Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / 175ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
A diverse set of challenges

2-4    6/15/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, exceptional diversity. You will not get bored with the layout. You will never feel like you are throwing the same hole twice. It really has just about everything. Multiple pin positions, wooded, elevation, distance, beauty, and nice corner store that sells plastic, and cold beverages near by.

On a 15+ mph day the open long holes can really eat your lunch. This course will be tough to finish Par or under your first few times out. Especially if you don't have a somewhat accurate 350ft + drive.

Good signage on all the holes. Seating at almost all the tee boxes. Good long course with diverse terrain will give you some exercise as well as a scenic DG experience.
Cons: For beginners this course can definitely be a beating. You might think there is no way to get to the basket in 3 throws. And you might be right, but in time, with the right disc for your style and some tweaks in your "power grip" you may be surprised to find Par 3 is right, it's just a little harder to achieve than the Par 3's at your local 9 hole. :)

Really the only con I can think of, is that it is a challenge and a lot of walking including up and down some rocky slopes. And I claimed those things above as pros, as well. Will depend on your specific preference. I love it, personally.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, this is a very pretty course with great use of the terrain and land available. I fell in love with this course first time I played it. It's not easy. You aren't going to come out here and get an ace your first time, but if you aren't afraid of a challenge and you want a course that will force you to work on a variety of different throws, through a variety of different setting, you will not be disappointed. I really think this is a destination course. Worth a road trip to play it, if you consider yourself to be a disc golfer. :) have fun, take it in.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Putt-Putt but no Clown

1    4/24/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: There are a few good things to say about this course: 1) Concrete Tee Boxes, 2) 18 holes, 3) Varying terrain.
Cons: Whoever planned this course was either a non-player or simply masochistic. Hiding the baskets in a group of trees to make the course "challenging" is like putting a golf ball up a ramp while avoiding the windmill. To make matters worse most of the first 8 baskets cannot be seen from the tee boxes and a newcomer has to make a guess based on the signage. Luck has a lot to do with most of the holes. If you are lucky you will miss the trees between you and the basket and all of the ones around the basket (which you can't see anyway). The signs show the "general" direction of the next tee box but the emphasis should be on "general". It is necessary to do some searching for the next tee box. Most of the course needs updating with newer baskets, cleared out brush to allow lanes to the baskets, and better signage. Also, there is no way to know which position the baskets are in which means it is necessary to go and look for the basket BEFORE throwing from many of the tee boxes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Myriad of shots!

2-4    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variability in presentation, orientation, length, elevation.

-Great tee pads.

-Good signage (although enough with the "Melk"ing already)

-They do a great job of moving the baskets here; 5 have been moved in the last month!

-Close to that Quickie Mart that sells tons of discs (be sure to haggle over price because he is ~$4 over on all discs!)

-No water (but you can still lose discs in the dense forests!)

-Get a chance to use those under stable discs I can't use on my home course.
Cons: -On a windy day it can be tough.

-Not sure I agree with all Par 3s.

-Some of holes are blind (4, 5, 8, 9)
Other Thoughts: This place (although a bit isolated from other courses) is worth a shot if you come to DFW to play DG. You will get some exercise because there is more elevation than most DFW courses!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

pros and cons

1    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: dyerjol
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging, varied terrain
Cons: Some of the baskets are not numbered, which is confusing since the holes sometimes criss-cross. Some moron(s) wrote "melk" (among other things) on most, if not all, of the signage, obscuring maps.
Other Thoughts: This would probably be a fun course if accompanying a local. Without a guide, it is an exercise in frustration.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Vet's Review

5+    1/31/2014   1/31/2014
Review By: JUSPUTITONMYTAB
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course so my review may come off as a bit biased.

-Course is very challenging with a wide variety of different shots.
-Maps on each hole are very descriptive showing alternate pins and distances/pars for each location.
-OB, elevation, and trees come in to play on basically every hole with the exception of some field holes on the back 9.
-Convenience stores are located around the course as well as the DFW Disc Golf Center which is just down Arkansas Rd. from the course.
-Locals play here regularly so if you are new and needing help with course navigation you can easily ask many of the other players for help.

I'm sure there's many more Pros to be said, but I'll leave it at that.
Cons: -This course gets pretty heavy traffic on nice days from both disc golfers and joggers/walkers. You may find yourself yelling "FOUR" on more than one occasion.
-Along with the heavy traffic comes liter around the park. Unfortunately service workers don't spend as much time on the course as they used to so overflowing of trash cans will occur.
-The red dirt all throughout the area causes extreme heat during the Spring/Summer times. You'll probably want to wear a hat and sunglasses if playing out there during those times.
Other Thoughts: All around this is definitely one of my top 5 courses in North Texas and I love that I am able to play it so much due to it's location. I do believe that playing this course so much has made me a better player on other courses.

Have fun and go throw some plastic!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Newbie dissapointed

1    10/6/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: 2003F150Lariat
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging course
Lots of long drives
A couple of shorties to keep the course interesting
Loved the concrete tee boxes
Great elevation changes.
Cons: Most the "multiple pin locations" were missing the actual baskets.
#6 was actually marked with a number 8 on top of the basket.
Lack of navigation for the holes.
Other Thoughts: Had fun and would play again. Enjoy the challenge

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging is an understatement

5+    7/7/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: NickH80
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one challenging and fun course. There is a good mix of long and short holes as well as left and right. There are elevation changes on roughly half of the holes. There are multiple basket locations for each hole which keeps the course fresh. Concrete tee pads throughout course.
Cons: The first time playing it we had to search for about an hour when going from Hole 7 to Hole 8.
Other Thoughts: There is a tournament here on Sundays so I would recommend getting started before 10am.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/16/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads and signs for each hole showing the layout of the holes. The course has a nice layout and flows really well. The course has a great variety downhill and uphill as well as close(tight) holes and wide open holes.
Cons: I was not familiar with course so I spent a lot of time walking the holes just to find the basket to throw at. I like being able to see or at least have an idea where the basket is from the teepad.
Other Thoughts: All in all a really great course for this area. I live close so that's an added benefit. If your in the area and are looking for a great course this is it!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 VETS in the best

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: freshcoastdev
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: such a great course, but it is very taxing and very tough especially for beginners.
Cons: requires lots of walking up and down hills.
Other Thoughts: i believe this is the best course in the metroplex complimentary to lester lorch.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Veteran's Park

1    12/20/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 33  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well designed great mix of shots. Will take every shot in your bag. Course has considerable elevation changes and a great mix of obstacles.
Cons: Parts of the front nine can be difficult to navigate.
REALLY HOT in the summer (as is anywhere in TX) - bring water.
Other Thoughts: Great course - a must play if you're in the area.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.