Jefferson, NC 
Ashe County Park Share
Uploaded By: Sling Moore Hole #5
3 / 249ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ashe County,,,,,,wow!

1    3/2/2012   4/30/2012
Review By: destroy ya
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Picturesque, well thought out, maximum use of land, challenging, rewarding, unforgiving,,,, fair and unfair at the same time!!!!!!
This course beg's you to throw the shot of your life,,,,,because it will....."EAT IT ALIVE"!!!!!!!!!!! BLAH,,,HA,,,HA,,,HA!!!!!!!!
Cons: Disappointed that there were no "golf cart refreshment babes".....???????
Other Thoughts: Bye Bye Blizzard discs!!!!!!!!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Housewares

1    4/7/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The two-page map/scorecard is excellent, giving you a really good idea of the shape/tightness challenges you'll encounter before you ever play the course.

Two tees (most) every hole, 6'x12', either concrete, or rubber mat.

Two nine-hole loops. Practice basket.
Cons:
The popularity of the fishing pond can make holes 3, 6, and 7 unsafe to play.

No fairway the last ~200' of long-basket #11 - have to go over huge rhododendron and nearby trees, while also trying to obey signs warning to not damage the flora!?
Other Thoughts:
The course plays up, down, and across both the open space, and within a wooded ridge, of a large, scenic, multi-purpose park. The holes combine the various degrees of tightness-options with the elevation changes to create a wide variety of challenges. The first nine holes play in a clockwise direction, away and down from the parking lot, before returning, while the back nine plays in a counterclockwise direction in the trees slightly up from the lot.

Elevation challenges: There are only a few flat holes. Some extremes - both up and down. Steady slopes, both up/down/across, for which to account. Up-n-over rises, across valleys/pits - pretty much every standard type of change.

Tightness: ranges from completely open to quite tight the entire duration, and everything in-between. The front is definitely more open than the back, but uses the scattered trees and pond to increase the challenge. The trees are tall and plentiful on the ridge hosting the bulk of the back nine, but most throwing paths are quite fair.

Distances: From the short tees, nearly all the holes are under 300', the exceptions being numbers 9 and 18, which are fairly similar - from the midpoint of a steep, wooded ridge, throw straight down and out, exiting into the open space for the last half of the hole. The long tees certainly add to the difficulty, increasing the overall distance by nearly 50%, with most holes over 300' in length. Numbers 9 & 18 become that much harder, needing to hold a steady line while dramatically losing elevation, as trees on both sides of the flightpath are more than happy to knock down a disc which strays of the straight and (fairly) narrow.

Shot-shapes: Straight and true, especially from the shorts, will serve you well on most holes, although a variety of right-turners, and a few sharp lefts, will be required at some point

Navigation was fairly simple. Some items of note:
Both tees for #7 are actually on the pedestrian path - look for a sign on the tree, and stripes painted on the walkway.
There is an alternate tee-8, with alternate basket-8 in the general area of long tee-3, above the pond.
There is an alternate tee-9, near the road/before parking lot, which plays to basket-9
You may think long basket-11 is a myth, until you reach long tee-12. :-)
There is, indeed, a short tee for #15 - it is a long walk around the rim to the right, look for a small path, on the right, up to a bench, after you've seemingly walked almost all the way to the basket!
There is, indeed, a long tee for #17 - follow the small path behind/left of basket-16, the tee located just above long-tee #9.

Some holes - 8, 11, 15, 17 - have an alternate, Carolina-blue, long basket. Only one tee location for numbers 11 and 16. Teesigns primarily at short tee only.

Overall, an excellent course. Very nice variety/range in the tightness, and when combined with the omnipresent elevation changes, makes for a broad experience.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!!!!!!!

1    3/3/2012   3/10/2012
Review By: Devilduck discgolf
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: lots of elevation and variation of lines, great seperation between open and wooded holes
Cons: If your out of shape your toast!
Other Thoughts: One of the most beautiful courses ive played, I love it and ive played all over this is by far my favorite course ever so far!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 hehhh hehhh <- heavy breathing

1    1/27/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: 1978
Played: 155  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved this course. There were so many holes to throw your bag on my arm is still sore 3 days later. Ashe County Park is littered with unique style holes. 9 and 18 are amazingly frustrating and awesome. High up on a mountain top you have to throw out through an opening 150' away, then you watch your disc sail and sail or saddly die hard to the left or right. Mtn laurel on holes like 16 (a tunnel shot) make for a beautiful green fairway all winter long. Thumber netting is a neat touch. Water holes 3,6,and 7 are a really nice change. Signs around the lake say swim at your own risk...which means (to me) that you can go in and get your disc. The water is clean and clear. 3 is a pucker shot over the pond but you can easily Hyzer out to safety into a hill. 6 is challenging if you go for the ace run. The mando on 7 helps you stay out of the water. 10, the par 5 is really cool. It is only 471 feet but the fairway is blocked twice by bushes. This is a unique style hole and actually pretty cool. I HAVE to get back in the summer. The course was beautiful even in the winter. Ashe Cty Park has a little bit for everyone L, R , Straight holes. If you have every shot, you will be rewarded. The course is so hilly, if you don't hit your line, you might be standing there in awe as your disc flies 300' opposite the direction of the basket. Amazing. Bring your hiking shoes.
Cons: There are very little to discuss. Some holes had low hanging branches that could go... Tee signage and next tee signs on every hole would be good (didnt have much trouble... just on a few holes, we had a map though). I read the sign on hole 10. Dont break the Mt Laurel! Its a cool idea, but the growth is like 6' from the basket. You have to throw 50' and hit a narrow clowns mouth Mando. Personally I would like to see making the mando and getting to 12' from the basket rewarded. I think the bushes should be cut back at least 20' but I understand the thought and am fine with them being there. I'm trying to remember trashcans, I pack in and pack out but if they were there they dont make a memory. I did feel that on a few of the Pro holes, the first throw was just a placement shot ... 8 & 11... were like this. A few of the tee pads have fly pads and I would like to see all concrete. I'm really struggling here. There is a reason this course is in the top 50. Its amazing.
Other Thoughts: You have to visit this course. It's what a mountain course should be. So many MTN courses are short throws up and down hills because it is so much work to built with the elevation changes. The time was put in here and it shows. Amazing course, awesome... If you are on the Blue Ridge, take the time to visit this course on your way by.
I like also the alt 8 and 9 before you play the true 8 and 9. Kodus for adding in the additional 2 holes for us true DG addicts. Keep up the good work!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ashe Co Park, NC - Worth the Drive!

2-4    10/13/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: lteppen
Played: 101  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With so many great courses in the North Carolina Mecca it's hard to pick a favorite but Ashe Co Park is definitely a course to add to your wishlist if you havent doneso already. I pencilled this into my top 10 after playing it for the first time; the scenery alone is worth the drive.

From a difficulty standpoint: there are duel sets of tee offs making this a fun one for all players, however the pro tees are a true challenge! Holes #1 and 2 give you a nice warmup for hole #3 where players must throw across a 150+ stretch of water to a pin situated 15ft behind the edge of the water and a hill directly behind that will easily add 50ft to your put if you over drive (this is assuming you throw from the pro tee).

Course continues to meander through the valley until you get to hole #7 at which point your assent upwards begins. Strokes add up quickly if you arent careful with your upward plan of attack; make sure to walk up to the holes beforehand as many of the uphill shots are blind at times.

Hole #9 and/or 18 are arguable the signature holes. This is where your hiking and hard work pay off and you can finally unload a bomb downhill. You shoot through a 30 or so foot gap lined with towering trees that stretch down the hillside. If you can make it through the couple hundred foot tunel, the rest of the hole opens wide up if your disc happens to cut right or fade left. Easy layup to the pin if you can make it through the gauntlet of trees.

The middle chunk of this course plays through the woods with a huge variety of turns and elevation changes. A variety of OS, stable and US discs are needed to effectively navigate the twists and turns. Be sure to watch your drives as the elevation and dense foliage can really skew your perception on where you thought you went. Very likely you are rolling downward if you didnt see it land!

Other things to mention: 4 holes have 2 baskets; this may confuse some as the course doesnt start with these options. Make sure to download or bring a course map with in case. Though I really love the deep holes where I can unload from the most challenging tees, the short tees are a blast too and give you a chance to clean up your score a bit. Most of the shorties are still pretty challenging and give you a completely different look. Definitely play both sets if you have time.








Cons: The signage is pretty decent. There are a couple places where we went astray in the woods looking for the next tee but for the most part not a problem. Several holes require walking up to basket to truly see where you are throwing to; not a con for most people.
Other Thoughts: Driving from St. Paul, MN to South Carolina; this was a course that we had to make a stop at looking at the reviews, pictures and percent favorited. The roads and environment in this area are so fun to drive meandering through the mountains, national forests, and some of the best campgrounds in the nation. Worth the drive for anyone!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Good holes and folks

1    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: holyschnikes
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Many tee pads in the woods are those rubber type. Layout is awesome with some holes having 100 or more feet elavation change. Amatuer has a couple par 4s. In addition to nice signage, the trees have markings to help navigate. Some cool folks right behine me found my lost disc! I could go on and on...it rocks!
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: I plan to play this many more times. I would drive a couple hours for it.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 You just have to come...

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: Moify
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Whether you're teeing off from 200+ feet above the pin, or you're facing a tough, low ceiling followed by a daunting lake, the Ashe County Park disc golf course will keep you guessing at every turn.

You spend the first ten holes in the open throwing through, around, and in between patches of trees. There is an alternate route for holes 8 and 9. The route leading to the base of the mountains preludes a tremendous 600+ ft hole 9, a hole which drastically transitions from the woods to openness.

Beginning with a unique mando at hole ten, the back nine of the course is heavily wooded and spotted with a few serious disc-fetching opportunities. Particularly on hole 14, a steep, rolling hill leads to a deep gulley just begging to eat your discs. I like to think of this as a "pro" because there is nothing like testing your concentration when you'd have to walk quite a ways for a badly-thrown disc...
Cons: If you can utilize both the backhand as well as the forehand throw in tight situations, there is not much to complain about with the Ashe County Park disc golf course. One over-the-water hole is a serious risk for forehanders who like to lift their discs, but the other two water holes don't involve water as menacingly.

My only true criticism is that some of the pro tees tend to be a bit ridiculous. For instance, on hole 11 there are several clearings separated by shrubbery which eventually leads to a hidden pin. All of which is not even remotely visible or intuitively accessible from the tee pad. From the pro pad on hole 16, the golfer must throw from a completely secluded pad, [I]over[/I] a walkway, and then to the pin. Without having played the course several times, a first time player might never find the pro pins, let alone the pro [B]pads[/B]. Most holes only feature signage at the AM tees, also, which presents an issue for those who might only play from the pro tees.
Other Thoughts: Play this course as much as you can. As you can tell by the ratings, it's worth the drive and won't disappoint. The course is well maintained and will truly test your ability to utilize all facets of your disc skills.

NOTE: Recently fallen leaves (and eventually snow) make finding discs particularly challenging. Make sure to pay special attention to where your discs are flying. Numerous blind-corners can make rollers very dangerous.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/16/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I don't think I can say anything that has not already been said about this course so this review is simply to confirm that this is a "Phenomenal" course.

Amazing elevation? YES

Breathtaking scenic beauty? YES

Epic holes out the ying yang? YES

Amazing variety of holes? UH HUH

Fun to play? YES SIR

Worth a long drive out of the way to play? CERTAINLY
Cons: The signs could use some updating. Many are broken, missing, or just faded to the point you can't read them. On a course like this that has multiple tees and an alternate loop you need good signs.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole was 9. I threw a beat TeeBird which made it out the gap and into the open and then turned right and went out of sight. About 5 seconds later it came back into frame and landed perfectly centered past the sidewalk. May be the most memorable shot of my life. We then proceeded to empty our bags on the hole.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal!

2-4    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All that gushing praise in earlier reviews merely understated it.

This is one incredible disc golf course.

Beginning with the aesthetics, since that's the first thing you notice. The course is partly open, partly wooded The "open" segments aren't wide-open, but are manicured with magnificent views, scattered trees and low ceilings and a beautiful pond. The wooded segments are on steep slopes in a mountain forest, with huge hardwoods and thick groves of rhododendrons and mountain laurels. The views from #9 & #18---hilltop tees with long, straight-down alleys to the open area far below---are amazing.

And that's before you throw a disc. The open holes aren't terribly long, but have enough obstacles and rolling ground to really test you. The signature hole, from high above the pond to the basket on the far side, with a low-ceiling in between, is quite exciting. Meanwhile, the wooded holes include some very tight shots, some grueling par-4s, and some very unique holes. The wooded section is quite a workout but virtually every hole is amazing.

It includes Hole 11, the likes of which I've never seen. Drive down the fairway to a placement landing, then over an inpenatrable hedge of rhodos to an opening in the woods, then over another hedge to the opening where the basket is.

The course has two sets of tees, and 4 holes with 2 baskets. Though my praise is for the longest, most challenging tees, the short tees are quite fun, still pretty challenging, and, in many cases, aren't just shorter but present entirely different layouts, very refreshing. Which is also true for the holes with dual baskets.

The park is tucked back in the moutains, giving it a secluded and peaceful feel.

The course also displays a phenomenal amount of work by the local disc golfers, in the form of steps, tees, barriers near baskets, erosion controls, and mulching. Not to mention building the course in the first place.
Cons: Nitpicks, really. The signage is pretty good, but there are places in the woods where there is a lacework of trails, and it's not always easy to pick the right one to get to the next tee.

Some of the short tees are 10' long, with no room behind them. If you're like me with an established 12' footwork, they're tough, especially when a bad throw is severely punished.
Other Thoughts: I'd go on for pages and pages---I really really loved this course---but I'll just say that it would be a tough break if this was your home course, because anywhere else you went would be a letdown.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/20/2011   3/29/2011
Review By: joshuajames
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have ever played.
The holes are all unique and not in least bit monotonous. Great balance of open spaces to wooded areas, up hills to down hills, and hooking left or right holes.
The Pro tees offer a whole other perspective on the course (rarely is the Pro tee just further back). The course is kept up very well. Great signage and tee pads.
Cons: Honestly, there are not really any cons. If I stretch for one it would be there really is nothing around other than this awesome course. Be prepared to drive 45 minutes to the closest metropolitan community.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the kick-a work Ashe Co Parks and Rec.!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.