Layout Extinct

Houston, TX 
TC Jester Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good short course

1    6/16/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: BigJim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good shot variety.
Fun short course.
Decent use of the available space.
Course flow is straightforward and logical.
Cons: Short.
Feels cramped, in a busy park.
Concrete tees would be nice.
Better signage would be good. Hand-written distances with a sharpie on the wooden tee markers look tacky.
Some broken tee signs, #7 is particularly difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to the proposed expansion and redesign.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Surely you Jester

1    1/10/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Posts with the Hole # on them to help find your way around. Twp posts per hole one at each tee.

2) Dual tees makes for a good challenge for most skill levels.

3) Garbage can by Hole #1, at least there is somewhere to throw stuff away before and after your round.

4) Very beginner friendly course because it is mostly wide open. Sure there are some big trees as obstacles but a beginner will not struggle through this course. There is a tighter wooded area on Hole #8 but it is short enough of a hole it shouldn't cost beginners more than one stroke.

5) Slight undulations on a couple of the holes although it is mostly flat.

6) Turf seems to be in decent shape outside of the areas immediately surrounding the tees and basket. A little mulch would go a long way in keeping this course a little neater and less messy.

7) This course is a quick play for sure. Not enough obstacles to really cost you much time.

8) Restrooms are available right by the parking lot.
Cons: 1) Strokesaver baskets? They look like old Discatchers on the bottom with the top of a chainstar almost. I havent been around disc golf long enough to know what these are. The sloped baskets could have a tendency to lose some discs that wouldn't normally come back out. The chains also seems to be slightly more narrow than the normal baskets, but it may just be perception.

2) The course itself is sortof boring, they do what they can with the trees on the property but it is pretty much a get up and rip your drive type course and try to get close enough for a putt. here are multiple lines you can take to most of these baskets which is both good and bad.

3) Puddles all over the place fill up the low lying areas. The ground seems to be extremely compacted too because the water doesn't seem to leach into the soil very quickly.

4) Obviously Hole #7 had been changed up slightly with the concrete and berm that had been put in, so there were no posts indicating where the "new tee" is. I almost fee like the layout would be ore intuitive to play #6, then #9, then 8 should stay the same and #7 should become #9. You still end in about the same distance from the parking lot, but it is a little better flow.

5) Flatness of the course really keeps this from being much fun and/or challenging.

6) The area from #1 to #2 was completely underwater. It looks to me like a perfect chance to put in a raised boardwalk or at the very least a raised mulch path. Perhaps it is part of their "conservancy" of the land, but it is always a little goofy when you need to "frogger" your way across some steppers to avoid high water.

7) Natural turf/dirt tees are wore out pretty good. They are compacted and hollowed out so it would be typical to find them filled with water after any sort of precipitation (like we found the day after some heavier rains).

8) Moving some of the longer tees to different areas really could add to this course by making the two sets of tees play very different holes. As they are right now it just added a little bit of distance but not really a change in hole design.

9) Practice basket is no longer present but the putting game would be appreciated if there was a basket to putt at.

10) Distance variation between holes is minimal, something that I view as deadly for the overall feel of a course. If you have to throw the same length drive and approach everytime i lacks variety. Throw in some 400' holes and maybe even a couple 200' and under holes to make it more fun with more variety.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is just average, and it is what I would classify as your typical "park-like" course. It is a decent looking park with all sorts of other activities and it seems to be mostly well taken care of. The property simply doesn't have enough character or challenge to be much fun. The distance is the primary challenge on this course because there just aren't that many obstacles to have to worry about.

I know there is better in Houston, but I chose this one because of the proximity to the place we were staying.

It seems mandatory for every review to mention the disc monster storm sewer grate on Hole #5, so I am mentioning it right now. It will eat you if you get to close!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cant knock Jester's hustle

5+    11/11/2010   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good basic 9 hole affair. Can play in 35 minutes. usually not too crowded. Nice use of the Pine trees which make for an interesting approach to some of the baskets.
Close to my house.
Cons: Trails run through the course and Ive hit someone before - yell FORE!!!!!! that goes for anythime people are nearby. Why do DG'ers forget this?
Other Thoughts: NEEDS to be 18. Please HPRD make it 18!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/30/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park was in a clean, safe neighborhood.
-Offers good mix of holes with some tree obstacles. Not very much distance (even from Pro tees).
-Took some time to get oriented, but once I did it was straight forward.
-Plenty of locals around to direct and advise. Very friendly.
-close parking, easy to find the course.
-Discatcher baskets without the rejection bar above.
-Easy course for aregular, not a destination (I just happened to be nearby)
Cons: -Tees are marked with distances, but the surface is poor for throwing. You will have to throw from the grass next to the ruts.
-No elevation changes, so pars/ birds should be easy. Bayou was not really in play unless you throw RHFH or LHBH.
-Lots of runners and bikers on holes 4-6.
-Hot and humid. I should have brought water.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed the course, I would probably play other courses in the area before I return. This was easy to find, park and play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Practice Course

2-4    6/27/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well laid out 9 hole course, located in an area of town lacking any other real options for disc golf. It is filled with the typical Houston fair of large pine trees and almost no danger of losing a disc. I have heard it described as a "Mini-Macgregor" and I think that description is apt. The holes are very balanced, with many lines of attack and plenty of room for recovery from a bad teeshot. I especially appreciated the putting practice area as it has large round stones marking out 5 feet in a semi circle around the basket. Making warming up a breeze ( IMO this should be mandatory at all courses). The teeboxes are natural but are in decent condition, although a few roots and loose dirt may cause some problems. Each teebox is marked with a wooden stake with the distance printed on it. The course flows well and it would be hard to get lost here. There are alternate tees for some variety.
Cons: This course is very vanilla, with little risk, and no truly memorable holes. It's not in the best part of town, but does always seem to be well kept and I didn't see much trash on the course. Of all the nine hole courses in the Houston area I think this is the one tailored most to beginners, a pro to some, but to me a con. The long teebox on 7 is full of some very loose dirt and it is best to throw from next to it. The alternate tees aren't very imaginative and add little in replay value to the course.
Other Thoughts: If there is one word I can think of to describe this course it is "forgettable". The only reason I ever played here is because a buddy used to work by there and we would meet up for a quick 9. I personally prefer Terramont and I think it is a far superior nine hole course. If you're in the area and want a laid back, easy DG experience give it a shot, if not then don't go out of your way it's not worth it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    6/6/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: shamgar07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Decent Course, Decent Challenge, decent yardage. It is a good course for a quick game and for the beginner. A few trees but overall open course.
Cons: nothing really wrong with the course
Other Thoughts: It was an decent course. I didn't like it much but I would try it again and see what i think.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Solid nine holes

5+    2/13/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a decent layout with a mix of trees that force a person (more in summer) to throw a certain shot. Hole four is your first hole that will feel more open although it still has trees to contend with around the pin. Technical shots are especially true on 5 where the hole plays a tight curve right on a slope with the bayou ditch taking any discs missing the trees.

There are two tees for every hole making it a viable 18 holes to play. Each tee is well marked by a wooden post showing the hole number and yardage.

Restrooms are available and parking decent.

The practice hole (although unusable when it's wet) has markers placed progressively further around it allowing the player to warm-up with a little round the world putting. It's a nice little feature that I really enjoy and wish more courses had.

BEST HOLE/S: #1
Cons: When the course is wet, the practice tee and tee boxes are unusable for at least a day or two since they are dirt tees with a worn groove. The closer tee boxes feel too close sometimes, so if you have any experience, you'd probably prefer to play the pro tees twice if you wanted 18.

The baskets are really showing their age. They are certainly still usable, however the baskets themselves are bent a little on certain holes.

Although the foliage can present a challenge, there isn't a huge variation in hole length, with only one hole over 400' being very open for big drivers. There is no elevation change to speak of unless you throw it into the ditch on five, which also has a gigantic drain that will swallow discs about 100'-120' into fairway.

T.C. Jester road runs by three and four and your disc is almost certain to be run over if you have an errant shot right.

WORST HOLE/S: #9
Other Thoughts: Overall T.C. Jester is nice course to play, and you certainly won't be disappointed that you played it, but don't expect to play anything spectacular.

I would say Terramont Park, in the Woodlands area is better if your choosing to play nine holes in the areas north of I-10, but T.C. Jester is a solid choice based on it's location, layout, overall wooded feel.

It's also in relative location to the Agnes Moffitt Park (18 holes) if you feel that 9 holes just wasn't enough.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A nice solid course

5+    11/1/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
All tees marked with easily visible posts containing hole number and very accurate distances.

Three holes have pretty heavily wooded fairways that force a really tight line to get to the basket. Two holes have medium trees, two are light trees, and one is wide open. The last hole is pretty much impossible to go through the trees forcing you to go over or around.

Does an amazingly good job of not favoring righties or lefties with most holes having options for both styles.

Ample parking and restrooms close by. No significant risk of losing a disk but street and bayou OB loom close.
Cons:
A little on the short side by today's course standards.

There's a path through and along one side of the course so beware of walkers, joggers, and bikers.

Double chain baskets are showing their age but are still in decent shape. Tee boxes are dirt and some are slightly rutted.

Some of the paths between holes appear to be prone to flooding. There are cinder blocks laid down to make an elevated path through the puddles.

Very large sewer grate on #5 looks like it could swallow your whole bag of discs.
Other Thoughts:
Nothing overwhelmingly challenging, but a nice solid course. There were several holes where I stood at the tee before I threw and thought: "Now this is a good hole".

Alt tees typically just back up the distance of the main tee without directly adding any additional obstacles.

UPDATE Spring 2010:
The construction at the park has taken out the parking lot (for now use the street) as well as the practice basket. Also, hole #7 (tees & basket) had to be moved. So now the map on DGCR isn't completely accurate but still close enough.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Expansion/Modification

1    7/13/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: richardfason
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly shaded park environment that is regularly maintained. Bathrooms near the pool. A good beginner 9 basket course with alternate tee boxes.
Cons: Poison Ivy near the long tee-box for #2. Posted no alcohol. On Saturdays in late October, local high school running teams have a running meet at the park and take over 60 % of the area of the course.
Other Thoughts: In local league, players play 18 holes by two rounds of nine alternating tee-boxes playing #1 long followed by #2 short, etc., until twice around and all tee-boxes are played. Also, in league, discs that land 100% on the path or beyond the path is played as out of bounds.

Seems that some holes could be lengthened and space on the other side of bayou and other side of the swimming pool could be used to create a good 18 hole course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice 9 hole course

1    4/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course inside the city limits. A very pretty park. Nice mix of trees and open areas . Course has multiple tees, for beginners and pros alike. This is a great course for beginers and familes to play, but offers a good challenge for advanced players a well.
Cons: #5 has a huge sewer grate and a bayou that you need to watch out for. The course gets very muddy and wet after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play for a quick game. This is also a great course for beginner players to learn on.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.