Tyler, TX 
The Roc DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / 380ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Pro Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The ROC

5+    9/3/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 51  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great place to play for families and beginners. Very fun with a ton of ace runs from the Reds. Course plays in a big circle basically around the center of the Park, which is necessary due to the restricted space. Overall, the course design and flow basically make sense with a few issues (see below).

You do not need a distance driver from the Reds except for #7 which is a long uphill shot that would be good for a 160-class Sidewinder or Valkyrie.

Once you get experienced you will basically only want to play the Blues if you are looking for a true challenge. Playing doubles from the Blues is awesome.

I am a huge fan of elevation and this course has some good ones, especially playing Blues: #2, #6, , #9, #11 (across the street), and #16 (towards the pond). It's rare to find 5 good elevation shots on one course. However, you can get away with throwing a midrange on all of them so it's not like you get to crush one as far as you can throw.

Course is always mowed by a very nice gentleman who volunteers his time, is always kind to the guests, and probably cares a lot about the place. It stays very clean and is much quicker to play than any other Tyler course.

BEST HOLE: #9 BLUE
Cons: You can literally MASTER this course with 3 discs. Such as a Firebird (driver), Spider (mid), and Rhyno (putter). If you get bored with it after awhile, just start throwing sidearm, or vice-versa, for your particular weakness. It's a great place to improve from beginner to intermediate in that regard.

I dislike playing #1 uphill, that's almost unfair, especially for beginners that will get instantly discouraged by #1 and #3 playing way uphill.

I think you should start the course at current #17 by the second parking lot, it's a short easy ace run from the Reds, or a lovely Hyzer-Bomb from the Blues. That would make the current #16 a super cool final hole throwing way downhill at the pond which would improve upon the bland #18 that exists. Also, by playing #17 first you should be warmed up for the uphill shot on #1.

Some of the teepads are too short for a good run-up, esp for the Blues. #1-4, and some of the other teepads get terribly muddy after rain runoff due to their position on hills. Another reason I dislike starting #1 there.

#7 really NEEDS a short teepad, or to be marked as a Par 4 playing as Red and Par 3 playing as Blue. There is no way this is a fair Par 3 for beginners. I have only seen two people EVER hit a birdie and that was from crushing a monster drive and then sinking a helluva nice long putt.

#13 and #14...if you are a beginner then you will want to bring a Hydra, Wahoo, or some other floater or else you will likely lose a disc in the water. They are rather difficult to retrieve under normal conditions.

#15, the dogleg hole in the corner of the property, does not really have a fair line to get to the basket on any sort of drive. The only way I have ever parked it for birdie is by throwing a perfect thumber through the gap in the trees, which is very difficult to do with any consistency. You are really just throwing a sidearm there with mercy to the gods whether it gets thru to the open part of the fairway, which is not exactly a "fair"way in my opinion.

If you want a course to unleash some long distance bombs, head to Lindsey, not The ROC.

WORST HOLE: #1 RED
Other Thoughts: Hole #14 is much more fun to play from an unmarked "alternate" tee, which is behind the little "rabbit tracks" in the sidewalk! It opens things up for a safer, longer, more fun drive. If there are a bunch of people playing in the field then you can't safely execute that shot, though. Try it out, you will like it.

As a beginner, I seemed to shoot (+3) or (+4) over par consistently until I started learning more about disc stability ratings and things like using anhyzer technique that you start understanding to become intermediate.

Eventually, I started averaging (-3) to (-5) under par very consistently and if you can avoid bogeys on #7 and #15 then you can do even better. One day, I was absolutely on fire putting and set my personal record of (-11) down. I've hit (-9) twice since then and (-7) & (-8) quite a few more times. This is from the Reds.

My personal best from the Blues is (-3), but now to stay entertained I would only want to play from the Pros unless I just wanted to go for Ace runs. So you kind of outgrow the simplicity of the shots from the Reds, even though they really are fun.

Much of this course is better than most of the front 9 at UT. However, the back 9 at UT outshines The ROC thanks to it's technicality and cool woods holes. I would rather play the back nine at UT twice than play The ROC.

But if you get frustrated by UT or Lindsey Gold then head straight to The ROC and you will feel better about yourself!

If you are going to play any holes around dusk, then move your vehicle outside of the gates or up to the Church parking lot, as they close the gates and make all the vehicles leave anyway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A bit out of the way, but worth the trip

1    10/13/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tons of nice things to say about this course. Tight wooded shots, long bombs, big turns ... The Roc has it all. Plenty for the non-disc golfers to do as well.
Cons: All the other activities (little league practice) make for some crowed fairways. Walkers on the sidewalk are in danger on a few holes as well. Playing earlier in the day rather than late afternoon should help avoid most of this though.
Other Thoughts: I've got nothing against the "ministerial" signs at each teebox, but signs that showed the holes' layouts and distances would be a bit more helpful.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Draw 18 Hole McGraw

1    6/2/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautifully manicured park. The grounds are in great shape. There are concrete tee pads for the shorts except #18 and the longs are to be installed soon according to the grounds keeper. This course has wooded holes, some elevation, water, OB, and protected pins. The wooded holes are tight fairways and yet no that difficult. The holes that have a few well-placed trees on them are the most fun. The water holes are just long enough to make a beginner nervous and a seasoned player will be just fine. Most of the baskets have a painted rung in them to show you the direction of the next tee pad. The layout is rather enjoyable, even with most of the holes being reachable in one throw. There are plenty of trashcans along the way, which is just another testimony to how clean this park is. Some of the holes even have some seating areas by the tees.
Cons: This course does need tee signs and concrete on the long tee pads. These holes are fairly short, but that doesn't keep them from being fun. Navigation is a bit tricky, so bring a map just in case. The challenge here is just average for a short course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was better than average. For such a little course I was impressed. I must admit it was so beautiful and so much fun throwing at these holes, I look forward to going back to play this again. Tyler has some nice places to play, but if you need to get a fast, fun 18 holes in, this is your ticket.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 elevation

2-4    6/30/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 85  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In a nice multi-use attractive park. Lots of variety with major elevation changes. Good mix of wooded and more open holes with water in play on several holes. Nice restrooms right beside the course andf a water fountain with actual cold water. The local groundskeeper was very nice and even stopped to help us find a lost disc (he found the disc) 2 tees on most holes giving variety and help to make the course beginner friendly. Course maps and scorecards were right beside the 1st hole.
Cons: tees are natural not concrete. fairly hard to navigate even with a map. One reason for this is that the course had recently changed and the map did not reflect the changes.
Other Thoughts: I really likes the course and will definitely play there again if I get a chance. For pro level or very good advanced players it may not be challenging enough. I played Lindsey Blue and Red on the same trip and this was my favorite of the 3.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Can somebody turn on a fan?

1    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation adds fun factor on many holes and a couple of empty the baggers. Water in play on 3 holes. One you throw over, one along side of and one to a basket with water surrounding it. I lost my disc on the latter, it went past the basket and skipped into the drink. Good disc catchers that actually catch your disc. 2 different tees per hole. Has a few memorable holes. For me 9,10,11,13 and the one I lost my disc on. Enough trash cans and benches that are all in the shade. Not busy on a Friday at 3 PM. In fact I was alone with the wildlife, saw a few lizards. There are many well placed baskets. Several ace runs for pros and even a couple for the rest of us. A few of the alternate tees change the shot and the elevation. For a small park this course is very fun to play. I played from both tees since there was no one behind me. This course surprised me almost as much as U.T. Tyler. This is the lowest rated course in Tyler but I am finding out that East Texas has elevation. I don't know about central, west, north or south Texas. The worst course in Tyler was still fun to me.
Cons: No shade except by the benches. Hard to navigate. You will have to spot many baskets. Hole 1 and 3's baskets are behind foliage. The fact that I just told you that does not change the fact that you will still have to walk many holes just to know where the basket is, including 1 and 3. Didn't find the basket for 17. I found where I would put it. Between these 2 rock formations filled with water. It would be quite a pin placement. Tee for 18 is just past the rock formations. Some of the holes you must spot are hilly. So bring water and a visor or cap. Some of the tee pads were dangerous, uneven sandy rocky texture.
Other Thoughts: Do not play this course without a local to guide you, unless you are very patient. I would have no problem giving this course a 3.5 or maybe even a 4 if it had concrete tee pads and good NEW signage with arrows and tee signs. If I would have let the navigation get me angry, I might see someone give it a 2 or 2.5, but the fun factor for me made up for it. Along with having the whole park to myself. Don't drive too far but if you are in Tyler play all 5. Tyler disc golf in my opinion is a blast.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. Some challenging holes with great basket placement. Good use of elevation, trees, and the ponds here.
Cons: I never play well on hole 7, ever. Overall a great course though.
Other Thoughts: The only good water holes in Tyler.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/10/2009   4/10/2009
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: They have changed the course up a little bit and it is more fun. It flows together better. the moved hole seven all the way up the hill and its a great challenge and as for hole 12...well they moved it too. Now after 11 you just walk a few feet and the tee is next to the soccer field and from there 13 is the one you throw across the lake. The new 18 is now what was the old 13 right in between the fields. Its great fun but I play it every weekend.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The ROC

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice elevation usage for a little park. Good baskets and 2 tees on all the holes as well. This is a short course for the most part except for like 2 holes. You can throw some different lines for the most part due to the openess of this course. Good course for beginners and to test out your up shots and putts. Alot of the same shots for me(RHBH)which seems like it might get boring after a while.
Cons: Signage, must be a thing in Tyler as in they are just numbers. The pond looks nasty so dont throw in there. Kind of hard to navigate at times but not too bad. Not alot of shade so it could get hot.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to go out to but not worth the drive itself.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 decent

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun little course with lots of short length holes, definate birdie potential. Some elevation changes, especially in the front 9. Good use of the land/trees to provide a good challenge. Trees definately do their job in blocking the more typical lines that I throw. Accuracy definately needed on many of the holes. Clean. Good baskets. A few water holes definately add to the challenge, especially a partial island hole on 15 I believe.
Cons: Poor signs. Can be a little difficult to navigate first time. No distance or sign of where to go/throw. Dirt teepads. There is a walking path that is heavily used at times and can definately pose a hazard when throwing discs. Also busy with soccer and baseball players. In a word, busy at times, so watch out.
Other Thoughts: Different feel to it than the other courses in Tyler. Enjoyed the elevation changes. A few longer holes would be nice. Looking for water holes in the Tyler area, then come here for a few. Sure this course could use some improvements, but I like it the way it is. A course I will return to. Not as busy as other courses in the area so a quick round can be played.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/11/2008   2/1/2009
Review By: cdubya0407
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Great elevation shots. #1 goes way up the hill, 2 is stright down the hill, 3 is back up. very fun course to play
Cons: hole 12 is a little difficult to find if its your first time, from number 11 basket, the 12th tee is directly left on the other side of the softball field. pretty busy on weekends, lots of interference and distractions
Other Thoughts: awesome course to play if your in the area

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.