Allentown, PA 
Little Lehigh Parkway Share
Uploaded By: ronhoffman2 Hole #17 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Play it you'll like it.

1    8/16/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: riggsy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2009
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well kept by the Allentown Parks Dept. Mixes long, open holes, with shorter runs at deuce. A great place for long arms to grip it and rip it! Longest hole 730ft. The have score cards available near the first tee box.
Cons: Cons: Several good length walks between a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Print a map if you are a first timer. The tee pads are great shape. Less than 5 good minutes from I-78.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Flaws but still Awes!

5+    5/28/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's big and wide open. You can really test your arm here on many of the holes. Often the big arm feel is mitigated by elevation, shot placement, and nearby hazzards(street, walking path, river, trees) so it is not just a grip and rip open field course. Powerful yet accurate shot landing is needed here. There is notable elevation gains on holes 6,10, and 15 and dramatic elevation drops on holes 7,12,13, and 17. Holes 1-4 play along the flatland adjacent to the river and allow you to test how far you can throw but beware of the clearly defined OOB grass on hole 1 which accounts for over half of the 666 foot fairway. Hole 2 basket is perched close to the river. Hole 3 is guarded by 2 huge evergreens and the walking path is nearby. Hole 4 is an ever tightening bottleneck of a fairway with the walking path and river closing on both sides to a basket protected by the river and a big bush. Then a long walk up walking path across street to Holes 5,6. 5 is a fun righty turning crescent shot that can score deuces if your able to anhyzer or forehand effectively down this short tree lined fairway. 6 is considered one of the best holes. It's a drive over OOB rough to a grass landing area in front of the river. From there you must drive across the river and up a steep bank to the basket way up on the hillside. The bridge you must cross is also home to a local homeless man. He has lived there for years and is harmless. Just leave him be. Hole 7 is a technical shot through a tight window and then down to a basket resting atop an old train elevated bridge. Fun hole and chance for ace or deuce. Hole 8 is another open bomb but the landing must be precise to set up a moderately technical approach to the basket which rests up a tree laden gentle rise going to the right. Again a long walk to 9 across the street. 9 is a short flat throw to a protected basket with the walking path nearby. 10 is a marvelous hole shooting across an open field and then uphill to a basket sitting atop a narrowing gap. Walk up through the woods and your greeted with a long interesting par 4 #11 that has a wide open green fairway but slopes to the right so lefties can end up in trouble if they fade too much. A street runs the entire left side of the fairway so righties beware as well. 12 is a popular hole as it requires a precise opening drive avoiding treeline to the right to set up your approach which will be a downhill glide to a basket halfway downhill. You can miss and feasibly roll a good 150 feet past basket if not careful here. Hole 13 is the funnest hole. Just a huge chuck down a big hill and if your strong enough around a huge tree guarding the basket behind it. Dramatic elevation drop. Then another long walk to holes 14-18. just go downstream cross bridge to where course begins and walk past 1 and up walking path and hole 14 is on your left. 14 is a short uphill drive. 15 shoots from middle of field uphill through a tight gap and then uphill still to the basket that rests on a sloped hillside. Tough par 4 here. 16 is a straight open drive to a protected basket. 17 is a big downhill crush but it's a dogleg right so your challenged to throw a low anhyzer or to forehand around the bend which is just beyond most people's abilities. 18 is a slight downhill deuce run with a walking path and one tree guarding the basket. Tee signs are in place and rubber tee pads are in good condition. The course is permanent now so you can play year round. Well manicured park setting.
Cons: Recent summer 2010 city decision to allow grass to return to natural state has ruined the manicured feel of the course and created innumerable disc loss possibilities throughout the course. A true shame. The transitions are really confusing for first timers and frankly still irk me and I have played the course multiple times as a local. I always think another hole could be squeezed between 4 and 5, theres are really great woods after 4 that could be used that end up near present hole 5. I also think a shot after 13 across the river and back to the parking lot could fill the void between 13 and 14. Would be a great hole and there seems to be plenty of space to do it. I also prefer the old layout which used hole 14 as hole 1 and hole 13 as 18. This provided a better finishing hole and cut down on the sloppy transition of hole 13 to 14. You also did not have to hill climb as much after the long walk. It's a long course with long walks. The walking path and street come into play a bit too often for my liking and are tempting fate with the possibility of an accident or confrontation. Too little technical aspect to the course. I miss the old Worlds holes that were beyond present hole 16 and down the road.
Other Thoughts: Some repetition 3,9,16, are all open fields to protected baskets. This course was designed for Worlds 2005 and it is for this reason that it is so open and big arm friendly. It was to balance out the other Lehigh Valley Courses that were quite wooded, (Nockamixon and Jordan Creek). The course put on quite a display with Doss, Climo and Schultz battling it out. If you recognize why the course was designed the way it was it all makes sense. Definetely not meant to be a beginner or technical course. Also during Worlds the walking paths were closed and pedestrian traffic was not an issue. It's a beautiful course and really worth traveling to play here. Navigation and flow hurt her score. Challenge and Scenery are evident.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not so little Lehigh park

1    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: Grundleking
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Very nice park to play in.. well maintained fairways that are good for practicing your drives
Cons: Drives are way to long... there is not enough technical aspects of the course... its mostly just throwing your arm out to get to the basket.. there was no signage to tell you where the next basket was or even which tee you were on.. very good possibility of hitting the hundreds of people that are running, walking, laying in the middle of the fairway for a sun tan
Other Thoughts: I think this may be the most over rated course in the lehigh valley.. if you plan on playing a course in the lehigh valley point your GPS to jordan creek right down the road for a much better experience

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Little Lehigh Parkway

5+    4/5/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: ClovvnDust
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2010
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh Parkway is a big course. It has some long holes to test your long drive. Many of the holes have very open fairways. The majority of the wooded areas border the fairways.
One thing I thoroughly enjoy about this course is the way it changes throughout the season. In the early season the wooded areas and the creek shorelines are bare and create a more open feeling. Towards the middle to end of April and throughout the summer those areas really fill in and the shorline foliage grows several feet high. It truly creates two different games. I would recommend playing a round during each of those times.
The course is well maintained, grass on the fairway is kept at a good height. Even though it is highly populated, trash around the park is minimal.
Cons: Firstly, it is a big course. Altough most of the course is easy to navigate, there are some that could get you confused. There is a large gap between the pin of hole 4 and the tee of hole 5 (The same applies to the space between 13 and 14). I would recommend a course map for your first round.
Secondly, the Little Lehigh Creek runs through the park, to naturally after heavy rainfall, the fairways do get soggy and some actually form small ponds. Although it can make the game a tad more interesting, wet feet is never fun. I recommend to wait at least 2 days after a good rain to play this course.
Since this is a park by the city, it is heavily populated during the peak of the season by many, dog walkers, runners, fishermen, and picinic groups. Even though they tend to stay out of our way, I have come across my fair share of families picinicing in the middle of the fairways.
Lastly, due to the installation of the soft tee pads last season, some of them have experienced erosion underneath them, resulting in a bumpy tee. So becareful when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very good course. It is excellent for beginners. And great for players with moderate level of skill to work on long drives and enough obstacles to round out the short game.
The only thing I would suggest for improvement is the installation of cement tee pads.
One more thing to note: There is a bridge by holes 5 and 6. Under that bridge lives a homeless fellow named Earl. He has lived there from many years and is harmless. If you leave him alone, he will leave you alone.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Another great Lehigh Valley Course

1    3/18/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.8 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Little Lehigh is a beautiful open course with long green fairways with several skirting a creek set in a beautiful city park. This course is long and although mostly open requires smart play to score well. The park is very well maintained and is beautiful. There seems to be a local grassroots effort to preserve the nature within the park and the efforts make for a beautiful disc golfing experience.
Most of the front 9 holes are open with a few standout holes. Holes 1-4 follow mostly follow the path of the creek to the right of the fairway. Hole 6 is one of the best holes on the course. The hole is a long dogleg left crossing over the creek at a wide point to an uphill basket. The hole requires a well placed approach drive to set up the crucial second drive over the creek to the basket on the hill. This hole will really test your accurate placement when you play it. Holes 10 - 18 are mostly open but feature more extreme elevation changes. Hole 12 is a long fairway up and over a hill to a very nicely protected pin position in a nicely landscaped grove of pine trees. Hole 13 is just a fun long downhill drive for a possible deuce run with the creek not to far beyond the basket.
This local DG club has made great strides to improve the navigability of the course. The tee pads are now nice new rubber fly-pads and the baskets have red tape pointing to the direction of the next tee. Nosajeel's guide to navigating the course (under course files) is the best thing to have while playing this course for the first time.
The course is really a gem of a course. Even though it is mostly an open course, it still utilizes the terrain along with the creek to ensure that the course does not become monotonous. This course is a must-play in the Allentown/Bethlehem area.
Cons: The course is still tough to navigate. If it weren't for Nosajeel's directions I would have been so lost in between some of the holes. Hole 4 --> 5 is really tough to find. But the hardest to navigate is holes 15-18. The tee for 15 is directly in between the pins for 15 and 18 both of which are about the same distance away from the tee. With no indication of where to throw it is very easy to mistakenly throw from tee pad 15 to pin 18. I think a simple arrow painted onto the tee pad pointing towards the pin would be a great addition.
Some of the holes do require long walks, but I felt that the holes you had to walk for were worth the walk because of the layout of the hole (i.e. hole 6).
The course is located in a city park and a walking path follows close by several of the holes. In nice weather the park seems like it is pretty busy, so you have to be careful not to throw an errant drive onto the walking path.
The course's biggest con is the navigation and lack of signage, but the overall feeling and design of the course makes up for the lacking. Even as it is this course is one of the top two courses in the immediate Allentown/Bethlehem area.

Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth playing. There are restrooms near the parking lot and some food places pretty close. Little Lehigh is also located only 15 minutes from Jordan Creek and South Mountain. This course is a must play for any day of discing in Allentown and Bethlehem. All together the three courses offer a complete offering of all the types of course hole design for a fun and awesome disc golf experience.

Have to say hats off to the LVDGC ... they really do take great care of their courses. Do them a favor and get out and enjoy all their hard work they've put into these courses.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/22/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2008
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some really nice holes on this course. A few have a risk/reward notion to them with the creek coming into play, though it is really more of a danger for those whose shots fade off to the right.

Many shots require some skill, not just on drives but upshots as well. I am thinking hole #12 here, which is probably my favorite of the course. You drive over a hump in the fairway and then shoot downhill to a basket on a fast green. The drive over the road on #13 is nice as well. The course is very well maintained and looks almost impeccable.

Some new additions make it easier to navigate, such as red tape added to the baskets pointing in the direction of the next tee pad. Also, the tee pads have been replaced and have mulch around many of them. They are not as hard to see or find anymore. Also, there is some spray paint on the ground between some holes (between #4 and #5, #10 and #11) to help lead the way.
Cons: I would classify this as a big arm course, not a technical one. There are only about 3 holes where accuracy is required MORE than distance to score well. Other than that, if you can throw far you should do well on this course. There isn't a lot to hit.

As other people have noted, there are long walks between some of the holes, especially between #4 and #5 (though the spray paint helps a little - there's not enough of it). Take a map to help you out.

Also, there are no signs whatsoever. If this is your first time playing, you'll probably have some difficulty knowing exactly where to throw on some holes, though on many you can see the basket from the tee pad (not all of them).
Other Thoughts: I reviewed this course after the second time playing it (on two separate occasions). Before the round I fully intended on rating this course lower than I did, but the improvements to navigation and tee pads helped bump it up. The course is still broken up into too many pieces and doesn't have a steady flow. Also, I feel it is unbalanced in design (heavy on big arms, low on accuracy) and that keeps it from being rated higher. Purely on looks and *individual* hole design, this course is amazing; as a whole it seems to fall short. It is well worth a play, though, and definitely a great course.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love this Course

7/30/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I must say this course is the closest a "golf course" feel. Tthe OB areas, perfectly mowed grass (short for fairways long for OB). This course also has some huge holes (my personal longest at 730 feet just seems incredbily long compared to other local courses). This course has quickly become one of my favorites. The back 9 in the best part in my opinion. This course also features some long holes with big elevation changes making for some huge wide open drives. Definetly worth playing
Cons: Long walks between some pins and tee boxes. I have yet to find a map for this course. Had there not been a tourtment the day we played we would have been very lost.
Other Thoughts: On the back 9 there is one hole you actally throw your drive over the road that used for the main entrance to the park with a large down hill after. I enjoy this hole alot, very uniqe!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Stunningly beautiful

5+    7/15/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The most ball-golf-like course I've ever played, with perfectly mowed fairways and wide shooting lanes. Idyllic setting. No brambles or tick-laden rough to ruin your day. Good length, with a few birdie holes thrown in there. I gather that 7 and 8 are new, and they're fantastic... 7 is the only "gauntlet" type hole. The creek also comes into play on 6, a real doozy. One water fountain available, and good bathrooms.
Cons: No signage whatsoever, and a few baskets had the wrong number. Very unfriendly for new players... bring a map! Also I read that some people consider the rough to be "OB" but there were no signs indicating that. Could use more precision holes / gauntlets. I used my wraith to drive on 14 of the holes, I believe. No alternate tees or pins, making it tough on beginners. A shame they couldn't keep the old 11 and 12 to make it a 20-hole course. Long walk between 4 & 5 and 13 & 14.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully they'll get their signage in. Between this, Jordan creek and South Mountain, Allentown has three very different challenges... I complained about the lack of variety, but if you play all three, you will see every possible type of hole. So I rated this very highly, as it's the gem among three wonderful courses.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 watch out for the bum under the bridge!

4/23/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: skippymo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: great layout, like the feel of this course nice walk. all holes were fun to play
Cons: hole 6 was hard to find. had to ask a local pair of guys, map printed was a little off. water hazard may be a disk trap (unless you go in...may be some disks in there too.)
Other Thoughts: really fun couse busy people walking running though. will play again hole 1 is super long if played from the back tees play from the shorter ones is i think a better spot to go. oh and the bun under the bridge is harmless kinda grunts a little but he leaves disk golfers alone. :)

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

9/26/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 275  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured land with extremely long and...not quite as long holes.

Cons: Watch out as walkers and dogs are everywhere. Some holes like #1 seem long (666') for no good reason. Am tees would make course much more accessable. I'm a huge fan of elevation but being a long course it can be cruel to demand such uphills on the back 9. Map and reality didn't always match up to which side of the trees or walking patch the tee was on. No tee signs made finding tees difficult as well.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.