Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: ronhoffman2 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great companion to Jordan Creek

5+    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a wonderful companion course to nearby Jordan Creek. The majority of the course is fairly wide open and is a great place to let loose and air some shots out, however the presence of the creek on a number of the early holes will punish any errant shots. I know I personally have had to take my shoes off and go on a recovery mission more than once! Risk/reward makes decision making critical, which adds to the allure of the course. The park is well maintained and the tee markers are extremely helpful. Even though the park was crowded, the majority of the disc golf course allows you to remain quite secluded, enjoy your surroundings, and feel like you have the park to yourself.
Cons: A number of people have commented on the presence of other park goers, and even though I play on weekend mornings at 7:30 AM or so, there are still a number of joggers and fishermen to contend with. Nothing directly on the course itself mind you, but close enough to be concerned about.

Without a map, navigation would be bordering on impossible. Holes 4 to 5, 8 to 9, and 13 to 14 are not all that straightforward the first time you play. The rubber tee pads are beat up in spots, but are still servicable.

Hole 6 was great with the shot over the creek, and hole 7 also had a neat layout. I also enjoyed 12 and 13 with big down runs. Other than that, there were no really truly memorable holes in terms of uniqueness, which is why I chose to rate it a 4 and not higher.
Other Thoughts: WIth Jordan Creek offering an adventure in the woods, LLP provides a more open experience. If traveling to the area, I would recommend hitting these two in one day to experience one awesome day of disc golf. Elevation changes make for some fun downhill bombs.

Holes 14-18 make for a ho-hum ending, so starting with these holes and then proceeding to 1-13 would make a more pleasing round. This is a course that lends itself to being played a many times.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    4/21/2012   4/21/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is pretty awesome. Most of the holes are very long but with a clear fairway for each. There are no in the woods hole but the course has the feel of a golf course. Because of this you are able to really put max power on many holes and the way the course is set up, there are still plenty of obstacles. The park is stunning. Very well maintained and seems to go on forever. A downhill holes were exceptionally fun.
Cons: Rubber tees
Adding a few in the woods holes would give a nice mix and there is plenty of area to do so.
Other Thoughts: I will be back. I feel this course is just as good as Jordan creek and its great to have 2 excellent courses so close together

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Valley Gem #2

5+    7/29/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: PKBrownE87
Played: 83  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is extremely beautiful and long! The course is set in a public park and uses the land to its advantage. This course will allow one to really "grip it and rip it". The park has restrooms located across the lot from hole #1. There are plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the park. The creek actually comes into play on many of the holes making it really challenging. This course will require you to throw a variety of shots especially once you get to hole #5. A small but accurate arm will go a long way on this course. The tee signs are very informative. If you play using the out of bounds this course will be extremely difficult i.e.(creek, paths, and certain areas of brush). The course has multiple pin locations for just about every hole. Hole #6 is absolutely awesome! The course has many holes that push over 500' including hole #12 @ B position is 720'! Overall just an amazing course in the Valley.
Cons: Hole's #1-4 can be extremely soggy/muddy when any rain falls. The walk from hole #13 to #14 is way to long! Although i have heard they are trying to work on that. Hole's #1-4 can also have heavy pedestrian traffic as it follows a walking path. The tee pads are rubber. In my opinion the rubber tee pads are just plain unacceptable for this beauty of a course since they tend to slip with the slightest dew on the ground. From Hole #8 to #9 one can get lost if unfamiliar with course.
Other Thoughts: I also recommend starting on hole #14 due to the long tiring walk from #13. I rated this as the Lehigh Valley Gem #2 because I personally feel Jordan Creek is the true Gem! Side note: if in the area or traveling here to play it's a bonus because Jordan Creek and Little Lehigh are only a few miles apart! Get some concrete tee pads and i'll update to 4.5 :) Would recommend this course to just about anyone except the true newbie! Excellent work Lehigh Valley!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A must in the Leighigh Valley

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Gives you an opportunity to really let loose on certain holes
-Very well maintained. Best fairways I have played on in a while
-Has a good variety of elevation.
-Rubber tee pads are always nice on sunny days
-The park has some awesome architecture (stone arches, old railroad bridges), and landscaping. The basket next to willows trees is so cool.
-The walk between holes is great exercise
Cons: -While water is in play on most holes, there is only one that you throw over the water. I would have liked to throw over the water more.
-The basket for 18 is not in the correct place
-Other visitors of the park think the tee pads/fairways are great places to have a picnic
Other Thoughts: If I am ever in the area again I will make another stop here. So glad I printed out a map, otherwise I would have kept second guessing where the next tee was. Also, if you happen to be playing on a hot day, I would suggest you try your best not to look at the people swimming in the creek, there are so things you cannot unsee.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/11/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: gauma369
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -long open holes
-very nice park
-plenty of water hazards
-rubber tee pads
-good use of elevation and different shots
Cons: -not enough signage between some holes (4-5 and 13-14)
-long stretches between 4-5 and 13-14
-some pretty rough OB on hole 1 and 6
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park with a nice disc golf course. Although I've been playing here for years I figured I would give a review on it. Some next tee signs would help the walk from hole to 5 and from 13 to 14. I can see how people playing the course for first time could get lost other then that its pretty easy to navigate. I love the water aspect which plays big roles in many of the holes. The river is a draw back if heavy rains occur before you intend to play because the first 6 holes get very swampy. Overall good mix of shots but most drives are grip it and rip it big arm players.

Hole 6 gets me every time absolutely love this hole. Tee off with dog leg left where you lay up just before the river then shoot across the river and get a good run at getting an eagle (although Ive never hit it Ive had some good looks at it)

I understand the idea and significance of letting the rough grow out on hole 1 but makes this hole 10 times tougher because you need to stay very tight to the woods and seeing the basket is pretty tough at end when it hooks back in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

2-4    5/24/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Hyzer_Soze
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 5 through 18 is one of the best stretch of holes I've ever played. They require all types of throws and are both fair and challenging. You'll also see much less pedestrian traffic than you do on 1-4.

The ability to throw long bombs will be an advantage but it's not required to put up a solid score. There are enough technical shots to keep any player honest.

Cons: Holes 1-4 do not fairly represent the quality of this course. Hole 1 is often a soggy mess. There's a lot of pedestrian traffic through these holes as well. The course doesn't really start to become spectacular until the 5th hole. There is a remedy to this however, see below.
Other Thoughts: I strongly recommend teeing off the 14th tee. It is located about 100 yards North of the parking lot. 14 through 18 will take you right back to the parking lot, where you can proceed to 1. By then you're warmed up and better ready to deal with the pedestrian traffic on 1.4.

This gives you an added advantage of finishing on hole 13. Holes 11, 12 and 13 make for outstanding finishing holes. After completing hole 13 you have an incredibly long walk back to the parking lot. If you play the holes in order, you'll probably be exhausted on holes 14-18. If you play the holes in in the order I recommend, you can use the long walk back to reflect on a fantastic round of disc golf.

I heard they are making some changes to the layout before this years Sportsfest tournament, which I think is in July. So check back for updates if you intend on playing it after that.

Overall, an outstanding world class course that you should play if you have the opportunity.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: hole map on every tee w/ direction to following tee
fairways are mowed regularly
lots of different basket looks
end the round down hill
Cons: lots of park traffic
long walk between holes 4 and 14 easy to feel lost
Other Thoughts: course is nice no real water hazards all holes have maps. overall a must play

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    10/21/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh is a large park with many great shots. It is well kept and safe. The pros are really nice and the cons are just basically annoyances.

-informative tee signs
-rubber tee pads
-mostly open but obstacles/hazards form fairways
-1/3 of the course has a shot over 500ft. including a few over 600ft.
-vareity including risk/reward, elevation,
-water hazards don't pose too much risk of losing a disc (if the water level isn't high) as long as you are willing to climb down a small embankment
Cons: The biggest cons for me were the pedestrian traffic and the extra long walks between a few holes. With the longer distances some players lose accuracy and that's where hitting a jogger could happen and as others have said there are many other park goers.

The long walks between holes make you feel like you're lost, BRING THE MAP!

Other Thoughts: This course will give you a serious workout. Be ready for it. I did notice drinking fountains along the running path which was wonderful. It is a fun play but remember if you're not familiar with the course do NOT forget the map!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Little Lehigh

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: phemps
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice layout. i enjoy the scenary alot and this course is well maintained. decent amount of elevation change and a great level of difficulty
Cons: Hobo encounters tend to be frightening, one lives under the bridge along side of hole 6. do not get too close he tends to be quite territorial.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play for many reasons, with that being said get out and play it!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course

1    9/26/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: mostly open holes
great use of hills and water
some good "let 'er rip" holes
awesome park and scenemost people in park are aware of disc golf
Cons: way too much walking involved
signs not descriptive enough as to where next tee is.
definately read the "tips for finding tees/baskets" and make some notes on your map!
Other Thoughts: Very nice park and great course, if not for lots of walking and difficulty of finding tees I would have rated much higher

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.