Tyler, TX 
The Roc DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
potential wasted

1    11/19/2016   12/4/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 300  Reviewed: 152  Exp: 28.7 Years
Pros: Fun course using all the features of the park
Cons: course is sort of hard to follow in some places
Mixtures of both grass, dirt and cement tee pads
crossing fairway and fairway too close to each other
Other Thoughts: I think it is GREAT that a Church puts in a course on their property.

This course is messed up from when it first went into the ground from what I was told, this messed up several of the holes.

1st holes tees off from the parking lot, literally, you tee off from the driveway of the parking lot up the hill to the edge of the trees.

Hole 2 is a wide open shot back down the hill

Hole 3 throws back up the hill to the edge of the trees.

Hole 4 is a short tight tunnel slight hyzer shot through the trees

hole 5 is about the same distance with a wider any hyzer shot down a path to the basket.

Then you cross back over 4's tee pad to hole 6 that throws down to the fork in the road. Just medium hyzer shot.

7 is a short low hyzer shot.

Hole 8 was moved so you cross #9's fairway. So holes 8 and 9 fairways make an X

Hole 10 is a nice little hole teeing off from a gravel parking area up the hill.

Hole 11 is a fun little shot over the driveway, either a tight straight shot down the hill or a spike hyzer shot.

longer walk over to hole 12, run of the mill shot with a low ceiling.

Hole 13 is a shot over the pond. longer than it looks, if you find my MVP Tesla I will give a Free Pizza for it to be returned.

Hole 14, watch out, you have the pond to the right and BEHIND the basket. If you are long, and it is easy to be long, you disc is GONE. There was a log behind to help catch some, thank goodness.

NEW hole 15 is a hard left hyzer shot in the woods. The older hole 15 is still there, but no longer used.

I am a little confused here, There is a hole from 15 basket up towards the pavilion on the hill.

Then you have a nice longer downhill shot for 16 towards the pond.

Hole 17 is currently just short of the ponds

Hole 18 throws away from the parking lot back towards basket 12, while not a bad hole, I just hate throwing away from the parking lot and having to walk back.

Redesign this course for better flow and get new tee boxes and signs and this course will ROC.

Scenic 18 hole course south of Tyler

5+    12/13/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: pecosROB
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Nice scenery, minimal water hazards, fairly easy to navigate course even though there are not any signs showing you to the next tee pad. Bathroom and water fountain near 17th/18th holes.
Cons: Tees are not clearly marked, no distances shown at the (nice concrete) tee pads. Might be a pro for some but no hole to truly test your arm strength.
Other Thoughts: Even though this is a property owned by Green Acres Baptist Church, no one is out there trying to get you to go to church or witnessing to you (thankfully). The only people that will chat with you randomly are other disc golfers.

There is a softball/baseball field and some soccer fields with little league and other team sports (I've seen college age and older soccer teams scrimmaging before) that practice/play so you may need to be careful at a few holes so you don't throw onto the field or hit someone with your disc.

Tee pad for #12 is to the left (west) of the soccer field (that is right by #11 hole) in a cluster of trees. Naturally people want to walk on the right side of the soccer field with the concrete sidewalk but make sure you walk to the left to the trees and bench for #12.

Pretty Park Course

1    12/14/2014   12/14/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 166  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is great to see this quality of DG course installed on church property and made available to the public.

The course winds around a multi-use park with ball fields, soccer fields and a walking path, but does a good job of avoiding conflicts with those activities.

Huge parking lots with nice restrooms. Good concrete tee pads in the short positions (which I played). The long tees appeared to be mostly natural.

The first three holes work up and down a small hill and are mostly open. I found them only so-so but things got more interesting with Hole 4 which is a tight tunnel through the woods. From there holes utilized woods and elevation to add challenge. Hole 10 is an interesting drive from an elevated tee, over the entrance drive and down to a basket far below. Holes 13, 14 and 16 all bring a large pond into play.

From the short tees hole lengths vary from 160' to 330' so this is a short course. Long tees stretch it out some but most holes are still 200' - 300'.
Cons: There are no tee signs at all, which is too bad. As a traveling golfer I appreciate good signage on a course. I had the course map which made navigation pretty easy. Otherwise it might be tough to find a couple of the holes.

There was some construction going on near Holes 5, 6, and 7 that had the area torn up and required some altered basket locations.

No long holes to really air out a drive. So if you are looking for a course requiring a big arm this isn't it!
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the church making this course available to the public.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Can somebody turn on a fan?

1    6/12/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation adds fun factor on many holes and a couple of empty the baggers. Water in play on 3 holes. One you throw over, one along side of and one to a basket with water surrounding it. I lost my disc on the latter, it went past the basket and skipped into the drink. Good disc catchers that actually catch your disc. 2 different tees per hole. Has a few memorable holes. For me 9,10,11,13 and the one I lost my disc on. Enough trash cans and benches that are all in the shade. Not busy on a Friday at 3 PM. In fact I was alone with the wildlife, saw a few lizards. There are many well placed baskets. Several ace runs for pros and even a couple for the rest of us. A few of the alternate tees change the shot and the elevation. For a small park this course is very fun to play. I played from both tees since there was no one behind me. This course surprised me almost as much as U.T. Tyler. This is the lowest rated course in Tyler but I am finding out that East Texas has elevation. I don't know about central, west, north or south Texas. The worst course in Tyler was still fun to me.
Cons: No shade except by the benches. Hard to navigate. You will have to spot many baskets. Hole 1 and 3's baskets are behind foliage. The fact that I just told you that does not change the fact that you will still have to walk many holes just to know where the basket is, including 1 and 3. Didn't find the basket for 17. I found where I would put it. Between these 2 rock formations filled with water. It would be quite a pin placement. Tee for 18 is just past the rock formations. Some of the holes you must spot are hilly. So bring water and a visor or cap. Some of the tee pads were dangerous, uneven sandy rocky texture.
Other Thoughts: Do not play this course without a local to guide you, unless you are very patient. I would have no problem giving this course a 3.5 or maybe even a 4 if it had concrete tee pads and good NEW signage with arrows and tee signs. If I would have let the navigation get me angry, I might see someone give it a 2 or 2.5, but the fun factor for me made up for it. Along with having the whole park to myself. Don't drive too far but if you are in Tyler play all 5. Tyler disc golf in my opinion is a blast.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/24/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course. Some challenging holes with great basket placement. Good use of elevation, trees, and the ponds here.
Cons: I never play well on hole 7, ever. Overall a great course though.
Other Thoughts: The only good water holes in Tyler.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The ROC

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice elevation usage for a little park. Good baskets and 2 tees on all the holes as well. This is a short course for the most part except for like 2 holes. You can throw some different lines for the most part due to the openess of this course. Good course for beginners and to test out your up shots and putts. Alot of the same shots for me(RHBH)which seems like it might get boring after a while.
Cons: Signage, must be a thing in Tyler as in they are just numbers. The pond looks nasty so dont throw in there. Kind of hard to navigate at times but not too bad. Not alot of shade so it could get hot.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to go out to but not worth the drive itself.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.