Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 395ft.   4 / 750ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A diverse set of challenges

2-4    6/15/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, exceptional diversity. You will not get bored with the layout. You will never feel like you are throwing the same hole twice. It really has just about everything. Multiple pin positions, wooded, elevation, distance, beauty, and nice corner store that sells plastic, and cold beverages near by.

On a 15+ mph day the open long holes can really eat your lunch. This course will be tough to finish Par or under your first few times out. Especially if you don't have a somewhat accurate 350ft + drive.

Good signage on all the holes. Seating at almost all the tee boxes. Good long course with diverse terrain will give you some exercise as well as a scenic DG experience.
Cons: For beginners this course can definitely be a beating. You might think there is no way to get to the basket in 3 throws. And you might be right, but in time, with the right disc for your style and some tweaks in your "power grip" you may be surprised to find Par 3 is right, it's just a little harder to achieve than the Par 3's at your local 9 hole. :)

Really the only con I can think of, is that it is a challenge and a lot of walking including up and down some rocky slopes. And I claimed those things above as pros, as well. Will depend on your specific preference. I love it, personally.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, this is a very pretty course with great use of the terrain and land available. I fell in love with this course first time I played it. It's not easy. You aren't going to come out here and get an ace your first time, but if you aren't afraid of a challenge and you want a course that will force you to work on a variety of different throws, through a variety of different setting, you will not be disappointed. I really think this is a destination course. Worth a road trip to play it, if you consider yourself to be a disc golfer. :) have fun, take it in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses

1    4/13/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through two very different landscapes. The first two holes and the last several play in a park setting. There is a mix of longer and shorter holes, with a couple bombs that really let you rip a drive. These range from wide open to having scattered trees and bushes in play. Moderate elevation changes on several holes add some variety and challenge.

The middle holes offer a totally different experience. Playing through a rocky canyon, these holes have much steeper elevation changes that make for some great views and excellent shots. Scrubby trees and bush provide some real punishment for errant shots, and the rocky ground and cactus really make you feel like you're away from civilization.

Nice concrete pads and baskets in good shape are always a good touch. The tee signs have hole layout, with distance and alternate pin positions. The park was excellently maintained, mowed and free of trash or vandalism.
Cons: Navigation is a mess here. There are several long unmarked walks between holes, and many of the baskets in the canyon section have several different possible paths to follow that lead away from the next hole. The map isn't all that easy to read, making things difficult even if you think to print it ahead of time. There are lots of blind pins, often with good sized hills to walk up or down to scout them out, it would be nice if the current basket positions were marked on the signs to eliminate some of the extra walking.

The canyon portion of the course feels really unique, with some excellent shots and a great vibe. That leaves the end of the course feeling pretty pedestrian, with some pretty open typical park shots that don't offer all that many different types of challenges. If the whole course was like 3-11, I would rate significantly higher.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the open holes pretty long, and the canyon holes pretty rough and punishing. It's a cool place to play, but newer players will need to come with some patience. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, you won't find tunnel golf but you will need to work some different lines and shot placement is key. I would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans in the Summer

5+    8/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: j0atz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2011
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Teepads are in good condition (a lot of them have been redone in the past couple months) and fitting to the type of shot mostly.

- Multiple pin positions

- Great layout with varying shots (Open, Elevation, Spikes, distance) well balanced in my opinion.

- Not to crowded ususally
Cons: Not too much to say here. It can get pretty hot in the summer down in the valley with no wind or shade...but I guess that is also good for disc flight!

It's a bit hard to navigate at first but after playing it once I didn't have a problem getting around.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. A lot of varying shots...just very well balanced I think. **Edited this review since ratings because I didn't really know the "guidelines" for reviewing when I first made it**

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Above Average

2-4    5/7/2009   7/17/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Awesome elevation changes
-Mix of many shots
-I love the tee pads
-Hard
-Well maintained
-Creative layout
Cons: -What were the designers thinking on a few holes? I think there were a few holes I would have designed different. Personal dilemma
-Not good for novice players.
-A little hot, bring sunscreen
Other Thoughts: I have mixed feelings about this course. I like it and I don't like it at the same time. In my case, I played great for most of the day, but on one hole, when I threw a perfect drive, I lost a disc. I believe it was hold 4 or five. I just don't like the fact that you can throw a great long drive and it ends up in a bush because there is no fairway. All in all, this is a good course. It gets more open toward the back nine. If you are any good you will appreciate this course, but you will respect it as well.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran's Park

1    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vet park is a nice, multi-use park, and everything is going on. There are a lot of different shots, and the elevation is really cool. The front nine are all pretty heavily wooded and hilly, and it thins and flattens out for the back nine. Having an arm isn't a must, but it definately helps. Plenty of chances for practicing finesse and technicallity. The signs were decent, and the course had a ton of trash cans. The tee pads were all in great shape and were concrete. Baskets were all fine for catching discs, and each hole had multiple pin placements. Very friendly locals, and there was plenty of parking on a Friday afternoon.
Cons: It can be a little hard to navigate at times. I could see this course making a beginner very frustrated (especially if it is windy). There was some congestion; my two man group played a little over a two hour round. In the hot months, this one will be a hot hike; bring water! It could be easy to hit players ahead of you on some holes, like 5. The signs could be better, but they do the job. Some tee pads were a little short.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park, and an awesome walk. This one is definately worth the drive if you're in the area.

I bet in about a week, everything will all be green and grown back up. It'll be a whole new story, and I am sure it would be even more frustrating to a new player. This also means that it will require more technical and finesse shots from the experienced player.

I saw the bulletin board, and it looked like a lot goes on at this course.

Good luck and have a great round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Still great.

5+    3/5/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long standing trails and excellent design make this a worth while time. Great views, and layouts make this a fun and challenging course
Cons: not many here.
Other Thoughts: I like it here. maybe not for your first time, but it is a great course the wind will shape your game here so be mindfull of what is happening over your head.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dfwdscglfr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: high fun factor
good use of elevation
varied hole length
nice tee signs
Cons: hard to get from 7 to 8 unless you have played it
gets very hot during the summer not much shade
and can be very crowded
Other Thoughts: after hole 12 there is a near by gas station

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Veterns park

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lovely park setting with plenty of amenities. Very nice memorial to veterns here. The course is very well layed out with maximum use of elevation changes available. There is an excelent mixture of challenges here. Some long holes, some short, uphill and down hill drives. You be required to move your disc both hyser and anhyser, I really enjoyed the challenge. There were multiple lines to most of the holes. The baskets while old were in remarkedly good shape and caught my discs very well. While some of the walk/running trails did wind thru parts of the course this did not pose a problem. The park was clean, well maintained and the locals were very helpfull / friendly.
Cons: The tee signs were in very poor shape. This made it very difficult to find my way around the course. A local guide or map would help greatly.
A few more trash cans and benches might be nice, but are not a big problem. The signs are the real opetunity here and would take this course from very good to great in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course to play and I would like to come back the next time I am in town. I do not live in arrid area so the cactus and scrub trees added a lot of fun and visual intrest for me.
It was very windy the afternoon I played and that really put some teeth into the course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Better be a Veteran for this one

5+    7/16/2007   2/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 181  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A longer course, Elevation shots you will learn, Must have many fairly long drives that stay on the fairways to be good here.Gotta love hole 1, 12 and 17 for the distances with elevation.If you live in the DFW area Veterans has to be visited regularly.
Cons: Four holes are significantly shorter then the rest,Alotta walking up and down hills,Hotter then hell in the summer heat bring a sunbrella.Could use some more seating areas.
Other Thoughts: Bring water for the long trek.Play on a very windy day and say hello to the plus scores! The different colored chards of broken glass you see are always there because your walking on an old landfill site.Spotted my first wild road runner here,they're plentiful.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, hilly setting is a classic Texas classic course that pays homage to the big-arm hyzer.

5+    9/9/2006   1/28/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 224  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now in it's 20th year, Veteran's has aged gracefully and has the distinction of having challenged and honed the skills of Texas disc golfers since the 80s. Fast discs have made the course easier, but they haven't made it easy. It's an incredibly popular course, but if you can catch it on a day it's not packed, you're in for a real treat.

Veteran's offers more elevation change and great elevation shots than almost any other course in Texas, and is especially notable for the D/FW Metroplex area, which has a lot of fairly flat courses. From the first hole, Veteran's will start teaching you how to use elevation and how to approach/putt on elevation. I can only think of two holes (2 and 13) where some degree of elevation isn't a factor.

Even on hole 12 -- the big, wide field shot, there is just enough elevation to make the hole trickier. In the long pin you can't see the basket from the tee, so you've got to air out over the slight ridge, and then make your approach shot down a slight hill, usually with massive winds throwing your disc all over the place. I know some reviewers don't like the couple of field holes, but I think they give good balance to the course and often make use of the tearing Texas wind to challenge a whole different set of skills in your game.

The course has a great mix of holes -- many are very memorable. Hole 1 is one of the best places in the country to launch a whole bag of discs and watch them work. Hole 5 is a memorable shot out over the tops of a sea of trees, having to guess the wind to have any idea where your disc will land. Hole 17 (short pin) is this 360' slight downhill into a hole that just BEGS to be aced (I can't count how many times I've hit metal on this and never stuck). Hole 18 (hilltop placement) is a great hole where you can huck to the moon off the tee trying to get up the hill.

Despite having abnormal amounts of elevation for a Texas course, Veteran's does feel like Texas, thanks to the scrubby trees, dusty paths, rocks, cactus, and blazing sun. And I mean this as a compliment. Veteran's is the most uniquely "TEXAS" of the D/FW courses and I don't think any visitor will leave unhappy as long as they find a local to show them all the holes.
Cons: The course is busy, and this can make for frustratingly long rounds at time; especially on weekends when the course is backed up with large groups.

Sometimes the busy is not just disc golfers. Unlike other disc golf parks I've played in, Veteran's often is home to folks in Renaissance or other war/medieval garb dashing about in the woods, brandishing foam swords or other weapons, and blissfully ignorant of the danger they face from flying discs. This is not frequently a problem, but happens often enough (especially on weekends) to be worth mentioning. Make sure you're errant shot doesn't take out a knight-errant. ;)

Teepads are a mixed bag out here. Some are great, some are very mediocre, though they have improved them greatly over the years.

Signage is fair, at best. Tee signs don't have any way to specify which basket is in place (and you often can't see the baskets from the tee), and there is very little to help you navigate the course if you don't know your way around. The first time I played this course years ago, I was with my Dad and brother, and we gave up in frustration after 7 holes. The tricky walk between 7 and 8 is non-intuitive. Other places on the course aren't AS frustrating, but directional signage is cheap and is of immense importance to first-time players.

Some places on the course have amazing amounts of broken glass. Hole 8 in particular, but the course as a whole has more glass than almost any course I've played. There are places you don't want to fall and wouldn't put your knee down for balance on a tricky shot.

Course has great elevation but seldom forces a wide variety of shots. This may sound strange, but most of the trees are short enough that you can throw big hyzers and avoid most of the obstacles on the course. Some of this depends on the basket placements, but for the most part, big RHBH hyzers will solve your problems 90% of the time on this course -- which works great for some folks, but is a limitation of the course in my opinion. Forcing more variety would be nice. Visually, there are a lot of trees on the course, but once you realize you can just go higher, the course gets a LOT easier.

In my opinion, the course is limited by having only par 3 holes. Admittedly, it has several challenging par 3s (holes 1, 3L, 8, 12L, 14L, 18), but it still doesn't have the range you would hope for on a course with this much great land. Again, this is largely a factor of the low trees that you can hyzer over -- it reduces the need for strategy and placement shots. Most holes, you run a big high hyzer for the birdie and hope you can your putt. This is great fun, but not a challenge that will improve your depth as a player long-term.

Despite all the trees, this course has very little shade. Playing in summer can be a blistering experience out in the sun, and you will be bone-dry a few holes into the round. Take plenty of water, and good footwear for the rocks and cactus.

Only one set of tees are present, and only about half of the baskets have alternate placements. The course is so much fun that this doesn't really hurt replay value, but it should be mentioned.
Other Thoughts: Veteran's is incredibly fun to play. The locals who run tournaments are a great bunch, and the Veteran's Park Open and Fahrenheit Fling are very enjoyable events.

If the course signage were upgraded, I would be tempted to give this course 4 stars, because it really is a great experience to go out to Veterans to play.

I learned to play in Dallas and moved away a couple of years ago, and Veteran's is the course I miss the most in D/FW. It's not necessarily the best course in the area, but it is a unique experience. You'll never birdie the same holes two rounds back to back; you'll never quite hit the perfect round, and it will keep you coming back for more. And the wind changes so much it alters the whole course, scoring and strategy with a slight shift of the prevailing wind direction.

I've played all over the country, and Veteran's still holds a special place in my heart the way few other courses do. It is the course that forced me to learn a high backhand hyzer because I needed it there to keep up. Poor signage and limited shot requirements are what will keep it from ever being a "great" course. But regardless, it is a great experience that I highly recommend to anyone who is in the D/FW area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.