Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: ronhoffman2 Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great companion to Jordan Creek

5+    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a wonderful companion course to nearby Jordan Creek. The majority of the course is fairly wide open and is a great place to let loose and air some shots out, however the presence of the creek on a number of the early holes will punish any errant shots. I know I personally have had to take my shoes off and go on a recovery mission more than once! Risk/reward makes decision making critical, which adds to the allure of the course. The park is well maintained and the tee markers are extremely helpful. Even though the park was crowded, the majority of the disc golf course allows you to remain quite secluded, enjoy your surroundings, and feel like you have the park to yourself.
Cons: A number of people have commented on the presence of other park goers, and even though I play on weekend mornings at 7:30 AM or so, there are still a number of joggers and fishermen to contend with. Nothing directly on the course itself mind you, but close enough to be concerned about.

Without a map, navigation would be bordering on impossible. Holes 4 to 5, 8 to 9, and 13 to 14 are not all that straightforward the first time you play. The rubber tee pads are beat up in spots, but are still servicable.

Hole 6 was great with the shot over the creek, and hole 7 also had a neat layout. I also enjoyed 12 and 13 with big down runs. Other than that, there were no really truly memorable holes in terms of uniqueness, which is why I chose to rate it a 4 and not higher.
Other Thoughts: WIth Jordan Creek offering an adventure in the woods, LLP provides a more open experience. If traveling to the area, I would recommend hitting these two in one day to experience one awesome day of disc golf. Elevation changes make for some fun downhill bombs.

Holes 14-18 make for a ho-hum ending, so starting with these holes and then proceeding to 1-13 would make a more pleasing round. This is a course that lends itself to being played a many times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Valley Gem #2

5+    7/29/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 44  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is extremely beautiful and long! The course is set in a public park and uses the land to its advantage. This course will allow one to really "grip it and rip it". The park has restrooms located across the lot from hole #1. There are plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the park. The creek actually comes into play on many of the holes making it really challenging. This course will require you to throw a variety of shots especially once you get to hole #5. A small but accurate arm will go a long way on this course. The tee signs are very informative. If you play using the out of bounds this course will be extremely difficult i.e.(creek, paths, and certain areas of brush). The course has multiple pin locations for just about every hole. Hole #6 is absolutely awesome! The course has many holes that push over 500' including hole #12 @ B position is 720'! Overall just an amazing course in the Valley.
Cons: Hole's #1-4 can be extremely soggy/muddy when any rain falls. The walk from hole #13 to #14 is way to long! Although i have heard they are trying to work on that. Hole's #1-4 can also have heavy pedestrian traffic as it follows a walking path. The tee pads are rubber. In my opinion the rubber tee pads are just plain unacceptable for this beauty of a course since they tend to slip with the slightest dew on the ground. From Hole #8 to #9 one can get lost if unfamiliar with course.
Other Thoughts: I also recommend starting on hole #14 due to the long tiring walk from #13. I rated this as the Lehigh Valley Gem #2 because I personally feel Jordan Creek is the true Gem! Side note: if in the area or traveling here to play it's a bonus because Jordan Creek and Little Lehigh are only a few miles apart! Get some concrete tee pads and i'll update to 4.5 :) Would recommend this course to just about anyone except the true newbie! Excellent work Lehigh Valley!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: hole map on every tee w/ direction to following tee
fairways are mowed regularly
free
lots of different basket looks
end the round down hill
Cons: lots of park traffic
long walk between holes 4 and 14 easy to feel lost
Other Thoughts: course is nice no real water hazards all holes have maps. overall a must play

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Layout for what appeared to be a more open course. It has a nice diverse range of trees, OB, water, hills, elevation shots etc. This course was extremely fun as this was my first time out, but I played with 4 seasoned amateurs and they rate this course a 4 as everyone was definately challenged. Plenty of longer holes with tighter tees and difficult approaches.
Cons: Holes are spread out so bring lots of water or be prepared for some walkin
Other Thoughts: benches at the holes would be a nice add down the road

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Truly Great Play

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh Parkway is a wonderful course set in a public park in the Allentown area. It has pretty scenery, a creek and much open space. A clean bathroom is across from tee one, and scorecards are available in a metal box near the pad. The course fairways are well maintained. The color signage- 12 x 16 placards with hole, distance, A/B pin location and flight path- is among the best I've ever seen on a disc golf course. The rubber tee pads are in pretty good shape and are of adequate length. The baskets, although older, work fine. A number of holes have dual pin positions. There is nice variety in distance (200-700+ feet) and holes with varying challenges and degrees of difficulty. At over 600 feet and OB to avoid, Hole #1 throws you right into the fire. Hole #4 requires great accuracy and care to avoid both OB on the left and the creek on the right. And hole #6 features a flight path over tall grass OB then over a creek to an elevated basket. This just scratches the surface. A true pleasure for both the advanced and the amateur player.
Cons: One would be hard pressed to find too many faults at LLP. Two amenities that I like to see on courses- benches at each hole and poles to hang your bag on- are absent here. Pedestrians, cyclists and runners can test your patience at times.
Other Thoughts: After playing mostly densely wooded, technical courses the past seven months, I am very, very pleased I decided to play here. This is my favorite type of disc golf course- an open course that still has a number of trees spread about to keep you honest and force you to shape shots. The guy with the big arm will like it here, but one can't just uncork bombs and expect to score well, as finesse and touch are also needed throughout. There are numerous birdie and par opportunities, but at the same time you will work hard for 4s on a number of other holes. Little Lehigh Parkway is a true pleasure to play and perfectly compliments the more wooded and technical Jordan Creek located close by.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Parkway

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: teamgeopuff@gmail.co
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of open spaces in which to throw long distance drives, few trees, great signs at tee off points, water fountain nearby, light underbrush to make retrieving discs less painful.
Cons: Less maintained than I would have liked, rubber Tee's need some upkeep in places (minor damage) , poorly marked course in a few places it is unclear which way to go, poor quality printable map, high grass
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a great deal of fun for the amateur or the well seasoned veteran. Be prepared for lots of open spaces and 400ft plus fairways. Your driver will be the most used disc this playthrough. It was over 100 degrees when I played the course so bring sunscreen or a hat, youll need it on sunny days due to little shade. I love this course and it would be rated even higher if they kept up with the grass and maintained the tee off points. Play it! you will like it!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great course for a sunny afternoon.

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: MopMan
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Truly beautiful landscape.
- Lehigh park is very clean.
- Course equipment well maintained.
- High quality maps at every tee.
- Good variety of holes with regard to length, terrain features, and elevation.
Cons: - Signage between holes a little lacking. There are two long walks on the course that are not well marked. My first time through I was forced to dedicate about 30 minutes to looking for the next hole. Once you know, though, this isn't much of a con.
- Holes 1 & 2 very soggy.
- Pedestrian traffic high.
Other Thoughts: - Holes generally open with broad, grassy fairways and isolated obstacles.
- No heavily wooded holes.

The beauty and appeal of this course are tremendous. I'll be coming here again!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Open, Challeging Golf

5+    12/15/2009   2/3/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 48  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice rubber tee pads
Signs - indicate distance, par, obstacles, OB, and next tee
Beautifully maintained
Water in play on many holes
Elevation change on many holes
Part of 2005 worlds
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms
Cons: Gets flooded very easily, try and avoid this course if it has rained recently
Some bikers/ joggers may cause you to wait on a few holes as this park is not DG exclusive
2 long walks (from 4 to 5 and from 13-14)
After hole 4, continue following the path and cross the street to play #5.
After 13, make a left down the path, turn right on the bridge through the parking lot (pin for 18/practice basket should be on your left) and the tee for 15 is straight ahead. The course makes two loops 1-14 and 15-18. You can start either way.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course and a must play if in the area. It complements the more technical wooded challenge of nearby (3 miles) Jordan Creek very well.
Hole 1 is a long 666ft par 4, where the grass on the right plays as OB.
Hole 2 plays dangerously close to the creek, so you decide how close you want to play to the pin
3 is a 311 ft wide open with two late trees (and some potential for OB path)
Hole 4 is another par 4 that has the creek on the right, and the fairway gets tighter with OB path on left as you get closer to the pin.
5 is one of the shorter holes on the course, but has the most obstacles. A lefty hyzer can bring a deuce
6 is one of the favorite holes of most players. Straight shot with a dogleg left and OB on your left, this shot is more about placement. Your next shot plays over the creek uphill to the basket. Be careful not to play your drive too far left or too close to the creek as OB/water are likely outcomes. There is a drop zone to play from
7 is the shortest hole on the course at 213, and it is from an elevated tee. Clear the trees and deuces/ace runs should follow
8 is another great hole IMO (par 4 531 ft). The drive is long and open, but placement is also very important as you need to have an open gap between the huge bushes to have any chance at a birdie, and a good shot at par, which is not easy.
Hole 9 is open to a protected basket which may cause a wait with joggers on the path (ob) to the left.
10 is a challenging 310 foot elevated hole (over a path, be patient with joggers) with trees protecting the fairway and basket (do not go right, as prickers will make you wish you hadn't)
11 is a long open Par 4, with some challenge coming from OB street as well as length (630ft)
12 is another great par 4 hole with a very fast green and protected pin
13 is a bomb from an elevated tee over a street that really lets you air out a disc
Take a left after the basket and follow the path past your car to the tee for 14.
Hole 14 is deceptively long due to slight elevation (293 ft) pin straight out to the right.
15 is yet another challenging par 4. 539 ft that plays even longer is you are constantly going uphill.
16 is similar to 9 as it's an open shot to a protected pin
17 is a long (435ft) downhill hole that cuts sharply right
18 plays back towards the parking lot, 359 downhill with one protecting tree, but has the potential for OB with the path/lot (careful of joggers)

All in all this is a beautiful course that does not have many flaws. While it is wide open, you will have some gaps you need to hit, some placements of drives that do need to be in the right spot, as well as challenges of OB/water. Most mentioned con that people list is the walk from 4-5 and 13-14, but that is more of an inconvenience. Some players may be turned off by the length if they can't throw far enough to get birdies or pars on the long holes, but I think there is enough variety with distance, elevation and doglegs to create fun for all players.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play" Course

5+    12/12/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained course with a fair amount of variety. Numerous long fairways, interesting elevation changes, and a few technically challenging holes. A few of the holes have some obstacles and/or tight approaches but for the most part, majority are great for long-bomb drives...more so than just about any course in the area. You'll be hard-pressed to find another course with as many opportunities for outright grip n' rip fairways.

For the most part, the wide-open fairways are complimented by the OB areas. Numerous holes have OB tall grass that covers some of the sweet spots on the fairways that forces you to think your shots through. Numerous holes border the Little Lehigh creating additional OB considerations and will influence shot placement.

The tees are exquisite and well detailed. The fly pads offer solid footing on most holes. For the most part, the baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Not many, but safety is an issue. The course is shared by the public. At any time you could encounter runners, walkers (both with and without dogs), and bikers. Hole #10 includes a drive across the main path, hole #13 drives across the main park road, and several other fairways are dangerously close to walking/jogging paths so caution must be exhibited whenever non-disc golf players are around.

The course has a tendancy get water logged making it muddy on warmer days and icy on colder days. Also, if you're looking for a technically challenging course, this isn't it. While there is decent variety, the vast majority of the holes are meant for big arm drives.

Additionally, there are a few holes that require a long walk from pin to the next tee pad and may be confusing for the first-time player as there isn't any signage pointing players where to go for the next hole.

A couple of the baskets are getting banged up.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend bringing some waders, a telescopic rake, and a fishing net just in case. It seems like each time I play this course someone in my group or elsewhere loses a disc in the Little Lehigh. I've seen this frequently on the 2nd and 4th holes and, obviously, the 6th hole.

Also, bring water of your own. This is a very long course to begin with before you add in the additional distance that needs to be covered between holes. It's a fun, high-quality course and you'll get plenty of exercise.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of several 'destination' Greater Lehigh Valley courses

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 118  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.2 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: • Improved rubber tee pads on solid gravel 'beds'
• Addition of tee signs (may help with previously reported navigation issues)
• Excellent use of elevation (up/down)
• Well maintained & mainly long, open fairways
• Most baskets in good shape
• Water either comes into play or is nearby for around half the holes
• Nicely balanced; no real 'handedness bias'
• Conveniently located off I-78 & close to other area 'destination' courses
• Amenities by the main parking lot with two loops back: 1-13 & 14-18
• Disc loss more of a possibility with water than rough (limited disc searching)
• One of four courses for the 2005 Worlds
Cons: • Multi-use park - other park attendants are definitely a regular hazard! So be very patient & careful
• Some holes bordering and throwing near/across roads &/or heavily used walking/biking paths
• Wooded holes are non-existent; the one point missing in an otherwise balanced design
• A couple long walks that disturb flow (from 4 to 5 and 13 to 14)
• Very little technicality and slanted toward 'big' arms
• Lack of alternate tees (only 3) & pins (none)
Other Thoughts: In 2006, I started playing disc golf again after having not played for several years. I soon discovered Little Lehigh Parkway and have been playing it regularly ever since - balancing out and complimenting the other area courses.

Admittedly, it has flaws as far as conflicts with other park goers. I handle this by being extremely patient - yielding to cars, joggers, bikers, fishermen, pick-knickers…basically anything & everything that can or could possibly be a hazard.

With regards to the 'flow' problems, I counteract this by beginning my round on the 2nd loop (holes 14-18) and then play the 1st loop (1-13). Therefore, the walk from 13-14 (which is the longest between holes) is to your car (or another round!) instead of 5 more holes requiring more long uphill/downhill walking. Believe me, this is the recommended layout - especially if you're on a 'destination' road trip playing multiple, highly rated and subsequently challenging Greater Lehigh Valley courses in one day.

As a biased, regular player of this course, I certainly miss the old #11 & 12 - two fun holes that made outstanding use of elevation (replaced by current holes 7 & 8 - not that I have anything against these holes mind you). I wouldn't be averse to having these holes reinstated and increasing the number to 20. Heck, I'd even add another hole in the woods to the left of the long walk between 4 and 5 eliminating the flow problem - which would bring the total number of holes to twenty-one!

The above 'High Hopes' aside, this course is very much recommended as a destination play along with Jordan Creek Park, Lake Nockamixon, Skyline Park at Blue Mountain Ski Area, Tinicum Park and the many other exceptional courses in and around the Greater Lehigh Valley region.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.