Disc Golf Store
Tyler, TX 
The Roc DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #4 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Pro Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The ROC

5+    9/3/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: pablo.diablo
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great place to play for families and beginners. Very fun with a ton of ace runs from the Reds. Course plays in a big circle basically around the center of the Park, which is necessary due to the restricted space. Overall, the course design and flow basically make sense with a few issues (see below).

You do not need a distance driver from the Reds except for #7 which is a long uphill shot that would be good for a 160-class Sidewinder or Valkyrie.

Once you get experienced you will basically only want to play the Blues if you are looking for a true challenge. Playing doubles from the Blues is awesome.

I am a huge fan of elevation and this course has some good ones, especially playing Blues: #2, #6, , #9, #11 (across the street), and #16 (towards the pond). It's rare to find 5 good elevation shots on one course. However, you can get away with throwing a midrange on all of them so it's not like you get to crush one as far as you can throw.

Course is always mowed by a very nice gentleman who volunteers his time, is always kind to the guests, and probably cares a lot about the place. It stays very clean and is much quicker to play than any other Tyler course.

BEST HOLE: #9 BLUE
Cons: You can literally MASTER this course with 3 discs. Such as a Firebird (driver), Spider (mid), and Rhyno (putter). If you get bored with it after awhile, just start throwing sidearm, or vice-versa, for your particular weakness. It's a great place to improve from beginner to intermediate in that regard.

I dislike playing #1 uphill, that's almost unfair, especially for beginners that will get instantly discouraged by #1 and #3 playing way uphill.

I think you should start the course at current #17 by the second parking lot, it's a short easy ace run from the Reds, or a lovely Hyzer-Bomb from the Blues. That would make the current #16 a super cool final hole throwing way downhill at the pond which would improve upon the bland #18 that exists. Also, by playing #17 first you should be warmed up for the uphill shot on #1.

Some of the teepads are too short for a good run-up, esp for the Blues. #1-4, and some of the other teepads get terribly muddy after rain runoff due to their position on hills. Another reason I dislike starting #1 there.

#7 really NEEDS a short teepad, or to be marked as a Par 4 playing as Red and Par 3 playing as Blue. There is no way this is a fair Par 3 for beginners. I have only seen two people EVER hit a birdie and that was from crushing a monster drive and then sinking a helluva nice long putt.

#13 and #14...if you are a beginner then you will want to bring a Hydra, Wahoo, or some other floater or else you will likely lose a disc in the water. They are rather difficult to retrieve under normal conditions.

#15, the dogleg hole in the corner of the property, does not really have a fair line to get to the basket on any sort of drive. The only way I have ever parked it for birdie is by throwing a perfect thumber through the gap in the trees, which is very difficult to do with any consistency. You are really just throwing a sidearm there with mercy to the gods whether it gets thru to the open part of the fairway, which is not exactly a "fair"way in my opinion.

If you want a course to unleash some long distance bombs, head to Lindsey, not The ROC.

WORST HOLE: #1 RED
Other Thoughts: Hole #14 is much more fun to play from an unmarked "alternate" tee, which is behind the little "rabbit tracks" in the sidewalk! It opens things up for a safer, longer, more fun drive. If there are a bunch of people playing in the field then you can't safely execute that shot, though. Try it out, you will like it.

As a beginner, I seemed to shoot (+3) or (+4) over par consistently until I started learning more about disc stability ratings and things like using anhyzer technique that you start understanding to become intermediate.

Eventually, I started averaging (-3) to (-5) under par very consistently and if you can avoid bogeys on #7 and #15 then you can do even better. One day, I was absolutely on fire putting and set my personal record of (-11) down. I've hit (-9) twice since then and (-7) & (-8) quite a few more times. This is from the Reds.

My personal best from the Blues is (-3), but now to stay entertained I would only want to play from the Pros unless I just wanted to go for Ace runs. So you kind of outgrow the simplicity of the shots from the Reds, even though they really are fun.

Much of this course is better than most of the front 9 at UT. However, the back 9 at UT outshines The ROC thanks to it's technicality and cool woods holes. I would rather play the back nine at UT twice than play The ROC.

But if you get frustrated by UT or Lindsey Gold then head straight to The ROC and you will feel better about yourself!

If you are going to play any holes around dusk, then move your vehicle outside of the gates or up to the Church parking lot, as they close the gates and make all the vehicles leave anyway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A bit out of the way, but worth the trip

1    10/13/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tons of nice things to say about this course. Tight wooded shots, long bombs, big turns ... The Roc has it all. Plenty for the non-disc golfers to do as well.
Cons: All the other activities (little league practice) make for some crowed fairways. Walkers on the sidewalk are in danger on a few holes as well. Playing earlier in the day rather than late afternoon should help avoid most of this though.
Other Thoughts: I've got nothing against the "ministerial" signs at each teebox, but signs that showed the holes' layouts and distances would be a bit more helpful.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Draw 18 Hole McGraw

1    6/2/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautifully manicured park. The grounds are in great shape. There are concrete tee pads for the shorts except #18 and the longs are to be installed soon according to the grounds keeper. This course has wooded holes, some elevation, water, OB, and protected pins. The wooded holes are tight fairways and yet no that difficult. The holes that have a few well-placed trees on them are the most fun. The water holes are just long enough to make a beginner nervous and a seasoned player will be just fine. Most of the baskets have a painted rung in them to show you the direction of the next tee pad. The layout is rather enjoyable, even with most of the holes being reachable in one throw. There are plenty of trashcans along the way, which is just another testimony to how clean this park is. Some of the holes even have some seating areas by the tees.
Cons: This course does need tee signs and concrete on the long tee pads. These holes are fairly short, but that doesn't keep them from being fun. Navigation is a bit tricky, so bring a map just in case. The challenge here is just average for a short course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was better than average. For such a little course I was impressed. I must admit it was so beautiful and so much fun throwing at these holes, I look forward to going back to play this again. Tyler has some nice places to play, but if you need to get a fast, fun 18 holes in, this is your ticket.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 decent

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun little course with lots of short length holes, definate birdie potential. Some elevation changes, especially in the front 9. Good use of the land/trees to provide a good challenge. Trees definately do their job in blocking the more typical lines that I throw. Accuracy definately needed on many of the holes. Clean. Good baskets. A few water holes definately add to the challenge, especially a partial island hole on 15 I believe.
Cons: Poor signs. Can be a little difficult to navigate first time. No distance or sign of where to go/throw. Dirt teepads. There is a walking path that is heavily used at times and can definately pose a hazard when throwing discs. Also busy with soccer and baseball players. In a word, busy at times, so watch out.
Other Thoughts: Different feel to it than the other courses in Tyler. Enjoyed the elevation changes. A few longer holes would be nice. Looking for water holes in the Tyler area, then come here for a few. Sure this course could use some improvements, but I like it the way it is. A course I will return to. Not as busy as other courses in the area so a quick round can be played.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Swimm'n with the Fishes

6/20/2008   6/21/2008
Review By: DctrJ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is lots of fun. Look out for the lake, be ready to risk a disc in the water. It's well maintained. You have some technical throws, but not many.
Cons: Don't play mid morning on a Saturday. You will have cars and soccer players in some parts of the course. Not a good place to learn dg as the water hazard can cost. =)
Other Thoughts: It's definitely worth playing, but if you are in Tyler for a short while and can only play one course I'd go to UT Tyler or Lindsey Park.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.