Saukville, WI 
Tendick Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 278ft.   4 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Pro Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Solid 18 holes

5+    5/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 88  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set out in the country, which gives that "away from it all" feeling.

Solid DGA baskets that catch well.

Solid signs, at each set of tees, with all the information you could ask for.

Concrete tee pads at both shorts and longs. Nice trapezoid design, and very grippy. As good as they get.

Nice mix of open and wooded holes. 1-5 are mostly open, 6-11 are in a pocket of woods in the middle of the park, and 12-18 are mostly open again.

Fair lines in the wooded holes. There's a couple that are a bit tight and require a bit of luck, but overall there are open lines on all holes.
Cons: There's a pond here, but it doesn't play into any of the holes, which is too bad. There could have been a nice water carry here.

Wind is almost always a big factor, especially on the open holes. I prefer to not play here if it's overly windy.

Pay to play. $5 ($45 season) for the day...which isn't terrible, and helps to keep the course in good shape, but outside of tournaments, probably keeps a lot of players away with so many other good options not too far off.

Nice bathrooms on site (during peak season), but other than the pavilion they rest in, there's not a ton else to do here.
Other Thoughts: Tendick is really a nice course, with a lot of love put into it. While $5 seems excessive, I guess it keeps the chucker population down.

Ample parking, even for tournaments, which is nice.

While I wouldn't call this a destination course, it's certainly worth the trip to run a couple times.

While the golf itself doesn't make this a 4.0 course, the upkeep and other aspects of the course are fantastic. Truthfully, I'd like to rate this a 3.75, but I'll give the uptick for cleanliness and other positives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My home (course) away from home

5+    11/1/2013   2/16/2014
Review By: roggenb3
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Perfect mix of woods vs fields, long vs short, hyzer vs straight vs anny.
Pro tees makes it a whole new course.
Great teepads.
Good amount of benches.
Hole 8.
Bathrooms and water.
Great signage.
Very low traffic.
Very clean and well kept.
Open year-round.
Cons: I'm serious, there aren't any - except maybe a lack of dramatic elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Tendick was my home course for about 5 years, prior to me moving to Madison (so I may be slightly biased). It has been awesome to watch the park grow and change over that time.

The addition of the final baskets will be complete soon if it isn't already, so every hole will have 3 placements. This, in combination with the pro tees gives you a ridiculous amount of variation in this course. From a midrange course from am tees to shorts, to a pro calibur course from pro tees to longs.

The one thing Tendick had against has been eliminated with the onset of pay to play (to me, pay to play is a total PRO if the course is worth paying for). 2 years ago, this parking lot was packed to the brim every day. Now you go on a bright sunny Saturday in the middle of Summer and there's 2 cars in the lot, and 1 is a person walking dogs. It's great - I can't stress enough how much more enjoyable the course is without 60 people who don't really care about discing there. Also, pay to play has pretty much done away with garbage on the course as well, now it's clean as a whistle. $45 bucks for a pass that's good for 12 months? That's under $4 a month to play wonderful course.

Bottom line is that a once great course is now nearly perfect.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Alright: I'm a little salty about this course right now since they've begun charging to play it (and I'm moving away soon and won't get enough value out of a season pass). I played this course plenty back when it was free, though, and I have to concede that, personal animosity aside, it's a nice course.

Pins, tees, benches, trails, signs, diagrams , all the pieces of "hardware" at this place are high quality. The course is very "technical" , in the sense of having to have accurate drives--not just long hucks (though there are a couple holes like that, too).

If you live in Ozaukee County and are looking for a regular (pay) course to play, I would really recommend this place to call home. Look at it like a "country club"; you pay the membership fee and frolf it all you want without all the congestion from non-members.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge difference between long and short pads - love how much the long pad changes the shot.
Two pins on every hole, very different placements.
Good mix of open bombs and technical holes.
P2P keeps most of the riff-raff away.
Very well maintained
Cons: P2P.
Some of the long tee-pads are too unfair.
Distances aren't super well marked/signs are confusing

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Hidden Gem

5+    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: Recob25
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Want to get away?... Play Tendick. Once you leave the first tee you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, it's incredible.
-Scenery is spectacular
- The front 9 does a nice job of warming up the arm in the woods... Good variety of hyzers and anhyzers will make you keep reaching into your bag for different discs.
- The back 9 presents a nice challenge with elevation and rolling hills.
-The course is easy to navigate... you will never get lost.
Cons: - I love to air the disc out and unfortunately there are only a few holes that allow you to really grip it and rip it... Some hole are way too short.
-Huge distance difference between Pro tee and Regular tee.
-Hole signage needs to improve (most likely will with funds from passes coming in)
- Holes 1-17 are so amazing but then you get to 18, such a boring finisher.
Other Thoughts: Many people have complained about the recent "Pay for Play" that the course adopted... For these people I must respond with "Get a job!"
Regular golf cost $50 a round and your complaining about paying $5 for all you can play in a day. I purchased a Season Pass for $45 and boy is it worth it. For $45 I get a wide open course all the time! It is now free from trash and teenagers who don't disc but just want a place to burn out after school.
It is so awesome when Dave, the course marshal comes out and removes people from the course for not paying. I now belong to a exclusive club of people who want to see the course grow into one of the state's best courses. If you love to play disc, enjoy some barley pops, and have a good time, then visit Tendick.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very nice pay to play

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 147  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Two sets of huge, flared level concrete tees on every hole. Many of these add distance and a different angle to the pin making for good variation between the two. The signs are excellent and they're at both the pro and am tees which isn't the case at a number of other places i've played. They show pin locations, distances, par and arrow to the next tee. They have multiple pin locations on every hole which once again gives it even more variation. Nice mix of left and right turning shots throughout. Also a good mix of open prairie holes and tight, technical wooded holes. All the fairways were extremely well mowed and maintained. Navigation is a breeze here and the course was designed well so no holes really overlap. Course was very clean. There are a few nice bridges over small streams which is always nice. Nice large parking lot and the area appears to be exclusively used for disc golf.
Cons: It's a pay to play course. Five dollars a person, however you can see where your money goes to. Just a con if you live nearby but i do believe they have annual passes that can be purchased.Some of the prairie holes are pretty bland, but they did the best they could with the land given. Other than these I got nothing.
Other Thoughts: This is for sure worth the $5 fee you got to pay to play it. There also are a number of other courses nearby to make for a great day of discing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top-Notch Course, Do Not Miss Out

5+    4/1/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: DGTiger
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the elevation of the land, perfect-sized concrete pads for both shorts and longs, multiple pin placements on all holes (with more to come from what I hear), benches, trashcans that get emptied on a regular basis (which keeps the coarse beautiful), lots of different shots needed, and so much more.
Cons: I really had to stretch to find a CON for this course, but if I were forced to claim one, it'd maybe be to get all the yardages for all the placements like Dretzka does.

I've played enough to guess-timate the distance from the yardage of the one pin that they give yardage to, but have heard people mention that they would love to see them all on the sign.
Other Thoughts: I've payed to play for some courses before, played it, and felt ripped-off, but this is a course that not only I, but every one of my friends are HAPPY to pay-to-play.

They have worked hard to form this course into a professional, top-notch course. It is a well maintained course where the garbages are emptied on a regular basis which is crucial to keeping a course clean. I've played other pay-per-play courses that didn't even have any garbage cans or concrete pads and those are the two most crucial things I think of when paying-to-pay.

YOU WILL SEE WHERE YOUR MONEY GOES ON THIS COURSE!

Thanks to everyone involved in the development and upkeep of Tendick Park!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Little Bit of Everything

2-4    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a fun course! Tendick park is a course that is both accessible to beginners and appropriate for a tournament. From my rounds here, there are several positive aspects that stick out in my mind:

*TWO sets of concrete tees. 18 shorts, 18 longs. Multiple pin placements on each hole

*Very well maintained park.

*Good flow from hole to hole

*Isolated feel to the course

*Good elevation changes.

*Holes go in and out of the forest forcing just about every shot in your bag

*When there arent a lot of trees on a given hole, there is alot of wind to make the hole challenging

Cons: The biggest con here is that the signage for the long tees. I'm not sure what the heck the distances on those are for, but depending on when you go, they are nowhere near accurate. There are also a few safety issues on the course... a few of the fairways come awfully close to one another, and an errant tree bounce can lead to potential injury.

Update May 2013: This course is a great course, but it is certainly not worth $5 per day to play.
Other Thoughts: You should definitely go out of your way to check out this course!


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Wind and the Lion

5+    4/19/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lokis Tyro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow and well thought out course layout and variety of shots. Alternating pins. Restrooms, water fountain, shelter with picnic tables all in one spot. Very clean. Concrete Amateur and pro tees. Ample parking. Pedestrian trail. Blind shots. Rest areas. Trash receptacles. Practice tee has high and low areas nearby which are well within putting range. Great use of elevation changes throughout the course. Signs have improved vastly and should last. A few holes have challenging distances while they're not overwhelming for the average amateur. The hooligans aren't there to mess with you or steal your discs in my experience (this course was nearby to my ex-home). Some cool old buildings for group shots to the right of hole 3 if you're facing the goal.
Cons: Can be a busy course. Medium sized groups are not uncommon which will double to triple normal playing times on calm warm days. It could use some general maintenance on the trails, but it's a nature park, it should be natural. Considering the fact, you still wont see any wildlife aside from birds and other small critters.
Other Thoughts: Alternating pins for about 75% if I recall correctly. Some you cannot see the goal's position until you're almost walking on top of it. It is not always windy although you will encounter a few holes that generally always have a light breeze which makes it a fun, challenging course. If it happens to be windy I think it's a great course to hone in your skills in the condition. You will be tested and the effects are easily observed. In the fall it's easy to be looking for your disc for a little while when you're in the woods. There are a few holes in there where your disc will land somewhere and the leaves...the leaves...are so deep you can only hope that you see an "entrance wound" that is yours and that your assumption in direction is the right way. While you're looking through the leaves you'll be tripping over roots, sticks and maybe even a log, use caution! Use high visibility discs when shooting through the prairie. If hole 13's wind takes you off to the right you're going to want to run up a bit to get a better look at where you have landed or you'll be looking for a little while in the tall grass.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Windy City

2-4    4/22/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: diggs11pond
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course layout. The land is utilized quite well. There are a mix of open, finesse and wooded holes that can challenge everyone.
Cons: The course was extremely windy. It was early in the season, but it was extreme.
Other Thoughts: I like the course quite a bit. I am looking forward to playing in upcoming tournaments here!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.