Layout Extinct

Mobile, AL 
University of South Alabama - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #6
4 / 440ft.   4 / --   3 / 440ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great exercise

5+    12/8/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: tank4141
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mixture of holes, water in play on 2 holes. Beautiful campus of South Alabama is a great place to spend a pretty day on the gulf coast and the disc golf course will provide you with exercise, excitement, and friendship.
Cons: Longer course than many others I usually don't care to play 2 rounds there just because of how much walking you do, don't let this stop you from playing here.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 bring your snokel

1    7/15/2005   9/22/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of space, nice landscape, well maintained, all skill levels.
Cons: Water, but that seems to be a personal problem. If there is a water hazard im in it.
Other Thoughts: Perfect for the USA college student. Nice walk around campus.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played in AL!

2-4    6/13/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging. Requires distance and accuracy to score well. Plenty of OB so shot selection is key. Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer, long and short. Very well maintained being on a college campus.
Cons: Can be hard to navigate if you have never played it. There are a few holes that have a very long walk in between. They could use some more trash cans and benches ( the park was not littered up though ). It might be a frustrating course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast both times I played this course. In my opinion it is the best in Mobile with Muni being second not by a long way but not close either. Must play if in Mobile.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Super Fun and Challenging!

5+    3/16/2009   4/16/2010
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Every type of shot required.
-Great baskets
-Nice tee pads
-Multiple Water shots(fun challenge)
-Signage is good for hole length and distance.
Cons: -Some tee shots are unrealistic due to trees being too close to tee.
-Multiple Water shots (lost discs)
-Navigation can be a problem so find a local or a map!
-Storm drains (lost discs)
-Blind tee offs sometimes need spotter especially around ROADS.

Other Thoughts: I highly suggest that if you're in the Mobile area you have to PLAY THIS COURSE! Beautiful scenery and excellent play easily overshadows my nit-picky cons. This is my favorite course and miss it terribly since moving to California!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, real nice

5+    8/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well maintained course on a college campus, good mix of holes that require a variety of throws. Water in play on a couple holes, pretty rough shule in pay on a lot of others. This course was really well-designed with absolutely no bad holes. You start out with a shorty and end with a shorty ace run, which is cool because after playing a long round, you can just tee off and empty your bag on that last hole trying to hit an ace. Good mix of trees and open fairway. The water holes will pay with your mind, as they're not that difficult in reality but they look rough from the tee. On both water holes, just pick a disc you are realy consistent with and throw as if water were land and you'll be fine. You can really dust off the cannon on a few of the long field holes, as there is plenty of distance in the middle portion of this course. Variety of OB. Hole 14 is pretty rad because you're throwing off a bluff down to a pin about 300 feet away with about some of the gnarliest shule you're going to see in play all the way down on the left hand side of the skinny fairway. I like the fact that this course is not built just for big arms, but even a mid level player like myself can go out there and shoot an even round. Pros will likely shoot under par, and a good novice or junior score out there would be 8 over from the white tees or 3 over from the reds on the long holes. Not to mention, on a college campus, there is plenty of, how should I say this, eye candy in close proximity. Really fun course that hosts pro tourneys and a weekly pro-am doubles cash toss every Sunday at 10:30 (when there are no tournaments scheduled). The course got a lot better about a year or so ago when they put in concrete tees, as the old mulch ones were no fun at all. With the tweaks, this is easily my second favorite course in the MOB.
Cons: Do watch out for storm drain covers: they are close to several of the pins, and even though the course keepers tried to block them with chicken wire fencing, discs are routinely lost down those drains. Lots of cars on the nearby roads, so it's best to play after 3 p.m. or on the weekends. Also you'll see lots of joggers and cyclists, so just be aware and be courteous to keep disc golfing locals like me in the good graces of the university. Long walk between 5 and 6, and 15 and 16, which is not necessarily a bad thing but can get tiresome under than saearing mid-summer Alabama sun.
Other Thoughts: A nice compliment to LAngan Park and Cottage Hill in Mobile (all are within a few miles of one another), this park is built for all skill level and is a treasure in our disc golfing scene. Super clean, super safe, well marked and well maintained by the campus grounds crew, if you are in town and can only play two courses, make it Langan and USA.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Back to School

1    3/29/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is only the 4th course I've played on the gulf coast, but it is easily my favorite. The entire course is verry well maintained. good fairways with just enough obsticles. 16 over the pond is a beautiful hole. The course was verry easy to navigate, maps at each hole. If you want to take the guess work out print the map in the links section. It had nice solid tees, and good baskets. There were plenty of other Disc Golfers to shoot the $#*! with. All in all a great course to play.
Cons: Not much on the negative side with this course. If you don't like crowds you may not enjoy this course there were alot of people playing and I had to wait on a few holes. Some of the holes play close to heavily traveled roads, which can be a distraction, but only slightly.
Other Thoughts: Everybody was out today smiling in the sunshine and heaving discs around. As i walked the fairways of this course it gave me a rush and reminded me why I love this sport so much. I'll be back to play this course soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for cars!!!

1    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was well maintained.
Has an awesome map on the rules sign near the first tee. (it looks like they have maps that you could take with you, but they were out when we were there... YOU WILL NEED THE MAP)
The tees are well marked with little maps of each hole.
This course is very fun. A good mixture of shots, trees, open holes, some water holes, and with the streets being OB on many of the holes, you will have an opportunity to test your shot diversity.
Cons: Some of the holes will be very hard to find without a map. (I will have one uploaded in the links soon.)
Hole 9 ends way far away from hole 1 (plan to play 18 or know how to get back to where you started if it's your first time)
Some of the tee boxes are above the ground in front of them by about 4 or 5 inches (be careful not to step off the end, especially on hole 2... this tee ends at the top of a bunch of steps.
Watch out for cars... I played on a weekend, and I think now I see why they sy to play on weekend and off times... Many of the holes may have the road in play.
No bathroom facilities on this course (that we saw)
Other Thoughts: I played Lagnan Park DGC just before this one, and even though it has a higher review rating, I liked this course better overall.
Hole 16 will take some guts... there is very little space to lay up if you are afraid you won't clear the water.
Be ware of the storm drains... if your disc goes in them, you probably won't get it back.
Bring a map, I will have one on the links portion of this very soon. I strongly recommend printing it before you go. Not all of the holes are hard to find, but some could have you on a hike if you haven't played before. If you didn't bring or get a map, you could take a picture like we did... and look at it later when you need to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/28/2007   11/13/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all skill levels. The baskets are in good shape and every hole has good tee signs and a large concrete tee pad. Located on a portion of the beautiful University of South Alabama campus, this course is well maintained. The design and variety is excellent, with short, medium, and long range holes. Holes that finish left, right, and straight. There are a lot of roads that play as OB and 2 water shots.

The few longer holes and water holes have shorter tees for the many college students / newer players who likely play this course. The underbrush is only thick on a few holes, but the large amount of OB makes the course challenging even as your skill level increases.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky when walking between a few holes your first time through the course. There is a long walk between hole 5 and the start of hole 6, and the course does not loop around at the half way point. There are a few benches, but the course could probably use more of them.

Like any college campus, pedestrian and vehicle traffic can be heavy during school hours. There is no running water or bathrooms near the course unless you can find a building that is unlocked.
Other Thoughts: This is just a good all around course. I generally like courses on college campuses, because they are usually well taken care of, as long as the maintenance crew is doing their job. These courses can also be good for recruiting new players to the game, as long as you aren't throwing discs at innocent by-standers who do not know anything about disc golf.

The Mobile area has a lot of disc golfers and there are a lot of good courses within 20 minutes of this course that can offer some additional variety. I highly recommend playing this course if you are ever in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A must play

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: Keithking
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course and has a good bit of variety. Beautiful campus scenery and a friendly environment. Contains a mix of very challenging holes and a few shorter holes to keep your confidence alive. 2 fun water hazard holes and four par 4 holes. Tee markers and multiple tees on every hole.
Cons: Out of bounds road hazards on nearly every hole. During weekdays these roads have a lot of traffic.
Some holes have sewer drain hazards.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.