Park City, UT 
The Canyons Resort Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #16 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 365ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mountains!

1    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From the gondola ride up to the gondola ride back this is one of the most gorgeous locations I've played disc golf in.

Extremely friendly staff are more than happy to get you on your way.

Each hole is clearly marked with the exception of hole 5 which the sign is a little misleading. Thankfully the course map shows a switchback trail on it so it wasn't difficult to figure out.

The course flows really well. You aren't exhausted from unnecessary hiking when you're done. You could easily play two rounds without wearing yourself ragged.

Great use of elevation. You get a decent mix of uphill throws with all the downhills.

Great pin placement. There are a ton of holes that offer good risk/reward opportunities. It may be a wide open shot, but there's a small stream or hill on the other side of the pin that makes you have to choose if you'll go for it or lay it up.

The fairways are very well groomed. The rough isn't that horrible either. There were only two of us throwing and we never needed a spotter and never even came close to losing a disc.

Good baskets and, (when available) good tee pads with the exception of a few.
Cons: The course is just a little schizophrenic. The first 9 are very well designed though not terribly technical, but two of the tee pads are dirt. Then the back 9 only has 4 tee pads that AREN'T dirt and some terrible design problems. I'd rate the front 9 a 5 and the back 9 a 3.

Hole 14 throws right at the tee pad for 15. Hole 16 crosses fairways with 18, (a big design blunder imo), with the tee pad for hole 16 being in peril of a wayward 18 drive. Speaking of 16 and 18, both of their tee pads were horrible. 16's looked like someone imported beach sand for it and 18 had a huge crater in the middle of it begging to jack up you knee.

There isn't a real signature hole. I know, it's not a huge con, not every course needs one, but with a tiny bit of creativity they could make one. There also isn't a single par 4. For a mt course this is unfortunate.

There is a TON of mt bike traffic which goes right by your holes. Remember to be courteous, they certainly aren't watching out for disc golfers.

Dirt tee pads: 2, 6, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18
Other Thoughts: Overall this is well deserving of a high rating. The cons are significant enough to knock it down a full disc rating, but the pros are outstanding. It's well worth the $15 gondola fee, especially if you play two rounds.

Get your gondola pass at Canyon Mountain Sports in the village, take the beautiful gondola ride up to the High Meadow lift where you can get your course map and scorecard before heading up to the top 9. Hole 1 starts up the hill and to the right of the top of the lift.

You could bring a mt. bike and do some sweet trails while you're up there or do some other activities. The place is packed with things to do!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First Time At The Canyons

1    7/21/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: NothinButChing
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: GEOURGOUS! BEAUTIFUL!

Not as steep of a mountain hike but just as long of a course as Solitude.

Very good use of terrain, holes incorporate the wilderness around them. Just have to be accurate or you are in the worst weeds ever or off a mountain side.

You're out in the sun as much as under trees in the shade prefect for the afternoon hike.

Holes range in difficulty, course could be utilized for bigger sized tourney if the pads were extended a little bit now that there are 18 holes up there.
Cons: Tee Pads need to bee extended continued to fall or slip off.

Number of bikers and hikers is more than Solitude.

Other Thoughts: I hope the maintenance and upkeep continues as this is a great course to keep expanding onto and bringing exposure to.

$15 lift tickets are totally worth it!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 TCR-Overrated 4 sure!

2-4    7/16/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Hwy1DG
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a ski resort course. Usually 10-20 degree's cooler than the salt lake valley courses. Well marked. You get to ride the Gondola and a chair lift.
Cons: You have to take a Gondola and a chair lift. The disc flight characteristics at that high elevation can be tough to get used to. That, mixed with its length, makes it a very difficult course. Any Errant shots will leave you with tough consequences. Overgrown grasses and weeds cover the fairways, making it difficult to find plastic, but easy to find Spiders, Poisonous oak plants, and flys/mosquitos. Spotters are essential on almost every hole!
Other Thoughts: I'm afraid for the beginner trying disc golf for the first time at this course. With all the Lavish time-share condos and multiple resort hotels, expect to see families and large groups looking for discs. This course will punish them severely due to overgrown foliage, high elevation flight action, and long narrow holes. Beginners should be encouraged to play the back nine.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Mountain Disc Golf

2-4    7/4/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2012
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first nine holes The Canyons DGC embody everything a ski resort disc golf course should be. I rate the first nine holes (the newest nine) as 5 discs for design, challenge, aesthetics and upkeep. The original nine holes are also laid out well, take advantage of ski resort terrain and require a variety of shots. However, the original nine holes (now Holes 10 thru 18) have a couple of tees and pins that are a bit too close together and there are crossing fairways preventing the perfect 5 disc score.

Once you park in the activities area of The Canyons Resort, purchase a Gondola lift ticket at Canyon Mountain Sports. The course is open ever y day during the season (even though some information indicates it is Thursday through Sunday only). The lift ride up is amazingly beautiful and almost worth the price even without the disc golf. After exiting the gondola at Red Pine Lodge, proceed to the High Meadow lift. Your lift ticket is good for both lifts. The tee for Hole 1 is a short walk once you exit the second lift. If you only have time to play nine holes, play the top nine! This nine hole course was designed with mountain disc golf in mind. Unlike some ski resort courses, where the play seems to be all up or all down, this course provides a variety of different shots that use the available terrain very nicely. On top of that the mountain scenery is breathtaking.

The front (top) nine do require a bit of skill to enjoy, but big distance is not necessary to score well. Beginners will be sure to find out how rough it can get off the ample fairways and probably find the water that shouldn't really come into play. Pars were relatively easy to make on every single hole with proper shot selection. Holes 6 and 18 may be the only par 4's on the course.

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course and have placed it on my favorites list.

Nice bonus having an ice cold beer after my round at the Red Pine Lodge.

Well Designed
Well Kept
Well Signed
Easy to follow
Fair and challenging for all skill levels
Very scenic
Cons: Players are literally aiming at the tee pads for 15 and 16 tee while approaching the targets on 14 & 15. Fairways 18 and 16 cross.


I am sure some folks won't like the natural/dirt tees. The tees are all framed and filled with crushed rock (Hole 10 is concrete). They were well marked and well maintained. (See photo for Hole 3 showing Tee Area) Mountain disc golf is more rugged than playing in a neighborhood park so I wasn't expecting concrete.

Sign guiding to Hole 5 is confusing. Hole 5 tee is straight, then up and to the right, not down to left as sign implies.

There is water on the course. Mostly in the form of small streams. They were easy to avoid and not very deep when I played. They probably present a bigger challenge after it rains.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth the trip and worth the cost of the $15.00 lift ticket. If you are ever travelling I-80 through the area, this course is worth the trip. It is only five minutes from the interstate.

The downhill biking looked awesome. Rental bikes are available at Canyon Mountain Sports. I was wishing I had more time so I could do that too!

Update: I enjoyed this area so much on my 2010 trip that I came back and stayed for a week at the Canyons Resort in 2011. The course was nearly the same, only a few changes were made for the new mountain bike runs.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Review of the Canyons

5+    6/22/2007   1/19/2010
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes through out the course. not really crowded. excellent scenery.
Cons: 9 holes.

12 dollars to get there or 4 mile hike.
Other Thoughts: Good fun course at 8100+ feet in elevation. Take the 4 mile hike its worth it. Got slightly lost and took wrong route and it was really steep at points.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Canyons

6/29/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain to make it mostly short distance holes, but still very challenging. Heavy with trees of course, #3 has water by the chains, otherwise no other water hazards. Nice mix of uphill, downhill, tight fairways, open fairways.
Cons: Natural tee boxes. Watch out for people that are hiking, biking, or simply wondering around enjoying the mountains, trails criss-cross the course. It is also fairly close to the lodge.
Other Thoughts: Real fun to play, I wish it was 18 holes. Employees of the resort were very friendly. I think #3 is the signature hole.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.