Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Long Fun Course

2-4    5/2/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Smf5125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
Pros: One of the biggest courses in the Allentown/Bethlehem area. Great, long, open, holes that allow you to see just how far you can drive.
Gorgeous park to begin with and, on a nice spring day, just a great place to be.
The course allows for many different approaches as the front nine has few trees and the back nine has fairly open lanes with trees only in play if you make an errand throw.
If you are used to playing Orefield/Wehr's Dam and South Mountain, this course is a great change of pace.
Cons: While it is a great course, it is laid out along a park so there are a few unfortunate cons which you should expect but it should not stop you from playing this course.

The course is long so be prepared to walk.

It is a public park so do be aware of the people around you, because on a nice day others will be out enjoying themselves as well.

There are a few holes which play along the water or the road. The road is a decently traveled residential road so do be wary of traffic.
Other Thoughts: This is a great, long, open course that will challenge most arms. With water hazards on the first few holes, you have to be on your game from the start and is a great course to spend a few hours on a nice day

Big Course!

1    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Pleasurable park setting with very nice atmosphere, people and scenery (especially the variety of trees and stream).
- Great design with a variety of shots and well defined fairways and rough. Smart hole design.
- Hole 1 plays like a ball golf course with a winding S curve fairway, rough on the sides.
- Some nice downhill and uphill holes.
- Hole 6 is thrilling. Long drive where placement is key to set up for long approach shot over creek to elevated tee.
- Holes 12 and 13 are enjoyable. Hole 12 long drive, then sweeping down hill that curves around right with lots of nice scattered trees. Hole 13 is a chance to grip and rip downhill.
- Water fountains throughout park
- Good food choices and gas stations very nearby.
Cons: - Lots of people walking, jogging, walking dogs in the park. Although they do not interfere unless a throw is way off into OB.
- Most holes not set apart from park goers. Few holes offer privacy.
- Lots of insects on warm days (bring bug spray).
- On the first handful of holes, I feel that the tees are unnecessarily far apart from the last basket. There is plenty of room to set tees back further for longer shots.
- Course is sectioned off after Hole 4, 8 and 13 and long walks to next tee can end up in getting lost without a course map. Tee signs do have "Next Tee" directional, but easy to forget after hole is finished. Next Tee signs would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: This park and course are huge. Plus there is plenty room leftover for a possible 2nd course or at least 9 additional holes. The course is a workout for sure. Many trees strategically scattered about the fairways makes this course not completely out in the open, although there are many chances for power drives. Smart holes with no dumb holes makes this a good course with a fine layout and design. Beautiful natural scenery makes you want to hang out at the park and just relax after a round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun open course

1    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good place to go if those tight wooded courses have you down. Admittedly this is not my preferred type of course, but Little Lehigh does a nice job doing what it does. 18 mostly open holes that wind along the river and up and down some decent size hills. Signs at each tee pad showing hole, distance and alternate basket positions. Pads are rubber mats and are in decent shape. There was a couple that could use some TLC, but they all worked.

Almost every hole on this course plays mostly open with limited trees creating some risk or lines to hit. The exceptions would be #7 that is a short hole with a tight window through some trees close to the pad. # 8 starts out wide open, and then quickly turns into a fairly tight line with a low ceiling in the trees. And then #10 has a few trees on the way up a hill leading to the basket on the edge of the woods.

The rest of the course plays up and down some good sized hills, and really let's you get some work in with your drivers. Hole lengths vary pretty well with shots of 630', 539', 551' and 720' to really let you throw some fun drives. The course also mixes some up and downhill shots to keep everything balanced.
Cons: Navigation signs would be nice. There is a very long walk from 4 to 5. Make sure you bring a map or have your phone handy. The transition from 8 to 9 is also not obvious to the first time visitor.

Hole 18 could be a real safety issue. There is a bench about 40' from the basket and a walking path all along the right side of the fairway. I had to wait a few minutes for walkers to clear before throwing.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a fun place to get a round in. it is mostly open without a lot of tight twists and turns that I prefer, but it has some ups and downs as well as just enough trees around to keep you honest. And you get to play along a cool little river for a lot of the round. Little Lehigh is definitely worth a stop if you are in the area, and a good place to get out and throw some drivers.

Here's a couple highlights:

Hole 6 is a sweeping hyzer line that crosses the river, and then forces you to go up hill to the basket. A real fun hole that lets big arms try to cross the river off the tee, while leaving the option open for us noodle arms to lay up short and then go for the basket.

Hole 12 was probably my favorite hole. It's a huge downhill bomb that goes left to right through the open field, and then down hill through some trees to a basket position 720' away. Lots of thick woods to the right off the tee and elevation and mature trees on the fairway. Just a blast to play. Even for a noodle arm like me.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pilot to Bombadier

1    7/28/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 347  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Plenty of opportunities to launch your favourite distance driver.

Located in attractive park near amenities.
Cons:
Practically zero opportunities for technicians.

Long walks between a few holes - the "tips for finding tees/baskets", under links/files, is a must-have for a first-time visitor.
Other Thoughts:
If bombing straight away brings you much joy while playing disc golf, then make a sojourn here, as the holes are long (1/3rd over 500'), the bulk of the fairways are quite broad, and there are opportunities to throw down some steep hills as well- of course, you have to walk/throw up them, too.

If threading needles in thick woods with your mids is more your style, there are plenty of options to do so in the vicinity - just not here.

My favourite grouping of holes on this course is the most awkward to find . Number-5, a controlled, downslope right-turner, is followed by number-6, which requires an open landing zone be hit to set up a good look to the basket - cross-creek, uphill, and squeezed on both sides by vegetation! Number-7 is quite tight initially, then open to a short basket at a lower elevation, on a disused train track, while number-8, though long-n-flat, has a few large trees mid-fairway, and requires a sharp right-turn approach between tight copses of trees to reach the basket.

Given that the majority of the holes could best be described as open, a second set of (shorter) tee locations, especially for the uber-long/uphill holes, would make this course more beginner friendly.

Depends upon your course-preferences as to if you consider this a destination course, or not.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the course map and notes!

1    5/14/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice baskets, tee signs, and rubber tees. Restrooms in parking lot and some water fountains on paths. Some nice use of elevation and hazards on a mostly open and long course. Course is well maintained and has some nice views.
Cons: Drainage and tall grass ob holes 1-4. Lots of park patrons to beware of throughout the course. Navigation was a nightmare with lots of walking between holes and lack of next tee signs. Thank goodness I brought the course notes to help guide me to the next hole, but even that was tricky. Busy street comes into play on hole 11. The creek may make some disc's unretrievable and the wind was whipping around quite a bit when I played.
Other Thoughts: Little Lehigh is a decent course overall, but the cons really hurt it on my rating. This course frustrated me with the unused potential and terrible navigation. Bring the MAP and NOTES! There were about as many holes I really liked as I disliked. I would recommend as others have stated to start on hole 14 so you end on hole 13. It flows much better that way. I would add a hole after 13 going up the huge hill to help with the hike back to the parking lot or hole 14. I wanted to play hole 17's tee to the hole 18's basket for a more epic downhill shot to finish the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open, Long, and Enjoyable

1    5/19/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: TheBirdGuy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -There was some good elevation changes during the 18 hole course, with some good variety of Par 3, 4, and 5's.
-You have to be careful about the creek, as some pins are pretty darn close to the edge... specifically holes 2 and 4.
-The course isn't a beginners course, as you will need some power and accuracy to do well. Beginners could still easily enjoy themselves, just be careful too avoid the creek.
-Mostly an open course, but there was some holes with trees that came into play.(6 and 12 come to mind)
-#12 is a steep, downhill, dog-leg right, one of the cooler holes on the course with some trees to maneuver around.
-#1 and 11 are long and open holes. For those who like to rip a long throw, these holes are for you.
-Holes 1-10 run along the creek which makes for a beautiful round of disc golf. (you cross the creek during hole 6 and remain on that side for the remainder of the round.)
-There is signage which is accurate and offers an arrow to point you in the right direction for the next hole. Some holes require a long walk between them (4 and 5 are very far apart and we almost missed it when we were there. If it's your first time, you might need to ask people on the way where the next hole is.)
-The tee pads are rubber which could be a pro for some people, I personally prefer concrete, but doesn't matter too much.
-This course lasts long and is beautiful.
-The course circles back to the parking lot which is great. Parking is close to the starting point and the finishing point.

Cons: -There are some soggy/wet spots on the fairway, so watch for that.
-There is only 1 water fountain, which is between 4 and 5 and makes for a brutally exhausting time on hot days, so be sure to bring 1-2 water bottles.
-The signage is accurate, but finding hole 5 is a bit of a struggle. If they had some more "Next tee" signs, it would be really helpful.
Other Thoughts: The place is beautiful and makes you wanna walk casually and enjoy your surroundings.


There is a Disc Golf shop 2 miles away from the course, probably closer. It's called "Dodo's" it's an awesome little shack type place with a bunch of variety for discs, they also sell/buy used discs, which is awesome.

Be careful at hole 10 and 11, they eat discs regularly. My friend threw his at 10 and it went into the super thick bushes and those bushes don't like to give them back. We couldn't find it, but he did find another disc he likes a lot, so it was like an exchange. We spent 1 hour looking because it was a new disc and had become his favorite. He bought another one at Dodo's after the round of disc golf.


I received a recommendation from the guy working at Dodo's Disc Golf Shop, to play 14-18 first and then do 1-13 to finish. It was a great recommendation, as you will find that 14-18 are all up hill and it is pretty steep, so you'll want to get that out of the way first.

There is a bathroom shack by the parking lot which is useful if you are just starting, heading to hole 14 or just finishing.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  First Time at Little Lehigh

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Jake1208
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice wide open course set in a beautiful park. Great place to take a beginner learning to play, to practice some less used shots in your bag or to break in a new disc.
Great tee signs on every hole along with flat rubber tee boxes.
#6 is probably considered the signature hole that requires your second shot to clear the creek to an up hill basket location. My favorite hole of the day was #12, a long 720 ft dog leg right with the upshot playing well down hill through a few trees.
Other memorable holes include:
#13- Includes two tees and plays with a huge elevation change that allows the 471 ft basket just about reachable with a good tee shot. A great one to really let it fly.
#8 and 17- both require a well placed tee shot to have a shot at well protected baskets tucked around and behind the tree line
Cons: While #6 was a fun hole, the creek really doesn't come into play unless you have a very poor tee shot. This hole could be really interesting if the tee was pushed back 100-150 feet. This would make the choice to play over the creek or lay up on your second shot a real decision to play with in your head.
A few navigation signs would help people from getting lost. Specifically knowing to walk up the path behind the #10 basket to the #11 tee and some direction after #13 that #14 is back by the #1 tee. I got lost and walked completely the wrong way.
The course includes a nice mix of short and long and uphill and down hill holes but does not make use of any of the wooded area in the huge park. This is clearly a miss as some wooded holes would really add to this course.
There seemed to be a lot of walking between the basket and the next tee, which isn't always a bad things but can make the round a bit longer to finish (or prevents one to get in 27+ holes in a morning).
Other Thoughts: Always great to have a variety of courses in the area and locals are lucky to have Little Lehigh and Jordan Creek so close by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great companion to Jordan Creek

5+    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a wonderful companion course to nearby Jordan Creek. The majority of the course is fairly wide open and is a great place to let loose and air some shots out, however the presence of the creek on a number of the early holes will punish any errant shots. I know I personally have had to take my shoes off and go on a recovery mission more than once! Risk/reward makes decision making critical, which adds to the allure of the course. The park is well maintained and the tee markers are extremely helpful. Even though the park was crowded, the majority of the disc golf course allows you to remain quite secluded, enjoy your surroundings, and feel like you have the park to yourself.
Cons: A number of people have commented on the presence of other park goers, and even though I play on weekend mornings at 7:30 AM or so, there are still a number of joggers and fishermen to contend with. Nothing directly on the course itself mind you, but close enough to be concerned about.

Without a map, navigation would be bordering on impossible. Holes 4 to 5, 8 to 9, and 13 to 14 are not all that straightforward the first time you play. The rubber tee pads are beat up in spots, but are still servicable.

Hole 6 was great with the shot over the creek, and hole 7 also had a neat layout. I also enjoyed 12 and 13 with big down runs. Other than that, there were no really truly memorable holes in terms of uniqueness, which is why I chose to rate it a 4 and not higher.
Other Thoughts: WIth Jordan Creek offering an adventure in the woods, LLP provides a more open experience. If traveling to the area, I would recommend hitting these two in one day to experience one awesome day of disc golf. Elevation changes make for some fun downhill bombs.

Holes 14-18 make for a ho-hum ending, so starting with these holes and then proceeding to 1-13 would make a more pleasing round. This is a course that lends itself to being played a many times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome. Most of the holes are very long but with a clear fairway for each. There are no in the woods hole but the course has the feel of a golf course. Because of this you are able to really put max power on many holes and the way the course is set up, there are still plenty of obstacles. The park is stunning. Very well maintained and seems to go on forever. A downhill holes were exceptionally fun.
Cons: Rubber tees
Adding a few in the woods holes would give a nice mix and there is plenty of area to do so.
Other Thoughts: I will be back. I feel this course is just as good as Jordan creek and its great to have 2 excellent courses so close together

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Valley Gem #2

5+    7/29/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 72  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is extremely beautiful and long! The course is set in a public park and uses the land to its advantage. This course will allow one to really "grip it and rip it". The park has restrooms located across the lot from hole #1. There are plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the park. The creek actually comes into play on many of the holes making it really challenging. This course will require you to throw a variety of shots especially once you get to hole #5. A small but accurate arm will go a long way on this course. The tee signs are very informative. If you play using the out of bounds this course will be extremely difficult i.e.(creek, paths, and certain areas of brush). The course has multiple pin locations for just about every hole. Hole #6 is absolutely awesome! The course has many holes that push over 500' including hole #12 @ B position is 720'! Overall just an amazing course in the Valley.
Cons: Hole's #1-4 can be extremely soggy/muddy when any rain falls. The walk from hole #13 to #14 is way to long! Although i have heard they are trying to work on that. Hole's #1-4 can also have heavy pedestrian traffic as it follows a walking path. The tee pads are rubber. In my opinion the rubber tee pads are just plain unacceptable for this beauty of a course since they tend to slip with the slightest dew on the ground. From Hole #8 to #9 one can get lost if unfamiliar with course.
Other Thoughts: I also recommend starting on hole #14 due to the long tiring walk from #13. I rated this as the Lehigh Valley Gem #2 because I personally feel Jordan Creek is the true Gem! Side note: if in the area or traveling here to play it's a bonus because Jordan Creek and Little Lehigh are only a few miles apart! Get some concrete tee pads and i'll update to 4.5 :) Would recommend this course to just about anyone except the true newbie! Excellent work Lehigh Valley!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.