Disc Golf Store
Arlington, TX 
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / 200ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 what a hike

1    3/6/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: kreinartz83
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great layout, park is well maintained. fun course to play found myself testing myself with different types of shots, several up hill throws really test your arm.
Cons: if it is your first time playing find a guide or you will be walking around aimlessly for searching for hidden tee pads in the brush, the front 9 is difficult to navigate and is easy to loose yourself. course could use some "next tee" signs it is posted on the tee sign but is not very accurate.
Other Thoughts: despite adding probably an extra mile walking with a 50lb bag or so i thought the course was fun and challenging... there are horses on the course i almost hit one... kinda spooked it and me, defiantly made for an interesting day. make sure you wear your hiking boots because the terrain is steep at times and i rolled my ankle a bit with running shoes. bring lots of water to keep hydrated too, it gets hot when the sun is beaming.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Veteran's is Veteran Like

5+    1/22/2010   1/31/2010
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Plethora of shots required, test your skills
-Wooded, Open, Elevation changes, beautiful scenery, good signs, great layout of course, nice outdoor trek, concrete tees, friendly locals
Cons: Hard to find next Tee, no water shots
Other Thoughts: What an amazing course, kudos to the course designer, love it.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Verterans Park

2-4    1/20/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: cbeckett22
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation changes
-You will use every shot in your arsenal
-Some good distance shots, and plenty of shots that need a little more finesse
-Tee signs on every holes is nice! (but they don't help you with finding the next tee)
-Not a lot of traffic
-Very clean/well kept, plenty of trash cans
-Friendly locals
Cons: -Not easy to navigate for first timers. I was lucky to have a friend who had played before, my first time. My second time I had a map, just in case.
-I could see it getting really hot during the summer.
-Not any easy course to hike if you're out of shape.
-Definitely not a beginner course
Other Thoughts: This course is really fun, but it's pretty difficult. I played it twice today, and I am just wore out.

After hole 12 you can walk across the street to a gas station for some refreshments. They sell discs as well, $10 for any disc, any plastic. Very good deal.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Rundown!!!

5+    1/2/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The just got some larger T-pads for most of the back nine.
-Shot variety is great...long and short, wide open and treed, ups and downs, lefts and rights
-Lots of elevations change
-Not huge hole waits if there are any.
-Plenty of "big-arm" holes
-Plenty of finesse holes
-Numerous pin placements per hole
-Clean course and well kept
-Long course
-Right smack dab in the middle of the metroplex
-Nice surrounding park area...
Cons: -One of the worst for mud if it's rained in the week prior
-If you don't like playing in the wind, it can be really window out there.
-Might run in to some jogers or dog walkers being that there is a walkin' path cut through some of the course.
Other Thoughts: Another great course right in the middle of DFW. Everyone should get to this course.

Both the front and back nine are loaded with big elevation changes and different types of shots. Mostly spotty trees in long fairway with elevation ups and downs.

Should be played by everyone...totally worth a drive and it's a nice change from the usuall local courses.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Mecca of Dallas Area Disc Golf

5+    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: six30two
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: varied terrain and elevation changes with a good mix of long and short, open and wooded holes. Quality tee pads and disc catchers- multiple pin placements and nice people playing the course
Cons: Only 18 holes, I wish there were more
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses in Texas and Dallas. If you are in the Dallas area looking for a unique course to play, this is one to put on your list.
**After Hole 12, you can walk across the street to the convenience store and get a gatorade or buy discs, I'm just sayin... it can get hot so put some cash in your bag.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quality course with diverse hazards

5+    11/6/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: mdarket
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The terrain makes for a hiking experience on holes 4-7.
Cons: Holes 12-15 have almost no hazards. Very busy.
Other Thoughts: This course holds too many tournaments which shut down the course. It is difficult playing 18 on the weekend.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans Park

5+    9/20/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: zflog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2012
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice facilities. Concrete tee pads. Clean with professional landscaping.
Cons: Can be crowded with walkers as well as players.
Other Thoughts: Minis on Wed. @ 6:00p.m. from the short tees and Sun.@ 10:00a.m. from the long tees.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Dfwdscglfr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: high fun factor
good use of elevation
varied hole length
nice tee signs
Cons: hard to get from 7 to 8 unless you have played it
gets very hot during the summer not much shade
and can be very crowded
Other Thoughts: after hole 12 there is a near by gas station

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Veterns park

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 101  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lovely park setting with plenty of amenities. Very nice memorial to veterns here. The course is very well layed out with maximum use of elevation changes available. There is an excelent mixture of challenges here. Some long holes, some short, uphill and down hill drives. You be required to move your disc both hyser and anhyser, I really enjoyed the challenge. There were multiple lines to most of the holes. The baskets while old were in remarkedly good shape and caught my discs very well. While some of the walk/running trails did wind thru parts of the course this did not pose a problem. The park was clean, well maintained and the locals were very helpfull / friendly.
Cons: The tee signs were in very poor shape. This made it very difficult to find my way around the course. A local guide or map would help greatly.
A few more trash cans and benches might be nice, but are not a big problem. The signs are the real opetunity here and would take this course from very good to great in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course to play and I would like to come back the next time I am in town. I do not live in arrid area so the cactus and scrub trees added a lot of fun and visual intrest for me.
It was very windy the afternoon I played and that really put some teeth into the course.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ELEVATION

5+    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Control
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course can make you an elevation pro.
Decently maintained.

Cons: This course lacks the amount of technical shots that several courses in the area seem to have.
Beginners may find it difficult to navigate.
The walk can be brutal if you bring cheap shoes.
Other Thoughts: Water + Sunscreen a must, of course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.