Arlington, TX
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / 273ft.   3 / 373ft.   3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A tale of two courses

1    4/13/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through two very different landscapes. The first two holes and the last several play in a park setting. There is a mix of longer and shorter holes, with a couple bombs that really let you rip a drive. These range from wide open to having scattered trees and bushes in play. Moderate elevation changes on several holes add some variety and challenge.

The middle holes offer a totally different experience. Playing through a rocky canyon, these holes have much steeper elevation changes that make for some great views and excellent shots. Scrubby trees and bush provide some real punishment for errant shots, and the rocky ground and cactus really make you feel like you're away from civilization.

Nice concrete pads and baskets in good shape are always a good touch. The tee signs have hole layout, with distance and alternate pin positions. The park was excellently maintained, mowed and free of trash or vandalism.
Cons: Navigation is a mess here. There are several long unmarked walks between holes, and many of the baskets in the canyon section have several different possible paths to follow that lead away from the next hole. The map isn't all that easy to read, making things difficult even if you think to print it ahead of time. There are lots of blind pins, often with good sized hills to walk up or down to scout them out, it would be nice if the current basket positions were marked on the signs to eliminate some of the extra walking.

The canyon portion of the course feels really unique, with some excellent shots and a great vibe. That leaves the end of the course feeling pretty pedestrian, with some pretty open typical park shots that don't offer all that many different types of challenges. If the whole course was like 3-11, I would rate significantly higher.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the open holes pretty long, and the canyon holes pretty rough and punishing. It's a cool place to play, but newer players will need to come with some patience. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, you won't find tunnel golf but you will need to work some different lines and shot placement is key. I would definitely recommend a stop here if you're in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 an old classic

2-4    1/14/2012   1/20/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of cool elevation shots
-concrete pads, baskets in good condition
-variety in terrain
-lots of alternate pin locations
-very challenging course
-decent parking, bathrooms, lots of trash cans
-parking lot near holes 1 and 18
-well maintained, clean park
-friendly locals, regular minis
Cons: -navigation and flow is terrible. the front 9 is impossible to navigate without a map if you don't know the course.
-lots of long walks between holes and backtracking, poor design.
-elevation and rough terrain can be challenging for the out-of-shape and those with poor balance
Other Thoughts: This DFW classic is still fun after 20+ years! Elevation comes into play on over half of the holes. There is a decent variety of distances, terrain, and open v. wooded holes but the course is mostly on the open side. You can pretty much throw a hyzer on every shot but the greens are often guarded, leaving a possibly tricky putt or upshot.

The park is well maintained with lots of trash cans and alternate pin locations that change regularly. Alternate tee pads are unmarked but well-established and well-known to the locals, ask around.

The downhill drives on 1, 5, and 17 are really fun and the uphill drives on 3, 6, and 7 are pretty challenging. These holes on the front 9 contribute to a bit of an "epic" feeling on the course that fades as you move into the back 9.

I really like this course but I do think that its reputation and rating are a bit overstated. A fun course with lots of variety but I strongly disagree with a 4+ rating, especially when there are so many better courses in the metroplex. I can see how this used to be the premiere course around, especially with the great use of elevation, but most of the newer courses around have just as good elevation shots but with more challenging golf and better design.

That said, definitely come play this course! As long as you bring a map and extra water, you will have a great time. It is just not the first course I would recommend to an out-of-towner.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful but very tough

1    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: daveseeley
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signs are accurate with tips to next tee. Locals are very friendly with directions. Dude walking his sheep on the course (unreal). Nature trails with foliage labeled makes this course infotaining (both informative and enterntaining). Great mix of shot lengths from an Acehole to almost 600 feet. Bridges, concrete tees, nice bathrooms. Wildlife like foxes and squirrels. Duck pond. Killer elevation changes. Throw off a big hill to a valley on 5. lots of elevation issues (big rolls if you screw up)
Cons: It is a hard course. I throw about 66 at crowley and 81 here. It is a hard course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. Good luck with par on it. Enjoy the day out playing, enjoy the trails, people, and wildlife. Don't think you are going to throw a super game here right off the bat, but do not pass this course up. Worth a trip (I drove over an hour and have no regrets). Took almost 4 hours to play with three of us, but was awesome.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Wow Factor" included

1    11/27/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some of the most aesthetically pleasing looks in the Metroplex. Seems like Arlington scooped up a little piece of Austin
Nice concrete tee boxes
Very challenging course. You'll become a better player the more you play.
Cons: Wish my putter didn't come home with paint from the baskets.... that's a first for me.
The course's feel definitely changes after the 11th hole. I found myself wanting to skip the remaining holes and start the course over.
Glass, Glass, Glass, It seems everywhere you look, there is broken glass
Other Thoughts: Avoid playing Sunday mornings unless you're playing in the "Mini"
Take a map. You'll need it on some of the hole to hole transitions.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  The Vet

5+    11/13/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: saldawg13
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Veterans Park is one of my favorite courses in the metroplex, partly because it is my home course. The park has great variation of shots and elevation change. The new tees signs are amazing and many holes have newer tee pads. The walk through the park is a nice little nature hike and the scenery is always awesome. The Vet offers intermediate players a great place to hone their skills. And if played from the many champion tees can even give seasoned pros a run for their money.
Cons: The only con about veterans is that for people playing there their first time it can be easy to get lost. However most of the locals will be more than happy to help new player navigate the course without getting lost. I myself have help many people get through the course. During the summer and fall it can be easy to lose a disc if your not careful but if you spend enough time looking one should be able to find it.
Other Thoughts: The vet can chew beginning players up real fast until they learn the lines to throw. I have been playing Veterans for a little over a year just as long as I have been playing. And I have never broke even par on the regular tee layout. ( I have been close before) But if you learn all the champion tees and the short tees this course will provide plenty of new challenges and loads of fun for ever player level.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Variety of Holes

1    11/12/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The technical variety in your shot selections will be required for many of the holes here. It makes things very interesting and fun.

The long, big, open holes really do balance out all of the shorter holes. For the strong arms, these big holes will be a lot of fun!

The basket placements are really nice. For example, I was glad that the basket was hidden into the tree on hole 1 rather having it being put in the open field.

Hole 4 through 7, I thought, was pretty nice with different lines (shots) you can take. These are definitely more technical.

I can see that there are some new tee boxes on many of the holes, and they are really big. It makes your ability to do a run-up much easier. I also noticed that, from the comments, the tee signs are relatively new too.

I thought the tee signs, as they were, are pretty good and well-designed.
Cons: My main problems with this course are consisting of two things.

First of all, the navigation is a bit tricky. I played with a friend who have played the course in the past, which made it easier. However, if I played by myself, I could see myself getting a bit confused. Incorporating "Next Tee" signs on at least few holes may be beneficial.

Second thing: the baskets. It appeared to me that they were new? I really thought the baskets were sub-par in quality. I also didn't think they were regulation-size? I also fond it odd that the baskets were spray-painted? Few of my discs got the silver paint all over them due to hitting the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely have a fun factor to it. It has the elevation changes, different lines to the baskets, a mix of open and tight holes, and you can't get too bored playing this course.

Who is this for? I think the more experienced players will enjoy this course more, mainly because of the technical holes. Newbies may get frustrated with all the trees/elevation changes coming into play and the wind on the big, long holes.

I did not see any alternate tee pads. I thought with the alternate pin placements that this course might also have alternate tee pads. (i.e. championship tees or amateur tee pads) I think this would help give more playing options for newbies and seasoned pros.

I'll definitely come back here again and again. It's a lot of fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course to hone your game

5+    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: araytx
Played: 121  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Outstanding variation and need to utilize everything in your bag. Multiple pin placements make it never boring to re-play and the local club makes reasonably regular changes. There are bomber holes, technical holes, elevation both up & down, boles where you MUST hit the landing zone to make the 3, a couple true par fours when pins in certain positions, over the top holes, roller holes, birdie holes that are not "gimmes", and pretty much everything else. And if that doesn't hit your fancy are you play it often, learn where the championship tee boxes are for holes 1, 2, 5, 8, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, and 18.
Cons: If you're not familiar with the course, it can be hard to find the next tee on 3-11, even with brand new accurate tee signs; the bathrooms by 1/5 and 15/17 are rarely unlocked; the up/down on 4 through 8 will tax you, especially on a hot day;
Other Thoughts: Par 4 is more accurate on 1-B position, 3-C position, and championship tee's 1, 2, 8, 12, 17, and 18. New trapezoid tee boxes for about a year now have made a marked improvement. Ovcrall a great course with plenty of challenge. You need to score well to compete (stay under 54), but that makes every throw count here. YOu truly cannot afford bogeys and still score well.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best of both worlds

1    10/19/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: adamlamar
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most courses claim to offer "varied terrain" but Verteran's Park takes it to a whole new level. The first three holes play in and out of the treeline next to a large open field. Then you'd better have brought your hiking boots, because you'll be trekking up and down some rocky terrain filled with short, spindly trees for the next few holes. The back nine opens back up and the remaining trees have way less undergrowth to choke out your vision. Good use of elevation and plenty of holes for you to really let loose you arm.
Cons: Although it wasn't impossible to navigate, I think I skipped a hole somewhere between 6 and 8. The course seemed like it was going through a renovation in parts. Some of the numbers on the baskets don't correspond with the hole number, and some of them weren't where they were marked on the course map. "Next Tee" signs would also be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Even getting lost, this course is amazing. It's one of my favorites. I'm sure most local know, but if you're in from out-of-town, stop by the Quick Stop on your way to the course (3100 W. Arkansas Ln.). Awesome disc selection and awesome people.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pain followed by pleasure

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course makes the most of what the park has to offer. Lots of elevation changes, the holes that cut through trees have decent sized fairways, and theres a tee sign at every hole. The back nine is excellent, playing up and down gentle hills making the most of every shot.
Cons: The front half can be tough to navigate. Playing up and down hills that are a good hike, if you go the wrong way you end up backtracking uphill, and wearing yourself out even more. Hole 3 and 1 almost share a fairway, so if its crowded you could have problems. 6 and 7 run paralell uphill, so finish 6, go back down, throw and climb the hill again. Frojm there 8 is nearly impossible to find without help, go left and down the hill a way you haven't been, take a left at the path, and a right at the cutout in the rock.
Other Thoughts: The front half was laid out well, but it was exhausting, and then we got lost so we walked more than we had to. The back half is one of my favorites in texas. The hot summer has made the ground very dry amd pacaked, its gonna chew up your discs, but you could get some good rollers. The open fairways and uphil shots make wind a real problem here.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My First Time Was Here

2-4    9/15/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: Paulie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets. Well built tee boxes. Maps at each tee box. Amazing terrain. Tight shots in the woods to long drives in fields.
Cons: None. Well, we did find what looked like an old bum camp and you can tell people have gone off into the woods to do things other than play disc golf. We didn't have any problems though.
Other Thoughts: My first two rounds were played here. One throw and I was hooked. Once we got a few holes in, I had swallowed the hook. This place is gorgeous! Drought be darned. It's a forest in a city. We saw a real live roadrunner. There is some steepish walking to do in the woods. All the more fun. It's like hiking meets disc golf. I'll admit, part of my rating is due to being blown away by this existing in Arlington.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.