Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #15 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 539ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 a pleasure to play

1    9/8/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great course, beautiful park. lots of long holes and open space. this is my new favorite course. Can't wait to come back again!!
Cons: Long holes and some are pretty spread out, just keep following the trail!!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Layout for what appeared to be a more open course. It has a nice diverse range of trees, OB, water, hills, elevation shots etc. This course was extremely fun as this was my first time out, but I played with 4 seasoned amateurs and they rate this course a 4 as everyone was definately challenged. Plenty of longer holes with tighter tees and difficult approaches.
Cons: Holes are spread out so bring lots of water or be prepared for some walkin
Other Thoughts: benches at the holes would be a nice add down the road

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Truly Great Play

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 66  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh Parkway is a wonderful course set in a public park in the Allentown area. It has pretty scenery, a creek and much open space. A clean bathroom is across from tee one, and scorecards are available in a metal box near the pad. The course fairways are well maintained. The color signage- 12 x 16 placards with hole, distance, A/B pin location and flight path- is among the best I've ever seen on a disc golf course. The rubber tee pads are in pretty good shape and are of adequate length. The baskets, although older, work fine. A number of holes have dual pin positions. There is nice variety in distance (200-700+ feet) and holes with varying challenges and degrees of difficulty. At over 600 feet and OB to avoid, Hole #1 throws you right into the fire. Hole #4 requires great accuracy and care to avoid both OB on the left and the creek on the right. And hole #6 features a flight path over tall grass OB then over a creek to an elevated basket. This just scratches the surface. A true pleasure for both the advanced and the amateur player.
Cons: One would be hard pressed to find too many faults at LLP. Two amenities that I like to see on courses- benches at each hole and poles to hang your bag on- are absent here. Pedestrians, cyclists and runners can test your patience at times.
Other Thoughts: After playing mostly densely wooded, technical courses the past seven months, I am very, very pleased I decided to play here. This is my favorite type of disc golf course- an open course that still has a number of trees spread about to keep you honest and force you to shape shots. The guy with the big arm will like it here, but one can't just uncork bombs and expect to score well, as finesse and touch are also needed throughout. There are numerous birdie and par opportunities, but at the same time you will work hard for 4s on a number of other holes. Little Lehigh Parkway is a true pleasure to play and perfectly compliments the more wooded and technical Jordan Creek located close by.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lehigh Parkway

1    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By:
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of open spaces in which to throw long distance drives, few trees, great signs at tee off points, water fountain nearby, light underbrush to make retrieving discs less painful.
Cons: Less maintained than I would have liked, rubber Tee's need some upkeep in places (minor damage) , poorly marked course in a few places it is unclear which way to go, poor quality printable map, high grass
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is a great deal of fun for the amateur or the well seasoned veteran. Be prepared for lots of open spaces and 400ft plus fairways. Your driver will be the most used disc this playthrough. It was over 100 degrees when I played the course so bring sunscreen or a hat, youll need it on sunny days due to little shade. I love this course and it would be rated even higher if they kept up with the grass and maintained the tee off points. Play it! you will like it!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

5+    4/21/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: kanobum
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was a hidden gem in the rough. We have been to this park so many times over the past five years and never even noticed the baskets. They have blended this course into the landscaping perfectly. This is a family course, we have brought our parents with us and they absolutely loved it. Again, this is a walkers course that goes the distance. Throw and terrain are great.
Cons: The first three holes are a pond for 72 hours after the rain. Wear clothing that can get wet because the first three holes warrant it.
Other Thoughts: The challenge and the walk are well worth the distances. This is our second favorite course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Willows!

1    3/27/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2013
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Great wide open holes that allow power throwers to see how far their discs can go. I like how the 600+ first hole sets the stage for the rest of the course.

- Great water hazards. Throwing over the creek on #6 is particularly fun. Most of the other holes have water in play as well, with nice risk/reward -- especially on the putts.

- Very scenic and beautiful with a nice landscape and scnenic views. It's hard to believe this place is right in Allentown!

- Nice elevation changes. 11-13 are much more different in elevation than other holes on the course.

- Tees and signage are well-kept and seem to be supported by a decent disc golf community.
Cons: - I wish this course had more wooded and/or technical holes, although that can be more satisfied at Jordan Creek.

- Course can get very crowded with many non disc golfers.

- Flow, as mentioned from others, is the biggest con. Some holes have navigation issues in the sense that it's hard to get from hole to hole, but 13-14 is the biggest gap. You have to basically run a marathon to get between these two holes!

- This place can be a swamp! Between the rain and overflow from the creek, it behooves one to bring an extra pair of socks/shoes when playing here.

- In my opinion, the last 3-4 holes pale in comparison to the front 14-15 due to the fact that they're all pretty much open-air straight shots. Number 18 isn't particularly memorable and could have utilized the great elevation change on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: This course is a fantastic complement to the other gems in the Lehigh Valley. This course transcends and far surpasses the usual characteristics of the average large city park (Schenley, Sedgley Woods, etc.) due to the presence of elevation changes, risk/reward, water hazards, and genuine natural beauty.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great course for a sunny afternoon.

1    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: MopMan
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Truly beautiful landscape.
- Lehigh park is very clean.
- Course equipment well maintained.
- High quality maps at every tee.
- Good variety of holes with regard to length, terrain features, and elevation.
Cons: - Signage between holes a little lacking. There are two long walks on the course that are not well marked. My first time through I was forced to dedicate about 30 minutes to looking for the next hole. Once you know, though, this isn't much of a con.
- Holes 1 & 2 very soggy.
- Pedestrian traffic high.
Other Thoughts: - Holes generally open with broad, grassy fairways and isolated obstacles.
- No heavily wooded holes.

The beauty and appeal of this course are tremendous. I'll be coming here again!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    3/14/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: beautiful park. well maintained. most of the holes were interesting and fun.
Cons: went the day after rain and the place was flooded. some of the holes are difficult to find and require a 5 min walk between them.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed 8 holes
4 others were good
i disliked 6 holes

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: Jajee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners or pros. It has holes very wide open for anyone trying to let loose on their arm. There are also a few holes that require some aim. This is always great for someone trying to improve. Went out last weekend (mind you it's mid march) it is nice to have the trees bare so you can find a disc if need be. I really do like the tee's. Almost all are great and allow you to get the great footing you need to launch one, even in rainy weather. Course is very well maintained. They added new signs last year that are very detailed.
Cons: There is some distance between 4 & 5 and 13 & 14. We usually start at 14 since it is next to the parking lot and work our way around. There is some issues with the rain as little ponds form especially on 2. This sometimes leads to a skeeter farm during the summer. There is a bit of a hike after 10 that if you have some extra lbs on you like myself it sucks during August. But hey we can all use the work out. During the summer I have ran into a handful of times where there were families having a picnic in the middle of the fairway. I understand it is a park but keep in mind that it is also a golf course. Most will move out of the way (if they speak English). Watch out for tee 5. Rain has been killing it and needs repair. That is the only one I can think of though. And as Clovvndust said there is a homeless man that lives under the bridge. He is harmless just respect his territory. It was a little intimidating at first but afters years of being there he's ok. I also have to add that only since I have been playing this course for many months that I know where the holes are. There is a bit of difficulty finding 7 & 8 and 11 and beyond. Maybe as a project this summer I will set something up.
Other Thoughts: Play as early in the season and as late and as many as you can in between. You can actually see the course change week by week. Good luck to all and if you see a white disc on 12 in the woods get in touch with me.......I miss it :(

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Open, Challeging Golf

5+    12/15/2009   2/3/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice rubber tee pads
Signs - indicate distance, par, obstacles, OB, and next tee
Beautifully maintained
Water in play on many holes
Elevation change on many holes
Part of 2005 worlds
Plenty of parking
Cons: Gets flooded very easily, try and avoid this course if it has rained recently
Some bikers/ joggers may cause you to wait on a few holes as this park is not DG exclusive
2 long walks (from 4 to 5 and from 13-14)
After hole 4, continue following the path and cross the street to play #5.
After 13, make a left down the path, turn right on the bridge through the parking lot (pin for 18/practice basket should be on your left) and the tee for 15 is straight ahead. The course makes two loops 1-14 and 15-18. You can start either way.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course and a must play if in the area. It complements the more technical wooded challenge of nearby (3 miles) Jordan Creek very well.
Hole 1 is a long 666ft par 4, where the grass on the right plays as OB.
Hole 2 plays dangerously close to the creek, so you decide how close you want to play to the pin
3 is a 311 ft wide open with two late trees (and some potential for OB path)
Hole 4 is another par 4 that has the creek on the right, and the fairway gets tighter with OB path on left as you get closer to the pin.
5 is one of the shorter holes on the course, but has the most obstacles. A lefty hyzer can bring a deuce
6 is one of the favorite holes of most players. Straight shot with a dogleg left and OB on your left, this shot is more about placement. Your next shot plays over the creek uphill to the basket. Be careful not to play your drive too far left or too close to the creek as OB/water are likely outcomes. There is a drop zone to play from
7 is the shortest hole on the course at 213, and it is from an elevated tee. Clear the trees and deuces/ace runs should follow
8 is another great hole IMO (par 4 531 ft). The drive is long and open, but placement is also very important as you need to have an open gap between the huge bushes to have any chance at a birdie, and a good shot at par, which is not easy.
Hole 9 is open to a protected basket which may cause a wait with joggers on the path (ob) to the left.
10 is a challenging 310 foot elevated hole (over a path, be patient with joggers) with trees protecting the fairway and basket (do not go right, as prickers will make you wish you hadn't)
11 is a long open Par 4, with some challenge coming from OB street as well as length (630ft)
12 is another great par 4 hole with a very fast green and protected pin
13 is a bomb from an elevated tee over a street that really lets you air out a disc
Take a left after the basket and follow the path past your car to the tee for 14.
Hole 14 is deceptively long due to slight elevation (293 ft) pin straight out to the right.
15 is yet another challenging par 4. 539 ft that plays even longer is you are constantly going uphill.
16 is similar to 9 as it's an open shot to a protected pin
17 is a long (435ft) downhill hole that cuts sharply right
18 plays back towards the parking lot, 359 downhill with one protecting tree, but has the potential for OB with the path/lot (careful of joggers)

All in all this is a beautiful course that does not have many flaws. While it is wide open, you will have some gaps you need to hit, some placements of drives that do need to be in the right spot, as well as challenges of OB/water. Most mentioned con that people list is the walk from 4-5 and 13-14, but that is more of an inconvenience. Some players may be turned off by the length if they can't throw far enough to get birdies or pars on the long holes, but I think there is enough variety with distance, elevation and doglegs to create fun for all players.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.