Layout Extinct

Appleton, WI 
Telulah Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 A place for a group of friends to play

5+    8/15/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.6 Years
Pros: Free.
Mostly concrete pads.
Mach 3 baskets.
Well designed holes for the parcel of land.
Holes are "worn in" not leaving you guessing where the next hole is.
Open field holes as well as tight wooded holes.
Well groomed. Lawn mowed, wood chips or gravel paths.
Cons: Kids playground right at throwing location of hole 1.
Hole one needs a concrete pad.
Under construction much of the last couple years.
Not open year round. Late spring to late fall.
Can smell like sewage with the wrong wind.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to get a group together and play. Not my first choice locally for a course to play though.

 Great Variety, Not Too Long

5+    6/10/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.6 Years
Pros: Great variety holes, from very tight to wide open, backhand and forehand fade shots both represented. Most tee pads are concrete, the rest are gravel. Added sturdy wooden signs to the holes in 2012. Wooded holes were re-added to back 9 in 2011. Distance is manageable, nothing over 400. Eleven holes are in the woods, seven are out in a field with usually only a couple trees apiece. Course stays dry for more of the season than others in the surrounding area. A good choice for spring melt time or after it's been raining, fewer mud and puddles around the course.
Cons: The gravel tee pads can become uneven, but are leveled out from time to time. Holes 1 and 6 are in the park/playground area, and occasionally people will be having a picnic on your tee pad. Only on holes 2, 8, and 10 will big arms have an opportunity to flex, but even those won't be considered bombers to some.
Other Thoughts: The course really improved in the 2011-2012 era, when the 4 wooded holes were regained on the back nine, and sturdy wooden signs with distances and pictures were added to all holes.

 Telulah Park

2-4    5/19/2012   5/19/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) concrete tee pads, except on hole one
2) a nice practice basket
3) big map of course by hole 1
4) fairly easy to navigate, only would've been turned around once if i wasn't with someone familiar with the course.
5) nice baskets
6) really good design, plays evenly to LHBH and RHBH.
7) has some of the funnest holes in the fox valley.
Cons: 1) tee signs are not very good, they give a decent idea of where the hole goes but the distances are WAY off on some of the holes.
2) tee pads are a little bit short, although there's only two or three holes where they were a problem.
3) short tees (although not many people play them) are only gravel and are fairly eroded.
Other Thoughts: This course surprised me, it's quite a bit better than i thought it would be. I expected a little pitch and put course, which it mostly is, but 12 of the 18 holes force you to hit some pretty small gaps and/or have very well placed and protected pins. Telulah provides a very fun round, and is fairly family friendly..so bring out your girlfriend/wife and your kids to enjoy some DG.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: BKGuitar9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The front 9 includes some of the most fun holes to play in the area with a good combo of longer shots and shorter, obstacle shots.
2. Great scenery.
3. Back 9 is fun in moderation- especially if you enjoy experimenting/practicing/tweeking your shot
4. Other then the distance between hole 1 and 2, course has a great flow.
Cons: 1. The 4 holes that were moved, used to be my favorite stretch of this course
2. Hole 1 has no concrete, and seems very...unattached.
3. Tee pads are concrete, but a step or two short for my approach.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park, beautiful course, a lot of fun to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

1    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. Challenging Front Nine. Well mannered patrons. Pretty Scenery. This course was a lot of fun to play. We played with the biggest group I've ever played with (9), so it was slow going as many were newbies. I think it speaks volumes as many of the experienced players were challenged as much or more than the newbies on many holes. Throwing too long could really get you into trouble here on many holes. The Fox River was on your right for several holes and was very pretty in early spring.
Cons: Like many of the other reviews of this course have claimed, the back nine are pretty boring. Just long straight shots with little to no character. This course could also be served by better markers. Since they took the back nine out of the woods, they haven't re-labeled the pins or the tees and it becomes very confusing as to where you are shooting to/from.
Other Thoughts: This is a totally playable 18 in a pretty park in Appleton. There are nice bathrooms, a cute little playground, and it is well maintained. The Grass was mowed, brush cleared, etc. A couple of local sponsorships for some new signage and pin flags and this course would be a gem.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Bery Bery fun course - but a little tired feeling

1    6/27/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses (over 180 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+
(The top of the course is open and plays through mature hardwoods. Most of the holes are laid out pretty well to make you make good choices on what line you want to take. Nothing too dramatic, but fun figuring out how you want to skin the cat - mainly based on how you are feeling and how the wind is blowing. The wooded holes on the hillside and lower level are quite good at forcing you to throw exactly what is offered….and punishing you firmly if you mess up. The steep incline and dense woods are the main disciplinarians. Good balance in this course!)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(Most of the holes on this course seems tailor made for me...although some on the top are a little long and a few wooded ones a smidge short. It is the kind of course when I am on my game, I can tear it up (go 8-10 down on), but if I am off I can be 3-4 over on. I like that a lot!)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(I love the variety of shots on this course, some very creative use of obstacles and terrain. I love how none of the wooded holes feel similar to each other at all (some of the open/top holes get redundant though). In my book, if say 2 of the open holes were moved into the woods on the hill, this would be knock your socks off perfect. TallPaul tells me that the course has been reconfigured and scaled back and is actually maybe in danger of being pulled….so I am guessing any re-design ain't happening soon).

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(This to me what the disappointment of an otherwise very cool course. The upper part of the park offers no seclusion and has an old/tired park feeling. Although the wooded holes offer a few picturesque spots, the bottom of the course is cursed with an old ratty looking road that runs the length and feels a little like a dumping ground. The river could be nice, but somehow has a bit of a trashy feel to it too. If things could be cleaned up and revitalized, that would bump this course into the upper echelons of my favorites.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == 2 bonus points
(I love Hole 7! It is a unique and challenging 2 throw hole and is eagle-able with a perfect roller shot. Carding a three means you executed 2 picture perfect touch shots (or maybe a killer putt). But I can easily see running up scores of 5, 6 or 7 if you are off. The hole accomplishes this with the shape of a very lazy S. First shot is a L-to-R shot through a narrow but fair gap and down a small embankment to a flat landing zone. From there you have around probably 175' through a very tight but fair straight tunnel lined by extremely tightly spaced trees. I love the concept and I love the length/width proportions used! Nice. The world needs more of this type of hole.)

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and fun - must play

5+    5/27/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: johncourt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Telulah Park is a great course with many variations in terrain, both in vegetation and elevation changes. This course is even possible during the winter. A staple and favorite, although a course that can definitely be mastered over time.
Cons: The new variation of the 4 or 5 holes on the back 9 which have been moved out of the woods and into the open field have, in my opinion, ruined the best part of this course. Those were my favorite holes!
Other Thoughts: I wish I had had a chance to play Telulah again before the back 9 woods holes had been removed. I heard some private development is going up there; it is really too bad. I had to rate lower because of this (otherwise 3.5).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oh so close to GREAT!

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Teepads are adequate. Some are crushed limestone inside of 4x4 framed boxes. Some tees are concrete. The final 2 holes to replace 2 of the wooded holes 11-14 are small squares of rubber matting. The cushed limestone ones for the most part are in ok shape.

2) Nice amenities in the park. There is a bathroom, pavilion, play area, ball fields, etc.

3) This course has some alternate tees which is nice. The longs really add about 1/2 a shot when they are available.

4) Nice mature trees in the more open holes which is always nice. Oaks and other hardwoods are perfet trees for making an open lawn area more difficult. It forces shot making and isn't just a straight out drive.

5) Nice variety of holes on this course. There are plenty of hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, low ceilings, etc, etc, etc.

6) Directional signs in a few locations are helpful when confusion might arise. A couple more might be helpful, but overall they are fairly adequate.

7) Beginner friendly on half of the course. The wooded holes aren't really beginner friendly, but the shortness of those holes does make it much more manageable for beginners.

8) Practice basket is available near the 18th tee.

9) Map of the course as well as the recent modifications is available at the kisok by the 18th tee also.

10) Real risk reward basket locations on a few of the holes. I love this aspect of this course.

11) All in all this is a great course with a lot if variety. It has a little of everything and I love it. I just wish the removed holes were in play because they looked great. I love the woods, and the open holes are done very well too because of the smattering of mature trees.

12) Elevation gets used as well as possible and I enoyed that aspect of some of the wooded holes.

13) Alternate basket location on multiple holes. Always an enjoyable thing on a course allowing for different shots from time to time.
Cons: 1) No signs . . . well I shouldnt say that, there are signs but the graphics have melted away. It sure would be nice for some of those wooded holes to know where you are going and for sure distances would be helpful on all holes.

2) Some tees leave a little to be desired. Most are adequate, but the inconsistancy is probably the biggest deal. You will have to adjust to the different tee materials as well as condition throughout your entire round. The rubber mats are short and not perfectly at grade. A couple of the gravel tees are getting weedy and a couple are depressing in the middle.

3) Walk from 1-2 tee is awkward and long and the directional sign could be closer to #1 basket to be less confusing.

4) Redesign makes the course less fun for sure. I didn't get to play #11-14 when they were in unfortunately but that would have definitely had this course getting a 4 rating from me. The tees and some erosion/compaction and maintenance issues would keep this course from beinga top rated course. I hope it is only temporary while whatever construction is ocurring down below those lost holes.

5) 10, 15, 16, 16A, 16B, 17, 18, 18A, and 18B are fairly boring holes, but at least they all have a handful of mature trees protecting the basket or altering your shot shape.

6) Some of the short tees seem to not get used. There are 2 or 3 places where the plants around the short tees were very tall and block a 5'6" thrower such as myself. I hit some dogwood on my drive on #6 and #7. A little bit of trimming would keep these tees clear in front would make for a better tee area.

7) Baskets are old and some damaged baskets. Some of the number plates are missing and they are really tough to see in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Again, based on disc golf holes I would rate this a 3.5-4.0, but the maintenance and condition knock this course down substantially. I could see if all concrete tees were poured and the wooded holes 11-14 went back in this would be one of my favorites. There are a lot of unique cool holes in the woods and the shot selection is nicely varied. These are all things I expect from a top notch course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Half n half

1    7/15/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park along the river with some heavily wooded areas and some grassy open park areas. The first half of the course plays through and along the woods, and has several nice elevation changes. The woods are dense enough that you're punished for errant drives, but it's not too easy to lose a disc. The hills in the woods make for some fun and challenging shots, especially with some nice roll away pin positions.

There are two tees on most holes, and many were in decent shape. There is an accurate course map online and at the beginning of the course that shows the previous design that used the woods more and the current layout.
Cons: The second half of the course just shoots back and forth across a mostly open and flat park space. I threw basically the same drive on 7 of the last 9 holes, same distance and same basically straight shot with just a couple scattered trees to avoid. This was a really disappointing end to the round.

The baskets are showing their age, and starting to not catch as well. Many of the tees were rutted out gravel, and the older concrete ones had some cracks or erosion around them. The signage is terrible, most of it is completely gone, and not all of the baskets are numbered. Even with the course map we had to do some backtracking to navigate the course. The whole park had a run down feeling to it, especially with the ruined tee signs and lots of trash down in the woods.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 of this course makes it worth a stop if you're passing by, but the back 9 is terribly disappointing. Beginners will find the wooded holes challenging, but will get a break at the end of the course. More experienced players will enjoy the challenge and shot selection of the front 9, and be quite bored on the back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Being Redesigned

5+    9/23/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts: Redesign of the course is planned due to park changes. Four holes in the woods are being replaced, but we hope to gain the old soccer and rugby fields. If all goes well, might see some changes for opening day 2010.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.