Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #6 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 530ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pilot to Bombadier

1    7/28/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Plenty of opportunities to launch your favourite distance driver.

Located in attractive park near amenities.
Cons:
Practically zero opportunities for technicians.

Long walks between a few holes - the "tips for finding tees/baskets", under links/files, is a must-have for a first-time visitor.
Other Thoughts:
If bombing straight away brings you much joy while playing disc golf, then make a sojourn here, as the holes are long (1/3rd over 500'), the bulk of the fairways are quite broad, and there are opportunities to throw down some steep hills as well- of course, you have to walk/throw up them, too.

If threading needles in thick woods with your mids is more your style, there are plenty of options to do so in the vicinity - just not here.

My favourite grouping of holes on this course is the most awkward to find . Number-5, a controlled, downslope right-turner, is followed by number-6, which requires an open landing zone be hit to set up a good look to the basket - cross-creek, uphill, and squeezed on both sides by vegetation! Number-7 is quite tight initially, then open to a short basket at a lower elevation, on a disused train track, while number-8, though long-n-flat, has a few large trees mid-fairway, and requires a sharp right-turn approach between tight copses of trees to reach the basket.

Given that the majority of the holes could best be described as open, a second set of (shorter) tee locations, especially for the uber-long/uphill holes, would make this course more beginner friendly.

Depends upon your course-preferences as to if you consider this a destination course, or not.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the course map and notes!

1    5/14/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes with nice baskets, tee signs, and rubber tees. Restrooms in parking lot and some water fountains on paths. Some nice use of elevation and hazards on a mostly open and long course. Course is well maintained and has some nice views.
Cons: Drainage and tall grass ob holes 1-4. Lots of park patrons to beware of throughout the course. Navigation was a nightmare with lots of walking between holes and lack of next tee signs. Thank goodness I brought the course notes to help guide me to the next hole, but even that was tricky. Busy street comes into play on hole 11. The creek may make some disc's unretrievable and the wind was whipping around quite a bit when I played.
Other Thoughts: Little Lehigh is a decent course overall, but the cons really hurt it on my rating. This course frustrated me with the unused potential and terrible navigation. Bring the MAP and NOTES! There were about as many holes I really liked as I disliked. I would recommend as others have stated to start on hole 14 so you end on hole 13. It flows much better that way. I would add a hole after 13 going up the huge hill to help with the hike back to the parking lot or hole 14. I wanted to play hole 17's tee to the hole 18's basket for a more epic downhill shot to finish the course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  First Time at Little Lehigh

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: Jake1208
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice wide open course set in a beautiful park. Great place to take a beginner learning to play, to practice some less used shots in your bag or to break in a new disc.
Great tee signs on every hole along with flat rubber tee boxes.
#6 is probably considered the signature hole that requires your second shot to clear the creek to an up hill basket location. My favorite hole of the day was #12, a long 720 ft dog leg right with the upshot playing well down hill through a few trees.
Other memorable holes include:
#13- Includes two tees and plays with a huge elevation change that allows the 471 ft basket just about reachable with a good tee shot. A great one to really let it fly.
#8 and 17- both require a well placed tee shot to have a shot at well protected baskets tucked around and behind the tree line
Cons: While #6 was a fun hole, the creek really doesn't come into play unless you have a very poor tee shot. This hole could be really interesting if the tee was pushed back 100-150 feet. This would make the choice to play over the creek or lay up on your second shot a real decision to play with in your head.
A few navigation signs would help people from getting lost. Specifically knowing to walk up the path behind the #10 basket to the #11 tee and some direction after #13 that #14 is back by the #1 tee. I got lost and walked completely the wrong way.
The course includes a nice mix of short and long and uphill and down hill holes but does not make use of any of the wooded area in the huge park. This is clearly a miss as some wooded holes would really add to this course.
There seemed to be a lot of walking between the basket and the next tee, which isn't always a bad things but can make the round a bit longer to finish (or prevents one to get in 27+ holes in a morning).
Other Thoughts: Always great to have a variety of courses in the area and locals are lucky to have Little Lehigh and Jordan Creek so close by.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love the Willows!

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2013
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great wide open holes that allow power throwers to see how far their discs can go. I like how the 600+ first hole sets the stage for the rest of the course.

- Great water hazards. Throwing over the creek on #6 is particularly fun. Most of the other holes have water in play as well, with nice risk/reward -- especially on the putts.

- Very scenic and beautiful with a nice landscape and scnenic views. It's hard to believe this place is right in Allentown!

- Nice elevation changes. 11-13 are much more different in elevation than other holes on the course.

- Tees and signage are well-kept and seem to be supported by a decent disc golf community.
Cons: - I wish this course had more wooded and/or technical holes, although that can be more satisfied at Jordan Creek.

- Course can get very crowded with many non disc golfers.

- Flow, as mentioned from others, is the biggest con. Some holes have navigation issues in the sense that it's hard to get from hole to hole, but 13-14 is the biggest gap. You have to basically run a marathon to get between these two holes!

- This place can be a swamp! Between the rain and overflow from the creek, it behooves one to bring an extra pair of socks/shoes when playing here.

- In my opinion, the last 3-4 holes pale in comparison to the front 14-15 due to the fact that they're all pretty much open-air straight shots. Number 18 isn't particularly memorable and could have utilized the great elevation change on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic complement to the other gems in the Lehigh Valley. This course transcends and far surpasses the usual characteristics of the average large city park (Schenley, Sedgley Woods, etc.) due to the presence of elevation changes, risk/reward, water hazards, and genuine natural beauty.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/14/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: beautiful park. well maintained. most of the holes were interesting and fun.
Cons: went the day after rain and the place was flooded. some of the holes are difficult to find and require a 5 min walk between them.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed 8 holes
4 others were good
i disliked 6 holes

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center