Course Extinct
Cable, WI 
Telemark Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
-- / 375ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very pretty

1    7/22/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: omightytimm
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty course taking advantage of Telemark Resort ski runs. Mowing made it somewhat easier to figure out where the pins were. Minimal but adequate marking of tees.
Cons: Tee boxes were sometimes non-existent, with remaining ones just a 4x4 dug into the dirt.
Other Thoughts: As a warning, hole 12 is fully in the woods, to the left (looking uphill) of the ski run used by hole 11; follow hiking trail around the bend to find the pin.

In general, made good use of ski hill without the holes being impossible. In comparison, I found this course doable, whereas the one at Crested Butte, CO I found not fun at all (I'm just not advanced enough for that one). The front nine on this course is definitely to be considered simply a warmup for the back nine+.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Location, Location, Location meets Epic Downhill Shots

1    6/4/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The views of the northwoods wilderness are stellar, pretty location. Take your time on Hole 17, look around fully.

The hole layouts are mostly fair. There were not a lot of times I found myself saying, "I sure wish I was left-handed for this shot."
And in any case, a healthy dose of those shots should be welcomed.

Many holes force you to plan your whole attack, 2nd and 3rd shots, before you even tee off.

There are fun pin placements: elevated pins and pins in groves of mature pines. Hole 18: cool elevated placement!

They gave us a little map/score card in the Lodge, which we used to find tee areas, and a topo map which was ridiculous but told us there were abrupt elevation changes on some of the holes.

If you like to throw long shots you will have fun here; lots of long drives to be had.
Drastic, dramatic and dangerous elevation changes!

Challenging up-hill shots.
Epic down-hill shots.
Cons:
Grass was getting a bit tall but still very manageable.

Between the map and the tee signs we should've been able to find every tee easily, without wandering, but that was not the case. Probably just some trouble on our part, but you might want to keep an eye oriented on that map.

Some of the holes were a bit formulaic; throw 400ft through a moderately open fairway then abruptly at the end, dogleg into the thick woods for 75ft, at a 90 degree angle, to throw at the basket.
This happens a few times and wouldn't be so bad if there was another option to reach the pin. On these holes I was longing for a "short-cut" to the green so I wouldn't have to spend a shot just getting lined up with the "mouth" of the dogleg, but the woods is way to thick and there is no alternate route to the basket.
Other Thoughts:
Bring a buddy, you'll want a spot a more than a few shots here, like Hole 4.

Looks like high winds could really shut-down a round here. It was pretty calm when I played, thankfully.

I really like the tunnel on Hole 11 and the subsequent short, technical hole IN the woods that follows it. They provide a nice break from the norm and a little shade, too.

Location, location, location!
Such a pretty place in WI, but it's in the middle of nowhere! If you're somehow up in this area, or going to Highbridge from Minneapolis, consider stopping by here, you will be gifted with an enjoyable day of golf, a full cardio workout from going up and down ski hills and a some great memories of those massive down-hill shots.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Up and Down

1    8/9/2009   7/13/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of short and long holes along with wooded and open holes. Elevation changes on almost every hole. Very demanding course that requires good accurate drives to score well. Baskets are in good condition and most were easy to find. I didn't have a course map but still found my way around the course fairly easy. Wind can be a big factor, especially on the last few holes at the top and on the way down the mountain.
Cons: When I went through it, the grass in the fairways was pretty long (over ankle height) and in some places around knee height. The natural teepads can become slippery if wet but were in good conditions for the most part.
Other Thoughts: Very scenic and peaceful. Saw a pack of foxes running through the grass/wildflowers near the base of the mountain. Almost stepped on a basketball sized wasp nest on the back side of the mountain. Beware of where you're stepping when looking for discs. Highly recommend this course if you're ever in the area. I hadn't planned on playing this course while up north but had to once I realized how close I was to it and it was worth the detour.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun ski hill course

1    6/12/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is very fun ski hill course with some awesome elevation and great views from the top. The hills are used really well to create variety and challenge, though there are some strings of uphill and downhill holes in a row it doesn't just feel like you're playing up to play back down. There is a great variety of distances, with some shorter holes you can take an ace run on, some long uphill holes that challenge your arm and your stamina, and a few great downhill bombs at the end of the course (and a couple more throughout). Unlike some ski hill courses, the woods between ski runs are brought into play some to add more variety and keep it from getting boring.

There is a nice map and hole by hole description available that makes the course easy to follow. There are basic signs marking the tees, and reasonably level natural tees. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. The scenery and natural beauty here is fantastic, especially from the top of the mountain, and the solitude when you get up on the back side of the top of the mountain is great.
Cons: The tee pads are natural, understandable on a ski hill but it does make for uncertain footing at times with some rutted pads, and some that are not completely level. There are some mowing issues, also understandable here, but it does make for some tough disc finding at times, even on some fairways.

The first set of holes is quite boring around the base of the ski hill, they lack the elevation and don't have enough woods or obstacles to keep it interesting. I rarely say this, but these holes actually take away from the course and make it less fun. The first hole is particularly ridiculous, playing over nearly 400' of concrete.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a place to get to on your Highbridge trip if you can. It's a unique course for the area, and other than the front 9, there is lots of fun variety and challenge and some awesome views. Beginners will find this one pretty tough, more experienced players will find some great tests and some really fun shots off the top of the mountain. The last four holes play all the way down the mountain for a great way to end a fun course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wisconsin Northwoods

2-4    9/22/2006   3/22/2009
Review By: rj29274
Played: 122  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basically everything you could ask for in a course. The flypads (rubber teepads) were nice and smooth. This course has great par 4's and a few 5s with really scenic views. When the leaves are changing colors it is a sight to see.
--Great up and down hill elevation
--Get to crank it down hill quite a few times
--Demands power but placement just as important to set up for birdies.
--Great variety of shots both hyzer, anhyzer and sidearm
--Open bomber holes and shorter (300ftish) placement, finesse shots
--One of the best I have ever played and great hike!
Cons: Can be very, very windy up on Telemark.
Not a con but bring lots of water and a snack because a round can last around 3-4 hours.
Cement pads would be great but maybe someday
Few trash cans, if any (i cant remember)
Other Thoughts: One course everyone should put on their list. If you find yourself in the NorthWoods of Wisco definitely play here, then Highbridge. That would be a phun weekend. Plan ahead for a long round, bring sunscreen, water, food, and be on your A game or this course will own you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Telemark Resort

2-4    8/15/2008   1/27/2009
Review By: jdowsett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great challenging course for those up for a bit of an adventure. Huge elevation changes, great hole variety, epic panorama views.
Cons: Not marked or groomed very well. Grab a map from inside or you will get lost. Also bring water because none is provided and the course may take up to 4 hours to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite to date. For me it is a 5 out of 5 but had to review it lower because it is not well groomed or marked. There are a couple of holes on the backside that are just unforgettable. This is a course that definately favors a big arm with multiple holes over 500'. Not for the faint of heart or mind because it is taxing, but in the end it is all worth it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite

2-4    8/15/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: SoSauve13
Played: 63  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The greatest variety I have found on a course; as well as the best views too. Its hike and an adventure. You have a resort to stay at. Its definately not crowded at all.
Cons: The map or the holes could be much more helpful in helping a person make it from one hole to the next.
Pretty much are going to need half a day to play the course.
Other Thoughts: It a course that you need to be in shape for; but for me personally have never had more fun on a course. The first time it was hard to make it through even with the map trying to find each hole. After you have made it through the course though I really have not found a course that I have found close to as much fun and great to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Telemark

5+    9/20/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: Par 72 Course Design
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge bomber course. First 9 holes at the base of the Mountian/hill. Then you have the choice to climb and really test your skills and stamina. Giant pines are beautiful. Some par 4's and a par 5. Pay to play, scorecard/maps available at the front desk. $5. The finishig holes are great, 300ft, 700 ft, 500 ft, 300 ft, ALL DOWN HILL!!! Enjoy a beer and great food in the lodge, mention disc golf and the first one is usally free. Course closed Nov 15th thru April 1st. Home of the Par 72 Fall Open A tier, GREAT EVENT!!!!
Cons: Natural tee pads get a little rough with alot of play. The mowing issue has been taken care of, so that is no longer a con. Not very beginner friendly past hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Possibilty of 12 more holes may be on the horizon to make it two 18's. The Views are SICK!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.