hole, especially if your opening drive is inaccurate.

Finally, #4 is a short hyzer shot, where anything less than perfect will result in your disc rolling down a steep hill into heavy woods. It's just as easy to score a 2 or 3 on this hole as it is to score a 9 or 10. More than any other, this hole punishes mistakes.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice And Challenging

1    9/1/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 74  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To start it off i would have to say that this is a very well maintained course. The community takes very good care of it. The nice and very big concrete launch pads are very nice. They are one of the biggest pads that i have ever seen. The best part about it is that they are also concrete. This is pretty challenging course. They challenge you physically but also mentally. The sign at the tee is nice are very useful. They show the distance and where it is located. That makes it very easy to look for the basket. The practice basket is always nice no matter where you are playing. There are trash cans located at almost every hole,. This keeps the course always looking in top notch shape. The discatcher baskets are also always very nice. They are some of the best baskets around. They have a different variety in the holes. Many are very open while many are also very wooded. It is also located in a very nice area. All the people here are very friendly and helpful try to get you where you need to be.
Cons: There are not many cons but the one main one that i have to point out is the layout. Lets just put it this way, if you dont have a map or someone to guide you on your first time playing here, then well your pretty much screwed. They do not have any holes by eachother. Its like a holes basket is right next to a random hole and now where even close to the next tee. It is very hard to get around even with a map of the course. Also the other main thing that i personally didn't like was that they had no pars listed. The par wasn't on the tee sign or even online. If they want this course to become very nice then they will need to come up with some pars. Hole #1's basket is surrounded by trees. There is no way to get to it. It is very frustrating. On hole #4 it is very easy to lose a disc, as it is on a very steep hill. The disc golf course itself is hard to find. I got lost and then had to ask for some directions.
Other Thoughts: Overall Sycamore Trails is a pretty nice disc golf course. Still alot of work to be done if it is going for a pro course, but for now it is fine how it is. I drove an hour and a half to get there and believe me it was worth it. Great course and i will for sure be coming back here soon. Just a hint if you are taking a GPS system and you use the latitude and longitude to get here it is wrong. It brings you into a pools parking lot. So when it tells you to turn go down two blocks and you will enter the park. It took me plenty of time to try and get there. Also bring some bug spray, you will need it. There are insects everywhere. So i'll be back there soon and so should you.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Our home course

5+    8/30/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Love the layout of thos course. But if you dont know where your walking, print out a map. Leave your ego at home, and play a par 3 game. And dont throw anything green, clear, or tiedye. Just forwarning
Cons: I like the old tee pad for #1. We still throw from that pad. Its more challenging. Maybe move the baskets around more. Maybe change positon for #2, #6, #10, #11, #17
Other Thoughts: Ive you have ever played this course a few years ago, it was ALOT harder with all the overgrown pine trees, and brush. So yes it was more challenging, but it will alot of fun. A wide array of shot and skill leavels are required for this course. Oh.. this makes Belmont look like putt putt :o) Shoot a -13 here

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 love it

5+    7/20/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love the layout there is a little of everything. very challenging and its not to long but long enough.
Cons: hard to get around it if you dont know where you are. should be trimmed up a little more in the wooded areas and paths to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: great course for all types of players.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wow. tough to play. tough to rate

1    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 28.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible challenge.

Great diversity.

This course winds in and out of tight and open conditions.

Concrete pads
Cons: Poor signage

Can be very frustrating...although this can be very subjective

Difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Where do I even begin?

This course has all the shots...no doubt. You will need distance drives for sure. You had better pack a good supply of controlled drives and your mid game had better be in order. That is the long version of - "this is a very technical course".

What intrigues me about this course is that there are many "open" holes. When I think of a true technical course, they are all tight and wooded. This course provides the bomber some breathing room. And trust me...you will need it.

Hole three for example, was almost ridiculous. I thought wow, that was tough, then hole 4 came and I thought, "man, this is serious". Even the slightest error will provide you with a bogey at least. You had better send ahead a spotter.

This course is hard to rate because of the frustration that it can present. I threw with another guy that absolutely hated this course. I only bring up his opinion because I respect it, and he has played many of the same coursed I have played.

At the end of the day, I feel the true testament of how great a course is lies in it's diversity. This course has plenty of it. This course will chew you up if you don't have a balanced game.

I look forward to getting back to play this one. i guarantee if you play it once, you will want another chance to tame it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 tough... tough but fair

5+    8/18/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 69  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: tough... not a pro to all i guess, but i prefer a challenge. this course has everything from wide open bombs to 100 foot touch shots through the woods and a duck pond that has the biggest ducks ive ever seen. a great variety of shot types so bring them all. the designers made great use of the tight woods and a creek that runs though the middle of the course... hole 9 is one of my favorite holes in golf, a moderately wooded 300 foot drive, then an approach shot over the creek to a basket precariously perched on the other side. the more i play this course the more i realize the importance of the placement your drive. there are a number of legit par 4's here that require planning if you want a 3... hole 7 is a perfect example. you can try to hit a tiny gap in a line of trees 285' away (which if you miss, your screwed). or do what i do and lay up my drive to the left and throw a giant spike over the trees. its a fun course in the regard that you can play it a few times and not have the same shot twice.
the fist couple of holes can be very daunting, esspecially to new players, but a great course that can have you leaving happy or quite the opposite.
Cons: not marked very well. the first pad is hard to find and once you get to 11 they have you going around in a circle so bring a map. i also got stung by a wasp or something on 13 one time... it swelled up pretty good but im alright.
Other Thoughts: there are a few good courses in the dayton area for sure, but i think this ones the best...sorry belmont i know people have wet dreams about you apparently, but you're second best.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.