Jackson Hole, WY 
Jackson Hole Mtn. Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #3 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/25/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
Pros: It located in beautiful Jackson Hole which beautiful views of the area. It doesn't offer a lot of variety for holes, but there is something to be said about the enjoyment of bombing a disc down the mountainside
Cons: The 10 hole course is not well marked out. My brothers and I had difficulty identifying the hole's basket or the next hole tee pads a few times. Except for the first hole, the rest of tee pads are gravel which results in inconsistent footing while throwing.
Other Thoughts: The Teton Village resort has recently put in a downhill mountain bike course which crosses the disc golf course in a few locations. When we played it wasn't too big of an issue, but you just have to pay attention or else you will get mauled by a biker hauling down the mountain.

Fun little course

5+    6/8/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: Wescott
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Nice elevation changes throughout.
Well marked, nice signage.
Trash/Recycling every ~3 holes.
Cons: 10 holes.
Mostly open, only two technical shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall a fun course. I don't think it could be called extreme in any sense of the word. It does make good use of the elevation changes for uphill/downhill shots. Would be nice to have some more holes that used some trees to make them a little more interesting and challenging.

 

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, some fun long downhill shots.
Cons: Fairly simple mountain course, mostly every shot is straight up hill or straight downhill. Needs better signage at tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking boots. I believe they are turning the course into an 18 hole and changing the layout at the end of august.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jackson Hole

2-4    6/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: elevation change
nice weather in summer
nice selection of discs in ski shop (although overpriced)
open shots and wooded shots
practice hole near the ski shop
Cons: hard to find the next tee on some holes especially 9
no tee signs when I played in June 2012
natural tees are loose dirt
hard to find tee for hole 1 even with the map
map is not accurate at all
Only 10 holes
Other Thoughts: Played it twice with my brother on vacation. About 2 hours from Yellowstone. Nice ski lodge area. Also saw a lot of mountain bikers on the slopes. Pretty steep at some points. Take some water. Map helps some but not much. It is available in the ski shop. My brother is a beginner and he had a good time and played decent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wasted potential

2-4    7/30/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 210  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -amazing location, absolutely beautiful views
-very challenging
-awesome downhill shots on 8-10
-tee signs and easy navigation
-flags on top of the baskets
-other outdoor activities readily available: mountain biking, hiking, sight-seeing, ATV rentals, etc.
Cons: -very poor tee pads: uneven, short, dirt, sometimes rocky
-many unmowed areas with very tall grass
-lackluster design
-6 holes straight uphill, pure strength/distance is the only challenge
-shared space with other activities: mountain biking trails very close by, pedestrians/hikers/tourists walking through
-seriously challenging hike at high elevation
-could easily be 18 holes but is not

late july 2010: construction affecting the course. several tees or baskets moved.
Other Thoughts: This gorgeous course is located on the ski hills of the Teton Village Ski Resort. If you are here, you're probably on vacation and there are plenty of other great activities available nearby. You will definitely want to take advantage of them because you probably won't want to play this course over and over again.

As Danger noted in his (great) review below, it is obvious that this course was designed purely with the last 3 downhill holes in mind. The first 7 play straight uphill (except #5) on open fairways. Uphill distance is the only challenge. Most of the baskets are in the wide open or somewhat close to a tree line. Hole 5 is the most interesting of the first 7: a slight downhill through a pair of trees about 25' from the tee.

When you do finally make it to the top, it makes the hike worth it. Hole 8 is the signature hole: 597' downhill (it looks shorter?) with a 89' drop. It sure is fun to bomb off the top of this hill but the hole itself is an easy straight shot in the wide open. Hole 9 is another downhill bomb in the wide open. Others have noted that this tee is located inside a small tunnel of trees. Either those trees got cut down or the tee was moved when I was there because there was only a tree line off to the left.

Construction in the area had a couple tees or baskets moved. There was a large construction machine directly on top of hole 4's tee and the basket for 10 was moved due to construction also, making the hole more or less unplayable. Hole 9's tee may also have been moved?

The tee pads are uneven dirt and they are too short and some are rocky as well. I threw forehand on most of the first 7 just to avoid awkward footing. Also, this course is a serious uphill hike at high elevation. If you are out of shape you will be sore and out of breath. If you have poor balance you may fall over.

This course has a few redeeming qualities but it leaves much to be desired. I would love to see an experienced course designer redesign this course as a full 18. There is plenty of space available to do so and a number of holes that go across the hill instead of just up or down would make it much easier to play and much more enjoyable. There is plenty of land and interesting topography to work with to make a fun and challenging course design.

Definitely worth bringing your discs if you already plan to be in the area but don't come here just to play. You will be disappointed.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 meh...

1    6/12/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Stunningly beautiful location
-Baskets on each hole
-Well marked, with tee signs
-Free
-Can be played in a short period of time when passing through the area.
Cons: -Uneven, natural tee pads. Like, MAJORLY uneven. Players with run-up approaches be warned.
-Uninspired layout
-Mostly uphill shots
-Poor use of available terrain
-Plenty of room for 18 holes, but is not.
Other Thoughts: Teton Village DGC plays on the lower slopes of Jackson Hole Ski Resort. The terrain is mostly grass and dirt with two holes taking advantage of the numerous forested areas at the resort. While beautiful as it gets, a round here leaves something to be desired.

The course generally works its way uphill for the first 7 holes, with mostly 300-500 foot par 4 holes. The fairways are open and straight, and the baskets are unprotected.

Hole number 4 was promising; a moderately sloped downhill shot through a very narrow wooded tunnel. Make it and you can easily birdie the hole. If you don't, you get to go on an exciting walk through the woods.

Hole 7 is the definition of a filler hole. Tee pad in the middle of a field, basket at the top of a hill. This par 4 works its way up a grueling 'moderately difficult' rated ski slope (a blue run). While uphills are fun and all, the only challenge is pure strength.

It is clear to me that this course was designed in order to cater to holes 8 and 9, which are very fun albeit typical for ski resort downhill shots. Hole 8 is really the signature, but once again it is just a big-air downhill shot down a ski slope, to a basket randomly placed in the middle of the slope. 597 feet, 89 down, and par 4. Quite easy par provided the winds don't carry your disc into the woods.

Hole 9 appears to have been redesigned since the pictures on this site were taken. The tee pad is now in a wooded area with a wonderful tunnel that lasts about 50 feet. Beyond that, its a wide open, field downhill shot.

Basket 9 leaves you a good distance from the bottom of the hill, where there is a practice DISCatcher basket waiting. A small hill near basket 9 appears to be a popular 'tee' for a bonus 10th hole, which was actually a ton of fun. Chairlift wires are the main obstruction for this hole.

A second loop with more technical shots would be a fantastic addition to this course, and would really compliment the relatively simple existing 9. While I subscribe to the thought of 'any course is better than no course,' this resort town would really benefit from finishing the course. While I found it nice to be able to play while in Jackson, I just did not find the course that 'fun.'

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Grand course

2-4    11/9/2008   11/9/2009
Review By: fiya79
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: great location, fun layout, fairly easy to follow.
Cons: poor tee boxes. I hate worrying about falling down on big throws. could lose a disc in wildflower fileds (there are worse ways to lose a disc)
Other Thoughts: Worth playing for sure. T

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Strap on your boots

5+    8/8/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The view and area is awesome. Navigation is easy. The course takes a natural path up the mountain and then back down the ski slopes. There is elevation changes on every hole and some challenging tree shots (see the picture for #4) you can shoot the gap or go wide right. Challenging and fun course to play.

You get to throw your disc over 500 feet downhill and that is my favorite part of playing ski resorts.
Cons: Tee pads are very rough. If you have a lot of steps in your approach, or use your legs a lot, you'll have to back it off. I throw a lot of side-arm on this course to avoid breaking my ankle.
Other Thoughts: There is a series of tournaments played each summer sponsored by the snowboarding/mountain biking shop near the first tee box. There is a raffle for prizes and free beer for all participants. The shop has discs, maps, and score cards.

After hole nine there is a bonus hole throwing downhill to the practice basket at the bottom of the course near the first tee pad. In case you need a tie-breaker.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jackson Hole

5+    7/23/2005   7/23/2009
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course in an amazing mountain setting. 7 holes up the mountain 2 down.
Cons: Very few for what it is, this is a 9 holer not an 18, so pretty quick. Easy to lose disc on a couple of the last holes but thats cause you're throwing it 700 feet down a mountain.
Other Thoughts: Haven't played it in a few years but this course is one of my all time favorites, played it numerous times when I lived in JH.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Your in for a work out

1    7/6/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: jeffobrien
Played: 49  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course on the slope of a ski resort. Great atmosphere and mountian air. Some extreme elevation change going up and down. thought out basket placement.
Cons: Lots of hikers and bikers, some bugs and even though I was playing in mid-summer, it was still slightly muddy toward the base of the mountian. Some tall grass so losing a disc is possible.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course. It was a work out. definitly worth playing if your in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.