New Albany, MS 
Tallahatchie Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: 3456789 Hole #12
3 / --   3 / --   4 / 473ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole # 12 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
nice

2-4    7/28/2014   7/29/2014
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice flow to the course. Easy to navigate. Good mix of open and wooded and longer and shorter holes. Restroom at beginning of course. Good signage. Not crowded
Cons: some teepads are gravel and washed out. a few baskets were not in the best shape. Multi use park so at times other people could be in the way.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that has undergone a redesign not too long ago. The course map on the site is wrong. I have updated the yardage and par according to the tee signs. Because of the signage the course is easy to follow without a map. Lots of shade but not on every hole. The river is not really in play so not much chance of losing a disc. We were the only people playing the course that day. There were other park users around so watch as you throw but didn't see it as an issue or problem. This course is 2 minutes off the highway (78) and well worth the stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  good mix

5+    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: nworage
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very nice practice area...top of the line baskets and wonderful new layout complete with easy to follow signage.the park is very well kept. I rarely ever have to wait on another disc golfer (I saw one other group the last time I visited) or jogger before throwing. the new layout requires all types of shots. short finesse shots,wooded tunnel shots and 'grip n rip' shots near 600'.
Cons: it's true that water, benches and garbage cans are mostly nonexistent after entering the main course..and it is quite a hike in completing.
Other Thoughts: given the new design and hole info/direction signs,this is an awesome course.I dug this course before,and was ecstatic when I stepped onto #2 pad and realized the re-design. (since the construction cut out the old 7,8&9 holes). if you bring an extra bottle of water and make good use of all the shade, this is a pleasant park to play.I regularly play 5000'-6000' courses and do not find the walk an issue. the gravel tee pads are fine given the many courses in west TN/N. MS that have natural or carpeted pads.(I actually played in flip-flops and had no issues on the pads). the baskets and next pads are pretty close,but with low foot traffic and it being easier to navigate now,there was no issue.I visit this park at least twice a month and would love to have it in my own town. many thanks to the sponsors,sign co. and hard workers who fixed this park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Re-designed

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: ricco2623
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some good holes with length and solid catching baskets. Another course in North Ms, yea.
Cons: I was not a fan of this course to begin with and the new design may be worse. New tee boxes are in proximity of the preceding holes which is clearly a safety issue. Gravel boxes on some of the new re-designed holes. Still a long haul from finishing number 18 to the parking lot. No water, one bathroom at start, and holes which you throw into the next tee area. Some of the original holes are now par fours according to signs. No this is my personal opinion but I am not fond of open rip it holes, but I don't mind them sprinkled in, no more than I like short technical holes every hole either. The old course was not my favorite but the new course seems to have had little thought but in it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Prepare to walk

5+    4/27/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: Falcon247
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Pretty good mix of different types of shots. The first couple of holes are the trickiest having to navigate through wooded areas. After that it's pretty much open with very long distances.
Cons: Where to start?? As stated earlier, be prepared to walk.......ALOT!! With the distance you have to cover, they could have easily put 2 courses in the park. Distances on the boxes are wrong. No benches or water fountains on the course. You don't have a clear cut direction of where the tee boxes are located. One of the tee boxes is merely lines painted on the walking track.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I play this course is because it's 5 minutes from where I work. It's convenient for me to just swing by after work. But of all the courses I've played, this is by far the one I like the least.

 

5+    5/9/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Links type style course. One of my favorite in the area.

Nice concrete tee pads on every hole.

Holes # 1 & # 2 are the hardest on the course and most technical.

Rest of the holes are mostly open and long, but not extremely long. Fun for anyone with a good 300' drive.

Good bit of OB as the walking track goes around the entire course on both sides sometimes going through the fairway. Road comes into play after going under the highway.

Course has great layout and design, not the same boring shot after shot. Very challenging.
Cons: The walk from the parking lot to hole #1 is pretty long, so is the rest of the course. This is the longest walking course I've ever played. Deffinately could use a cart on this course and with the walking track circling the course would be very possible.

No benches or water foutains.

Distances on tee pads are all incorrect.

Fairways and sidewalk can be flooded with standing water if it's rained lately.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging, worth the stop.

Can be hard to navigate if from out of town. Please read the directions on how to get here. If you start on hole # 1 it is not too hard to find your way through the course. Once you go under the highway go through the fence and take a right to hole # 11.

Click here for a map of the course along with the correct distances.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 confusing

1    10/16/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and fun to play, featuring mostly long and semi-open holes in a grassy area. Good design, no real trouble to get into. Well maintained.
Cons: The real problem is navigation. The directory doesn't help an out-of-towner like me actually find the course, so I took the wrong entrance. I had to find someone and get a map and be pointed to the other entrance. Once there, the gate was locked and I had to walk 3/4 Mile straight back to get to the 1st tee. There are times you have to cross under a highway and over a barbed wire fence, with no next tee markers, blindly searching for the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Do not bother without a MAP, a LOCAL or at least a solid understanding of how to find it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/26/2008   9/26/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads and DISCatcher baskets. This course has a great design that will test your distance and accuracy. The course starts off with some wooded holes to test your technical side, then progressively gets longer, before settling back down with some more open technical shots with all walking paths (in and across except for hole 3 and 18, which play the path as a stream) playing as OB.

This is a blue level pro course on mostly flat land that is a lot of fun to play if you enjoy challenging yourself.
Cons: The bathrooms are at the pavilion at the parking lot of the course, which is a good 5 minute walk to hole 1. The course does not loop around at the half way point. There is no running water and there are no benches. There are only 1 set of tees (except for hole 9) and course can be difficult for newcomers. There are no tee signs (the distances are on bricks in the tee pads) and the only established club is the Tupelo club that is 30 minutes away.
Other Thoughts: Despite all the cons, it is a fairly new course and the local player base is starting to grow. Personally, I really like the course design wise, but it may take a few years to fully develop it to its maximum potential. After you make the long walk over the bridge for hole 1, the course follows a pretty natural progression, with a good bit of walking, so bring plenty of water. After hole 10, you will walk under the overpass to play 11-13, then walk back under the overpass for hole 14.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.