Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 229ft.   3 / 429ft.   3 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Veteran's

2-4    3/28/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 62  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The two halves of the course really have a very different feel. After the initial few holes, it goes into some holes that are very treed up (mostly smaller cedars) with a lot of elevation change. The other holes look largely like holes you typically see at multi-use parks. The park-like holes and more wilderness type holes have very different feels to them, and make for a real variety in the holes. There are some shorter holes, but plenty of longer ones as well. There are multiple pins on all of the holes (3 locations on some of them), and they seem to be moved by the club pretty regularly.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate, especially the first half. Even with people who have played it a fair bit (but not regularly since we're an hour out of Arlington) we still go to the wrong spot for the next tee occasionally. This is really the biggest con, you really want to find someone to play this with the first time.
It also gets a bit rough in some places, the first half is very unfriendly if you go off of the fairways. Although any course in Texas will be really hot in the summer, this one is particularly brutal.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

What a gem

1    10/4/2015   10/7/2015
Review By: mavsfan0434
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Too many to name. Good tees, baskets, layout. So awesome to find a course with that kind elevation changes in a relatively flat area.
Other Thoughts: While my high score does not reflect it, this was by far my favorite disc golf experience thus far. I could see where this would be REALLY tough in the heat of Texas summer, and hard for someone who hasn't played there to navigate. Luckily I was with friends who had. It gets crowded so come early, even at 7:30 AM on a Sunday, we were one of 4-5 groups teeing off.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mesquite Thorns! What's not to like?

2-4    6/10/2015   8/31/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: + It's a very challenging course.
+ Whole lotta elevation challenges.
Cons: -Hated not being able to see the pin from the tee on several holes.
- Don't think I lost any discs, but I'll never go to Veterans Park when it's even remotely warm, let alone HOT.
- Mesquite Thorns everywhere!
Other Thoughts: Did I mention a whole lotta up and down the hills.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/13/2016   7/14/2015
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent layout with a nice mix of bomber and technical holes. The "grounds crew" does a wonderful job of moving the baskets to keep it from getting stale. Recent maintenance and trimming have the course in clean and pristine condition.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Bring bright disks and you should never have an issue.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good challenge if your a pro.

1    6/2/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: porkchop8228
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's is a very pretty course with very nice views. A lot of uphill and downhill throws. You need to know this course very well. If your looking for a challenging course this is a great course to test even the best disc golfer.
Cons: Some holes are lengthy and are considered a Par 3's. You need a GPS to locate some of the tee boxes between holes, because you won't be able to see the next tee box from the basket of the previous hole. If you have played this before you will know the layout very well. If it is your 1st time on the course make sure you play with someone who knows the course and can show you were the next tee box is, or you will just seem like your on a nature hike.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful!

1    12/26/2014   2/13/2015
Review By: wjdgilbert
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I loved the challenge of this course. A good variety of uphill and downhill throws with beautiful views from the elevated tee boxes. Hard to believe this was once a landfill.
Cons: - It is very likely you will loose a disc or two in these trees, bring bright colored discs!
- Each hole has 3 pin locations and they are all listed on the hole maps, but they have no system to indicate which of the pin locations you are using and it seemed to vary by hole. Had to do a lot of extra walking on an already long course to scout out where the basket actually was.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A diverse set of challenges

2-4    6/15/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: Withinoz
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, exceptional diversity. You will not get bored with the layout. You will never feel like you are throwing the same hole twice. It really has just about everything. Multiple pin positions, wooded, elevation, distance, beauty, and nice corner store that sells plastic, and cold beverages near by.

On a 15+ mph day the open long holes can really eat your lunch. This course will be tough to finish Par or under your first few times out. Especially if you don't have a somewhat accurate 350ft + drive.

Good signage on all the holes. Seating at almost all the tee boxes. Good long course with diverse terrain will give you some exercise as well as a scenic DG experience.
Cons: For beginners this course can definitely be a beating. You might think there is no way to get to the basket in 3 throws. And you might be right, but in time, with the right disc for your style and some tweaks in your "power grip" you may be surprised to find Par 3 is right, it's just a little harder to achieve than the Par 3's at your local 9 hole. :)

Really the only con I can think of, is that it is a challenge and a lot of walking including up and down some rocky slopes. And I claimed those things above as pros, as well. Will depend on your specific preference. I love it, personally.
Other Thoughts: Seriously, this is a very pretty course with great use of the terrain and land available. I fell in love with this course first time I played it. It's not easy. You aren't going to come out here and get an ace your first time, but if you aren't afraid of a challenge and you want a course that will force you to work on a variety of different throws, through a variety of different setting, you will not be disappointed. I really think this is a destination course. Worth a road trip to play it, if you consider yourself to be a disc golfer. :) have fun, take it in.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Putt-Putt but no Clown

1    4/24/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: williamlbird
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are a few good things to say about this course: 1) Concrete Tee Boxes, 2) 18 holes, 3) Varying terrain.
Cons: Whoever planned this course was either a non-player or simply masochistic. Hiding the baskets in a group of trees to make the course "challenging" is like putting a golf ball up a ramp while avoiding the windmill. To make matters worse most of the first 8 baskets cannot be seen from the tee boxes and a newcomer has to make a guess based on the signage. Luck has a lot to do with most of the holes. If you are lucky you will miss the trees between you and the basket and all of the ones around the basket (which you can't see anyway). The signs show the "general" direction of the next tee box but the emphasis should be on "general". It is necessary to do some searching for the next tee box. Most of the course needs updating with newer baskets, cleared out brush to allow lanes to the baskets, and better signage. Also, there is no way to know which position the baskets are in which means it is necessary to go and look for the basket BEFORE throwing from many of the tee boxes.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Myriad of shots!

2-4    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variability in presentation, orientation, length, elevation.

-Great tee pads.

-Good signage (although enough with the "Melk"ing already)

-They do a great job of moving the baskets here; 5 have been moved in the last month!

-Close to that Quickie Mart that sells tons of discs (be sure to haggle over price because he is ~$4 over on all discs!)

-No water (but you can still lose discs in the dense forests!)

-Get a chance to use those under stable discs I can't use on my home course.
Cons: -On a windy day it can be tough.

-Not sure I agree with all Par 3s.

-Some of holes are blind (4, 5, 8, 9)
Other Thoughts: This place (although a bit isolated from other courses) is worth a shot if you come to DFW to play DG. You will get some exercise because there is more elevation than most DFW courses!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pros and cons

1    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: dyerjol
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, varied terrain
Cons: Some of the baskets are not numbered, which is confusing since the holes sometimes criss-cross. Some moron(s) wrote "melk" (among other things) on most, if not all, of the signage, obscuring maps.
Other Thoughts: This would probably be a fun course if accompanying a local. Without a guide, it is an exercise in frustration.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.