Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / 341ft.   3 / 541ft.   3 / 590ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 73
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Putt-Putt but no Clown

1    4/24/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are a few good things to say about this course: 1) Concrete Tee Boxes, 2) 18 holes, 3) Varying terrain.
Cons: Whoever planned this course was either a non-player or simply masochistic. Hiding the baskets in a group of trees to make the course "challenging" is like putting a golf ball up a ramp while avoiding the windmill. To make matters worse most of the first 8 baskets cannot be seen from the tee boxes and a newcomer has to make a guess based on the signage. Luck has a lot to do with most of the holes. If you are lucky you will miss the trees between you and the basket and all of the ones around the basket (which you can't see anyway). The signs show the "general" direction of the next tee box but the emphasis should be on "general". It is necessary to do some searching for the next tee box. Most of the course needs updating with newer baskets, cleared out brush to allow lanes to the baskets, and better signage. Also, there is no way to know which position the baskets are in which means it is necessary to go and look for the basket BEFORE throwing from many of the tee boxes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Myriad of shots!

2-4    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variability in presentation, orientation, length, elevation.

-Great tee pads.

-Good signage (although enough with the "Melk"ing already)

-They do a great job of moving the baskets here; 5 have been moved in the last month!

-Close to that Quickie Mart that sells tons of discs (be sure to haggle over price because he is ~$4 over on all discs!)

-No water (but you can still lose discs in the dense forests!)

-Get a chance to use those under stable discs I can't use on my home course.
Cons: -On a windy day it can be tough.

-Not sure I agree with all Par 3s.

-Some of holes are blind (4, 5, 8, 9)
Other Thoughts: This place (although a bit isolated from other courses) is worth a shot if you come to DFW to play DG. You will get some exercise because there is more elevation than most DFW courses!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pros and cons

1    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: dyerjol
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging, varied terrain
Cons: Some of the baskets are not numbered, which is confusing since the holes sometimes criss-cross. Some moron(s) wrote "melk" (among other things) on most, if not all, of the signage, obscuring maps.
Other Thoughts: This would probably be a fun course if accompanying a local. Without a guide, it is an exercise in frustration.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Vet's Review

5+    1/31/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: JUSPUTITONMYTAB
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course so my review may come off as a bit biased.

-Course is very challenging with a wide variety of different shots.
-Maps on each hole are very descriptive showing alternate pins and distances/pars for each location.
-OB, elevation, and trees come in to play on basically every hole with the exception of some field holes on the back 9.
-Convenience stores are located around the course as well as the DFW Disc Golf Center which is just down Arkansas Rd. from the course.
-Locals play here regularly so if you are new and needing help with course navigation you can easily ask many of the other players for help.

I'm sure there's many more Pros to be said, but I'll leave it at that.
Cons: -This course gets pretty heavy traffic on nice days from both disc golfers and joggers/walkers. You may find yourself yelling "FOUR" on more than one occasion.
-Along with the heavy traffic comes liter around the park. Unfortunately service workers don't spend as much time on the course as they used to so overflowing of trash cans will occur.
-The red dirt all throughout the area causes extreme heat during the Spring/Summer times. You'll probably want to wear a hat and sunglasses if playing out there during those times.
Other Thoughts: All around this is definitely one of my top 5 courses in North Texas and I love that I am able to play it so much due to it's location. I do believe that playing this course so much has made me a better player on other courses.

Have fun and go throw some plastic!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Newbie dissapointed

1    10/6/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: 2003F150Lariat
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging course
Lots of long drives
A couple of shorties to keep the course interesting
Loved the concrete tee boxes
Great elevation changes.
Cons: Most the "multiple pin locations" were missing the actual baskets.
#6 was actually marked with a number 8 on top of the basket.
Lack of navigation for the holes.
Other Thoughts: Had fun and would play again. Enjoy the challenge

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging is an understatement

5+    7/7/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: NickH80
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one challenging and fun course. There is a good mix of long and short holes as well as left and right. There are elevation changes on roughly half of the holes. There are multiple basket locations for each hole which keeps the course fresh. Concrete tee pads throughout course.
Cons: The first time playing it we had to search for about an hour when going from Hole 7 to Hole 8.
Other Thoughts: There is a tournament here on Sundays so I would recommend getting started before 10am.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs for each hole showing the layout of the holes. The course has a nice layout and flows really well. The course has a great variety downhill and uphill as well as close(tight) holes and wide open holes.
Cons: I was not familiar with course so I spent a lot of time walking the holes just to find the basket to throw at. I like being able to see or at least have an idea where the basket is from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: All in all a really great course for this area. I live close so that's an added benefit. If your in the area and are looking for a great course this is it!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 VETS in the best

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: freshcoastdev
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: such a great course, but it is very taxing and very tough especially for beginners.
Cons: requires lots of walking up and down hills.
Other Thoughts: i believe this is the best course in the metroplex complimentary to lester lorch.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Veteran's Park

1    12/20/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well designed great mix of shots. Will take every shot in your bag. Course has considerable elevation changes and a great mix of obstacles.
Cons: Parts of the front nine can be difficult to navigate.
REALLY HOT in the summer (as is anywhere in TX) - bring water.
Other Thoughts: Great course - a must play if you're in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Still Addicted to This Course

5+    9/15/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I moved to Dallas 4 years ago, and started playing local courses, this course became my home course even though it was at least a 45 minute drive. With more than 50 local courses, that says something. Now I live more than an hour and 20 minutes away, and I still drive there every month to host a women's league in conjunction with the local mini.

Baskets are nice. There are three sets of tees. The middle set of tees has nice concrete pads and tee signs. There are at least 2 pin placements on every hole, and 3 on several holes, plus a strong local club to move the baskets regularly and keep the course in good condition. However, hole 9 has been stuck in the left pin position for as long as I can remember. Someone told me they can't get it out of the anchor.

A really good mix of holes. The short tees generally require more technical lines, while the other sets of tees require long bombs and/or overheads. Elevation is pronounced on about half the holes. The three really long, open, and flat holes are arranged at various angles to test or develop wind play skills for when the wind is up.

Probably the best selection brick and mortar disc golf store in the area is one block away. As you leave the park, turn right at the light and and the Quickstop is at the next light in the little strip mall on the right.

After hole 12, you can cross the street and use the restroom at the convenience store. Put a little cash in your pocket for drinks, snacks, etc. Can you say ice cream on a hot day, or a gallon of cold water?
Cons: Navigation is tough even on the marked middle set of tees. Forget about about playing the short tees without a guide. They are dirt tees and unmarked. Same for the champ tees, which shouldn't be played without a spotter anyway.

The course is notoriously overhead friendly, and non-overhead punitive. If you have a long arm and a good overhead shot, you can score well here, and you might find the regular tees don't provide the challenge you are looking for in a casual round once you've solved the shot placement puzzle.

The main restrooms are usually locked, and there are no portolets.

Muddy after rain, with enough elevation to make for hazardous footing in muddy conditions.

I know some people who use carts here, but I wouldn't consider many of these holes to be very cart friendly, and too rough and elevated to risk bringing the baby in a stroller.

Popularity of the course makes for long waits, with people cutting in on hole 5 quite frequently. Some pedestrians occasionally get in the way, but it's rare for one to try and pick up your disc and throw it back to you (although I've seen this happen). Hole 1 occasionally attracts a kite or model rocket flying father and child, and I've even seen a coach doing soccer practice there once, but they learn soon enough. So it's not a regular thing.

Vandalism at this course is out of control, with people setting pavilions on fire, stealing baskets, trashing signs, etc.

Other Thoughts: This course is not one to play for the first time in a tournament. Shot placement is key on many holes, and will require a blind overhead in many cases. In past years, SSA on 18 from the permanent tees s about a 50, so a 50 would be about a 1000 rated round. They've been adding 3 temp holes in recent years at tournaments that are pretty much birdie holes for pros. The course record from the permanent tees is 42, and has stood for over 10 years. It was set by John Maiuro.

I feel neutral on the lack of water. Actually, I hate water, but I know some would consider the lack of water a con, so I didn't include in the pros. Water does come into play on 9 if you get a really unlucky roll, but it doesn't affect the way to play the hole at all. At the A tier and ice bowl tournaments, one of the temp holes is usually over the pond with the fountain.

Honestly, I have a hard time justifying a 4 for this course after playing courses like those at Selah, but any course this popular and addictive is something special.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.