Arlington, TX
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 3/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 254ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Vet's Review

5+    1/31/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: JUSPUTITONMYTAB
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: This is my home course so my review may come off as a bit biased.

-Course is very challenging with a wide variety of different shots.
-Maps on each hole are very descriptive showing alternate pins and distances/pars for each location.
-OB, elevation, and trees come in to play on basically every hole with the exception of some field holes on the back 9.
-Convenience stores are located around the course as well as the DFW Disc Golf Center which is just down Arkansas Rd. from the course.
-Locals play here regularly so if you are new and needing help with course navigation you can easily ask many of the other players for help.

I'm sure there's many more Pros to be said, but I'll leave it at that.
Cons: -This course gets pretty heavy traffic on nice days from both disc golfers and joggers/walkers. You may find yourself yelling "FOUR" on more than one occasion.
-Along with the heavy traffic comes liter around the park. Unfortunately service workers don't spend as much time on the course as they used to so overflowing of trash cans will occur.
-The red dirt all throughout the area causes extreme heat during the Spring/Summer times. You'll probably want to wear a hat and sunglasses if playing out there during those times.
Other Thoughts: All around this is definitely one of my top 5 courses in North Texas and I love that I am able to play it so much due to it's location. I do believe that playing this course so much has made me a better player on other courses.

Have fun and go throw some plastic!

Challenging is an understatement

5+    7/7/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: NickH80
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one challenging and fun course. There is a good mix of long and short holes as well as left and right. There are elevation changes on roughly half of the holes. There are multiple basket locations for each hole which keeps the course fresh. Concrete tee pads throughout course.
Cons: The first time playing it we had to search for about an hour when going from Hole 7 to Hole 8.
Other Thoughts: There is a tournament here on Sundays so I would recommend getting started before 10am.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 44  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.9 Years
Pros: Great tee pads and signs for each hole showing the layout of the holes. The course has a nice layout and flows really well. The course has a great variety downhill and uphill as well as close(tight) holes and wide open holes.
Cons: I was not familiar with course so I spent a lot of time walking the holes just to find the basket to throw at. I like being able to see or at least have an idea where the basket is from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: All in all a really great course for this area. I live close so that's an added benefit. If your in the area and are looking for a great course this is it!

Veteran's Park

1    12/20/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed great mix of shots. Will take every shot in your bag. Course has considerable elevation changes and a great mix of obstacles.
Cons: Parts of the front nine can be difficult to navigate.
REALLY HOT in the summer (as is anywhere in TX) - bring water.
Other Thoughts: Great course - a must play if you're in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Still Addicted to This Course

5+    9/15/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 76  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I moved to Dallas 4 years ago, and started playing local courses, this course became my home course even though it was at least a 45 minute drive. With more than 50 local courses, that says something. Now I live more than an hour and 20 minutes away, and I still drive there every month to host a women's league in conjunction with the local mini.

Baskets are nice. There are three sets of tees. The middle set of tees has nice concrete pads and tee signs. There are at least 2 pin placements on every hole, and 3 on several holes, plus a strong local club to move the baskets regularly and keep the course in good condition. However, hole 9 has been stuck in the left pin position for as long as I can remember. Someone told me they can't get it out of the anchor.

A really good mix of holes. The short tees generally require more technical lines, while the other sets of tees require long bombs and/or overheads. Elevation is pronounced on about half the holes. The three really long, open, and flat holes are arranged at various angles to test or develop wind play skills for when the wind is up.

Probably the best selection brick and mortar disc golf store in the area is one block away. As you leave the park, turn right at the light and and the Quickstop is at the next light in the little strip mall on the right.

After hole 12, you can cross the street and use the restroom at the convenience store. Put a little cash in your pocket for drinks, snacks, etc. Can you say ice cream on a hot day, or a gallon of cold water?
Cons: Navigation is tough even on the marked middle set of tees. Forget about about playing the short tees without a guide. They are dirt tees and unmarked. Same for the champ tees, which shouldn't be played without a spotter anyway.

The course is notoriously overhead friendly, and non-overhead punitive. If you have a long arm and a good overhead shot, you can score well here, and you might find the regular tees don't provide the challenge you are looking for in a casual round once you've solved the shot placement puzzle.

The main restrooms are usually locked, and there are no portolets.

Muddy after rain, with enough elevation to make for hazardous footing in muddy conditions.

I know some people who use carts here, but I wouldn't consider many of these holes to be very cart friendly, and too rough and elevated to risk bringing the baby in a stroller.

Popularity of the course makes for long waits, with people cutting in on hole 5 quite frequently. Some pedestrians occasionally get in the way, but it's rare for one to try and pick up your disc and throw it back to you (although I've seen this happen). Hole 1 occasionally attracts a kite or model rocket flying father and child, and I've even seen a coach doing soccer practice there once, but they learn soon enough. So it's not a regular thing.

Vandalism at this course is out of control, with people setting pavilions on fire, stealing baskets, trashing signs, etc.

Other Thoughts: This course is not one to play for the first time in a tournament. Shot placement is key on many holes, and will require a blind overhead in many cases. In past years, SSA on 18 from the permanent tees s about a 50, so a 50 would be about a 1000 rated round. They've been adding 3 temp holes in recent years at tournaments that are pretty much birdie holes for pros. The course record from the permanent tees is 42, and has stood for over 10 years. It was set by John Maiuro.

I feel neutral on the lack of water. Actually, I hate water, but I know some would consider the lack of water a con, so I didn't include in the pros. Water does come into play on 9 if you get a really unlucky roll, but it doesn't affect the way to play the hole at all. At the A tier and ice bowl tournaments, one of the temp holes is usually over the pond with the fountain.

Honestly, I have a hard time justifying a 4 for this course after playing courses like those at Selah, but any course this popular and addictive is something special.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

You wanna play vet's? I'M DOWN.

1    10/13/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So many to list, I'll do a Pro/Con list, then explain some of em.
1. Hole 1
2. Variety of Shots is needed
3. Space to really let the drivers fly
4. Tough Shots make for a Fun Day.
5. Park foot traffic is out of the way almost 100% of the time.
6. Scenery changes through the course.
7. No water hazards, but lots of thick trees/brush. So there's still a risk/reward factor.
8. Hiking may be necessary ( love hiking)
9. Between holes 7-8, you can take a picnic break if you are with your family or a big group of friends that gets tired.
10. Most locals are pretty friendly.
11. Local shop sells a giant variety of discs.

Hole one is awesome, you get to open your arm on the first hole with max distance.

Explaining #5, There is a walking path that can possibly be in the way for errant shots, other than that, it's pretty out of the way.
Cons: 1. Random foot traffic using the fairway of hole 1 for RC Cars.
2. Vandalism(stealing baskets) is annoying when they steal your favorite hole's basket.
3. When it starts getting dark, this course is difficult to finish.
4. A couple blind throws, that could pose an issue for those new to the course.
5. When it's windy, IT'S REALLY WINDY.
6. There is some erosion that could be proven dangerous if you have an errant shot that shoots right on 18.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses in the DFW. It's generally well maintained, it's pretty fluent from hole to hole. It's a great looking park, the neighborhood is decent. I love going here for my saturday rounds because it's only 30minutes from home. I suggest if you visit to make this one of the courses to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Feels like Texas!

2-4    8/1/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Spookyspence
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging
Resting areas every couple of holes with tree shade
Shows off Texas terrain
Nice elevation changes
Concrete tees
Multiple basket locations
Gets a nice amount of tournaments

Cons: In the summer it can VERY hard for those not in shape to finish because of the heat and combination of hiking up and down hills.
Can be easy to lose a disc.
Extremely hard to navigate without a map or a local to show you around.
All par 3 when some holes are obviously par 4 and 5's.....even though some would argue this doesn't matter.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an amazing course, it will really test your skill not to mention your endurance! You will have a nice combination of wooded holes, big arm holes, and elevation changes. The course could REALLY benefit from some simple signage pointing from hole to hole, even if it would be simple planks of wood with an arrow. While on the course keep your eyes open for local wild life and be careful not to run into any of the cacti. Below I will give a short description of the holes, just give me a little wiggle room I am going off memory.

1. Huge down hill shot into the open with the basket tucked into the tree line at the far bottom right.

2. Very straight forward hole open, go mid range.

3. Throwing all up hill slight anhyzer with basket tucked into the woods at the top left of the field.

4. Very very wooded shot go slight anhyzer over the top with a thumber or tomahawk .

5. This can be a very intimidating hole! You throw down hill over the tree line, just get a nice straight drive and you should be all good.

6. All up hill with basket on a rock bordered plateau

7. Once again up hill.

8. Simple enough hole, basket is ether in the open or tucked around the corner to the left a bit.

9. Throw forward through and opening to the left a bit.

10.Straight up hill to the left.

11. Throw a nice tight line through trees into a open field.

12. Open big arm hole.

13. Open shot with one tree in the way.

14. Open drive into the trees where the basket hides.

15. Short hole into the trees. Take the best line you can.

16. Throw from the open into a opening into the tress basket it tucked around a bush to the right.

17. Nice open drive with basket ether far left or right.

18. Up hill straight ahead! The brings you back to the parking lot.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful but very tough

1    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: daveseeley
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signs are accurate with tips to next tee. Locals are very friendly with directions. Dude walking his sheep on the course (unreal). Nature trails with foliage labeled makes this course infotaining (both informative and enterntaining). Great mix of shot lengths from an Acehole to almost 600 feet. Bridges, concrete tees, nice bathrooms. Wildlife like foxes and squirrels. Duck pond. Killer elevation changes. Throw off a big hill to a valley on 5. lots of elevation issues (big rolls if you screw up)
Cons: It is a hard course. I throw about 66 at crowley and 81 here. It is a hard course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. Good luck with par on it. Enjoy the day out playing, enjoy the trails, people, and wildlife. Don't think you are going to throw a super game here right off the bat, but do not pass this course up. Worth a trip (I drove over an hour and have no regrets). Took almost 4 hours to play with three of us, but was awesome.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Wow Factor" included

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some of the most aesthetically pleasing looks in the Metroplex. Seems like Arlington scooped up a little piece of Austin
Nice concrete tee boxes
Very challenging course. You'll become a better player the more you play.
Cons: Wish my putter didn't come home with paint from the baskets.... that's a first for me.
The course's feel definitely changes after the 11th hole. I found myself wanting to skip the remaining holes and start the course over.
Glass, Glass, Glass, It seems everywhere you look, there is broken glass
Other Thoughts: Avoid playing Sunday mornings unless you're playing in the "Mini"
Take a map. You'll need it on some of the hole to hole transitions.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Variety of Holes

1    11/12/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The technical variety in your shot selections will be required for many of the holes here. It makes things very interesting and fun.

The long, big, open holes really do balance out all of the shorter holes. For the strong arms, these big holes will be a lot of fun!

The basket placements are really nice. For example, I was glad that the basket was hidden into the tree on hole 1 rather having it being put in the open field.

Hole 4 through 7, I thought, was pretty nice with different lines (shots) you can take. These are definitely more technical.

I can see that there are some new tee boxes on many of the holes, and they are really big. It makes your ability to do a run-up much easier. I also noticed that, from the comments, the tee signs are relatively new too.

I thought the tee signs, as they were, are pretty good and well-designed.
Cons: My main problems with this course are consisting of two things.

First of all, the navigation is a bit tricky. I played with a friend who have played the course in the past, which made it easier. However, if I played by myself, I could see myself getting a bit confused. Incorporating "Next Tee" signs on at least few holes may be beneficial.

Second thing: the baskets. It appeared to me that they were new? I really thought the baskets were sub-par in quality. I also didn't think they were regulation-size? I also fond it odd that the baskets were spray-painted? Few of my discs got the silver paint all over them due to hitting the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely have a fun factor to it. It has the elevation changes, different lines to the baskets, a mix of open and tight holes, and you can't get too bored playing this course.

Who is this for? I think the more experienced players will enjoy this course more, mainly because of the technical holes. Newbies may get frustrated with all the trees/elevation changes coming into play and the wind on the big, long holes.

I did not see any alternate tee pads. I thought with the alternate pin placements that this course might also have alternate tee pads. (i.e. championship tees or amateur tee pads) I think this would help give more playing options for newbies and seasoned pros.

I'll definitely come back here again and again. It's a lot of fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.