Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Appleton, WI
Telulah Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: erickmj  



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    6/18/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: BKGuitar9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. The front 9 includes some of the most fun holes to play in the area with a good combo of longer shots and shorter, obstacle shots.
2. Great scenery.
3. Back 9 is fun in moderation- especially if you enjoy experimenting/practicing/tweeking your shot
4. Other then the distance between hole 1 and 2, course has a great flow.
Cons: 1. The 4 holes that were moved, used to be my favorite stretch of this course
2. Hole 1 has no concrete, and seems very...unattached.
3. Tee pads are concrete, but a step or two short for my approach.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park, beautiful course, a lot of fun to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and fun - must play

5+    5/27/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: johncourt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Telulah Park is a great course with many variations in terrain, both in vegetation and elevation changes. This course is even possible during the winter. A staple and favorite, although a course that can definitely be mastered over time.
Cons: The new variation of the 4 or 5 holes on the back 9 which have been moved out of the woods and into the open field have, in my opinion, ruined the best part of this course. Those were my favorite holes!
Other Thoughts: I wish I had had a chance to play Telulah again before the back 9 woods holes had been removed. I heard some private development is going up there; it is really too bad. I had to rate lower because of this (otherwise 3.5).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Oh so close to GREAT!

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Teepads are adequate. Some are crushed limestone inside of 4x4 framed boxes. Some tees are concrete. The final 2 holes to replace 2 of the wooded holes 11-14 are small squares of rubber matting. The cushed limestone ones for the most part are in ok shape.

2) Nice amenities in the park. There is a bathroom, pavilion, play area, ball fields, etc.

3) This course has some alternate tees which is nice. The longs really add about 1/2 a shot when they are available.

4) Nice mature trees in the more open holes which is always nice. Oaks and other hardwoods are perfet trees for making an open lawn area more difficult. It forces shot making and isn't just a straight out drive.

5) Nice variety of holes on this course. There are plenty of hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, low ceilings, etc, etc, etc.

6) Directional signs in a few locations are helpful when confusion might arise. A couple more might be helpful, but overall they are fairly adequate.

7) Beginner friendly on half of the course. The wooded holes aren't really beginner friendly, but the shortness of those holes does make it much more manageable for beginners.

8) Practice basket is available near the 18th tee.

9) Map of the course as well as the recent modifications is available at the kisok by the 18th tee also.

10) Real risk reward basket locations on a few of the holes. I love this aspect of this course.

11) All in all this is a great course with a lot if variety. It has a little of everything and I love it. I just wish the removed holes were in play because they looked great. I love the woods, and the open holes are done very well too because of the smattering of mature trees.

12) Elevation gets used as well as possible and I enoyed that aspect of some of the wooded holes.

13) Alternate basket location on multiple holes. Always an enjoyable thing on a course allowing for different shots from time to time.
Cons: 1) No signs . . . well I shouldnt say that, there are signs but the graphics have melted away. It sure would be nice for some of those wooded holes to know where you are going and for sure distances would be helpful on all holes.

2) Some tees leave a little to be desired. Most are adequate, but the inconsistancy is probably the biggest deal. You will have to adjust to the different tee materials as well as condition throughout your entire round. The rubber mats are short and not perfectly at grade. A couple of the gravel tees are getting weedy and a couple are depressing in the middle.

3) Walk from 1-2 tee is awkward and long and the directional sign could be closer to #1 basket to be less confusing.

4) Redesign makes the course less fun for sure. I didn't get to play #11-14 when they were in unfortunately but that would have definitely had this course getting a 4 rating from me. The tees and some erosion/compaction and maintenance issues would keep this course from beinga top rated course. I hope it is only temporary while whatever construction is ocurring down below those lost holes.

5) 10, 15, 16, 16A, 16B, 17, 18, 18A, and 18B are fairly boring holes, but at least they all have a handful of mature trees protecting the basket or altering your shot shape.

6) Some of the short tees seem to not get used. There are 2 or 3 places where the plants around the short tees were very tall and block a 5'6" thrower such as myself. I hit some dogwood on my drive on #6 and #7. A little bit of trimming would keep these tees clear in front would make for a better tee area.

7) Baskets are old and some damaged baskets. Some of the number plates are missing and they are really tough to see in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Again, based on disc golf holes I would rate this a 3.5-4.0, but the maintenance and condition knock this course down substantially. I could see if all concrete tees were poured and the wooded holes 11-14 went back in this would be one of my favorites. There are a lot of unique cool holes in the woods and the shot selection is nicely varied. These are all things I expect from a top notch course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Being Redesigned

5+    9/23/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: jmterlap
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Other Thoughts: Redesign of the course is planned due to park changes. Four holes in the woods are being replaced, but we hope to gain the old soccer and rugby fields. If all goes well, might see some changes for opening day 2010.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect start

5+    8/1/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fairly challenging with many strait holes. Holes that curve can be difficult and usually have huge elevation changes. A great course for anyone. The front nine is almost completely wooded. The back nine is wide open and very easy. If you throw it far enough on your tee shot, you can easily get a 2 on every hole.
Cons: Some tees are new, others aren't the greatest condition. The woods on the front nine can pose a frustrating problem. This course is usually very crouded.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course and I thought is was a great start. It is the perfect course for amateurs in the area

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 telulah

5+    6/4/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: theycallmejg15
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole course that mixes a variety of shots through out the park. Different tees change the difficulty of the holes. Miss your putt on some holes and it'll roll a long long way. Couple holes you really have to pick your throws carefully.
Cons: Tee pads for the rec tees are all gravel. Garbage all over with lack of cans. Pro pads very slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: No more holes in the woods. They updated the course so the former wood holes are mixed in with the others across the light woods. Not a bad addition.



3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Telulah

5+    10/5/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: discallday
Played: 87  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of open/wooded.
Good mix of hooking right and left holes
A few good elevation changes.
Two tees on every hole and 2 basket placements on five(?) of the holes.
Not usually crowded.

Cons: Nothing over 400 ft (and that is on only one of the longer pin placements). Not really any accurate signage.
Other Thoughts: Near the center of town. Sucks that the college ave bridge will be down for a few years though. Better signs, teepads and 2 pin placements on every hole would make this a 3.5 or 4 course for me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.