Saukville, WI 
Tendick Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 265ft.   4 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Am Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 INCREDIBLE CHANGE!

5+    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - My favorite feature of this course is the Orange signs on the top of the basket. They are large, bright, and made of a disc friendly material. They are mounted in a loose way so that impact does not cause damage.
- New Baskets
- Dual LEVEL Cement Tee pads
- Signs at the AM pads. They have pro tee distance as well.
- Multiple Pin Placements.
- Well kept and manicured.
- Fun for all levels
- Fun fairways, littered with rocks, roots, and holes. (Most of you will consider this a Con, but I have fun traversing this kind of terrian).
- Accuracy and Line shaping required
- Bring your Putters and Mids
- Fair to lefties and righties
- Challenging Greens
Cons: - There are not many opportunities to bust out the big guns. The one truly long hole is slightly downhill so....
- Currently no signs at Pro pads (from what I understand they are coming)
- Many baskets are mounted kind of low
- A few repetitive holes in the open. Holes 3 and 4 play almost identical. 12 and 16 are the same exact shot.
- Hole 18 is a very boring finisher. Really the last 4 holes leave you with something to be desired after the first 14 holes.
- I am curious if the pond is not a usable obstacle? If it can be used it should be used.
Other Thoughts: So I havent played this course since 2003. I cannot believe the change that has occurred in 8 years. Cement Tees, new baskets, and a new layout (to me anyway)!
In the old design the woods in the center of the park was not used very well( really not at all). The baskets were old school Mach Is I believe (I actually like these :). It was an easy duece fest for a chucker back then.
The re-designers kept/improved several of the old fun holes and added all those wonderful wooded holes. The course is still a duece or die layout but now you have to really work for it. Line shaping and placement is favored over distance.
REC players will find the most challenge and reward here. This will really develop their short game and accuracy. The short tees are a great beginning layout and the longs will develop them into solid INT players. INT players should find little challenge from the shorts and a good challenge from the longs. ADV and PRO players will destroy the course. This is a more fun course for them with minimal challenges.
There are alot of great courses in WI. Tendick is among the most fun I've played. Its a short jaunt off of I43 and if you have a hour you should stop to play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two - cool woods, boring prairie

5+    10/25/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wooded holes in the middle are very neat and unique. The beauty of the huge mature trees is second to none. Many of these holes border on lucky though because they are very tight. I've found that any S-curve style shot will get you near the green to attempt a long deuce putt and avoid most obstacles.
Good variation of distance. The short tees have some nice short tight holes, and there are some very long open bombers mixed in, especially from the longs.
Multiple pin placements. I think this is the best feature. The mutiple pins showcase much of the few unique areas on this otherwise boring prairie park.
Nice trash cans all over, very nice signs where they still exist.
Long and Short tees.
The long, short, left, right, straight balance is right on in the woods, but the open holes rarely force any shot, they allow ANY type of shot. Wind is the only factor (and not wanting to wade through thick grass)
Cons: The tees. Sure, they're huge concrete pads. But they are TOO SHORT! They don't need to be 8' wide in back, and should be 2-3' longer!! I'm sure the county spent a lot of money for the volume of concrete, but they did them wrong. See Silver Creek for good trapezoidal tees of good length.
There are only the few wooded holes - partial 2, 11, and 15, and fully 6-10.
The prairie style holes offer a bot of elevation, but nothing extreme and defintely no long downhill bombers here.
The prairie grasses must SUCK in the middle of summer. I shanked a number of drives into the long grass due to the wind being a major factor. But, other than looking for them, there was no punishment for the bad drive, I still took 3's. I would have hated looking for discs in long dense summer grass too!
There is no water or OB on this course (although the private land bordering #5 should be - no sign here to mark it).
A few of the greens in the woods are well protected, but none are really on any type of ridge for risky rollaways. Some of the protected alternate greens (namely #7 left most and right most) are almost too protected and just pinball-like.
Other Thoughts: I don't mind playing the course. It is a nice remote area, although there are usually a number of people in the park.
The park is very scenic, but only the unique woods were used. Soem of the higher ridges and the ponds being brought into play would really spice up this course.
The overall design is decent, the wooded holes are fun if not nearly just lucky, but the challenge does not exist because the vast majority of holes are just wide open and slightly rolling prairie.
I really was perturbed by the HUGELY wide tees that were entirely too short! What a screw up in my mind!
The course is just average. I have played it a number of times, in all sorts of configurations and designs. It's worth a stop, but your overall experience will leave you wanting more. Problem is, there is a HUGE gap in not only quality courses, but ANY courses south of Silver Creek (or Sheboygan). Just check the map browser.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 take a break

5+    1/15/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual trapezoidal tees.
More than one pin placement.
As fun a group of locals to play with as you will find anywhere.
Very fun course from short tees.
For those who have seen the progress this course has made since the beginning; things have come a long way here.
Club maintenance is very solid. Each and every year; new imrpovements come along. Most recently, long tees were added; and replanting of grass around tees was successfully completed.
#2 is a nice hole/slightly uphill with a green finish over and through a nice hanging branch from a decent sized tree.
#5 is a very nice hole; especially from short tee....and is still a nice finish after a rip from the long.
No major elevation; but decent use of minor sloping land.
Cons: More than one of the wooded holes feels kind of pin ballish to me (#7 especially/and #9 long tee). I reached a couple of these during league/doubles play in my most recent trip. But there is no real fairway line; it's poke and hope. Considering that this is one of the better sections of the course; it's sad to have to add a bad disclaimer to these holes.
Most of the back nine is pretty open.
Long tees will flat out wear you out; especially if the wind is up or during an inclement weather day. I understand the purpose was to present gold level players with a chance to use their distance skills; but, the course itself; while nice; is not going to draw that many gold level players. For blue level and below; the course; especially on the back nine becomes a chuck it as far as you can/hole after hole; without a lot of shot shaping. And the finale is disappointing.
Permanent tee signs indicating pin placements would certainly be a plus. I would imagine they are coming at some point in the fairly near future.
Pin remain in the ground for winter play. Short tees are kept clear by club and Saturday morning league play is conducted at 10 a.m.
Other Thoughts: The "take a break" title to this review is a suggestion to the club. As mentioned in the pros; these guys have been doing a rather remarkable job improving things here. However, the long tees were debated/argued by the top club officials, and I don't think a good consensus came from these deliberations. Tees were also poured poorly; one already has a large crack in it. These things should have been put on hold for a while; and things should have been held off, until they were finished in a more top notch manner.
My review has kind of an overall negative trend to it....and I feel kind of bad in this regard. I have enjoyed myself quite a bit, during my journeys here, and I don't want to suggest that this is not a good course. The long tees seem rather superficial to me; and I also think design (without having talked over specific issues with designers), could/should have been done better. It is a good course; and thus, a 3.
As much as I like the guys here and am impressed with what they have accomplished thus far; I would have to point out that Dretzka and Brown Deer are much better courses in the area. Lime Kiln Park is only nine holes and is "old school"; and yet, with much more extreme elevation available; and the awesome finishing hole to the lime kilns, you may even prefer it to Tendick.
With Tendick added in; these four in one small area; do make for an awesome grouping.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I'll Be Back...

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Excellent use of the existing terrain. You start out in the open, but having to navigate some gentle undulating fairways and baskets placed strategically behind/near trees and bushes. The wind wasn't a huge factor on the open holes when I was out, but I imagine it could be. No real drastic elevation, but a good mix of lefty and righty holes, and plenty where you really have to THINK before just cranking your tee shot.
2. Dual concrete tees. It was Father's Day, so my wife, kids, and I played a nice round from the shorts (I intended on playing longs, but the first few were off-limits due to what appeared to be grass restoration, so by the time I got to the playable longs I figured I'd just keep things consistent for the round and not hold up the family). The trapezoidal, generous tees were very appreciated!.
3. Multiple pins. I'd imagine this adds immense variety to the course, because it seems like the alternate locations are far enough apart with different obstacles in play to make it feel like a completely different hole. This is one of the factors that will DEFINITELY have me returning in the near future.
4. Beautiful park, well-manicured, lots of wildlife. The friendly chipmunks added a big fun factor to the course for my kids--and it seemed like one of the little guys was showing us to the next tee when we holed out on one hole, running up the trail, stopping and looking back at us, and finally running to the tee itself and scurrying off into the woods. If you've got kids that don't disc golf, they should still have a blast out here.
Cons: 1. It'd be nice to know WHICH pins I was playing to so I didn't have to walk halfway up the fairway (or more) to discover this myself. I've seen a simple system utilized at courses like this...a simple wooden post with an interchangable plate reading "A/B/C" for easy correlation with the map on the tee sign.
2. As stated, I didn't play the longs, and I don't know that I'd necessarily have to or want to. For some of the wooded holes they might be fun and challenging, but throwing a slab of concrete 60, 80, or 100 feet behind the short tee on a wide open hole just doesn't change it that much.
3. Some spots don't tell you where to go for the next tee, but we didn't get too lost. I discovered in those areas a convenient (but frickin' ANNOYING) "idiot trail" of cigarette butts and random litter. You can usually follow one of these Retarded-Hansel-and-Gretel paths to find out where to go.
4. The end of this course gets very "ho-hum" and lackluster. If I had anything to do with the design, I would've made #18 a true signature hole and gone with a short shot ending by the pond. I was actually more excited to be done with #18 and get back to the putting basket to practice my short game.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a really fun course. I wish I'd scored a little better playing shorts, but I tend to allow myself more of a cushion when playing a new, unfamiliar course, and don't really beat myself up over missed fairways and smacking trees that I know I shouldn't. I'll definitely come back to play since it's only about 40 minutes from me. Maybe someday I'll play long tees (which I usually do at any course that offers that option), but I just don't see the point in cranking out straight drive after straight drive on open holes. I'm getting too old for that. :)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tendick time

5+    10/10/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Secluded and rustic..large trapezoidal new tee boxes..gazebo just added..Tendick is a good meet between Mil town and Sheboygan for avid DGers..
Cons: Wind is always a factor in the open areas at this course especially off the first tee..always a head wind, never a tail wind..Uhhhh! A couple real tough dog legs..
Other Thoughts: Get your birdies in the woods because the open holes are misleadingly difficult..

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Misses the mark on too many holes, but hits on others

6/10/2008   6/11/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some of the most challenging holes in the area; maintenance is top notch (example: cedar chips are put down after a heavy rain); top quality concrete tee pads; some unique holes; generally easy to find your discs in the woods, as paths have been made; pro tees, though generally not much farther back than the amateur tees, provide a significant upgrade in challenge; a variety of shot types are demanded on some holes; the slight elevation in the area is taken advantage of; course is easy to follow
Cons: Too many holes with very few obstacles (1, 3, 17) or next to no obstacles (12, 13, 16, 18); wooded holes, while challenging and usually fun, occasionally don't feel very well planned out; high grass in the more open areas may make finding your disc difficult and contains some sharp weeds; bugs come out in droves after it rains due to quite a bit of mud and standing water; the course is the best within a 15 mile radius and as a result gets pretty busy; for some reason, it seems to be a 'drinking course'; leagues on Thursdays; many signs have been vandalized and no longer exist; many bushes contain thorns
Other Thoughts: I've been to this course a couple of times now and have generally enjoyed myself. A few of the wooded holes reminded me of Brown Deer - which is a very, very good thing.

After playing with some friends tonight, we all agreed that the course simply doesn't deliver on too many holes. If I was to come back here on a slower day, I may play 9 of the holes 4 times rather than all 18 twice. Many of the holes are really quite dull.

To be clear, I didn't take off points for the crowds, the drinking, or the leagues - those aren't the courses fault.

This course isn't going to be one I'll likely visit often, but I think it's worth being played at least once. It has some unique holes that you'll certainly remember. These holes prevent it from being average (2.0) since they provide unique challenges, but the several 'throw away' holes leave it far short of excellence (4.0).

This one is a toss up between a 2.5 and a 3 for me. The 4th, 11th, and the general unique difficulties in some of the wooded holes pushed me to give a 3.0 - this course is good.

EDIT: I want to be be a bit more clear on the wooded holes. I say they are some of the most challenging in the area - this is true. I also said some don't feel well planned out - this is also true. Much of the challenge comes from the fact that they're very close to being unfair and not like Brown deer where an excellent shot selection is required. Some may disagree with me, but those are my thoughts.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.