Layout Extinct

Mobile, AL 
University of South Alabama - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #10
3 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A must play

2-4    3/14/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different types of shots that usually always put some type of OB into play which I love! Has a great mix of lefts, straights, and rights. Plenty of shade spots to take a break from the sun after those few front 9 holes out in the field. All in all you will love it!
Cons: Few areas to lose your discs. Two of the holes are spread pretty far apart and require somewhat of a long walk to the next tee box. all in all I have nothing to complain about!
Other Thoughts: If you are around the area this is a must stop in and play! You will be glad you did as your skills will be tested in a great way. WATCH OUT FOR CARS THOUGH!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

1    5/29/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Sparkyant18
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Water hazard is a new challenge to me. Definitely a tough shot when you add that element. This course was quite challenging. A lot to offer as far as options on your shots. Very fun.
Cons: Bugs, but that's a southern thing. A few holes had a very tough first shot to get in place for even trying for a birdie. Not many though. Maybe need a sign or two for where the course starts and where to park. Being from out of town, that was tough.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a lot of fun and would definitely play again. Kind of spoiled being that I started playing disc golf in the pacific NW, but most holes were a lot of fun. Liked the signs a lot, but some holes were missing them, probably due to weather.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great University Course!

1    4/4/2009   4/8/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout and use of university land. There are a variety of shots, long and short as well as left and right finishing fairways. A balanced player won't have any problem on this course and those that only play one way can probably still shoot well.

There are some dangerous water shots like 11 and 16. 11 will kill out of control RHBH hyzers. 16 is not THAT intimidating but it does shoot into a 100 ft tunnel so you can't be too wild trying to muscle it over the pond. Intermediate and advanced players should have no problem with that pond.

The course was easy to navigate, even at night. My first time on the course was a night game with my brother. We looked at the map on the sign at hole 1 and did not get lost once. If you have played disc golf for a while you know how to look around for the next hole.

Most fairways have enough trees to make it interesting but not frustrating.
Cons: There weren't a lot of cons, however, here are some of my thoughts.

I would like more trash cans and benches along the course. Some of the signs were missing their plaque with the hold info and fairway map. It might help to have an arrow on each basket pointing to the next tee but thats a little picky.

It felt like this course leaned a little toward forearm shots (or at least right finishing fairways) but nothing serious.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely come back to USA to play in the day! They are lucky to have this good of a course at their school!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Back to School

1    3/29/2009   3/29/2009
Review By: Jager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is only the 4th course I've played on the gulf coast, but it is easily my favorite. The entire course is verry well maintained. good fairways with just enough obsticles. 16 over the pond is a beautiful hole. The course was verry easy to navigate, maps at each hole. If you want to take the guess work out print the map in the links section. It had nice solid tees, and good baskets. There were plenty of other Disc Golfers to shoot the $#*! with. All in all a great course to play.
Cons: Not much on the negative side with this course. If you don't like crowds you may not enjoy this course there were alot of people playing and I had to wait on a few holes. Some of the holes play close to heavily traveled roads, which can be a distraction, but only slightly.
Other Thoughts: Everybody was out today smiling in the sunshine and heaving discs around. As i walked the fairways of this course it gave me a rush and reminded me why I love this sport so much. I'll be back to play this course soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Watch out for cars!!!

1    11/15/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 29  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was well maintained.
Has an awesome map on the rules sign near the first tee. (it looks like they have maps that you could take with you, but they were out when we were there... YOU WILL NEED THE MAP)
The tees are well marked with little maps of each hole.
This course is very fun. A good mixture of shots, trees, open holes, some water holes, and with the streets being OB on many of the holes, you will have an opportunity to test your shot diversity.
Cons: Some of the holes will be very hard to find without a map. (I will have one uploaded in the links soon.)
Hole 9 ends way far away from hole 1 (plan to play 18 or know how to get back to where you started if it's your first time)
Some of the tee boxes are above the ground in front of them by about 4 or 5 inches (be careful not to step off the end, especially on hole 2... this tee ends at the top of a bunch of steps.
Watch out for cars... I played on a weekend, and I think now I see why they sy to play on weekend and off times... Many of the holes may have the road in play.
No bathroom facilities on this course (that we saw)
Other Thoughts: I played Lagnan Park DGC just before this one, and even though it has a higher review rating, I liked this course better overall.
Hole 16 will take some guts... there is very little space to lay up if you are afraid you won't clear the water.
Be ware of the storm drains... if your disc goes in them, you probably won't get it back.
Bring a map, I will have one on the links portion of this very soon. I strongly recommend printing it before you go. Not all of the holes are hard to find, but some could have you on a hike if you haven't played before. If you didn't bring or get a map, you could take a picture like we did... and look at it later when you need to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/28/2007   11/13/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun course to play for all skill levels. The baskets are in good shape and every hole has good tee signs and a large concrete tee pad. Located on a portion of the beautiful University of South Alabama campus, this course is well maintained. The design and variety is excellent, with short, medium, and long range holes. Holes that finish left, right, and straight. There are a lot of roads that play as OB and 2 water shots.

The few longer holes and water holes have shorter tees for the many college students / newer players who likely play this course. The underbrush is only thick on a few holes, but the large amount of OB makes the course challenging even as your skill level increases.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky when walking between a few holes your first time through the course. There is a long walk between hole 5 and the start of hole 6, and the course does not loop around at the half way point. There are a few benches, but the course could probably use more of them.

Like any college campus, pedestrian and vehicle traffic can be heavy during school hours. There is no running water or bathrooms near the course unless you can find a building that is unlocked.
Other Thoughts: This is just a good all around course. I generally like courses on college campuses, because they are usually well taken care of, as long as the maintenance crew is doing their job. These courses can also be good for recruiting new players to the game, as long as you aren't throwing discs at innocent by-standers who do not know anything about disc golf.

The Mobile area has a lot of disc golfers and there are a lot of good courses within 20 minutes of this course that can offer some additional variety. I highly recommend playing this course if you are ever in the area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A must play

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: Keithking
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course and has a good bit of variety. Beautiful campus scenery and a friendly environment. Contains a mix of very challenging holes and a few shorter holes to keep your confidence alive. 2 fun water hazard holes and four par 4 holes. Tee markers and multiple tees on every hole.
Cons: Out of bounds road hazards on nearly every hole. During weekdays these roads have a lot of traffic.
Some holes have sewer drain hazards.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.