Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / 139ft.   3 / 239ft.   3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A diverse set of challenges

2-4    6/15/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, exceptional diversity. You will not get bored with the layout. You will never feel like you are throwing the same hole twice. It really has just about everything. Multiple pin positions, wooded, elevation, distance, beauty, and nice corner store that sells plastic, and cold beverages near by.

On a 15+ mph day the open long holes can really eat your lunch. This course will be tough to finish Par or under your first few times out. Especially if you don't have a somewhat accurate 350ft + drive.

Good signage on all the holes. Seating at almost all the tee boxes. Good long course with diverse terrain will give you some exercise as well as a scenic DG experience.
Cons: For beginners this course can definitely be a beating. You might think there is no way to get to the basket in 3 throws. And you might be right, but in time, with the right disc for your style and some tweaks in your "power grip" you may be surprised to find Par 3 is right, it's just a little harder to achieve than the Par 3's at your local 9 hole. :)

Really the only con I can think of, is that it is a challenge and a lot of walking including up and down some rocky slopes. And I claimed those things above as pros, as well. Will depend on your specific preference. I love it, personally.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, this is a very pretty course with great use of the terrain and land available. I fell in love with this course first time I played it. It's not easy. You aren't going to come out here and get an ace your first time, but if you aren't afraid of a challenge and you want a course that will force you to work on a variety of different throws, through a variety of different setting, you will not be disappointed. I really think this is a destination course. Worth a road trip to play it, if you consider yourself to be a disc golfer. :) have fun, take it in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses

1    4/13/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through two very different landscapes. The first two holes and the last several play in a park setting. There is a mix of longer and shorter holes, with a couple bombs that really let you rip a drive. These range from wide open to having scattered trees and bushes in play. Moderate elevation changes on several holes add some variety and challenge.

The middle holes offer a totally different experience. Playing through a rocky canyon, these holes have much steeper elevation changes that make for some great views and excellent shots. Scrubby trees and bush provide some real punishment for errant shots, and the rocky ground and cactus really make you feel like you're away from civilization.

Nice concrete pads and baskets in good shape are always a good touch. The tee signs have hole layout, with distance and alternate pin positions. The park was excellently maintained, mowed and free of trash or vandalism.
Cons: Navigation is a mess here. There are several long unmarked walks between holes, and many of the baskets in the canyon section have several different possible paths to follow that lead away from the next hole. The map isn't all that easy to read, making things difficult even if you think to print it ahead of time. There are lots of blind pins, often with good sized hills to walk up or down to scout them out, it would be nice if the current basket positions were marked on the signs to eliminate some of the extra walking.

The canyon portion of the course feels really unique, with some excellent shots and a great vibe. That leaves the end of the course feeling pretty pedestrian, with some pretty open typical park shots that don't offer all that many different types of challenges. If the whole course was like 3-11, I would rate significantly higher.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the open holes pretty long, and the canyon holes pretty rough and punishing. It's a cool place to play, but newer players will need to come with some patience. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, you won't find tunnel golf but you will need to work some different lines and shot placement is key. I would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 an old classic

2-4    1/14/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of cool elevation shots
-concrete pads, baskets in good condition
-variety in terrain
-lots of alternate pin locations
-very challenging course
-decent parking, bathrooms, lots of trash cans
-parking lot near holes 1 and 18
-well maintained, clean park
-friendly locals, regular minis
Cons: -navigation and flow is terrible. the front 9 is impossible to navigate without a map if you don't know the course.
-lots of long walks between holes and backtracking, poor design.
-elevation and rough terrain can be challenging for the out-of-shape and those with poor balance
Other Thoughts: This DFW classic is still fun after 20+ years! Elevation comes into play on over half of the holes. There is a decent variety of distances, terrain, and open v. wooded holes but the course is mostly on the open side. You can pretty much throw a hyzer on every shot but the greens are often guarded, leaving a possibly tricky putt or upshot.

The park is well maintained with lots of trash cans and alternate pin locations that change regularly. Alternate tee pads are unmarked but well-established and well-known to the locals, ask around.

The downhill drives on 1, 5, and 17 are really fun and the uphill drives on 3, 6, and 7 are pretty challenging. These holes on the front 9 contribute to a bit of an "epic" feeling on the course that fades as you move into the back 9.

I really like this course but I do think that its reputation and rating are a bit overstated. A fun course with lots of variety but I strongly disagree with a 4+ rating, especially when there are so many better courses in the metroplex. I can see how this used to be the premiere course around, especially with the great use of elevation, but most of the newer courses around have just as good elevation shots but with more challenging golf and better design.

That said, definitely come play this course! As long as you bring a map and extra water, you will have a great time. It is just not the first course I would recommend to an out-of-towner.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans in the Summer

5+    8/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Teepads are in good condition (a lot of them have been redone in the past couple months) and fitting to the type of shot mostly.

- Multiple pin positions

- Great layout with varying shots (Open, Elevation, Spikes, distance) well balanced in my opinion.

- Not to crowded ususally
Cons: Not too much to say here. It can get pretty hot in the summer down in the valley with no wind or shade...but I guess that is also good for disc flight!

It's a bit hard to navigate at first but after playing it once I didn't have a problem getting around.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. A lot of varying shots...just very well balanced I think. **Edited this review since ratings because I didn't really know the "guidelines" for reviewing when I first made it**

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Above Average

2-4    5/7/2009   7/17/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Awesome elevation changes
-Mix of many shots
-I love the tee pads
-Hard
-Well maintained
-Creative layout
Cons: -What were the designers thinking on a few holes? I think there were a few holes I would have designed different. Personal dilemma
-Not good for novice players.
-A little hot, bring sunscreen
Other Thoughts: I have mixed feelings about this course. I like it and I don't like it at the same time. In my case, I played great for most of the day, but on one hole, when I threw a perfect drive, I lost a disc. I believe it was hold 4 or five. I just don't like the fact that you can throw a great long drive and it ends up in a bush because there is no fairway. All in all, this is a good course. It gets more open toward the back nine. If you are any good you will appreciate this course, but you will respect it as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran's Park

1    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vet park is a nice, multi-use park, and everything is going on. There are a lot of different shots, and the elevation is really cool. The front nine are all pretty heavily wooded and hilly, and it thins and flattens out for the back nine. Having an arm isn't a must, but it definately helps. Plenty of chances for practicing finesse and technicallity. The signs were decent, and the course had a ton of trash cans. The tee pads were all in great shape and were concrete. Baskets were all fine for catching discs, and each hole had multiple pin placements. Very friendly locals, and there was plenty of parking on a Friday afternoon.
Cons: It can be a little hard to navigate at times. I could see this course making a beginner very frustrated (especially if it is windy). There was some congestion; my two man group played a little over a two hour round. In the hot months, this one will be a hot hike; bring water! It could be easy to hit players ahead of you on some holes, like 5. The signs could be better, but they do the job. Some tee pads were a little short.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park, and an awesome walk. This one is definately worth the drive if you're in the area.

I bet in about a week, everything will all be green and grown back up. It'll be a whole new story, and I am sure it would be even more frustrating to a new player. This also means that it will require more technical and finesse shots from the experienced player.

I saw the bulletin board, and it looked like a lot goes on at this course.

Good luck and have a great round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Still great.

5+    3/5/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long standing trails and excellent design make this a worth while time. Great views, and layouts make this a fun and challenging course
Cons: not many here.
Other Thoughts: I like it here. maybe not for your first time, but it is a great course the wind will shape your game here so be mindfull of what is happening over your head.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dfwdscglfr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: high fun factor
good use of elevation
varied hole length
nice tee signs
Cons: hard to get from 7 to 8 unless you have played it
gets very hot during the summer not much shade
and can be very crowded
Other Thoughts: after hole 12 there is a near by gas station

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Veterns park

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lovely park setting with plenty of amenities. Very nice memorial to veterns here. The course is very well layed out with maximum use of elevation changes available. There is an excelent mixture of challenges here. Some long holes, some short, uphill and down hill drives. You be required to move your disc both hyser and anhyser, I really enjoyed the challenge. There were multiple lines to most of the holes. The baskets while old were in remarkedly good shape and caught my discs very well. While some of the walk/running trails did wind thru parts of the course this did not pose a problem. The park was clean, well maintained and the locals were very helpfull / friendly.
Cons: The tee signs were in very poor shape. This made it very difficult to find my way around the course. A local guide or map would help greatly.
A few more trash cans and benches might be nice, but are not a big problem. The signs are the real opetunity here and would take this course from very good to great in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course to play and I would like to come back the next time I am in town. I do not live in arrid area so the cactus and scrub trees added a lot of fun and visual intrest for me.
It was very windy the afternoon I played and that really put some teeth into the course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Better be a Veteran for this one

5+    7/16/2007   2/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A longer course, Elevation shots you will learn, Must have many fairly long drives that stay on the fairways to be good here.Gotta love hole 1, 12 and 17 for the distances with elevation.If you live in the DFW area Veterans has to be visited regularly.
Cons: Four holes are significantly shorter then the rest,Alotta walking up and down hills,Hotter then hell in the summer heat bring a sunbrella.Could use some more seating areas.
Other Thoughts: Bring water for the long trek.Play on a very windy day and say hello to the plus scores! The different colored chards of broken glass you see are always there because your walking on an old landfill site.Spotted my first wild road runner here,they're plentiful.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.