Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: ronhoffman2 Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A must in the Leighigh Valley

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Gives you an opportunity to really let loose on certain holes
-Very well maintained. Best fairways I have played on in a while
-Has a good variety of elevation.
-Rubber tee pads are always nice on sunny days
-The park has some awesome architecture (stone arches, old railroad bridges), and landscaping. The basket next to willows trees is so cool.
-The walk between holes is great exercise
Cons: -While water is in play on most holes, there is only one that you throw over the water. I would have liked to throw over the water more.
-The basket for 18 is not in the correct place
-Other visitors of the park think the tee pads/fairways are great places to have a picnic
Other Thoughts: If I am ever in the area again I will make another stop here. So glad I printed out a map, otherwise I would have kept second guessing where the next tee was. Also, if you happen to be playing on a hot day, I would suggest you try your best not to look at the people swimming in the creek, there are so things you cannot unsee.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/11/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: gauma369
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -long open holes
-very nice park
-bathrooms
-plenty of water hazards
-rubber tee pads
-good use of elevation and different shots
Cons: -not enough signage between some holes (4-5 and 13-14)
-long stretches between 4-5 and 13-14
-some pretty rough OB on hole 1 and 6
Other Thoughts: Beautiful park with a nice disc golf course. Although I've been playing here for years I figured I would give a review on it. Some next tee signs would help the walk from hole to 5 and from 13 to 14. I can see how people playing the course for first time could get lost other then that its pretty easy to navigate. I love the water aspect which plays big roles in many of the holes. The river is a draw back if heavy rains occur before you intend to play because the first 6 holes get very swampy. Overall good mix of shots but most drives are grip it and rip it big arm players.

Hole 6 gets me every time absolutely love this hole. Tee off with dog leg left where you lay up just before the river then shoot across the river and get a good run at getting an eagle (although Ive never hit it Ive had some good looks at it)

I understand the idea and significance of letting the rough grow out on hole 1 but makes this hole 10 times tougher because you need to stay very tight to the woods and seeing the basket is pretty tough at end when it hooks back in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

2-4    5/24/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Hyzer_Soze
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 5 through 18 is one of the best stretch of holes I've ever played. They require all types of throws and are both fair and challenging. You'll also see much less pedestrian traffic than you do on 1-4.

The ability to throw long bombs will be an advantage but it's not required to put up a solid score. There are enough technical shots to keep any player honest.

Cons: Holes 1-4 do not fairly represent the quality of this course. Hole 1 is often a soggy mess. There's a lot of pedestrian traffic through these holes as well. The course doesn't really start to become spectacular until the 5th hole. There is a remedy to this however, see below.
Other Thoughts: I strongly recommend teeing off the 14th tee. It is located about 100 yards North of the parking lot. 14 through 18 will take you right back to the parking lot, where you can proceed to 1. By then you're warmed up and better ready to deal with the pedestrian traffic on 1.4.

This gives you an added advantage of finishing on hole 13. Holes 11, 12 and 13 make for outstanding finishing holes. After completing hole 13 you have an incredibly long walk back to the parking lot. If you play the holes in order, you'll probably be exhausted on holes 14-18. If you play the holes in in the order I recommend, you can use the long walk back to reflect on a fantastic round of disc golf.

I heard they are making some changes to the layout before this years Sportsfest tournament, which I think is in July. So check back for updates if you intend on playing it after that.

Overall, an outstanding world class course that you should play if you have the opportunity.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh

1    5/24/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: hole map on every tee w/ direction to following tee
fairways are mowed regularly
free
lots of different basket looks
end the round down hill
Cons: lots of park traffic
long walk between holes 4 and 14 easy to feel lost
Other Thoughts: course is nice no real water hazards all holes have maps. overall a must play

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/21/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh is a large park with many great shots. It is well kept and safe. The pros are really nice and the cons are just basically annoyances.

Pros:
-informative tee signs
-rubber tee pads
-scenic
-mostly open but obstacles/hazards form fairways
-1/3 of the course has a shot over 500ft. including a few over 600ft.
-vareity including risk/reward, elevation,
-water hazards don't pose too much risk of losing a disc (if the water level isn't high) as long as you are willing to climb down a small embankment
Cons: The biggest cons for me were the pedestrian traffic and the extra long walks between a few holes. With the longer distances some players lose accuracy and that's where hitting a jogger could happen and as others have said there are many other park goers.

The long walks between holes make you feel like you're lost, BRING THE MAP!

Other Thoughts: This course will give you a serious workout. Be ready for it. I did notice drinking fountains along the running path which was wonderful. It is a fun play but remember if you're not familiar with the course do NOT forget the map!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Little Lehigh

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: phemps
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice layout. i enjoy the scenary alot and this course is well maintained. decent amount of elevation change and a great level of difficulty
Cons: Hobo encounters tend to be frightening, one lives under the bridge along side of hole 6. do not get too close he tends to be quite territorial.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play for many reasons, with that being said get out and play it!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable course

1    9/26/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: mostly open holes
great use of hills and water
some good "let 'er rip" holes
awesome park and scenemost people in park are aware of disc golf
Cons: way too much walking involved
signs not descriptive enough as to where next tee is.
definately read the "tips for finding tees/baskets" and make some notes on your map!
Other Thoughts: Very nice park and great course, if not for lots of walking and difficulty of finding tees I would have rated much higher

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 a pleasure to play

1    9/8/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: bigflicknick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Great course, beautiful park. lots of long holes and open space. this is my new favorite course. Can't wait to come back again!!
Cons: Long holes and some are pretty spread out, just keep following the trail!!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: jstranere
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Layout for what appeared to be a more open course. It has a nice diverse range of trees, OB, water, hills, elevation shots etc. This course was extremely fun as this was my first time out, but I played with 4 seasoned amateurs and they rate this course a 4 as everyone was definately challenged. Plenty of longer holes with tighter tees and difficult approaches.
Cons: Holes are spread out so bring lots of water or be prepared for some walkin
Other Thoughts: benches at the holes would be a nice add down the road

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Truly Great Play

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh Parkway is a wonderful course set in a public park in the Allentown area. It has pretty scenery, a creek and much open space. A clean bathroom is across from tee one, and scorecards are available in a metal box near the pad. The course fairways are well maintained. The color signage- 12 x 16 placards with hole, distance, A/B pin location and flight path- is among the best I've ever seen on a disc golf course. The rubber tee pads are in pretty good shape and are of adequate length. The baskets, although older, work fine. A number of holes have dual pin positions. There is nice variety in distance (200-700+ feet) and holes with varying challenges and degrees of difficulty. At over 600 feet and OB to avoid, Hole #1 throws you right into the fire. Hole #4 requires great accuracy and care to avoid both OB on the left and the creek on the right. And hole #6 features a flight path over tall grass OB then over a creek to an elevated basket. This just scratches the surface. A true pleasure for both the advanced and the amateur player.
Cons: One would be hard pressed to find too many faults at LLP. Two amenities that I like to see on courses- benches at each hole and poles to hang your bag on- are absent here. Pedestrians, cyclists and runners can test your patience at times.
Other Thoughts: After playing mostly densely wooded, technical courses the past seven months, I am very, very pleased I decided to play here. This is my favorite type of disc golf course- an open course that still has a number of trees spread about to keep you honest and force you to shape shots. The guy with the big arm will like it here, but one can't just uncork bombs and expect to score well, as finesse and touch are also needed throughout. There are numerous birdie and par opportunities, but at the same time you will work hard for 4s on a number of other holes. Little Lehigh Parkway is a true pleasure to play and perfectly compliments the more wooded and technical Jordan Creek located close by.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.