Donnelly, ID
Tamarack Resort Share
Uploaded By: Starwraith169 Hole #14
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Definitely worth playing

1    8/16/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: holotone
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Decent variety, actual signage, fun lines, nice teepads, *awesome* baskets, beautiful scenery, not crowded - In fact, we only saw one other group.
Cons: Hard to find, not much elevation, overgrown, almost every basket requires that you walk the length of the hole to spot it, inconsistent pin placements (some were 'A', some were 'C', some were 'B'). clearly not maintained and holy sh*t do they have a yellow jacket problem. Some of the fairways have ground nests every 10-20 feet. I got stung pretty bad - You really didn't want to stand anywhere for too long in case you're near a nest.
Other Thoughts: Some regular maintenance and this would be an easy 4-4.5.


1    8/11/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: PSPerkins
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well engineered course, lots of fun holes and wide variety of throws. Creek oasis near tee box 13, course ends where it begins. Beautiful views of the lake. Lots of Huckleberries to pick and eat during berry season. Good summer course with camping nearby.
Cons: Could use better signage, most holes the basket was not visible from the tee which necessitated using a spotter on a lot of holes which doubled the walk for some.

Other Thoughts: I simply must say that this course was a genuine pleasure to play. Great mountain and lake views, rubber tee mats, variety of challenging throws, easy to spot baskets (once you locate them) and cleverly designed course.

The first 9 were all mostly short and densely wooded with high rough and barely discernible fairways. After playing the first nine things picked up for the back nine as we started to get the course figured out. The fairways are mostly narrow and consist of grasses and weeds that have been moderately trampled by foot traffic. The back 9 play around a mountain bike jump park which was fun to watch - but try not to hit any Mountain Bikers as they fly across the trails that cut across holes 10 and 11. Hole 12 was a huge throw and made the whole back nine worth the trek alone. Tee 13 in the summer months has a shaded creek that serves as a welcome oasis for overheated players who want to wet their heads and shirts to cool off.
The 18th hole ends up right where the first one starts so you end up right by your car when you are done, which was also quite nice.

Something else we noticed was that we all would throw and be under the general impression our tee shots ended up pretty poor, but we'd get to the disc each time with a nice surprise - finding we were much closer to the basket than our tee shot had initially looked like. It was a nice surprise on almost every hole to find our lie was much better than we had thought from the tees. Clever engineering and basket placement all around. I would play this course again for sure. It has tons of personality. I'd like to play it in spring when there is still water runoff in the smaller brooks which were all dry when we played.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Idaho vacation...

1    8/27/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good directional tee signs
- Rubber tee pads in a place it hardly rains
- Really new blue DGC baskets
- Both short and long holes
- Nobody there
Cons: - fairly ungroomed
- A bit too many holes between 180 - 220
- Would have been a bit lost without a map
Other Thoughts: The Tamarack Resort was supposed to be a large, new, ski resort near Donnelly, ID. Then money backed out leaving most noticeably a giant unfinished hotel. You have to drive through the unfinished complex to where Discovery Dr. ends with two giant cement blocks in the middle of the street.

There is a tiny "Disc Golf Parking" sign. I went with my fiances 89 year-old gradfather who had never seen it dg played. I found a path to a hill that led to the first tee.

The first 9 holes are mostly uphill short (180 - 220) through trees and grass. There are nice elevation changes throughout. The last 9 are spaced longer, through fields.

The tee pads, signs, and baskets are new and excellent. The baskets are blue and do stick out. I have no idea how long it takes baskets to age, but these had a lot of shine.

The only course drawback is that it needs to be played on more/groomed in places. It would be real nice, then.

Some don't like a lot to short holes, but I like them to rely on what is a skilled upshot through the trees for birdie. The place looks underused and understandably so, because the place is a bit creepy to drive though. If you're staying in McCall, it's only an hour away. I'd play again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/2/2010   3/2/2011
Review By: appysdad
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: all around great course bombers ace runs blinds its got em all wide open drives to drives down tight narrow alleys this course is never crowded gorgeous views a fun course for all skill levels
Cons: its not open year round and the first basket is missing mosqitoes are bad bring pure deet end of summer grass in open meadows can be waist high it may take awhile to find lost discs

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It could have been Should have been... but isnt

1    7/20/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: Rentech
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: Great layout, wonderful drives with good diversity, rewards a good trow punishes a poor one. Great scenic course with lots of foliage. Great teas and pins
Cons: Bring a few friends to spot, the course is no longer maintained and I believe that the first pin is missing to detour players because the resort went bankrupt and they discourage trespassing. Avoid playing in the evening even with bug spray you will be eaten alive. can be hard to find pins due to overgrowth.
Other Thoughts: If this course had someone to maintain it I feel it could be a top notch course for the northwest but without a owner the bankrupt resort will hide this gem from the world for a while

 Tamarack

5+    6/19/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Alot of different looks everytime you play, not crowded, multiple tee pads and baskets...excellent view of mountains and lake cascade.
Cons: Not very many people play so open fields getting deep..persistance is a must to find discs
Other Thoughts: Only course year round so locals are resposible for maintain a clean course so please be resposible!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tamarack Review

5+    11/1/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 42  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful location at a ski resort, # of pin placements, diversity of shots, lots of wildlife spotted on courses, lots of technical shots.
Cons: you cant play during the winter because of too much snow, rarely see other people playing, the resort hardly ever changes pin locations, no water hazards
Other Thoughts: We recently had the Gem State Championships there and it was a great turnout. More people should play it. Its a great course!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.