Jackson Hole, WY 
Jackson Hole Mtn. Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/25/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
Pros: It located in beautiful Jackson Hole which beautiful views of the area. It doesn't offer a lot of variety for holes, but there is something to be said about the enjoyment of bombing a disc down the mountainside
Cons: The 10 hole course is not well marked out. My brothers and I had difficulty identifying the hole's basket or the next hole tee pads a few times. Except for the first hole, the rest of tee pads are gravel which results in inconsistent footing while throwing.
Other Thoughts: The Teton Village resort has recently put in a downhill mountain bike course which crosses the disc golf course in a few locations. When we played it wasn't too big of an issue, but you just have to pay attention or else you will get mauled by a biker hauling down the mountain.

 

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, some fun long downhill shots.
Cons: Fairly simple mountain course, mostly every shot is straight up hill or straight downhill. Needs better signage at tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking boots. I believe they are turning the course into an 18 hole and changing the layout at the end of august.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jackson Hole

2-4    6/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: elevation change
nice weather in summer
nice selection of discs in ski shop (although overpriced)
open shots and wooded shots
practice hole near the ski shop
Cons: hard to find the next tee on some holes especially 9
no tee signs when I played in June 2012
natural tees are loose dirt
hard to find tee for hole 1 even with the map
map is not accurate at all
Only 10 holes
Other Thoughts: Played it twice with my brother on vacation. About 2 hours from Yellowstone. Nice ski lodge area. Also saw a lot of mountain bikers on the slopes. Pretty steep at some points. Take some water. Map helps some but not much. It is available in the ski shop. My brother is a beginner and he had a good time and played decent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 meh...

1    6/12/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Stunningly beautiful location
-Baskets on each hole
-Well marked, with tee signs
-Free
-Can be played in a short period of time when passing through the area.
Cons: -Uneven, natural tee pads. Like, MAJORLY uneven. Players with run-up approaches be warned.
-Uninspired layout
-Mostly uphill shots
-Poor use of available terrain
-Plenty of room for 18 holes, but is not.
Other Thoughts: Teton Village DGC plays on the lower slopes of Jackson Hole Ski Resort. The terrain is mostly grass and dirt with two holes taking advantage of the numerous forested areas at the resort. While beautiful as it gets, a round here leaves something to be desired.

The course generally works its way uphill for the first 7 holes, with mostly 300-500 foot par 4 holes. The fairways are open and straight, and the baskets are unprotected.

Hole number 4 was promising; a moderately sloped downhill shot through a very narrow wooded tunnel. Make it and you can easily birdie the hole. If you don't, you get to go on an exciting walk through the woods.

Hole 7 is the definition of a filler hole. Tee pad in the middle of a field, basket at the top of a hill. This par 4 works its way up a grueling 'moderately difficult' rated ski slope (a blue run). While uphills are fun and all, the only challenge is pure strength.

It is clear to me that this course was designed in order to cater to holes 8 and 9, which are very fun albeit typical for ski resort downhill shots. Hole 8 is really the signature, but once again it is just a big-air downhill shot down a ski slope, to a basket randomly placed in the middle of the slope. 597 feet, 89 down, and par 4. Quite easy par provided the winds don't carry your disc into the woods.

Hole 9 appears to have been redesigned since the pictures on this site were taken. The tee pad is now in a wooded area with a wonderful tunnel that lasts about 50 feet. Beyond that, its a wide open, field downhill shot.

Basket 9 leaves you a good distance from the bottom of the hill, where there is a practice DISCatcher basket waiting. A small hill near basket 9 appears to be a popular 'tee' for a bonus 10th hole, which was actually a ton of fun. Chairlift wires are the main obstruction for this hole.

A second loop with more technical shots would be a fantastic addition to this course, and would really compliment the relatively simple existing 9. While I subscribe to the thought of 'any course is better than no course,' this resort town would really benefit from finishing the course. While I found it nice to be able to play while in Jackson, I just did not find the course that 'fun.'

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.