Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket looking toward the creek



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A must in the Leighigh Valley

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Gives you an opportunity to really let loose on certain holes
-Very well maintained. Best fairways I have played on in a while
-Has a good variety of elevation.
-Rubber tee pads are always nice on sunny days
-The park has some awesome architecture (stone arches, old railroad bridges), and landscaping. The basket next to willows trees is so cool.
-The walk between holes is great exercise
Cons: -While water is in play on most holes, there is only one that you throw over the water. I would have liked to throw over the water more.
-The basket for 18 is not in the correct place
-Other visitors of the park think the tee pads/fairways are great places to have a picnic
Other Thoughts: If I am ever in the area again I will make another stop here. So glad I printed out a map, otherwise I would have kept second guessing where the next tee was. Also, if you happen to be playing on a hot day, I would suggest you try your best not to look at the people swimming in the creek, there are so things you cannot unsee.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

2-4    5/24/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Hyzer_Soze
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 5 through 18 is one of the best stretch of holes I've ever played. They require all types of throws and are both fair and challenging. You'll also see much less pedestrian traffic than you do on 1-4.

The ability to throw long bombs will be an advantage but it's not required to put up a solid score. There are enough technical shots to keep any player honest.

Cons: Holes 1-4 do not fairly represent the quality of this course. Hole 1 is often a soggy mess. There's a lot of pedestrian traffic through these holes as well. The course doesn't really start to become spectacular until the 5th hole. There is a remedy to this however, see below.
Other Thoughts: I strongly recommend teeing off the 14th tee. It is located about 100 yards North of the parking lot. 14 through 18 will take you right back to the parking lot, where you can proceed to 1. By then you're warmed up and better ready to deal with the pedestrian traffic on 1.4.

This gives you an added advantage of finishing on hole 13. Holes 11, 12 and 13 make for outstanding finishing holes. After completing hole 13 you have an incredibly long walk back to the parking lot. If you play the holes in order, you'll probably be exhausted on holes 14-18. If you play the holes in in the order I recommend, you can use the long walk back to reflect on a fantastic round of disc golf.

I heard they are making some changes to the layout before this years Sportsfest tournament, which I think is in July. So check back for updates if you intend on playing it after that.

Overall, an outstanding world class course that you should play if you have the opportunity.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Little Lehigh

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: phemps
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice layout. i enjoy the scenary alot and this course is well maintained. decent amount of elevation change and a great level of difficulty
Cons: Hobo encounters tend to be frightening, one lives under the bridge along side of hole 6. do not get too close he tends to be quite territorial.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play for many reasons, with that being said get out and play it!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

5+    4/21/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was a hidden gem in the rough. We have been to this park so many times over the past five years and never even noticed the baskets. They have blended this course into the landscaping perfectly. This is a family course, we have brought our parents with us and they absolutely loved it. Again, this is a walkers course that goes the distance. Throw and terrain are great.
Cons: The first three holes are a pond for 72 hours after the rain. Wear clothing that can get wet because the first three holes warrant it.
Other Thoughts: The challenge and the walk are well worth the distances. This is our second favorite course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 LLP

5+    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Jajee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners or pros. It has holes very wide open for anyone trying to let loose on their arm. There are also a few holes that require some aim. This is always great for someone trying to improve. Went out last weekend (mind you it's mid march) it is nice to have the trees bare so you can find a disc if need be. I really do like the tee's. Almost all are great and allow you to get the great footing you need to launch one, even in rainy weather. Course is very well maintained. They added new signs last year that are very detailed.
Cons: There is some distance between 4 & 5 and 13 & 14. We usually start at 14 since it is next to the parking lot and work our way around. There is some issues with the rain as little ponds form especially on 2. This sometimes leads to a skeeter farm during the summer. There is a bit of a hike after 10 that if you have some extra lbs on you like myself it sucks during August. But hey we can all use the work out. During the summer I have ran into a handful of times where there were families having a picnic in the middle of the fairway. I understand it is a park but keep in mind that it is also a golf course. Most will move out of the way (if they speak English). Watch out for tee 5. Rain has been killing it and needs repair. That is the only one I can think of though. And as Clovvndust said there is a homeless man that lives under the bridge. He is harmless just respect his territory. It was a little intimidating at first but afters years of being there he's ok. I also have to add that only since I have been playing this course for many months that I know where the holes are. There is a bit of difficulty finding 7 & 8 and 11 and beyond. Maybe as a project this summer I will set something up.
Other Thoughts: Play as early in the season and as late and as many as you can in between. You can actually see the course change week by week. Good luck to all and if you see a white disc on 12 in the woods get in touch with me.......I miss it :(

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.