Saukville, WI 
Tendick Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 287ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Am Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid 18 holes

5+    5/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set out in the country, which gives that "away from it all" feeling.

Solid DGA baskets that catch well.

Solid signs, at each set of tees, with all the information you could ask for.

Concrete tee pads at both shorts and longs. Nice trapezoid design, and very grippy. As good as they get.

Nice mix of open and wooded holes. 1-5 are mostly open, 6-11 are in a pocket of woods in the middle of the park, and 12-18 are mostly open again.

Fair lines in the wooded holes. There's a couple that are a bit tight and require a bit of luck, but overall there are open lines on all holes.
Cons: There's a pond here, but it doesn't play into any of the holes, which is too bad. There could have been a nice water carry here.

Wind is almost always a big factor, especially on the open holes. I prefer to not play here if it's overly windy.

Pay to play. $5 ($45 season) for the day...which isn't terrible, and helps to keep the course in good shape, but outside of tournaments, probably keeps a lot of players away with so many other good options not too far off.

Nice bathrooms on site (during peak season), but other than the pavilion they rest in, there's not a ton else to do here.
Other Thoughts: Tendick is really a nice course, with a lot of love put into it. While $5 seems excessive, I guess it keeps the chucker population down.

Ample parking, even for tournaments, which is nice.

While I wouldn't call this a destination course, it's certainly worth the trip to run a couple times.

While the golf itself doesn't make this a 4.0 course, the upkeep and other aspects of the course are fantastic. Truthfully, I'd like to rate this a 3.75, but I'll give the uptick for cleanliness and other positives.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge difference between long and short pads - love how much the long pad changes the shot.
Two pins on every hole, very different placements.
Good mix of open bombs and technical holes.
P2P keeps most of the riff-raff away.
Very well maintained
Cons: P2P.
Some of the long tee-pads are too unfair.
Distances aren't super well marked/signs are confusing

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Hidden Gem

5+    6/12/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: Recob25
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Want to get away?... Play Tendick. Once you leave the first tee you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, it's incredible.
-Scenery is spectacular
- The front 9 does a nice job of warming up the arm in the woods... Good variety of hyzers and anhyzers will make you keep reaching into your bag for different discs.
- The back 9 presents a nice challenge with elevation and rolling hills.
-The course is easy to navigate... you will never get lost.
Cons: - I love to air the disc out and unfortunately there are only a few holes that allow you to really grip it and rip it... Some hole are way too short.
-Huge distance difference between Pro tee and Regular tee.
-Hole signage needs to improve (most likely will with funds from passes coming in)
- Holes 1-17 are so amazing but then you get to 18, such a boring finisher.
Other Thoughts: Many people have complained about the recent "Pay for Play" that the course adopted... For these people I must respond with "Get a job!"
Regular golf cost $50 a round and your complaining about paying $5 for all you can play in a day. I purchased a Season Pass for $45 and boy is it worth it. For $45 I get a wide open course all the time! It is now free from trash and teenagers who don't disc but just want a place to burn out after school.
It is so awesome when Dave, the course marshal comes out and removes people from the course for not paying. I now belong to a exclusive club of people who want to see the course grow into one of the state's best courses. If you love to play disc, enjoy some barley pops, and have a good time, then visit Tendick.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top-Notch Course, Do Not Miss Out

5+    4/1/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: DGTiger
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the elevation of the land, perfect-sized concrete pads for both shorts and longs, multiple pin placements on all holes (with more to come from what I hear), benches, trashcans that get emptied on a regular basis (which keeps the coarse beautiful), lots of different shots needed, and so much more.
Cons: I really had to stretch to find a CON for this course, but if I were forced to claim one, it'd maybe be to get all the yardages for all the placements like Dretzka does.

I've played enough to guess-timate the distance from the yardage of the one pin that they give yardage to, but have heard people mention that they would love to see them all on the sign.
Other Thoughts: I've payed to play for some courses before, played it, and felt ripped-off, but this is a course that not only I, but every one of my friends are HAPPY to pay-to-play.

They have worked hard to form this course into a professional, top-notch course. It is a well maintained course where the garbages are emptied on a regular basis which is crucial to keeping a course clean. I've played other pay-per-play courses that didn't even have any garbage cans or concrete pads and those are the two most crucial things I think of when paying-to-pay.

YOU WILL SEE WHERE YOUR MONEY GOES ON THIS COURSE!

Thanks to everyone involved in the development and upkeep of Tendick Park!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Little Bit of Everything

2-4    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a fun course! Tendick park is a course that is both accessible to beginners and appropriate for a tournament. From my rounds here, there are several positive aspects that stick out in my mind:

*TWO sets of concrete tees. 18 shorts, 18 longs. Multiple pin placements on each hole

*Very well maintained park.

*Good flow from hole to hole

*Isolated feel to the course

*Good elevation changes.

*Holes go in and out of the forest forcing just about every shot in your bag

*When there arent a lot of trees on a given hole, there is alot of wind to make the hole challenging

Cons: The biggest con here is that the signage for the long tees. I'm not sure what the heck the distances on those are for, but depending on when you go, they are nowhere near accurate. There are also a few safety issues on the course... a few of the fairways come awfully close to one another, and an errant tree bounce can lead to potential injury.

Update May 2013: This course is a great course, but it is certainly not worth $5 per day to play.
Other Thoughts: You should definitely go out of your way to check out this course!


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

5+    9/10/2011   4/12/2012
Review By: ljcblink182
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Pro and Amature Tees
-Baskets change location every couple of weeks
-Concreat Tees
-Good Variety of holes in the woods
-Restroom Facilitys and Drinking Fountians.
Cons: -Usually a breeze there
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. Every hole is marked and easy to follow. There are a few long and tricky holes to shoot. When you in the woods it is very senic and beautiful. But you have good views of the baskets.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great secluded 18 hole

5+    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Skankin77
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - great concrete tee pads
- great baskets
- good hole placements
- good mixture of the front 9 through the woods, and the back 9 rolling through a beautiful field
- park is maintained well, garbage cans at each hole, benches at each (not all)
- everyone is generally really nice
- hosts tournaments
Cons: - wind is typically a factor
- trees in front 9 can be a hassle, especially on 6-9
- sometimes a bit of a wait at each hole
- a lot of leaves in the front 9, easy to lose discs in
Other Thoughts: Tendick is a pretty well laid out course. Everyone is pretty nice. However, Tendick could use a water hazard possibly; like a hole across the pond next to the practice basket. Overall, Tendick is a pretty good course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tendic

5/2/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: andymeunier
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tendick Is a well laid out course with a good mix of everything. About half the course is in the woods where many different shots need to be played, and the other half of the course is in rolling meadows where the holes tend to be a little bit longer. Tendick has some of the best cement pads out there, and offers amateur and pro tees. The pro tees are way out of my league but it would definitely challenge anyone playing from there. I personally prefer the holes in the woods with a lot of obstacles, because it forces you to throw many different shots. A great course!!
Cons: Some of the stumps in the woods can easitly trip you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center