Disc Golf Store

Layout Extinct

Mobile, AL 
University of South Alabama - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 455ft.   4 / --   3 / 455ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 3.5 out of 5

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It makes great use of the space available for the course. It's laid out in the middle of the campus and what little land there is they chopped up into a dandy of a course. Lots of roll away potential and areas where you don't want to lose a disc (see CON).
Cons: Aligators should rarely be a part of disc golf. That said, I didn't see one but I was warned about them. It's always hard to concentrate when you think you could be a meal.

There was some construction which tore up a few holes.

The walks between holes can be confusing and long, but, so what, you're playing disc golf...
Other Thoughts: Fun track. That eerie pond got in my head too much but I like danger. Disc golf needs a few fatalities to give it the much needed edge.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NICE but can do without the roads

1    3/31/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: NICE! great variety of holes....open, wooded, over water. Loved playing this one. almost had a couple of holes in ones.
Cons: Bad idea having the roads next to the holes. I can see one or two but too many could have been a safety issue. Needed more signs to point the way to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course but the roads have to go.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A must play

2-4    3/14/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of shots that usually always put some type of OB into play which I love! Has a great mix of lefts, straights, and rights. Plenty of shade spots to take a break from the sun after those few front 9 holes out in the field. All in all you will love it!
Cons: Few areas to lose your discs. Two of the holes are spread pretty far apart and require somewhat of a long walk to the next tee box. all in all I have nothing to complain about!
Other Thoughts: If you are around the area this is a must stop in and play! You will be glad you did as your skills will be tested in a great way. WATCH OUT FOR CARS THOUGH!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    5/29/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Water hazard is a new challenge to me. Definitely a tough shot when you add that element. This course was quite challenging. A lot to offer as far as options on your shots. Very fun.
Cons: Bugs, but that's a southern thing. A few holes had a very tough first shot to get in place for even trying for a birdie. Not many though. Maybe need a sign or two for where the course starts and where to park. Being from out of town, that was tough.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a lot of fun and would definitely play again. Kind of spoiled being that I started playing disc golf in the pacific NW, but most holes were a lot of fun. Liked the signs a lot, but some holes were missing them, probably due to weather.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great University Course!

1    4/4/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 81  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of university land. There are a variety of shots, long and short as well as left and right finishing fairways. A balanced player won't have any problem on this course and those that only play one way can probably still shoot well.

There are some dangerous water shots like 11 and 16. 11 will kill out of control RHBH hyzers. 16 is not THAT intimidating but it does shoot into a 100 ft tunnel so you can't be too wild trying to muscle it over the pond. Intermediate and advanced players should have no problem with that pond.

The course was easy to navigate, even at night. My first time on the course was a night game with my brother. We looked at the map on the sign at hole 1 and did not get lost once. If you have played disc golf for a while you know how to look around for the next hole.

Most fairways have enough trees to make it interesting but not frustrating.
Cons: There weren't a lot of cons, however, here are some of my thoughts.

I would like more trash cans and benches along the course. Some of the signs were missing their plaque with the hold info and fairway map. It might help to have an arrow on each basket pointing to the next tee but thats a little picky.

It felt like this course leaned a little toward forearm shots (or at least right finishing fairways) but nothing serious.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely come back to USA to play in the day! They are lucky to have this good of a course at their school!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.