Saukville, WI 
Tendick Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 236ft.   4 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Pro Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Fun Course

5+    9/10/2011   4/12/2012
Review By: ljcblink182
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Pro and Amature Tees
-Baskets change location every couple of weeks
-Concreat Tees
-Good Variety of holes in the woods
-Restroom Facilitys and Drinking Fountians.
Cons: -Usually a breeze there
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course. Every hole is marked and easy to follow. There are a few long and tricky holes to shoot. When you in the woods it is very senic and beautiful. But you have good views of the baskets.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/22/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tendick Nature Park has really nice trapezoidal shaped concrete tee pads for the long and short pads. There are tee signs at each pad including nice hand crafted wood signs at the shorts. The baskets are in good condition and have large circular signs on top to make them easy to spot. There are two or three basket positions on each hole. There's also a practice basket close to the parking lot so you can warm up before the round.

There's a nice mix of wooded and open, prairie style holes. The front nine is more wooded forcing you to hit your line for rewarding birdies. The back nine is more open. There's a good variety of hole length and the multiple tees and pin placements help make the course challenging to a wide variety of skill levels. There are some gentle elevation changes that the course does a good job of taking advantage of. There's a decent shot variety with a couple quality turnover shots for RHBH players.
Cons: Holes 7 and 8 don't have legitimate routes to the basket. I'm not sure if other pin positions are better, but from the longs in the positions they were in when I played here the fairways seemed too lucky.

Like most courses with prairie holes, the open holes are a bit bland.

The tee signs by the long pads only list the distance to one pin position so they aren't always accurate. Also, it's difficult to tell which placement the basket is in.

Other Thoughts: I last played this course in 2005 and am happy to see all the improvements that have been made here. Because of the multiple pads and basket placements, this course caters to players of all skill levels. Unfortunately the two lucky holes and some of the open holes stop me from rating this course higher.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 INCREDIBLE CHANGE!

5+    7/16/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - My favorite feature of this course is the Orange signs on the top of the basket. They are large, bright, and made of a disc friendly material. They are mounted in a loose way so that impact does not cause damage.
- New Baskets
- Dual LEVEL Cement Tee pads
- Signs at the AM pads. They have pro tee distance as well.
- Multiple Pin Placements.
- Well kept and manicured.
- Fun for all levels
- Fun fairways, littered with rocks, roots, and holes. (Most of you will consider this a Con, but I have fun traversing this kind of terrian).
- Accuracy and Line shaping required
- Bring your Putters and Mids
- Fair to lefties and righties
- Challenging Greens
Cons: - There are not many opportunities to bust out the big guns. The one truly long hole is slightly downhill so....
- Currently no signs at Pro pads (from what I understand they are coming)
- Many baskets are mounted kind of low
- A few repetitive holes in the open. Holes 3 and 4 play almost identical. 12 and 16 are the same exact shot.
- Hole 18 is a very boring finisher. Really the last 4 holes leave you with something to be desired after the first 14 holes.
- I am curious if the pond is not a usable obstacle? If it can be used it should be used.
Other Thoughts: So I havent played this course since 2003. I cannot believe the change that has occurred in 8 years. Cement Tees, new baskets, and a new layout (to me anyway)!
In the old design the woods in the center of the park was not used very well( really not at all). The baskets were old school Mach Is I believe (I actually like these :). It was an easy duece fest for a chucker back then.
The re-designers kept/improved several of the old fun holes and added all those wonderful wooded holes. The course is still a duece or die layout but now you have to really work for it. Line shaping and placement is favored over distance.
REC players will find the most challenge and reward here. This will really develop their short game and accuracy. The short tees are a great beginning layout and the longs will develop them into solid INT players. INT players should find little challenge from the shorts and a good challenge from the longs. ADV and PRO players will destroy the course. This is a more fun course for them with minimal challenges.
There are alot of great courses in WI. Tendick is among the most fun I've played. Its a short jaunt off of I43 and if you have a hour you should stop to play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of two - cool woods, boring prairie

5+    10/25/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The wooded holes in the middle are very neat and unique. The beauty of the huge mature trees is second to none. Many of these holes border on lucky though because they are very tight. I've found that any S-curve style shot will get you near the green to attempt a long deuce putt and avoid most obstacles.
Good variation of distance. The short tees have some nice short tight holes, and there are some very long open bombers mixed in, especially from the longs.
Multiple pin placements. I think this is the best feature. The mutiple pins showcase much of the few unique areas on this otherwise boring prairie park.
Nice trash cans all over, very nice signs where they still exist.
Long and Short tees.
The long, short, left, right, straight balance is right on in the woods, but the open holes rarely force any shot, they allow ANY type of shot. Wind is the only factor (and not wanting to wade through thick grass)
Cons: The tees. Sure, they're huge concrete pads. But they are TOO SHORT! They don't need to be 8' wide in back, and should be 2-3' longer!! I'm sure the county spent a lot of money for the volume of concrete, but they did them wrong. See Silver Creek for good trapezoidal tees of good length.
There are only the few wooded holes - partial 2, 11, and 15, and fully 6-10.
The prairie style holes offer a bot of elevation, but nothing extreme and defintely no long downhill bombers here.
The prairie grasses must SUCK in the middle of summer. I shanked a number of drives into the long grass due to the wind being a major factor. But, other than looking for them, there was no punishment for the bad drive, I still took 3's. I would have hated looking for discs in long dense summer grass too!
There is no water or OB on this course (although the private land bordering #5 should be - no sign here to mark it).
A few of the greens in the woods are well protected, but none are really on any type of ridge for risky rollaways. Some of the protected alternate greens (namely #7 left most and right most) are almost too protected and just pinball-like.
Other Thoughts: I don't mind playing the course. It is a nice remote area, although there are usually a number of people in the park.
The park is very scenic, but only the unique woods were used. Soem of the higher ridges and the ponds being brought into play would really spice up this course.
The overall design is decent, the wooded holes are fun if not nearly just lucky, but the challenge does not exist because the vast majority of holes are just wide open and slightly rolling prairie.
I really was perturbed by the HUGELY wide tees that were entirely too short! What a screw up in my mind!
The course is just average. I have played it a number of times, in all sorts of configurations and designs. It's worth a stop, but your overall experience will leave you wanting more. Problem is, there is a HUGE gap in not only quality courses, but ANY courses south of Silver Creek (or Sheboygan). Just check the map browser.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    10/11/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large concrete tee pads
-Multiple tee pads
-Great scenery
-Park is very clean
-Garbage cans at most holes
-Benches at most holes
-The course is not extremely difficult but still provides a challenge
-Very good tee signs for holes 10-18; The other ones only have poles with a number on it
Cons: -Tee pads for the first nine can be very challenging to find if it is your first time
-Many leaves in the first nine to lose your disc in.
-Wind is a big factor
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend downloading and printing the course map under the Links/Files tab. Without a map I would have gotten very lost. Over all this is a very enjoyable course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A few good holes in the middle

1    7/5/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around and through a dense patch of woods surrounded by rolling prairie. The beginning and end of the course are open mowed fairways through the tall grass with minor elevation changes, while the middle of the course plays through tight woods with plenty of schule to punish an errant shot. This makes for some good length variety, with some wide open bombers out in the open, and a couple shorter holes in the woods. The wooded holes force some different lines and a few of the open holes have late trouble that challenge you to place your shot well to have a look at the basket.

There are very nice concrete tee pads, with dual tees on every hole to make the course accessible for different skill levels. The baskets are in good shape, and catch well. It's obvious a lot of work has gone into this course by the local club, and improvements are still continuing.
Cons: There is absolutely no signage here, just some old posts at many tees, some of which have the hole number sharpied on. This makes the couple minor navigation issues worse as you have no idea at times if you're standing on the correct tee, and there's nothing to help you choose which path through the woods you should take after a couple holes.

The dual tees are a nice idea, but the long tees only add distance on the open holes, and make for some odd shots in the woods where the short tees tend to have a much better designed hole in general. The open section of the course is quite boring, and makes for some frustration with such long holes that call for a driver, but throwing off the fairway can lead to lots of time searching for discs. There were some rude players when I played, not something that hurts my rating, but there were groups that refused to let faster groups play through when asked, and other groups skipping around the course to get ahead of the slow people, backing things up even more.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course, but there are better places to play in the area that you should look at if you only have time for a couple courses (Dretzka and Brown Deer). Beginners will find this course a little long and punishing, though the short tees are a little less tight in the woods and a little shorter in the open. More experienced players will find some nice challenges, but not enough variety or a complete enough design from the long tees to really make it a must play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: phillip420
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is a friendly course and challanging to the best players. sighns are currently being redone. i was with the guys while they GPSed the distance from pad to pin, also there are other plans on redoing some of the pins out there. i have to give it up to the guys for there time to give us an 18 hole course that is always enjoyable to play.great mix of woods and field play!! plenty of garbage cans so there should be no reason for litter. all and all very clean course.
Cons: could have a posibility of a water hazard out here but is not in any play.
Other Thoughts: help us keep this place clean! with the speed of the popularity this sport is taking its going to take all of us to keep this a free fun clean sport!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 take a break

5+    1/15/2010   1/22/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual trapezoidal tees.
More than one pin placement.
As fun a group of locals to play with as you will find anywhere.
Very fun course from short tees.
For those who have seen the progress this course has made since the beginning; things have come a long way here.
Club maintenance is very solid. Each and every year; new imrpovements come along. Most recently, long tees were added; and replanting of grass around tees was successfully completed.
#2 is a nice hole/slightly uphill with a green finish over and through a nice hanging branch from a decent sized tree.
#5 is a very nice hole; especially from short tee....and is still a nice finish after a rip from the long.
No major elevation; but decent use of minor sloping land.
Cons: More than one of the wooded holes feels kind of pin ballish to me (#7 especially/and #9 long tee). I reached a couple of these during league/doubles play in my most recent trip. But there is no real fairway line; it's poke and hope. Considering that this is one of the better sections of the course; it's sad to have to add a bad disclaimer to these holes.
Most of the back nine is pretty open.
Long tees will flat out wear you out; especially if the wind is up or during an inclement weather day. I understand the purpose was to present gold level players with a chance to use their distance skills; but, the course itself; while nice; is not going to draw that many gold level players. For blue level and below; the course; especially on the back nine becomes a chuck it as far as you can/hole after hole; without a lot of shot shaping. And the finale is disappointing.
Permanent tee signs indicating pin placements would certainly be a plus. I would imagine they are coming at some point in the fairly near future.
Pin remain in the ground for winter play. Short tees are kept clear by club and Saturday morning league play is conducted at 10 a.m.
Other Thoughts: The "take a break" title to this review is a suggestion to the club. As mentioned in the pros; these guys have been doing a rather remarkable job improving things here. However, the long tees were debated/argued by the top club officials, and I don't think a good consensus came from these deliberations. Tees were also poured poorly; one already has a large crack in it. These things should have been put on hold for a while; and things should have been held off, until they were finished in a more top notch manner.
My review has kind of an overall negative trend to it....and I feel kind of bad in this regard. I have enjoyed myself quite a bit, during my journeys here, and I don't want to suggest that this is not a good course. The long tees seem rather superficial to me; and I also think design (without having talked over specific issues with designers), could/should have been done better. It is a good course; and thus, a 3.
As much as I like the guys here and am impressed with what they have accomplished thus far; I would have to point out that Dretzka and Brown Deer are much better courses in the area. Lime Kiln Park is only nine holes and is "old school"; and yet, with much more extreme elevation available; and the awesome finishing hole to the lime kilns, you may even prefer it to Tendick.
With Tendick added in; these four in one small area; do make for an awesome grouping.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tendick has improved!

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some really neat looking holes here. A very quiet experience, as this place is out there a bit. Dual flaired tee pads, but the pro pads aren't anything to speak off in terms of giving the course a different "look". Not a difficult course, and shooting here is not at all discouraging like at Brown Deer.
Cons: Poor signage. Good attempt, but these things are make out of paper, and have long since faded in the rains and sunshine. Holes 16, 17, and 18 really need to be laid out differently. They are boring, and add a very poor feeling to finishing up this course.
Other Thoughts: If it's been a few years since you last played here, you need to come out an play this again. I remember playing out here quite a bit when SADGE club ran thngs, and were struggling to get things into the ground. The course has really come around in the latter years, and I really enjoyed my round here. Even my 4 YO daughter had a great time following me around and throwing my marker at the pins. She actually wanted to play another round afterward....

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I'll Be Back...

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Excellent use of the existing terrain. You start out in the open, but having to navigate some gentle undulating fairways and baskets placed strategically behind/near trees and bushes. The wind wasn't a huge factor on the open holes when I was out, but I imagine it could be. No real drastic elevation, but a good mix of lefty and righty holes, and plenty where you really have to THINK before just cranking your tee shot.
2. Dual concrete tees. It was Father's Day, so my wife, kids, and I played a nice round from the shorts (I intended on playing longs, but the first few were off-limits due to what appeared to be grass restoration, so by the time I got to the playable longs I figured I'd just keep things consistent for the round and not hold up the family). The trapezoidal, generous tees were very appreciated!.
3. Multiple pins. I'd imagine this adds immense variety to the course, because it seems like the alternate locations are far enough apart with different obstacles in play to make it feel like a completely different hole. This is one of the factors that will DEFINITELY have me returning in the near future.
4. Beautiful park, well-manicured, lots of wildlife. The friendly chipmunks added a big fun factor to the course for my kids--and it seemed like one of the little guys was showing us to the next tee when we holed out on one hole, running up the trail, stopping and looking back at us, and finally running to the tee itself and scurrying off into the woods. If you've got kids that don't disc golf, they should still have a blast out here.
Cons: 1. It'd be nice to know WHICH pins I was playing to so I didn't have to walk halfway up the fairway (or more) to discover this myself. I've seen a simple system utilized at courses like this...a simple wooden post with an interchangable plate reading "A/B/C" for easy correlation with the map on the tee sign.
2. As stated, I didn't play the longs, and I don't know that I'd necessarily have to or want to. For some of the wooded holes they might be fun and challenging, but throwing a slab of concrete 60, 80, or 100 feet behind the short tee on a wide open hole just doesn't change it that much.
3. Some spots don't tell you where to go for the next tee, but we didn't get too lost. I discovered in those areas a convenient (but frickin' ANNOYING) "idiot trail" of cigarette butts and random litter. You can usually follow one of these Retarded-Hansel-and-Gretel paths to find out where to go.
4. The end of this course gets very "ho-hum" and lackluster. If I had anything to do with the design, I would've made #18 a true signature hole and gone with a short shot ending by the pond. I was actually more excited to be done with #18 and get back to the putting basket to practice my short game.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a really fun course. I wish I'd scored a little better playing shorts, but I tend to allow myself more of a cushion when playing a new, unfamiliar course, and don't really beat myself up over missed fairways and smacking trees that I know I shouldn't. I'll definitely come back to play since it's only about 40 minutes from me. Maybe someday I'll play long tees (which I usually do at any course that offers that option), but I just don't see the point in cranking out straight drive after straight drive on open holes. I'm getting too old for that. :)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.