Conway, MA 
The Highlands of Conway Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #10
3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Natural beauty

1    6/28/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: gabereif
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Incredible natural beauty at every turn. Quartz, rocks, frogs, lush woods.
-Great course design for the most part. Players are brought to gorgeous parts of the property and it's easy to feel deep in the woods as you seemingly meander for a long time, finally popping out right where you started.
-Easy parking.
-Easy to navigate. Got around my first time with signs and no help or map.
-Easy to find discs.
-No poison ivy!!
-Challenging! It's been years since I've thrown +9 on a course my first time playing it. Most of the challenge is very fair.
Cons: -Natural tees, some of which are too bumpy for any kind of run up.
-A couple baskets look old and only have single chains.
-More mosquitos than any other course I've played.
-A few holes could benefit from clearer and/or cleaner fairways.
-$5 to play.
Other Thoughts: I was stunned by the natural beauty of the course and the rustic feel. So little has been done to the land, I felt close to nature while playing. If fairies exist anywhere in this world, they live in the woods at The Highlands of Conway. Small signs helped me enjoy the scenery, but they were good enough that I never got lost. A couple holes are a bit too challenging to the point where they feel unfair. This includes 17, which doesn't have a clear line and the pin is on a rock on a ledge. It's beautiful, but this should be a par 4 and it'd be nice if a tree or two was taken out. I got a good workout walking the course and I got to put my control game to the test. There are lots of shots that bend right, which challenged me as a RHBH thrower. I enjoyed this aspect. And there were some shots too that went left. I genuinely enjoyed my experience and I think this course is worth visiting and paying for. My biggest complaints are the bumpy natural tees and a couple holes being too challenging/unfair. Fix these and the course deserves 4 discs in my book. Glad to know I have this great course just 30 minutes from my home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Raw Resources

1    10/13/2013   4/6/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Isolation - a pleasant stroll, away from it all, enjoying the clean air, rolling ridges, variety of deciduous trees, and bits of exposed rock / scattered boulders.
Cons:
Isolation - with the echo of nearby gunfire, and no bars on the mobile phone, the fear of being accidentally mistaken for Bambi had me traversing around the course wildly waving my neon green and orange discs
Other Thoughts:
If you like them long and open - well, look elsewhere, as this short (average ~255') course plays under (on only a few holes will you easily see the sky above your head) and around a variety of trees, which form natural fairways/throwing lanes. The gently undulating ridges and slopes of the hill hosting these trees bring elevation change into play on a few holes, more so if you are off-fairway! The varied rock formations add another bonus feature to the mix, as they often guard, or host, a basket.

Parking/baskets/somewhat-rough - okay, make that really rough - tees/signs all on the basic side. Even without a map, not too difficult to navigate.

Bring your control game. Fairways (throwing lanes, to be more accurate) range from moderately generous to pretty tight, but most fall into the challenging-but-fair category. Course is a bit right-turn oriented (nearly half the holes), the remainder being an equal mix of left/straight - for the most part, nothing too extreme. About half the holes are flattish, the remainder a mix of up or down. A few fairways parallel to / few baskets located near runaway possibilities - need a gentle touch!

Lots of nice holes on this attractively-set course. While my personal favourite was number-16 - a short, downhill, right-turner, with plenty of trees to avoid - players who enjoy a rolling, wooded courses will likely find a number of holes here to appreciate - certainly worth a visit if nearby.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course

5+    9/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: Basshunter
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course, only five minutes from my house. It is a fairly technical course requiring accurate throws through heavily wooded holes with a good deal of variation in elevation. Challenging basket placements on rock outcroppings throughout. Most of 13-17 are dangerous risk reward holes, keep your disc in sight!
Cons: Tee boxes can be rough. Some holes on back 9 in need of some brush hogging.
Other Thoughts: If you aren't afraid of trees, a great course to play. The heavy woods will challenge anybody. I've thrown some of my purest drives here only to have them deflect off a tree and become ritual sacrafices.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way gem

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Secluded 18 hole course built in a beautiful and heavily forested piece of land. Mature pines and many rocks and boulders set the tone for a very cool course.

This course is heavily wooded and technical. There are very few chances to open up with a driver. Bring your putters and mids, and make sure you stay on the fairway. In several places baskets are positioned on or near rock formations to add to appearance and risk/reward factor of the shot. There are also a few baskets placed on slopes to make the approach risky as well. While not a long course, it does have enough risk to punish errant shots.

Signs at each tee pad showing basket positions and length. There are a few holes with alternate positions.

This course is remote, but does not physically beat you up. It is also not brutally challenging, so it would be a great place to bring someone you are trying to hook on the game. The woods and rocks are gorgeous, and you only have a few holes where an errant drive will force you to really search for a disc. This is a very fair course that you can score well at even if you are an average player.
Cons: The natural tee pads are horrible. I don't usually complain too much about pads, but many of these have roots and rocks everywhere.

Course seems to really favor a RHFH player. There are a lot of straight or right turning shots and lines.

All holes play in the woods. Those that want long or open shots won't find them here.
Other Thoughts: This is a very cool course. As you drive up the dirt and gravel road to the parking area you really get the feeling you are heading to very quiet, private place. Hole 1 is at the top of the hill, and is a nice basic 300' shot to start your round. I don't think there is a bad hole here, but #6 stood out as a simply greeat looking hole. You get a nice little RHBH anny shot slightly downhill to a basket 300' away. But the fairway is lined with mature pines and rock formations. Simply great looking. #3 is an ace run with a basket set on a rocky hill. Overshoot right and down you go. #12 is a tight, challenging hole that plays along a steep sloping hillside. It is only 270' but has lots of risk. I could see a huge variety of scores there. #13 has a sign warning you to use a spotter as the rough on both sides is very thick. And there is a slope on the left that could lead to some long rolls. 17 is another tight shot through the trees to a basket on another rocky hill. Miss long on the putt or approach and you add another stroke. Great looking hole and lots of fun to play.

9 and 15 are both holes that force you to navigate a longer fairway and search for a safe landing zone for your first shot. At 525' and 420' they make it very difficult to reach the basket off the tee. Both were nicely designed holes.

With a lot of sub 300' holes here this course makes for a fun wooded round. Hit your lines and birdies are very likely. But there are enough trees, hills and rocks to keep you from playing poorly and scoring well. This course is definitely worth a little drive to play and the $5 fee is more than fair. With a little work on the tee pads this course could become exceptional even if it isn't what most people would call a Gold level course. It's just a beautiful place, and a lot of fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip.

2-4    6/8/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: jjr007
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cooler in the summer than many courses, because of the woods, and elevation. Fun course heavily wooded, but open, well defined lanes through the trees on most of the holes. Very interesting layout. The big sycamore with the carved basket on it, and the huge well burled maple, are very cool.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes could be better defined.
Other Thoughts: Some have complained about where the parking is (having to walk up the hill, on the path to the first tree), but I would rather do this walk in the beginning, rather than after playing 18 holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: Jbb817
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing the short tees (Red configuration) is really fun, giving some nice anhyzer/turnover lines to play. Really makes good use of the elevation change to offer some sweet shots up and downhill and around bends. The front 9 is pretty smooth sailing but still varied. Got the great anny/straight shots on 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8. Thumber up the hill on 2 and big hyzers on 4 and 9. Throwing the fuse anny all the way down hole 6 is always beautiful to watch. The back 9 really pick it up and play with the elevation. Really got to be careful on a lot of putts and approaches unless you want your disc to roll/skid forever. The big hyzer downhill on hole 11 is super fun to throw. I'm not the biggest fan of 12/13 (see cons). That being said, hole 13 is a pretty reasonable hole to eagle if you can play a laser shot down the middle. Again coming back downhill, hole 15 is a really fun shot to make with a hyzer flip s curving all the way down the hill.
Cons: As most other reviews note, holes 12 and 13 are a bit nerve wracking playing with a steep hill down the left side. If you get your rhbh shot a bit too high or if you don't get it to stay flat long enough then expect to be going a long ways down. We've managed to not lose any discs yet but come close a few times. Also the roots/logs near some of the teepads make driving a pain on some holes. The Conway sportsmans club is also right under hole 12, so hearing the shotguns going off was rather distracting on an already challenging hole.
Other Thoughts: I've only played the long tee configuration once so this review is just for the "A" config. After playing it 5 or 6 times I've finally pieced together how to play this course and think it does a good job of rewarding good shot selection and execution. Really worth the $5 fee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great day for a hike

1    4/20/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: KDGC
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has so many neat features it's hard to know where to start. The use of elevation is great. The length while a little short for some, is a great course to cut your teeth on. There were quite a few holes that you walk up to the tee on and just say "wow this is a cool hole". There's an old Oak tree on the back 9 that can't be missed! Absolutely amazing. Great views and challenges a golfer through out.
Cons: There are two holes on the back nine that need some work. They are on the side of a serious hill and just don't seem to have a discernable landing area. We lost a disc on those holes as they hyzered WAY down the hill.
Other Thoughts: Great round of golf. Definitely pack some water and wear good shoes. Nice hike through the woods. Happy to pay 5 bucks to play. I'll be back for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Day and/ Glow Round

1    5/15/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Chuck Cagle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: WE played 1-18 During the day many signature holes throughout the course. Elevations canges challenge you from start to finish. Different basetplacements on certain holes for big throwers! 1/8 Were Lit up at night for us on this special week-end for the' Glow Round Festival" which gave us the chance to play some night golf and allthough the footing is tough at night in the woods it was a great time!
Cons: There are signs to the nxt hole and such, but the Par/Score is not on them so you don't know what par is for each hole you can guess based on distance but you don't have an official thing telling you what to shoot far as par goes.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to stop by the pro shop for the 2 days I was there nobody anwsered the line, bummed I couldn't bring home a sovenier from the place cuz I had so much fun! Would recomend going back in a heartbeat!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thrill of Conway's Hill

1    11/19/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starting off there is a large Welcome Board that includes scorecards, posters, course information, the money box and a few other assorted things. Right before tee box one there is a small clearing with a practice basket to get you warmed up beforehand. The navigation is incredibly easy. The tee signs are very precise, although not permanent (laminated sheets on stakes). There are also very clear and easy to see next tee signs in between holes. There are a lot of elevation changes though out the course, but not enough to make you feel dead at the end. The fairways are clear and easy to find lines. The course itself is challenging but not overly technical: so it's fun for all ages.
Cons: The driveway and parking lot are in awfully bad shape, so drive slow. There is a long steep hill to hole 1 (which I think would make a great hole). Several of the uphill/downhill holes there is steep slopes without steps. As with all natural tee pads there is wear. Some have more wear than others as there are roots and large stones popping out. There is a long walk between some holes; most notably seven to eight which is 70 yards according to the sign.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 is tough without a spotter. There are beautiful views on multiple holes and the power lines that run along a couple of holes offer more great views. Tee 9 had a mallet to pound beer tops into the stumps with. There is a great pro shop located just down the road. Make sure to call before heading down to make sure they are home (phone number is 413/369-4718 and is also located on Welcome Board).

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Disc Golf

2-4    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: whitewaterhelix
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful land with well laid out holes that take advantage of natural terrain. Basket placement is terrific, using unique rocks and landing zones so that you leave with a smile on your face picturing the cool lanes you just played through. You can take newbies or friends here to play and they will enjoy the scenery and shorter holes.
Cons: Tees aren't well defined and often had roots and rocks in them. Short holes, but so many of them are placed so well that they make you smile anyway and enjoy playing them, but not terribly challenging (but fun!). Would be great to see more signage for new players as well as alternate pin placements and alternate holes (found myself saying 'what hole is that basket for?!').
Other Thoughts: Worth the $5 just to hang out up here. The cool mountain setting, beautiful forest and moss-covered rocky terrain make for a memorable course, esp because it's so fun to play. If you need a disc you can pick one up at the 'pro shop' (course designers home I believe) just down the road, they've got some cool 'highlands of conway' stamped discs, stoked to take one home, thanks :-)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.