Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 3/2013)
-- / --   3 / 250ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
  The Vet

5+    11/13/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: saldawg13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Veterans Park is one of my favorite courses in the metroplex, partly because it is my home course. The park has great variation of shots and elevation change. The new tees signs are amazing and many holes have newer tee pads. The walk through the park is a nice little nature hike and the scenery is always awesome. The Vet offers intermediate players a great place to hone their skills. And if played from the many champion tees can even give seasoned pros a run for their money.
Cons: The only con about veterans is that for people playing there their first time it can be easy to get lost. However most of the locals will be more than happy to help new player navigate the course without getting lost. I myself have help many people get through the course. During the summer and fall it can be easy to lose a disc if your not careful but if you spend enough time looking one should be able to find it.
Other Thoughts: The vet can chew beginning players up real fast until they learn the lines to throw. I have been playing Veterans for a little over a year just as long as I have been playing. And I have never broke even par on the regular tee layout. ( I have been close before) But if you learn all the champion tees and the short tees this course will provide plenty of new challenges and loads of fun for ever player level.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course to hone your game

5+    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: araytx
Played: 132  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding variation and need to utilize everything in your bag. Multiple pin placements make it never boring to re-play and the local club makes reasonably regular changes. There are bomber holes, technical holes, elevation both up & down, boles where you MUST hit the landing zone to make the 3, a couple true par fours when pins in certain positions, over the top holes, roller holes, birdie holes that are not "gimmes", and pretty much everything else. And if that doesn't hit your fancy are you play it often, learn where the championship tee boxes are for holes 1, 2, 5, 8, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, and 18.
Cons: If you're not familiar with the course, it can be hard to find the next tee on 3-11, even with brand new accurate tee signs; the bathrooms by 1/5 and 15/17 are rarely unlocked; the up/down on 4 through 8 will tax you, especially on a hot day;
Other Thoughts: Par 4 is more accurate on 1-B position, 3-C position, and championship tee's 1, 2, 8, 12, 17, and 18. New trapezoid tee boxes for about a year now have made a marked improvement. Ovcrall a great course with plenty of challenge. You need to score well to compete (stay under 54), but that makes every throw count here. YOu truly cannot afford bogeys and still score well.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pain followed by pleasure

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course makes the most of what the park has to offer. Lots of elevation changes, the holes that cut through trees have decent sized fairways, and theres a tee sign at every hole. The back nine is excellent, playing up and down gentle hills making the most of every shot.
Cons: The front half can be tough to navigate. Playing up and down hills that are a good hike, if you go the wrong way you end up backtracking uphill, and wearing yourself out even more. Hole 3 and 1 almost share a fairway, so if its crowded you could have problems. 6 and 7 run paralell uphill, so finish 6, go back down, throw and climb the hill again. Frojm there 8 is nearly impossible to find without help, go left and down the hill a way you haven't been, take a left at the path, and a right at the cutout in the rock.
Other Thoughts: The front half was laid out well, but it was exhausting, and then we got lost so we walked more than we had to. The back half is one of my favorites in texas. The hot summer has made the ground very dry amd pacaked, its gonna chew up your discs, but you could get some good rollers. The open fairways and uphil shots make wind a real problem here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My First Time Was Here

2-4    9/15/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets. Well built tee boxes. Maps at each tee box. Amazing terrain. Tight shots in the woods to long drives in fields.
Cons: None. Well, we did find what looked like an old bum camp and you can tell people have gone off into the woods to do things other than play disc golf. We didn't have any problems though.
Other Thoughts: My first two rounds were played here. One throw and I was hooked. Once we got a few holes in, I had swallowed the hook. This place is gorgeous! Drought be darned. It's a forest in a city. We saw a real live roadrunner. There is some steepish walking to do in the woods. All the more fun. It's like hiking meets disc golf. I'll admit, part of my rating is due to being blown away by this existing in Arlington.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in DFW

5+    5/9/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
- Great variety of shots - long, short, flat, elevation, trees, open, hyzers, anhyzers, and combinations there of.
- No water hazards to lose a disc.
- Nice concrete tee pads and signs.
Cons:
- Hard to navigate the front 9 without help.
Other Thoughts:
This is my favorite course in DFW because of all the variety. It never gets boring because each hole is challenging in a different way.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, but Rewarding

1    6/19/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. Challenging holes. Great scenery - Friendly locals (I had no problem finding someone to join with that knew the course layout). Great length and a variety of shots. I only carry 9 discs, but I used all of them. Easy to find the park.
Cons: Only two: Very hot, with little shade - bring water when it's hot!
Can be difficult to navigate. Click the links tab and print out a course map.
Other Thoughts: The most challenging course I have played thus far, which is good. If you are better than the course, you won't improve much. This course is better than most Disc golfers. I play close to par at other local courses (Bear Creek, Lake Lewisville). I played probably +18 here, although the first time on a course is always the most difficult.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/26/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: r_raccuglia
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This coarse has lots of great shots that will test your game. It is one of the best coarses in the metroplex for sure. The park is well maintained.
Cons: Bring your big shot discs cause your going to need them. There can be a crowd of beginers to slow up your game at times. Also bring water when the temp is high due to lack of shade.
Other Thoughts: I started playing on this coarse from the begining and consider it to be my home coarse.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran's is Veteran Like

5+    1/22/2010   1/31/2010
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Plethora of shots required, test your skills
-Wooded, Open, Elevation changes, beautiful scenery, good signs, great layout of course, nice outdoor trek, concrete tees, friendly locals
Cons: Hard to find next Tee, no water shots
Other Thoughts: What an amazing course, kudos to the course designer, love it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Mecca of Dallas Area Disc Golf

5+    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: varied terrain and elevation changes with a good mix of long and short, open and wooded holes. Quality tee pads and disc catchers- multiple pin placements and nice people playing the course
Cons: Only 18 holes, I wish there were more
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Texas and Dallas. If you are in the Dallas area looking for a unique course to play, this is one to put on your list.
**After Hole 12, you can walk across the street to the convenience store and get a gatorade or buy discs, I'm just sayin... it can get hot so put some cash in your bag.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans has it all

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique landscape, this course has it all!! here at veterans you have:

1. Monster Drives(1, 6,7, and the back side)

2. Short Technical hole(4,10,15)

3. Straight decent distance drives(2,11)

4. sitting on top of a perch throwing downhill ( 5 :)

5.Well you just have to play it :)

This course is so diverse, and is probably one of the best courses i have ever played at. From hole one(one of the most beautiful holes ever) you realize this course is legit. you have to you every shot you have. you have to bomb it out there, you have to hit holes, throw up hill, downhill, left doglegs, right doglegs, EVERYTHING. Even the scenery changes. you start off in a field at hole 1 and as you progress to hole4 the landscape turns into cactus and mesquites(like a desert) and the technical holes begin.then you have the elevation of holes 5,6 and 7 that come to mind( which is very rare in this area). then after 11 you begin the big open field drives where its nice to have those 400" drives(that i dont have) which seem like they would be easy, but with the big open areas wind is ALWAYS present. after the three monster holes you have on the back you come up to 15 which is a short ace run(which is always nice for the arm) and then 16 is a short right downhill dogleg. then to finish out the round you have two of the most beautiful holes in the park, a nice treat to end the round.

Well maintained and plenty of golfers to pick up a round with.

Minis every wednesday and sunday with good turnouts
Cons: sometimes hard to find holes if its your first time. i would suggest finding someone who has played here often to help you out and show you the way.

Wow is it a walk...but hey thats part of it right, i guess im just lazy lol

cant think of anything else, what can i say this park is awesome

Other Thoughts: always busy but the course is so spread out you usually dont have to worry about waits, usually.

very good club, very good turnout at minis, with some great competition

***update*****
as of 7/18/09 a couple baskets have changed pin location for the "fling"...some of these holes are hard to find so i figured id try to help out a little bit.
hole 1 is closer to the field now, still tucked away in the woods but only half the distance in

hole 2 you will see after leaving hole 1, pin is now on right side of fairway

hole 4 is now on top of the hill to the right of the tee pad. short 130' thumber or anny

hole 6 is straight ahead in the short

hole 7 is deep straight and to the left

hole 10 is still on top of the hill straight ahead, just about 50' closer

hole 18 is now on top of the hill to the right instead of straight ahead.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.