Jefferson, NC 
Ashe County Park Share
Uploaded By: Sling Moore Hole #14
4 / 265ft.   4 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 BEST COURSE IN NC!!!!!!!

2-4    7/29/2009   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: CANT GIVE THIS COURSE ENOUGH CREDIT!thank you innova and harold duval for painting this beautiful picture known as west jefferson dgpark.my first thoughts upon entering this park was mesmorising. it has every type of shot possible. over water, around water, long woods to short open, long open to short woods, double mando. mostly one set of pads with am and pro baskets(pro r blue) but a couple have both pro pad and basket. hole 9 and 18 are great 500 - 600 ftshooting out of the woods 300ft up with no tree limbs shooting into the grass covered fairway. the trees are 200 feet tall with no limbs so its like the coolest fair way in the worlod.THROW A MIDRANGE OR PUTTER ON 18 PRO. its 400 feet down and mountain golf will teach you down hills and up hill. throw your biggest driver going up hill. not tight at all just very shoot demanding. a few holes its a reven of 400ft down if uslip off the pad of miss throw ur disc.best to play with a local if you can for they can show you the bad spots, i was lucky enough to do that. i played to games in the middle of july and didnt drink half a bottle of water. no humidty there, cause we played ashville the day b4 and it was 90+. but in july its like 72 degrees fn nice!!!!!!! the more people you play with the better there. we played to rounds of doubles and hav never had so much fun laughing and every one(including myself) hiting trees :) try to get there early to play to games .
Cons: in middle of no wear if you hardcore get a motel room you wont be let down best course in nc hands down!!!!
Other Thoughts: has running water a SHATE PARK BRING UR BOARD crystal clear pond u can swim for ur disc in awsome.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A+

2-4    9/9/2009   3/9/2010
Review By: zacharypower7
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation. Beautiful course with unique hole layouts. very relaxed park. Perfect setting for disc golf, secluded,quiet, every hole is scenic it seems. Elevation changes on some holes are unreal. A little bit of water to keep things interesting but good shots are generally never in danger of going in the drink (other than the small creek but discs are easily retrieved from this hazard at least).
Cons: Difficult course in a good way(the difficulty of the course helps keep you from getting bored more than it discourages). Very challenging but not impossible to end up at par. you are supposed to turn in any discs found in the pond (other than your own) to ashe county parks.
Other Thoughts: Long hike and sort of out in the middle of nowhere. but for some that might be the best part.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation!

5+    2/26/2010   2/26/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.8 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Multiple Teepads
- Great use of Terrain and elevation
- Variety of shots.
- Easy to Navigate
- Great Amenities
- Beautiful Mountain Area
Cons:
Not often I play a course and have no Cons. As others have said it can get a little slippery after a rain and the course is a work out hiking, but neither should deter anyone from experiencing this course.
Other Thoughts:
A very well designed course in a beautiful mountain setting. The course requires a great variety of shots with a mixture of open holes and tight fairways. Even with the tight fairways the risk/reward of the course is very fair, as well as a good course for newer players thanks to the multiple teepads. I heard that the course was a top 10 in the state so I made the 2 hour drive to see what it was about and wasnt dissappointed. Truly a wonderful course and well worth the drive to see for yourself.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/10/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Mcswainmj
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing course! First few holes fairly easy and then it turns into a beast of a course! Good job of making every hole a little different! Beautiful mountain and beautiful weather! Gives you a good hike while playing.
Signs very helpful, all holes very easy to find!
Cons: Some wooded areas have some annoying trees in the way! haha but really no cons at all for this course! Some poison ivy but not too bad
Other Thoughts: Overall Fantastic course!! Not too hard to find in Ashe county and well worth trip. Great times always!

Wear good shoes cause its a lot of walking!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal

1    10/24/2009   11/2/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Review based on the amateur/white length:
-Course is in great condition e.g. tees, pins, fairways, woods, etc.
-Plenty of benches, trash cans, and other amenities on site
-thehighcountrydiscgolfclub.com has downloadable score cards that print as a scorecard/map on one page and as a detailed map on the other, nice touch.
-Two sets of tees with two sets of pins offers great variety in the course
-The scenery here is absolutely amazing, your playing in the mountains after all
-Shot selection here is excellent and the variety of shots that you'll throw is unparalleled: monster drives, accurate shots, downhill, uphill, right/left, etc.
-Holes #8 and #9 offer an alternate tee/pin so that you don't have to trek up the mountain
-Holes #9 and #18
-Course design is wonderful and fairly fluid throughout
-Risk/reward is absolutely top notch with kind of goes hand in hand with design
Cons: Honestly, I can't think of any cons. Listed are potential 'drawbacks' for some:
-Course location, hey you can't have it all. It is secluded and it is in the mountains therefore it isn't entirely accessible.
-Not for beginners. I'm not saying that a beginner can't come out and enjoy themselves, but I would have found it frustrating if this was my first time out.
-The trek up and down and up and down the mountainside.
-Mountains can offer up a bit of wind. My round had to contend with 30mph gusts. Frustrating to say the least.
Other Thoughts: Memorable holes (mentioned here are the some of the best too):
#5: I enjoyed this one because of the pin location. Nestled in a little clearing in the woods, the pin is accessible off the tee with a small creek guarding the "green".
#8 Original: Uphill shot doesn't even begin to describe this hole. Straight uphill 231 foot drive. It will eat up your D off the tee.
#9: Well, its easily one of the best holes I've ever played. You sit on the mountainside with an extreme downhill shot. Your drive, ideally, will take you far out into a clearing where you'll have an open shot to the pin.
#12: If you like holes where its open AND downhill, then this is for you.
#13: Lovely sweeping right downhill shot that is a good birdie chance.
#16: Gauntlet hole will punish errant drives. This hole is tight, making the course variation here all the more apparent.
#18: Wait a minute, are we back at #9? No, this is 18. Pretty much a carbon copy of #9 which is fine because how many times do you get to throw 604 feet down a mountain into a clearing? Great way to finish.

Ashe County Park has a major advantage right off the bat: location. Its in the mountains so elevation and scenery is a given. Front nine is fairly open with the back nine offering up some of the best woods holes ever. The design here is brilliant, the condition of the course is immaculate and above all, Ashe County is an extremely fun place to play.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in NC

5+    7/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The course is set in an absolutely beautiful park. Tons of elevation, water, open and wooded.
- Great use of the huge elevation changes.
- Great mixture of shots.
- 2 sets of tee pads that are fairly different pretty much making two distinct course.
- Short 9 hole loop if you don't want to take trek up the mountain on Hole 8 and 9. Alternative Holes 8 and 9 go back to the parking lot.
- Hole 3, 9, 15, and 18 are all signature holes. Hole 9 is one of my all time favorite holes.
- As of right now, this is my favorite course, designed by one of the best course designers Harold Duvall.
Cons: - A lot of people complain about hole 11. I think it's a very unique and interesting hole design that could have possibly been executed better. I love the out of the box design even if it can be an extremely frustrating hole.
- It is a physically demanding course. Tons of hiking and takes a good 2 hours to play the long tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is not talked about enough and not played enough. It's in a kind of remote location in the mountains of NC, so I guess I can understand it, but more people need to come play this course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 What an AWESOME Place

1    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: jackrbailey72
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: RIGHT out of the gate and MOST importantly...I want to thank the people who care for, designed, and have made this course what it is...an OUTSTANDING DG course. Here are my list of Pros:
- There are two courses, really...PRO and AM and I really appreciated that. We all know our limits, but you have the opportunity on every hole to make a decision.
- It takes so much effort to upkeep and maintain acreage this size...you guys are awesome. Holes 13-18 are a testament to the dedication the local club and the county take. These holes show the love.
- Tee pads were awesome, signage was awesome, and even the little X's in the steps going down hill on 9 and 18...nice touch!!
- PLENTY of risk/reward, even from the AM tees. This couse works every facet and makes you walk away KNOWING what you need to work on at the practice field.
- Technology....the club has the score card and course layout in pdf on line. I printed this out in case the score cards were out in the mailbox. I drover about 1.5 hrs to play today and I was glad to have had the card and layout to look at on the way over.
- MEMORABLE shots...9...my best drive ever...11...shooting through a keyhole in the trees...15...I shot from the PRO tees and man what a cool hole....
Cons: I can't dance around just a few comments/CONS-
* I really did not care for the front nine, with the exception of 3 and 6. The other holes were just okay...WHEN I go back, I will play the back nine twice...this is where the challenges are...the back nine holes are what die hards practice so much for...the front nine, in my opinion, would be a good beginners course.
Other Thoughts: ***I lost my beloved Discraft Stratuson 18...yellow disc. It made past the treeline break down below then we crazy left...if you find it, please call***
Other than losing my favorite driver (my fault, not anyone elses!!!) I loved this round of disc golf. This is a place where I will take my best friend when he comes into town (18 here and 18 at Warrior's Path would be one helluva weekend!!!). My 5 y/o daugher walked the entire couse with me and I mention this because it was safe, well maintaned, and allowed her to spend some quality time with her dad.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/19/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Breath taking.......... No humidity very nice score cards. very nice water shoots i had 4 discs go in the water. They dont care if you go swimin for your discs. Very sexy down hill shoots. The best smoke hole in the world. Pro holes are very nice... lots of lost disc to find put your number on your discs.
Cons: Wear boots.. Lots of hilly walks. But worth it.
Other Thoughts: shelter with runing water with sink. Building a skatepark..... My friend wonts to have his ashes spread across the course when he dies...

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Scenic Gem!

2-4    7/18/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has multiple tee pads and a couple of extra baskets to make there two different layouts, that vary in difficulty.
Great scenic drive to the course along the New River.
Lots of elevation used throughout the course to the top of its potential.
Unique hole layouts that are unmatched anywhere in our area.
Great park staff and locals to help guide and always guarantee a good time.
It is a hike, you will get a work out when you play a round.
There is a alternate 8 and 9, so that you can play a quick nine vs. hiking up the mountain to play the entire 18 and the longer 8 and 9.
Very large tee pads throught the course, going from cement pads in the open and leveled fly pads in the woods.
Innova Disccatcher Baskets
Innova sponsored and champion designed course. This course is designed and maintained by Harold Duval, who gives this course special attention before the annual High Country Throwdown. This means Innova staff, club members and park staff all work together to make the course in prime condition before their touraments and it shows.
Dedicated club members, suchs as Todd P., really go out of their way to raise money and put in needed work for this course. The amount of work that has gone into this park is remarkable from the steps in the fairways to the lines in the trees. This is one of the best courses NC has to offer.
Cons: The only con is that it is located in a Remote Location, about 30 mins. from Boone and 45 mins. from Hanging Rock in Northwest NC. Well worth the trip and the several trips back to play!
Other Thoughts: This course has sheer beauty.
The longs will challenge even the best pros. Any score in the 50s is something to be proud of.
The short tees are a very fun course, and rely on key shot making abilities. Once I played the shorts I immediately wanted to play them again and again. The longs are very fun as well and I would strongly suggest getting to the park early so you can play both layouts.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

The High Country course

5+    5/24/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2012
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Simply amazing. This course has everything: challenging holes, interesting holes, great variety of holes, beautiful scenery, easy navigation from hole to hole.
-You can tell the course designers put an incredible amount of time into planning everything from the large ideas, like course layout, to small details like lots of signs warning park-goers to watch for flying discs.
- The view of the scenery when you first enter the park is stunning. Before even seeing any of the holes, this course has a tremendous advantage because of its location.
- Great Tee signs and pads. Tee pads are wooden, giving the true feel of the mountains. Tee pads are large and surrounded by log borders. Just the amount of time it took to construct the logs around the tees must have taken a ton of time. Have I mentioned a ton of time was spent on this course?
- On wooded holes, plenty of logs used to help navigate ascending & descending slopes. Especially #9 & 18, you needs the logs to navigate down the bottom of the hill. Logs also serve as disc catchers to stop any disc that starts rolling down the hill.
- Great flow to holes. A map is helpful, but I hardly, if at all, used it the first time I played. First seven holes are mostly wide open, essentially playing around the pond. Water comes in to play directly on #3 & 7, and indirectly on #2 (if you get a disc rolling down the hill, it may get close to the water) and #6 (water is about 20 feet behind tee pad, so don't throw long). From #8 on, the course plays mainly in the woods, so accuracy takes on added importance.
- Loved how the course takes advantage of the elevation. #6, 8 & especially 14 (from the short tees) are uphill throws. #14 is a humbling hole because drastic elevation increase greatly reduces length of throws. 3 on that hole is a great score. #15 & 17 in the longs have serious elevation increases too, with #15 having a punishing slope to the left.
- Then there's #9 & 18. If your shot goes straight, it's one of the most impressive views watching your disc sail forever. If you don't control the tee shot, better watch that shot closely as it goes sailing deep into the woods. The walk down the hill doesn't seem bad after a good shot, it's twice as difficult after a bad shot. #9 is more wide open, especially from the short tee pad. Great hole to throw a bunch of extra discs.
Cons: It speaks to the true excellence of the course that there are no major problems. You know a course is great when you have to nitpick to find any problems. That said here it goes:
- #1 was an uninspiring, bland wide-open hole. It's the only wide-open hole on the course, with nothing between the tee pad and basket. I guess that wanted to start everyone off with a chance at birdie.
- The short tee for #3 could use a little bit better of a natural fairway. For those of us not brave enough to attempt throwing over the water on #3 long, the short tee wasn't great.
- The double mando on #10. I don't mind mandos as long as there as real reason for them. Mandos that are forced/unnatural, just don't feel right and seem way too much of a gimmick. If they wanted to make the hole challenging stick the basket 30 feet further back into the woods, not by placing a board between trees for a mando. If you have to force a hole to be difficult, maybe the hole needs to be laid out differently.
- Course can get real slippery with just a little bit of rain. That's to be expected for such a wooded course. Still, it was a little dicey walking down the hill on #9 & 18 with just a light drizzle.
- Lost disc potential on the wooded holes. You better have everyone paying close attention to your tee shots on #9 & 18, unless you want to walk down the hill looking for a disc, then walk back up to re-tee.
Other Thoughts: The course really demands patience. It took more than 2 hours to play a round on a quiet Sunday morning. It's well worth the extra time to absorb the surroundings and some of that fresh mountain air. You really have to pace yourself walking up and down the hills. It's a great thing they built so many benches on the back 9, you'll need them. Make sure to bring something to drink. You'll need it.
- This course, along with Renaissance, were the two most mentally (& physically) challenging courses I've played.
- I loved some of the interesting hole layouts. I don't think the layout for #11 is that bad. I like the uniqueness of the hole, playing the natural design of the land. The only negative is that it comes right after the double mando on #10, so having the only 2 unique holes in a row seems a bit odd.
- This is the first course I ever played where I would drive several hours solely to play that course. Now, a 2-hour drive from Charlotte doesn't seem so bad. Add in Highland Hills, and you've got an incredible 1-2 punch for a day trip.
- This course is a must play. The short tees are plenty challenging, but fair, for the casual player. Pros will be challenged from the longs. I'd love to hear from anyone who comes away from this course disappointed.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.