Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 147ft.   3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun, hilly setting is a classic Texas classic course that pays homage to the big-arm hyzer.

5+    9/9/2006   1/28/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 224  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now in it's 20th year, Veteran's has aged gracefully and has the distinction of having challenged and honed the skills of Texas disc golfers since the 80s. Fast discs have made the course easier, but they haven't made it easy. It's an incredibly popular course, but if you can catch it on a day it's not packed, you're in for a real treat.

Veteran's offers more elevation change and great elevation shots than almost any other course in Texas, and is especially notable for the D/FW Metroplex area, which has a lot of fairly flat courses. From the first hole, Veteran's will start teaching you how to use elevation and how to approach/putt on elevation. I can only think of two holes (2 and 13) where some degree of elevation isn't a factor.

Even on hole 12 -- the big, wide field shot, there is just enough elevation to make the hole trickier. In the long pin you can't see the basket from the tee, so you've got to air out over the slight ridge, and then make your approach shot down a slight hill, usually with massive winds throwing your disc all over the place. I know some reviewers don't like the couple of field holes, but I think they give good balance to the course and often make use of the tearing Texas wind to challenge a whole different set of skills in your game.

The course has a great mix of holes -- many are very memorable. Hole 1 is one of the best places in the country to launch a whole bag of discs and watch them work. Hole 5 is a memorable shot out over the tops of a sea of trees, having to guess the wind to have any idea where your disc will land. Hole 17 (short pin) is this 360' slight downhill into a hole that just BEGS to be aced (I can't count how many times I've hit metal on this and never stuck). Hole 18 (hilltop placement) is a great hole where you can huck to the moon off the tee trying to get up the hill.

Despite having abnormal amounts of elevation for a Texas course, Veteran's does feel like Texas, thanks to the scrubby trees, dusty paths, rocks, cactus, and blazing sun. And I mean this as a compliment. Veteran's is the most uniquely "TEXAS" of the D/FW courses and I don't think any visitor will leave unhappy as long as they find a local to show them all the holes.
Cons: The course is busy, and this can make for frustratingly long rounds at time; especially on weekends when the course is backed up with large groups.

Sometimes the busy is not just disc golfers. Unlike other disc golf parks I've played in, Veteran's often is home to folks in Renaissance or other war/medieval garb dashing about in the woods, brandishing foam swords or other weapons, and blissfully ignorant of the danger they face from flying discs. This is not frequently a problem, but happens often enough (especially on weekends) to be worth mentioning. Make sure you're errant shot doesn't take out a knight-errant. ;)

Teepads are a mixed bag out here. Some are great, some are very mediocre, though they have improved them greatly over the years.

Signage is fair, at best. Tee signs don't have any way to specify which basket is in place (and you often can't see the baskets from the tee), and there is very little to help you navigate the course if you don't know your way around. The first time I played this course years ago, I was with my Dad and brother, and we gave up in frustration after 7 holes. The tricky walk between 7 and 8 is non-intuitive. Other places on the course aren't AS frustrating, but directional signage is cheap and is of immense importance to first-time players.

Some places on the course have amazing amounts of broken glass. Hole 8 in particular, but the course as a whole has more glass than almost any course I've played. There are places you don't want to fall and wouldn't put your knee down for balance on a tricky shot.

Course has great elevation but seldom forces a wide variety of shots. This may sound strange, but most of the trees are short enough that you can throw big hyzers and avoid most of the obstacles on the course. Some of this depends on the basket placements, but for the most part, big RHBH hyzers will solve your problems 90% of the time on this course -- which works great for some folks, but is a limitation of the course in my opinion. Forcing more variety would be nice. Visually, there are a lot of trees on the course, but once you realize you can just go higher, the course gets a LOT easier.

In my opinion, the course is limited by having only par 3 holes. Admittedly, it has several challenging par 3s (holes 1, 3L, 8, 12L, 14L, 18), but it still doesn't have the range you would hope for on a course with this much great land. Again, this is largely a factor of the low trees that you can hyzer over -- it reduces the need for strategy and placement shots. Most holes, you run a big high hyzer for the birdie and hope you can your putt. This is great fun, but not a challenge that will improve your depth as a player long-term.

Despite all the trees, this course has very little shade. Playing in summer can be a blistering experience out in the sun, and you will be bone-dry a few holes into the round. Take plenty of water, and good footwear for the rocks and cactus.

Only one set of tees are present, and only about half of the baskets have alternate placements. The course is so much fun that this doesn't really hurt replay value, but it should be mentioned.
Other Thoughts: Veteran's is incredibly fun to play. The locals who run tournaments are a great bunch, and the Veteran's Park Open and Fahrenheit Fling are very enjoyable events.

If the course signage were upgraded, I would be tempted to give this course 4 stars, because it really is a great experience to go out to Veterans to play.

I learned to play in Dallas and moved away a couple of years ago, and Veteran's is the course I miss the most in D/FW. It's not necessarily the best course in the area, but it is a unique experience. You'll never birdie the same holes two rounds back to back; you'll never quite hit the perfect round, and it will keep you coming back for more. And the wind changes so much it alters the whole course, scoring and strategy with a slight shift of the prevailing wind direction.

I've played all over the country, and Veteran's still holds a special place in my heart the way few other courses do. It is the course that forced me to learn a high backhand hyzer because I needed it there to keep up. Poor signage and limited shot requirements are what will keep it from ever being a "great" course. But regardless, it is a great experience that I highly recommend to anyone who is in the D/FW area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse!!!

1    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great course!!! Incredible mix of terrain and elevation changes! You go from a semi desert type terrain to a more green park like setting. Great concrete, tee pads, good signage, great mix of short technical holes and long wide-open stuff too!!! Friendly locals, both DGer's and others just out enjoying the park. I played this course with most of the leaves and vegitaion knocked down in the winter, I can only imagine how the level of difficutly grows when this course is fully vegitaged!!! Awesome course one of my new fav's!!! Will definately be back!!!
Cons: Only real con I found was in navigation from the #6 basket to the #7 tee... We found it after a bit but a little point in the right direction would have been nice. Also noticed a bunch of broken glass throughout the course... probably wouldn't recommend playing this one in flip-flops...
Other Thoughts: This park is awesome!!! Well maintained(except for all the broken glass). Basically just a fun and very challengeing course!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique landscape makes the course

5+    4/24/2007   11/4/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.7 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like others have said below, the landscape in the park is quite varied and has a very rugged/hilly area that's unusual for the DFW area...lots of red-dirt, rocky hills and cacti.

Plenty of shot variety....long/open, short/tight, giant downhill/uphill and everything in between. Through the course of a round you're likely to pull out every shot in your bag.

The landscape is such that it naturally splits the course into a few distinct sections...1 and 3 are in a slightly hilly and grassy area, 4-7 play through the rocky and extremely hilly area, 8-11 or 12 play through a moderately wooded area with some slight elevation changes, the next several play in a flat/open/grassy area before going back to the moderately wooded area.

Many very unique holes...1, 6, 7, and 18 (in the hilltop position) come to mind. Also, several have multiple pin locations.
Cons: A few of the concrete tees are a bit short/narrow and have a decent drop-off on the sides.

I think someone said this below, but some of the baskets seem small or too low to the ground.

For me, the biggest Con are the flat/open holes on the back 9....it seems that holes could have been designed in a more interesting area of the park. There are 16 really fun/challenging holes...and then 2 that are wide open field shots...pretty boring.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most popular courses in the DFW, and for good reasons! Every time I've played the course it's busy but not too crowded.

The local club is very active, and has gained a lot of notariety for the Veteran's Park Open (VPO), one of the state's richest events.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 pure fun

1    9/22/2008   9/22/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Amazing topography, with a mix of gentle grassy hills dotted with mature trees, to steep rocky/cacti covered hills with oak trees and scrub brush.
- Great tough design allowing big arms to often wail, but need some accuracy especially in wind, and it's key to have good upshots.
- Well balanced
- Cement tee pads, well maintained, course map at bulletin board
- Features some unique shots, stunning fairways and some views over a tree line unlike you normally get in Texas
- Little to NO poison ivy in play, unusual for this region, making it enjoyable and easy to play from a bad drive.
Cons: - Baskets are kind of tiny, looks like they installed improperly.
- A bit tough to find #5,6,7,8 tee pads without the map. Sign needed after #7 to show how to find #8 as it could be very hard to find!
- Rough on your plastic on a few holes, bring no D/DX plastic.
- Physically tiring making it tough to play 5 rounds back to back, which you will want to do.
Other Thoughts: Wear sunscreen, bring lots of water, take a picture of the map and bring it with you but it is navigable without. Little/NO Ivy.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!!!

5+    7/28/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has some great long holes for unleashing the power throw as well as some medium distance technical throws through the trees. There are a lot of holes where you are throwing at a basket that you cannot see from the teebox. About half of the holes are on the nice green park area and the other half is very rugged and desertlike. There are dramatic changes in elevation that really enhance the challenge and fun of this course. On hole 5 you throw out about 350 feet over the tops of trees to a basket that you cannot see...definitely my favorite hole out there.
Cons: Some of the tee boxes are too short, requiring you to adjust your approach. The signs don't show the distances (they do, but are so faded that you can't read them) There are alternate pin positions. Normally this would be good, but when you can't see the basket from the tee, it requires that you walk the hole to find out where the basket is. Hard to navigate. This was my second time to play and I still had a lot of trouble finding the next hole in the rugged portion of the course. Some arrows would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this course a 5 hands down if it were prettier. It is somewhat scenic, but not the prettiest course around. Definitely a disc golfers paradise though. It was my fourth course of the day and I played in 108 degree Texas heat and still had a blast!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/8/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has a very high fun factor due to the varitey of holes and the use of many great elevation drops.

The course is beautiful due to it's hilly terrain and large number of trees.

There are multiple pin positions (...but see con #1).

It has concrete teepads and a practice basket

When you get tired of the trees the course opens up with about four holes out in an open field so you can really air out some discs.

Cons: 1. You may have to walk ahead on a few of the blind holes to find out which pin position the basket is in.

2. The lack of shade, especially on the open field holes, make this course not as fun in the midday summer sun .

3. First timers may have some difficulty locating the next tee pad on a few holes.

Other Thoughts: It is a fun memorable course and I highly reccommend it. Just make sure you don't park in the wrong parking area like we did and walk around for thirty minutes looking for hole #1.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The Course of Many Faces

5+    12/17/2009   7/9/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
23 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has so many different types of holes. It is like playing 4 types of courses in one. There is the wide open, the rocky, the hilly, and the woodsy. Think of it like playing in the Midwest and then heading over to the desert valley for a few holes. After that, you take a jaunt through the Northwest and then through some farmland only to end up at a nice woodsy park. There are bathrooms and lots of trashcans. Those are nice things to have around. ;) I wish more courses did that. They have signs on almost every hole and are really keeping this place looking great!
Cons: Finding you way from hole to hole through the front 9 is a challenge even with the tee signs pointing the way to the next hole. You might want strong supportive shoes. In other words, I don't really see this as a place for sandals. ;) This course being all par 3's is kind of a stretch, but hey in this sport, we are kind of used to that. It is also a bit frustrating not knowing which basket to throw at, as they seem to change these up regularly.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly play with someone your first couple of times through. I met a few lost people on that front nine besides myself. ;) It truly is an amazing trek.

The blind shots off some of the cliff-like perches tend to make you think you will never find your disc. However, the paths are so well defined between the vegetation, that searching for your discs is not really that bad if you have a bright contrasting color that is.

Some of these holes are just so fun to play, it makes you want to go back and play them again. You will use all your shots here in a day. The layout of the holes will force you to.

Many of the holes in the desert terrain and Northwest like area leave you with no way to see the baskets from the tee. I do wish the signs would have a dot on them telling you which basket to play, so you don't have to walk ahead on some of those holes before teeing off.

This is one of the better courses in the Fort Worth area. If you are coming here from out of town, this is a must play!!! AND if you live in the Dallas-Fort Worth area and have not played here, umm…need I say more? :D

23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Summertime tips

7/5/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: jlui
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As others have stated, Veterans has a lot to offer as far as variety in landscape and shot opportunity. It deserves a high rating due to the uniqueness, style, difficulty, maintenance, and fun level.
Cons: Beginning players will most likely not like the course due to the difficulty. A seasoned recreational player will find themselves averaging around 70 with a few pars. On the flip side, getting good at this course can only help to improve your overall game. Something to consider for those beginners.
Other Thoughts: If you are new to this course, these tips may help.

Star and Championship plastic are the way to go on this course. It will really give your DX discs some "character".
Bring at least one buddy. You can spot each other on some of the blind holes (4 and 5 in particular).
Holes 6 and 7 don't need a spotter but it helps to aim for the open areas on the path the first time or two through rather than trying to go for the pin on your drive. The distance is deceiving and will save you a couple strokes and time looking for your discs.
Same with hole 9. Aim for the open spot between the two sets of trees. Most of the time the basket is tucked away in the dogleg left position. You don't want to go past the basket too much, there is a pretty big drop off and during rainy season the water is high.
On hole 10, stay to the right of the big clump of trees. The hole is up the hill and beyond those trees but you don't want to be in them. There is a fence to the left of the trees. Don't go that way.
The rest of the course is easy to find and opens into the park once again.

This is Texas. During the Summer this course plays really hot since there are only a few holes with trees that are really built for shade. Playing early even in July and August is not too bad. We play at 7:00 AM and get in all 18 before 9:30 AM in a group of 4-6 recreational players.

We have played this course 20+ times and have never lost a disc yet. Use a spotter on the blind holes and you'll be fine.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 like playing two diffrent areas

1    4/28/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the course is a constant change, first 3 open, next 8 or so in a wooded area, that leads you to 3 more wide open, and then more wooded but open area. you will need to be able to throw a variety of shots, from long and open on one, to a hard dog leg left on 3, to tight and straight on 4, to open and very long into the wind or cross winds on the back, and fnishing up on a whole that just isnt right on 18, but it makes for a fun expereince, course is well maintaiend with nice tee pads, does have tee pads and signs that help suggest shots, starts and finishes close to parking lot
Cons: some arrows or pointers could be helpful to get to the next hole as some are a leap of faith and following trails made by previous disc golfers, some holes share fairways (1/3) so keep your head up (or down depending on how you want to look at it)
Other Thoughts: be prepared to loose a disc, 4 and 5 are rough as you may loose sight of your disc in a heavily wooded area (i suggest having an orange disc something that sticks out), or a disc that your are willing to part with

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hard course for the best only

6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: DiscGolfJunkie
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Veterans Park is a terrific course. The variety that Veterans Park offers is terrific because it demands that you are proficient in all shots that are in your bag. The course is just the right balance of difficult par 3's and some easier ones to bring the people of the metroplex out to the course. I enjoy the fact that there are alot of holes that are unique and you cannot find them anywhere else. Veterans Park is loaded with disc golf tradition and is one of the pioneering courses in the North Texas area.
Cons: In the summer the heat can be brutal and sometimes holes 4-7 can be a beast. Lots of locals call it the desert.... It is not very barren but just alot of elevation changes and sometimes it gets a little too frustrating for the beginners and casual players.
Other Thoughts: Forget what the guy said about Veterans being overrated and all that trash..... Sounds like someone that shot a few too many bogeys and double boges. If you want to develop all the shots that the game asks for.... come to Veterans. Even the convenience stores locally have AWESOME discs to choose from.....

Point is Veterans is AWESOME....

Dare you to play it

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.