Disc Golf Store
Jefferson, NC 
Ashe County Park Share
Uploaded By: Sling Moore Hole #9
4 / 553ft.   4 / 660ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Fresh Review

1    6/30/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: alexb2000
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful park with an extremely broad range of shot requirements. The High Country Disc Golf Championships made the whole experience of playing this course multiple times from shorts and longs an absolute blast.
Cons: There is a lot of climbing. Not so much a con considering the payoff.
Other Thoughts: If you were asked by a new player what the best disc golf experience could possibly be, playing this course is what you would describe.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 ELEVATION!!!!

1    3/6/2013   3/15/2013
Review By: markm0023
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an outstanding course nestled neatly in the Appalachian Mountains. What strikes you first is how well elevation and the woods is used in the layout of this course, something I think some courses could really use. On hole 18 you literally drive off the side of a mountain almost 500+ feet down. There are also multiple lines and the holes are versatile in how you want to play your game. This best part however is most of the time crowds are very low.
Cons: The possibility of losing discs is very high especially in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course truly is a hidden gem and if possible everyone should play

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good holes and folks

1    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: holyschnikes
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Many tee pads in the woods are those rubber type. Layout is awesome with some holes having 100 or more feet elavation change. Amatuer has a couple par 4s. In addition to nice signage, the trees have markings to help navigate. Some cool folks right behine me found my lost disc! I could go on and on...it rocks!
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: I plan to play this many more times. I would drive a couple hours for it.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal!

2-4    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All that gushing praise in earlier reviews merely understated it.

This is one incredible disc golf course.

Beginning with the aesthetics, since that's the first thing you notice. The course is partly open, partly wooded The "open" segments aren't wide-open, but are manicured with magnificent views, scattered trees and low ceilings and a beautiful pond. The wooded segments are on steep slopes in a mountain forest, with huge hardwoods and thick groves of rhododendrons and mountain laurels. The views from #9 & #18---hilltop tees with long, straight-down alleys to the open area far below---are amazing.

And that's before you throw a disc. The open holes aren't terribly long, but have enough obstacles and rolling ground to really test you. The signature hole, from high above the pond to the basket on the far side, with a low-ceiling in between, is quite exciting. Meanwhile, the wooded holes include some very tight shots, some grueling par-4s, and some very unique holes. The wooded section is quite a workout but virtually every hole is amazing.

It includes Hole 11, the likes of which I've never seen. Drive down the fairway to a placement landing, then over an inpenatrable hedge of rhodos to an opening in the woods, then over another hedge to the opening where the basket is.

The course has two sets of tees, and 4 holes with 2 baskets. Though my praise is for the longest, most challenging tees, the short tees are quite fun, still pretty challenging, and, in many cases, aren't just shorter but present entirely different layouts, very refreshing. Which is also true for the holes with dual baskets.

The park is tucked back in the moutains, giving it a secluded and peaceful feel.

The course also displays a phenomenal amount of work by the local disc golfers, in the form of steps, tees, barriers near baskets, erosion controls, and mulching. Not to mention building the course in the first place.
Cons: Nitpicks, really. The signage is pretty good, but there are places in the woods where there is a lacework of trails, and it's not always easy to pick the right one to get to the next tee.

Some of the short tees are 10' long, with no room behind them. If you're like me with an established 12' footwork, they're tough, especially when a bad throw is severely punished.
Other Thoughts: I'd go on for pages and pages---I really really loved this course---but I'll just say that it would be a tough break if this was your home course, because anywhere else you went would be a letdown.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 awesome, tough course

2-4    9/15/2010   12/8/2010
Review By: porchmike
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2011
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: long drives/long, scenic drive to get there

scenic views of the appalachians

low crowds

tech shots/great variety

#9 and #18 are the funnest holes i've ever played. if you like to see 'em fly, there are no two better holes i've played. the pro tee on 18 is ridiculous! you better throw it straight!

great exercise- lots of elevation changes and a HUGE layout make for a great workout to go with the amazing golf.

Cons: 11 is really weird with the walls of rhodies, but it is unique... the short pin is not quite as wierd.

remoteness is a con for some, but a huge pro for me- i don't like crowds.
Other Thoughts: my second favorite course, after idlewild. this place is worth a road trip, just come prepared with food, water, long pants for poison ivy, and lots of discs for 9 and 18, and you won't be disappointed! by no means have i played them all, but this course must be right up there w/ the best in the country!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Much to Offer - Any Level Player

5+    9/9/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: mcleanclan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The greatest. From the blues (only forced to play once in a PDGA), it is a very testing course for any skill-set. From the whites, it is a test, but a TON of FUN! My favorite course of all time - at least of those I have played. There are so many testing shots and shots you won't find elsewhere. 9 and 18 are priceless. #6 costed me 8 strokes in the PDGA - even though my second shot was from 12 feet. Love the challenge. Risk vs Reward... all the way through.
Cons: Can't think of any. The hill climbs? Not really. Just play the back nine first. Then again in the PDGA I had to start on 15... ugggg...
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played it... WISH LIST it now. You'll soon be FAVORITING it! It's a 4.5 for a reason.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 BEST COURSE IN NC!!!!!!!

2-4    7/29/2009   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: CANT GIVE THIS COURSE ENOUGH CREDIT!thank you innova and harold duval for painting this beautiful picture known as west jefferson dgpark.my first thoughts upon entering this park was mesmorising. it has every type of shot possible. over water, around water, long woods to short open, long open to short woods, double mando. mostly one set of pads with am and pro baskets(pro r blue) but a couple have both pro pad and basket. hole 9 and 18 are great 500 - 600 ftshooting out of the woods 300ft up with no tree limbs shooting into the grass covered fairway. the trees are 200 feet tall with no limbs so its like the coolest fair way in the worlod.THROW A MIDRANGE OR PUTTER ON 18 PRO. its 400 feet down and mountain golf will teach you down hills and up hill. throw your biggest driver going up hill. not tight at all just very shoot demanding. a few holes its a reven of 400ft down if uslip off the pad of miss throw ur disc.best to play with a local if you can for they can show you the bad spots, i was lucky enough to do that. i played to games in the middle of july and didnt drink half a bottle of water. no humidty there, cause we played ashville the day b4 and it was 90+. but in july its like 72 degrees fn nice!!!!!!! the more people you play with the better there. we played to rounds of doubles and hav never had so much fun laughing and every one(including myself) hiting trees :) try to get there early to play to games .
Cons: in middle of no wear if you hardcore get a motel room you wont be let down best course in nc hands down!!!!
Other Thoughts: has running water a SHATE PARK BRING UR BOARD crystal clear pond u can swim for ur disc in awsome.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in NC

5+    7/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The course is set in an absolutely beautiful park. Tons of elevation, water, open and wooded.
- Great use of the huge elevation changes.
- Great mixture of shots.
- 2 sets of tee pads that are fairly different pretty much making two distinct course.
- Short 9 hole loop if you don't want to take trek up the mountain on Hole 8 and 9. Alternative Holes 8 and 9 go back to the parking lot.
- Hole 3, 9, 15, and 18 are all signature holes. Hole 9 is one of my all time favorite holes.
- As of right now, this is my favorite course, designed by one of the best course designers Harold Duvall.
Cons: - A lot of people complain about hole 11. I think it's a very unique and interesting hole design that could have possibly been executed better. I love the out of the box design even if it can be an extremely frustrating hole.
- It is a physically demanding course. Tons of hiking and takes a good 2 hours to play the long tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is not talked about enough and not played enough. It's in a kind of remote location in the mountains of NC, so I guess I can understand it, but more people need to come play this course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 high country=insane elevation

5+    11/19/2011   5/31/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: best all around course in the carolinas, with clean virgin lands, friendly folks at park, lots of exercise, wild life (copperheads and black snakes a plenty)
Big bombs off Pheonix mountain, water hazard on three and six, nine and eighteen will make you smile wider than any other course, and empty your bag.I lose discs here and don't even care, it is that amazing. I was born in this town and live in Charlotte now. I owe the HCDGC my sanity, for this course makes me focus on what is important in life.
Better living through aerodynamics.
Cons: the only bad thing is it will tear your feet up if you are not in hiking mode, this course is not a flat stroll, it is a hike, a long beautiful hike
Other Thoughts: I have been playing NC courses for years, living in Charlotte makes me a better player, and I can get my fix even on lunch breaks at Renny. Drive to Ashe county and stay a few days (I will give you a tour if I'm there, I was raised in Beaver Creek) pick a tune, get some bbq from Byron at Smokey Mountain, live the high life in the high country.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!!

1    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely stunning. The course is set in a lovely park in the middle of the mountains. The baskets are in great shape and most of the blind baskets have tall flags showing you were it is. The teepads are large and in excellent shape and almost every hole has pro and am pads. There are signs on every hole with distances and signs all over the course telling you were to go next. It was very easy to follow for a huge long course. There were scorecards with a map on the back of them at the first tee.

We played the pro pads and the course starts out in the open with throwing over a hill to a basket on a downslope. Then you have a great anhyzer hole that if not thrown well with bring the lake into play due to the slope. Then a 410 ft downhill water carry on the next hole. You play the first several holes mostly in the open with some well placed trees and water to impede your progress. #7 is a very interesting short hole that is easy to blow up on. Then you start up the hill with a brutal #8 hole on an extreme slope going up into the woods. On #9 you are throwing literally off a mountain side to a basket 600+ ft below. The hole is absolutely stunning.

I hope you scored well on the front because the back nine is much harder. #10 starts with an extremely tight double mando then you go to #11 which is the most unique hole I have ever played. You have to trow to spots because the fairway is sectioned off by huge bushes. You just have to play it to understand it. I noticed several people complained about it but if you don't like it just play the short basket. You do not have to play the brutal long one. Personally I loved it. From there you start throwing in and out of the woods Some are in the open down hill into the woods. Some are up hill, and some even start at the bottom of the hill and go over it down the the other side. #15 was my favorite hole on the course. It is a great long drive in thick woods over a large valley. A bad throw could really be punished here. From there you have a few more tough ones in the woods then you finish out throwing off the mountain again then a long dogleft right hole. We could not find my drive on th #18 so I had to hike back up the mountain and retee after looking at the bottom for 30 minutes. My lungs were on fire!!!

I can't imagine how much work went into putting this course together. The amount of signs, steps on the hillsides, etc must have taking a ton of work. The variaty of shots from the long tees coupled with the mix of woods and open make for a great round of golf. This course is extremely tough and bad shots will be punished severly. The par is very accurrate and only a really good player is going to sniff it from the pro tees.

Cons: There is not really any cons that I have other then some poison ivy. Not much you can do about it if the course it in the woods though. The course is a brutal hike for the pro pads so bring plenty of water and be in decent shape or you might die on the mountain in the summer. Watch your discs like a hawk. The holes are long and it is easy to loose track of them on some of the downhill throws
Other Thoughts: This is the only course I have given a five and I think it is a must play if you are anywere close at all. We drove 6 hours to play the course and it was worth it. I promise you we will be driving to it again at first chance. I personally rank it just ahead of idlewild because of the elevation changes and the landscape is just unreal. It is so unique to any other course I have ever played.

Just go play it!!! But be warned about the hiking and expect a long tough round.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.