Disc Golf Store
Maysville, GA 
The Grove Share
Uploaded By: billnchristy Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Well-Maintained

1    6/28/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 85  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some of the best hospitality I have ever received on a disc golf course. We were offered water by several different people while there and were told that we'd be given a hamburger if we stuck around until they were having Bible School.

-Very nice manicured fairways.

-Nice baskets

-Tee stones were nice (when you found them).

-Great hole shapes with various different shots.

-Birdie and ace opportunities abound for the experienced player.
Cons: -Navigation. The navigation between holes 1, 2, 3, and 4 were some of the worst.

-The Tee Stones were extremely difficult to find if you weren't right up on them.

-Intersecting and parallel holes. The Grove would be difficult to play if there were more than a couple of groups playing.
Other Thoughts: The people were extremely nice, the fairways were well-manicured, and the holes were fun. This course makes for a fun disc golf experience and it's fairly close off I85. So, if you have a half hour to spare, this course is definitely worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grove church

1    9/1/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very pretty setting in a large well equipped sports/recreation area of the Grove church. Very well maintained, you might describe the grass as groomed. The Discatcher baskets are is very shape and there is enough variety between the hills and trees to keep you interested.
Cons: The biggest difficulty here has to be finding the granite squares sunk in the ground marking the tees. Ironically is the tees were more worn they would be easier to find.
Other Thoughts: This is a small course graciously built by a large church, I do appreciate their effort. I would classify this course as beginner level, however there are enough obstacles to provide fun for the more accomplished player. It is also open enough to not overly frustrate the beginning player. If you happen to be in the Commerce area and have a little time come out and play I think you will enjoy it.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Terrain For A Course!

1    7/21/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very nice place in which to place a course. It's in a parklike setting (It sits at the entrance to some kind of a church athletic facilty). It has nice Discatcher baskets and just enough hills and trees to make for a nice interesting little nine holer.
Cons: It was just difficult enough to navigate as to pretty much wreck the experience for me. The teepads are these little granite squares sunk flush in the ground. Besides thinking I was stepping on someones grave, I didn't locate many of them. It's pretty far off the beaten track.
Other Thoughts: Too bad, because I think it would be a fun little throw if you knew where you were going. I personally wouldn't recommend going alone or without a guide.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice if you are close

1    6/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: billnchristy
Played: 64  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 5.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short and sweet, actually some good variety not just straight open shots.
Close to Tanger outlets and Atlanta Dragway so you can visit if nearby shopping or watching a race.
Decent variety of distances for a 9 hole course.
Cons: Tees are granite squares sunk flush in with the ground...very hard to spot. I took a lot of pictures that should help navigation.
Kind of out of the way.
Rather easy.
Other Thoughts: Another really nice church course. This one has Discatcher Pro baskets and even has a practice basket. Given the short length it has some nice holes, most all dogleg and have some kind of tree or other obstacle for risk. Hole 1 is on a hill so you could easily add a stroke by rolling down.
Navigation was a bit frustrating for me, but hopefully my pictures will help (will upload when I get home). It should only take about 30min to play.

This course rated 41 points on my rating system. Its major pluses were variety and shot type and its negatives were navigation. It is worth a trip if shopping or if you live in the Commerce area.

Note that when I say variety it is based on other 9 hole courses, not a full out 18. This course has a fair mix of lengths (for its size), shot types (only a couple straight holes) and even a little risk (basket on hill and some trees). It is just enough to make it fun.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center