Layout Extinct

Mobile, AL 
University of South Alabama - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #13
3 / 295ft.   3 / --   3 / 295ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 3.5 out of 5

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It makes great use of the space available for the course. It's laid out in the middle of the campus and what little land there is they chopped up into a dandy of a course. Lots of roll away potential and areas where you don't want to lose a disc (see CON).
Cons: Aligators should rarely be a part of disc golf. That said, I didn't see one but I was warned about them. It's always hard to concentrate when you think you could be a meal.

There was some construction which tore up a few holes.

The walks between holes can be confusing and long, but, so what, you're playing disc golf...
Other Thoughts: Fun track. That eerie pond got in my head too much but I like danger. Disc golf needs a few fatalities to give it the much needed edge.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great exercise

5+    12/8/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: tank4141
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mixture of holes, water in play on 2 holes. Beautiful campus of South Alabama is a great place to spend a pretty day on the gulf coast and the disc golf course will provide you with exercise, excitement, and friendship.
Cons: Longer course than many others I usually don't care to play 2 rounds there just because of how much walking you do, don't let this stop you from playing here.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Open Course In Mobile

5+    9/25/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: BamaBlake
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is designed and layed out very well, Has holes that make you hit a line, long holes that lets you throw a bomb, two holes that bring water hazards into play, as well as a nice finishing hole in the woods that give just about all players a shot at hitting an ace, every hole has concrete tee pads, as well as nice markers that show what par each hole is, the distance to the basket, and ideal line to throw, the course is always clean and well maintaned.
Cons: Really not any cons on this course. There is a long walk between holes 5 and 6, that is about it.
Other Thoughts: I am a local, and this is my all around favorite course in Mobile. It calls for every shot you have, and will challenge all skill levels. There is a long walk between holes 5 and 6, as well as a walk across a parking lot between holes 8 and 9. Other than that, the course is very easy to navigate, and their is a course map at the start of hole 1 to look at if you are not familiar with the course. This course is a must play if you are in Mobile!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 bring your snokel

1    7/15/2005   9/22/2011
Review By: WaterLogged
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of space, nice landscape, well maintained, all skill levels.
Cons: Water, but that seems to be a personal problem. If there is a water hazard im in it.
Other Thoughts: Perfect for the USA college student. Nice walk around campus.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Some cool holes, and some safety issues

1    12/26/2010   1/18/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a pretty college campus, with some tightly wooded holes, some open field type shots, and some cool water hazards. There are a couple holes that have water carries, you can avoid them by going the long way, but both are reasonable distances and make for some fun holes. One has roll away potential down to the water, both on drives and around the green so it's a fun risk/reward challenge. There is a good mix of hole lengths overall, with a couple holes that are longer but not unreasonable for the newer players you're likely to get on a college campus.

There are decent amenities here, with good concrete pads, baskets that are in good shape and catch well, and signs that have hole length and layout. The property is well maintained, with no trash or vandalism. There is a good course map at the beginning of the course that's really helpful.
Cons: The navigation here is pretty bad, make sure you take a look at the map or pull it up on your phone. There are some long unmarked walks and some backtracking that make it really difficult to follow the first time through. There are also some major safety issues, with roads in play on several holes.

I felt like there were a lot of straight shots, the course got a little repetitive at times. I would have liked to have seen a little more variety in hole shapes to challenge some different parts of players' games. There was a little more length here than I like to see on college courses where a lot of new players will hopefully try out the sport, but that's a really minor complaint because the course will be at a good level for a lot of intermediate players.
Other Thoughts: I love seeing courses at schools where people get exposed to the sport and can play between classes. This course strikes a decent balance between being reasonably beginner friendly and having enough challenge that more experienced players will have a good time. There is enough rough and ob that errant shots are punished and you need some accuracy to go for it on a lot of holes, while shorter throwers don't have as much potential for getting in trouble. This course is definitely worth a stop if you can play it while food and car traffic is at a minimum.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played in AL!

2-4    6/13/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: TheCarGuy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging. Requires distance and accuracy to score well. Plenty of OB so shot selection is key. Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer, long and short. Very well maintained being on a college campus.
Cons: Can be hard to navigate if you have never played it. There are a few holes that have a very long walk in between. They could use some more trash cans and benches ( the park was not littered up though ). It might be a frustrating course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I had a blast both times I played this course. In my opinion it is the best in Mobile with Muni being second not by a long way but not close either. Must play if in Mobile.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for all!

5+    4/9/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Great overall course, requires you to use almost every type of shot at some point.

2) Fairly open Long holes, with wooded shorter holes make for a very fair course, and an easy one for Players of Moderate Skill to make par on

3) Water hazards that won't kill you everytime you play it.

4) Great Map and Rule sign at the first hole, If it is your first time playing this course take a GOOD LOOK at this map. I've never seen maps you can pickup there in the 2 years i've been playing this course. Pay particular attention to the locations of holes 5,6,12 and 16 as these can be a little tricky to find the first time through

4)Trash Cans and benches on a few holes (while not on every hole, they do exist.

5)Great tees and Tee signs! there are one or two signs that are missing, but for the most part all of them are in good condition.

6) Baskets are very well maintained.

7) Course itself is very well taken care of.
Cons: 1) Be prepared to Play all 18 holes. Hole 9 is across campus from hole 1

2) Watch out for storm drains, while they are usually chicken wired for protection, there are a few that are still open.

3) Hole 16 can be a bit of a challenge for beginners as it is a moderately long drive over a lake.

4) On Hole 11 and 16...If your disc lands in the water more than 6 inches off the shore, your disc is in 3 feet of water.

5) Road traffic is a Major Hazard on Hole 2 (the traffic circle) . While a road does run along most of the course, once you get past the second hole though, the traffic on the road is usually minimal.

6) Some holes on this course enspecially 11 and 14 are very muddy for a couple of days after it rains.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone in the area. If I had to choose one course to play in the area it would be this one! A Must play!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Super Fun and Challenging!

5+    3/16/2009   4/16/2010
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Every type of shot required.
-Great baskets
-Nice tee pads
-Multiple Water shots(fun challenge)
-Signage is good for hole length and distance.
Cons: -Some tee shots are unrealistic due to trees being too close to tee.
-Multiple Water shots (lost discs)
-Navigation can be a problem so find a local or a map!
-Storm drains (lost discs)
-Blind tee offs sometimes need spotter especially around ROADS.

Other Thoughts: I highly suggest that if you're in the Mobile area you have to PLAY THIS COURSE! Beautiful scenery and excellent play easily overshadows my nit-picky cons. This is my favorite course and miss it terribly since moving to California!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NICE but can do without the roads

1    3/31/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: KINGDUCK
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: NICE! great variety of holes....open, wooded, over water. Loved playing this one. almost had a couple of holes in ones.
Cons: Bad idea having the roads next to the holes. I can see one or two but too many could have been a safety issue. Needed more signs to point the way to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course but the roads have to go.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, real nice

5+    8/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: thebigE
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, well maintained course on a college campus, good mix of holes that require a variety of throws. Water in play on a couple holes, pretty rough shule in pay on a lot of others. This course was really well-designed with absolutely no bad holes. You start out with a shorty and end with a shorty ace run, which is cool because after playing a long round, you can just tee off and empty your bag on that last hole trying to hit an ace. Good mix of trees and open fairway. The water holes will pay with your mind, as they're not that difficult in reality but they look rough from the tee. On both water holes, just pick a disc you are realy consistent with and throw as if water were land and you'll be fine. You can really dust off the cannon on a few of the long field holes, as there is plenty of distance in the middle portion of this course. Variety of OB. Hole 14 is pretty rad because you're throwing off a bluff down to a pin about 300 feet away with about some of the gnarliest shule you're going to see in play all the way down on the left hand side of the skinny fairway. I like the fact that this course is not built just for big arms, but even a mid level player like myself can go out there and shoot an even round. Pros will likely shoot under par, and a good novice or junior score out there would be 8 over from the white tees or 3 over from the reds on the long holes. Not to mention, on a college campus, there is plenty of, how should I say this, eye candy in close proximity. Really fun course that hosts pro tourneys and a weekly pro-am doubles cash toss every Sunday at 10:30 (when there are no tournaments scheduled). The course got a lot better about a year or so ago when they put in concrete tees, as the old mulch ones were no fun at all. With the tweaks, this is easily my second favorite course in the MOB.
Cons: Do watch out for storm drain covers: they are close to several of the pins, and even though the course keepers tried to block them with chicken wire fencing, discs are routinely lost down those drains. Lots of cars on the nearby roads, so it's best to play after 3 p.m. or on the weekends. Also you'll see lots of joggers and cyclists, so just be aware and be courteous to keep disc golfing locals like me in the good graces of the university. Long walk between 5 and 6, and 15 and 16, which is not necessarily a bad thing but can get tiresome under than saearing mid-summer Alabama sun.
Other Thoughts: A nice compliment to LAngan Park and Cottage Hill in Mobile (all are within a few miles of one another), this park is built for all skill level and is a treasure in our disc golfing scene. Super clean, super safe, well marked and well maintained by the campus grounds crew, if you are in town and can only play two courses, make it Langan and USA.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.