Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: ronhoffman2 Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
4 / 630ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Enjoyable course

1    9/26/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: mostly open holes
great use of hills and water
some good "let 'er rip" holes
awesome park and scenemost people in park are aware of disc golf
Cons: way too much walking involved
signs not descriptive enough as to where next tee is.
definately read the "tips for finding tees/baskets" and make some notes on your map!
Other Thoughts: Very nice park and great course, if not for lots of walking and difficulty of finding tees I would have rated much higher

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a pleasure to play

1    9/8/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great course, beautiful park. lots of long holes and open space. this is my new favorite course. Can't wait to come back again!!
Cons: Long holes and some are pretty spread out, just keep following the trail!!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Layout for what appeared to be a more open course. It has a nice diverse range of trees, OB, water, hills, elevation shots etc. This course was extremely fun as this was my first time out, but I played with 4 seasoned amateurs and they rate this course a 4 as everyone was definately challenged. Plenty of longer holes with tighter tees and difficult approaches.
Cons: Holes are spread out so bring lots of water or be prepared for some walkin
Other Thoughts: benches at the holes would be a nice add down the road

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Truly Great Play

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh Parkway is a wonderful course set in a public park in the Allentown area. It has pretty scenery, a creek and much open space. A clean bathroom is across from tee one, and scorecards are available in a metal box near the pad. The course fairways are well maintained. The color signage- 12 x 16 placards with hole, distance, A/B pin location and flight path- is among the best I've ever seen on a disc golf course. The rubber tee pads are in pretty good shape and are of adequate length. The baskets, although older, work fine. A number of holes have dual pin positions. There is nice variety in distance (200-700+ feet) and holes with varying challenges and degrees of difficulty. At over 600 feet and OB to avoid, Hole #1 throws you right into the fire. Hole #4 requires great accuracy and care to avoid both OB on the left and the creek on the right. And hole #6 features a flight path over tall grass OB then over a creek to an elevated basket. This just scratches the surface. A true pleasure for both the advanced and the amateur player.
Cons: One would be hard pressed to find too many faults at LLP. Two amenities that I like to see on courses- benches at each hole and poles to hang your bag on- are absent here. Pedestrians, cyclists and runners can test your patience at times.
Other Thoughts: After playing mostly densely wooded, technical courses the past seven months, I am very, very pleased I decided to play here. This is my favorite type of disc golf course- an open course that still has a number of trees spread about to keep you honest and force you to shape shots. The guy with the big arm will like it here, but one can't just uncork bombs and expect to score well, as finesse and touch are also needed throughout. There are numerous birdie and par opportunities, but at the same time you will work hard for 4s on a number of other holes. Little Lehigh Parkway is a true pleasure to play and perfectly compliments the more wooded and technical Jordan Creek located close by.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Parkway

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: teamgeopuff@gmail.co
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of open spaces in which to throw long distance drives, few trees, great signs at tee off points, water fountain nearby, light underbrush to make retrieving discs less painful.
Cons: Less maintained than I would have liked, rubber Tee's need some upkeep in places (minor damage) , poorly marked course in a few places it is unclear which way to go, poor quality printable map, high grass
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a great deal of fun for the amateur or the well seasoned veteran. Be prepared for lots of open spaces and 400ft plus fairways. Your driver will be the most used disc this playthrough. It was over 100 degrees when I played the course so bring sunscreen or a hat, youll need it on sunny days due to little shade. I love this course and it would be rated even higher if they kept up with the grass and maintained the tee off points. Play it! you will like it!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

5+    4/21/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was a hidden gem in the rough. We have been to this park so many times over the past five years and never even noticed the baskets. They have blended this course into the landscaping perfectly. This is a family course, we have brought our parents with us and they absolutely loved it. Again, this is a walkers course that goes the distance. Throw and terrain are great.
Cons: The first three holes are a pond for 72 hours after the rain. Wear clothing that can get wet because the first three holes warrant it.
Other Thoughts: The challenge and the walk are well worth the distances. This is our second favorite course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Willows!

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2013
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great wide open holes that allow power throwers to see how far their discs can go. I like how the 600+ first hole sets the stage for the rest of the course.

- Great water hazards. Throwing over the creek on #6 is particularly fun. Most of the other holes have water in play as well, with nice risk/reward -- especially on the putts.

- Very scenic and beautiful with a nice landscape and scnenic views. It's hard to believe this place is right in Allentown!

- Nice elevation changes. 11-13 are much more different in elevation than other holes on the course.

- Tees and signage are well-kept and seem to be supported by a decent disc golf community.
Cons: - I wish this course had more wooded and/or technical holes, although that can be more satisfied at Jordan Creek.

- Course can get very crowded with many non disc golfers.

- Flow, as mentioned from others, is the biggest con. Some holes have navigation issues in the sense that it's hard to get from hole to hole, but 13-14 is the biggest gap. You have to basically run a marathon to get between these two holes!

- This place can be a swamp! Between the rain and overflow from the creek, it behooves one to bring an extra pair of socks/shoes when playing here.

- In my opinion, the last 3-4 holes pale in comparison to the front 14-15 due to the fact that they're all pretty much open-air straight shots. Number 18 isn't particularly memorable and could have utilized the great elevation change on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic complement to the other gems in the Lehigh Valley. This course transcends and far surpasses the usual characteristics of the average large city park (Schenley, Sedgley Woods, etc.) due to the presence of elevation changes, risk/reward, water hazards, and genuine natural beauty.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great course for a sunny afternoon.

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: MopMan
Played: 61  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Truly beautiful landscape.
- Lehigh park is very clean.
- Course equipment well maintained.
- High quality maps at every tee.
- Good variety of holes with regard to length, terrain features, and elevation.
Cons: - Signage between holes a little lacking. There are two long walks on the course that are not well marked. My first time through I was forced to dedicate about 30 minutes to looking for the next hole. Once you know, though, this isn't much of a con.
- Holes 1 & 2 very soggy.
- Pedestrian traffic high.
Other Thoughts: - Holes generally open with broad, grassy fairways and isolated obstacles.
- No heavily wooded holes.

The beauty and appeal of this course are tremendous. I'll be coming here again!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/14/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: beautiful park. well maintained. most of the holes were interesting and fun.
Cons: went the day after rain and the place was flooded. some of the holes are difficult to find and require a 5 min walk between them.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed 8 holes
4 others were good
i disliked 6 holes

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 LLP

5+    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Jajee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners or pros. It has holes very wide open for anyone trying to let loose on their arm. There are also a few holes that require some aim. This is always great for someone trying to improve. Went out last weekend (mind you it's mid march) it is nice to have the trees bare so you can find a disc if need be. I really do like the tee's. Almost all are great and allow you to get the great footing you need to launch one, even in rainy weather. Course is very well maintained. They added new signs last year that are very detailed.
Cons: There is some distance between 4 & 5 and 13 & 14. We usually start at 14 since it is next to the parking lot and work our way around. There is some issues with the rain as little ponds form especially on 2. This sometimes leads to a skeeter farm during the summer. There is a bit of a hike after 10 that if you have some extra lbs on you like myself it sucks during August. But hey we can all use the work out. During the summer I have ran into a handful of times where there were families having a picnic in the middle of the fairway. I understand it is a park but keep in mind that it is also a golf course. Most will move out of the way (if they speak English). Watch out for tee 5. Rain has been killing it and needs repair. That is the only one I can think of though. And as Clovvndust said there is a homeless man that lives under the bridge. He is harmless just respect his territory. It was a little intimidating at first but afters years of being there he's ok. I also have to add that only since I have been playing this course for many months that I know where the holes are. There is a bit of difficulty finding 7 & 8 and 11 and beyond. Maybe as a project this summer I will set something up.
Other Thoughts: Play as early in the season and as late and as many as you can in between. You can actually see the course change week by week. Good luck to all and if you see a white disc on 12 in the woods get in touch with me.......I miss it :(

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.