Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: ronhoffman2 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 322ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lehigh Parkway

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: teamgeopuff@gmail.co
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of open spaces in which to throw long distance drives, few trees, great signs at tee off points, water fountain nearby, light underbrush to make retrieving discs less painful.
Cons: Less maintained than I would have liked, rubber Tee's need some upkeep in places (minor damage) , poorly marked course in a few places it is unclear which way to go, poor quality printable map, high grass
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a great deal of fun for the amateur or the well seasoned veteran. Be prepared for lots of open spaces and 400ft plus fairways. Your driver will be the most used disc this playthrough. It was over 100 degrees when I played the course so bring sunscreen or a hat, youll need it on sunny days due to little shade. I love this course and it would be rated even higher if they kept up with the grass and maintained the tee off points. Play it! you will like it!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

5+    4/21/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was a hidden gem in the rough. We have been to this park so many times over the past five years and never even noticed the baskets. They have blended this course into the landscaping perfectly. This is a family course, we have brought our parents with us and they absolutely loved it. Again, this is a walkers course that goes the distance. Throw and terrain are great.
Cons: The first three holes are a pond for 72 hours after the rain. Wear clothing that can get wet because the first three holes warrant it.
Other Thoughts: The challenge and the walk are well worth the distances. This is our second favorite course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love the Willows!

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2013
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great wide open holes that allow power throwers to see how far their discs can go. I like how the 600+ first hole sets the stage for the rest of the course.

- Great water hazards. Throwing over the creek on #6 is particularly fun. Most of the other holes have water in play as well, with nice risk/reward -- especially on the putts.

- Very scenic and beautiful with a nice landscape and scnenic views. It's hard to believe this place is right in Allentown!

- Nice elevation changes. 11-13 are much more different in elevation than other holes on the course.

- Tees and signage are well-kept and seem to be supported by a decent disc golf community.
Cons: - I wish this course had more wooded and/or technical holes, although that can be more satisfied at Jordan Creek.

- Course can get very crowded with many non disc golfers.

- Flow, as mentioned from others, is the biggest con. Some holes have navigation issues in the sense that it's hard to get from hole to hole, but 13-14 is the biggest gap. You have to basically run a marathon to get between these two holes!

- This place can be a swamp! Between the rain and overflow from the creek, it behooves one to bring an extra pair of socks/shoes when playing here.

- In my opinion, the last 3-4 holes pale in comparison to the front 14-15 due to the fact that they're all pretty much open-air straight shots. Number 18 isn't particularly memorable and could have utilized the great elevation change on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic complement to the other gems in the Lehigh Valley. This course transcends and far surpasses the usual characteristics of the average large city park (Schenley, Sedgley Woods, etc.) due to the presence of elevation changes, risk/reward, water hazards, and genuine natural beauty.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great course for a sunny afternoon.

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: MopMan
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Truly beautiful landscape.
- Lehigh park is very clean.
- Course equipment well maintained.
- High quality maps at every tee.
- Good variety of holes with regard to length, terrain features, and elevation.
Cons: - Signage between holes a little lacking. There are two long walks on the course that are not well marked. My first time through I was forced to dedicate about 30 minutes to looking for the next hole. Once you know, though, this isn't much of a con.
- Holes 1 & 2 very soggy.
- Pedestrian traffic high.
Other Thoughts: - Holes generally open with broad, grassy fairways and isolated obstacles.
- No heavily wooded holes.

The beauty and appeal of this course are tremendous. I'll be coming here again!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/14/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: beautiful park. well maintained. most of the holes were interesting and fun.
Cons: went the day after rain and the place was flooded. some of the holes are difficult to find and require a 5 min walk between them.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed 8 holes
4 others were good
i disliked 6 holes

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 LLP

5+    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Jajee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners or pros. It has holes very wide open for anyone trying to let loose on their arm. There are also a few holes that require some aim. This is always great for someone trying to improve. Went out last weekend (mind you it's mid march) it is nice to have the trees bare so you can find a disc if need be. I really do like the tee's. Almost all are great and allow you to get the great footing you need to launch one, even in rainy weather. Course is very well maintained. They added new signs last year that are very detailed.
Cons: There is some distance between 4 & 5 and 13 & 14. We usually start at 14 since it is next to the parking lot and work our way around. There is some issues with the rain as little ponds form especially on 2. This sometimes leads to a skeeter farm during the summer. There is a bit of a hike after 10 that if you have some extra lbs on you like myself it sucks during August. But hey we can all use the work out. During the summer I have ran into a handful of times where there were families having a picnic in the middle of the fairway. I understand it is a park but keep in mind that it is also a golf course. Most will move out of the way (if they speak English). Watch out for tee 5. Rain has been killing it and needs repair. That is the only one I can think of though. And as Clovvndust said there is a homeless man that lives under the bridge. He is harmless just respect his territory. It was a little intimidating at first but afters years of being there he's ok. I also have to add that only since I have been playing this course for many months that I know where the holes are. There is a bit of difficulty finding 7 & 8 and 11 and beyond. Maybe as a project this summer I will set something up.
Other Thoughts: Play as early in the season and as late and as many as you can in between. You can actually see the course change week by week. Good luck to all and if you see a white disc on 12 in the woods get in touch with me.......I miss it :(

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Open, Challeging Golf

5+    12/15/2009   2/3/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 48  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice rubber tee pads
Signs - indicate distance, par, obstacles, OB, and next tee
Beautifully maintained
Water in play on many holes
Elevation change on many holes
Part of 2005 worlds
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms
Cons: Gets flooded very easily, try and avoid this course if it has rained recently
Some bikers/ joggers may cause you to wait on a few holes as this park is not DG exclusive
2 long walks (from 4 to 5 and from 13-14)
After hole 4, continue following the path and cross the street to play #5.
After 13, make a left down the path, turn right on the bridge through the parking lot (pin for 18/practice basket should be on your left) and the tee for 15 is straight ahead. The course makes two loops 1-14 and 15-18. You can start either way.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course and a must play if in the area. It complements the more technical wooded challenge of nearby (3 miles) Jordan Creek very well.
Hole 1 is a long 666ft par 4, where the grass on the right plays as OB.
Hole 2 plays dangerously close to the creek, so you decide how close you want to play to the pin
3 is a 311 ft wide open with two late trees (and some potential for OB path)
Hole 4 is another par 4 that has the creek on the right, and the fairway gets tighter with OB path on left as you get closer to the pin.
5 is one of the shorter holes on the course, but has the most obstacles. A lefty hyzer can bring a deuce
6 is one of the favorite holes of most players. Straight shot with a dogleg left and OB on your left, this shot is more about placement. Your next shot plays over the creek uphill to the basket. Be careful not to play your drive too far left or too close to the creek as OB/water are likely outcomes. There is a drop zone to play from
7 is the shortest hole on the course at 213, and it is from an elevated tee. Clear the trees and deuces/ace runs should follow
8 is another great hole IMO (par 4 531 ft). The drive is long and open, but placement is also very important as you need to have an open gap between the huge bushes to have any chance at a birdie, and a good shot at par, which is not easy.
Hole 9 is open to a protected basket which may cause a wait with joggers on the path (ob) to the left.
10 is a challenging 310 foot elevated hole (over a path, be patient with joggers) with trees protecting the fairway and basket (do not go right, as prickers will make you wish you hadn't)
11 is a long open Par 4, with some challenge coming from OB street as well as length (630ft)
12 is another great par 4 hole with a very fast green and protected pin
13 is a bomb from an elevated tee over a street that really lets you air out a disc
Take a left after the basket and follow the path past your car to the tee for 14.
Hole 14 is deceptively long due to slight elevation (293 ft) pin straight out to the right.
15 is yet another challenging par 4. 539 ft that plays even longer is you are constantly going uphill.
16 is similar to 9 as it's an open shot to a protected pin
17 is a long (435ft) downhill hole that cuts sharply right
18 plays back towards the parking lot, 359 downhill with one protecting tree, but has the potential for OB with the path/lot (careful of joggers)

All in all this is a beautiful course that does not have many flaws. While it is wide open, you will have some gaps you need to hit, some placements of drives that do need to be in the right spot, as well as challenges of OB/water. Most mentioned con that people list is the walk from 4-5 and 13-14, but that is more of an inconvenience. Some players may be turned off by the length if they can't throw far enough to get birdies or pars on the long holes, but I think there is enough variety with distance, elevation and doglegs to create fun for all players.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play" Course

5+    12/12/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained course with a fair amount of variety. Numerous long fairways, interesting elevation changes, and a few technically challenging holes. A few of the holes have some obstacles and/or tight approaches but for the most part, majority are great for long-bomb drives...more so than just about any course in the area. You'll be hard-pressed to find another course with as many opportunities for outright grip n' rip fairways.

For the most part, the wide-open fairways are complimented by the OB areas. Numerous holes have OB tall grass that covers some of the sweet spots on the fairways that forces you to think your shots through. Numerous holes border the Little Lehigh creating additional OB considerations and will influence shot placement.

The tees are exquisite and well detailed. The fly pads offer solid footing on most holes. For the most part, the baskets are in good shape.
Cons: Not many, but safety is an issue. The course is shared by the public. At any time you could encounter runners, walkers (both with and without dogs), and bikers. Hole #10 includes a drive across the main path, hole #13 drives across the main park road, and several other fairways are dangerously close to walking/jogging paths so caution must be exhibited whenever non-disc golf players are around.

The course has a tendancy get water logged making it muddy on warmer days and icy on colder days. Also, if you're looking for a technically challenging course, this isn't it. While there is decent variety, the vast majority of the holes are meant for big arm drives.

Additionally, there are a few holes that require a long walk from pin to the next tee pad and may be confusing for the first-time player as there isn't any signage pointing players where to go for the next hole.

A couple of the baskets are getting banged up.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend bringing some waders, a telescopic rake, and a fishing net just in case. It seems like each time I play this course someone in my group or elsewhere loses a disc in the Little Lehigh. I've seen this frequently on the 2nd and 4th holes and, obviously, the 6th hole.

Also, bring water of your own. This is a very long course to begin with before you add in the additional distance that needs to be covered between holes. It's a fun, high-quality course and you'll get plenty of exercise.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of several 'destination' Greater Lehigh Valley courses

5+    11/7/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 119  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.3 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: • Improved rubber tee pads on solid gravel 'beds'
• Addition of tee signs (may help with previously reported navigation issues)
• Excellent use of elevation (up/down)
• Well maintained & mainly long, open fairways
• Most baskets in good shape
• Water either comes into play or is nearby for around half the holes
• Nicely balanced; no real 'handedness bias'
• Conveniently located off I-78 & close to other area 'destination' courses
• Amenities by the main parking lot with two loops back: 1-13 & 14-18
• Disc loss more of a possibility with water than rough (limited disc searching)
• One of four courses for the 2005 Worlds
Cons: • Multi-use park - other park attendants are definitely a regular hazard! So be very patient & careful
• Some holes bordering and throwing near/across roads &/or heavily used walking/biking paths
• Wooded holes are non-existent; the one point missing in an otherwise balanced design
• A couple long walks that disturb flow (from 4 to 5 and 13 to 14)
• Very little technicality and slanted toward 'big' arms
• Lack of alternate tees (only 3) & pins (none)
Other Thoughts: In 2006, I started playing disc golf again after having not played for several years. I soon discovered Little Lehigh Parkway and have been playing it regularly ever since - balancing out and complimenting the other area courses.

Admittedly, it has flaws as far as conflicts with other park goers. I handle this by being extremely patient - yielding to cars, joggers, bikers, fishermen, pick-knickers…basically anything & everything that can or could possibly be a hazard.

With regards to the 'flow' problems, I counteract this by beginning my round on the 2nd loop (holes 14-18) and then play the 1st loop (1-13). Therefore, the walk from 13-14 (which is the longest between holes) is to your car (or another round!) instead of 5 more holes requiring more long uphill/downhill walking. Believe me, this is the recommended layout - especially if you're on a 'destination' road trip playing multiple, highly rated and subsequently challenging Greater Lehigh Valley courses in one day.

As a biased, regular player of this course, I certainly miss the old #11 & 12 - two fun holes that made outstanding use of elevation (replaced by current holes 7 & 8 - not that I have anything against these holes mind you). I wouldn't be averse to having these holes reinstated and increasing the number to 20. Heck, I'd even add another hole in the woods to the left of the long walk between 4 and 5 eliminating the flow problem - which would bring the total number of holes to twenty-one!

The above 'High Hopes' aside, this course is very much recommended as a destination play along with Jordan Creek Park, Lake Nockamixon, Skyline Park at Blue Mountain Ski Area, Tinicum Park and the many other exceptional courses in and around the Greater Lehigh Valley region.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Robin Hood

5+    10/8/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2009
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course for big arms. It's manicured, spotless, and scenic. There is ample parking, and available amenities. All holes are challenging, and fairly well varied, as much so as a wide-open course can be. Worth playing.
Cons: That said, the flow is absurdly awful, and needlessly so. Walkers, runners, and bikers are a hazard.
There are too many holes where both birdies and bogeys are darn near impossible to card, barring freak occurances. Jordan- a few miles north on 15th street, is a better course, now that it's been reworked. If you can only play one course here, my advice is play Jordan.
Other Thoughts: This is a gorgeous piece of land that could have been handled better, IMO.
But if you have a couple hours to spare in the Lehigh Valley, it's a lovely walk in the park, and you won't taco any discs.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.