Disc Golf Store
Arlington, TX
Veteran's Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 3/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 254ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice!!!

1    5/12/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/21/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome elevation changes on first 9 holes. Lots of trees and rock base for a fairway. Love how some of the baskets are set high atop hills. There is such a variety of scenery on this course. THe first few holes are open, then your into rocky, hilly terrian that looks otherworldly, then into a moderately wooded section, then opens way up to a park setting. You just can't get bored with that. Each hole seemed unique from the one before. Teepads were large cement. Park itself was fairly clean. Easy parking right next to the first fairway. I would love to live close to this park and would see myself playing this course on a regular basis.
Cons: Some of the baskets were old though didn't affect the cathing ability too much though. Navigation issues, trying to find the next hole was difficult at times and new signs are defiantely needed to assist with that. Perhaps next hole signs/markers would help alot.
Other Thoughts: Such a refreshing change from some other courses in the area. The front nine makes you feel like you are in some other world with the rocks and trees. A must go to disc golf park in the area. All kinds of shots needed for this one and you just can't get bored here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans has it all

5+    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2009
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unique landscape, this course has it all!! here at veterans you have:

1. Monster Drives(1, 6,7, and the back side)

2. Short Technical hole(4,10,15)

3. Straight decent distance drives(2,11)

4. sitting on top of a perch throwing downhill ( 5 :)

5.Well you just have to play it :)

This course is so diverse, and is probably one of the best courses i have ever played at. From hole one(one of the most beautiful holes ever) you realize this course is legit. you have to you every shot you have. you have to bomb it out there, you have to hit holes, throw up hill, downhill, left doglegs, right doglegs, EVERYTHING. Even the scenery changes. you start off in a field at hole 1 and as you progress to hole4 the landscape turns into cactus and mesquites(like a desert) and the technical holes begin.then you have the elevation of holes 5,6 and 7 that come to mind( which is very rare in this area). then after 11 you begin the big open field drives where its nice to have those 400" drives(that i dont have) which seem like they would be easy, but with the big open areas wind is ALWAYS present. after the three monster holes you have on the back you come up to 15 which is a short ace run(which is always nice for the arm) and then 16 is a short right downhill dogleg. then to finish out the round you have two of the most beautiful holes in the park, a nice treat to end the round.

Well maintained and plenty of golfers to pick up a round with.

Minis every wednesday and sunday with good turnouts
Cons: sometimes hard to find holes if its your first time. i would suggest finding someone who has played here often to help you out and show you the way.

Wow is it a walk...but hey thats part of it right, i guess im just lazy lol

cant think of anything else, what can i say this park is awesome

Other Thoughts: always busy but the course is so spread out you usually dont have to worry about waits, usually.

very good club, very good turnout at minis, with some great competition

***update*****
as of 7/18/09 a couple baskets have changed pin location for the "fling"...some of these holes are hard to find so i figured id try to help out a little bit.
hole 1 is closer to the field now, still tucked away in the woods but only half the distance in

hole 2 you will see after leaving hole 1, pin is now on right side of fairway

hole 4 is now on top of the hill to the right of the tee pad. short 130' thumber or anny

hole 6 is straight ahead in the short

hole 7 is deep straight and to the left

hole 10 is still on top of the hill straight ahead, just about 50' closer

hole 18 is now on top of the hill to the right instead of straight ahead.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/22/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: 4banginTURBO
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation change, wide variety of shots. Has some tight wooded areas as well as open long holes! Very well kept park, thanks to the City of Arlington!!!! Trash cans at almost every hole..
Cons: Just as stated before, when its hot outside its REALLY HOTT @ Vets! They just recently moved hole 7 to the top of the hill which makes it very tough shot & also not soo fun to climb!
Other Thoughts: Amazing course!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 09 review

5+    4/21/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1.This being my home course i can honestly say it's a ton of fun to play.
2.Though the course is very challenging it gives you many opportunity shots to "chatch up" and makes the game much more competitive/interesting.
3.Well maintained.
Cons: 1.When it's hot......it's HOT.
2.Be prepared to hike up and down steep slopes after hole 4.
3.In spring this park is REAL vegitated so be sure to keep an eye on your disc or it could get lost very easily.
Other Thoughts: All around a great place to play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 challanging

1    3/28/2009   3/28/2009
Review By: mitchdrums
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: long chalenging holes with PLENTY of obsticals. lots of elevation shots. great all around course.
Cons: when it's hot outside....it's SCORCHING at this course. not a good course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: if you get a chance, go to this park. there is a practice basket at hole 1 so i suggest using it before playing the course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

5+    3/20/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This ia a great park with a lot of variety of different shots. You have short and long shots with a good amount of left shots and very few right shots. Elevation plays a big part throughout most of the course where some baskets are placed on top of cliffs to add diffcultly. each hole has nice tee signs that show you each pin position and the distances for each basket and have arrows that direct you to the next tee. The course has nice large concrete tee pads that are just the right size and good baskets with the hole number on them. The course has a practice basket at the beginning of hole #1 so you can get warmed up before your round. The course is very clean and well maintained with garbage cans throughout most of the course and picnic benches on most holes.
Cons: If you haven't ever played this course, navigation could be an issue. I would probably print out a map off of this site to help you out. Parking is very limited so you might want to get here early to get a spot. There is almost no shade throughout the course, so it can get really hot out there. Bring plenty of water and sunscreen because you will need it. The course can get really crowded on a nice day which is not surprising for this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is really fun and challenging and is a must play if you are in the DFW area. You will not be dissapointed when playing this course, just get ready to get some exercise because you will get a good work out when you play here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Better be a Veteran for this one

5+    7/16/2007   2/6/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 168  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2009
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A longer course, Elevation shots you will learn, Must have many fairly long drives that stay on the fairways to be good here.Gotta love hole 1, 12 and 17 for the distances with elevation.If you live in the DFW area Veterans has to be visited regularly.
Cons: Four holes are significantly shorter then the rest,Alotta walking up and down hills,Hotter then hell in the summer heat bring a sunbrella.Could use some more seating areas.
Other Thoughts: Bring water for the long trek.Play on a very windy day and say hello to the plus scores! The different colored chards of broken glass you see are always there because your walking on an old landfill site.Spotted my first wild road runner here,they're plentiful.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, hilly setting is a classic Texas classic course that pays homage to the big-arm hyzer.

5+    9/9/2006   1/28/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 209  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 16.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Now in it's 20th year, Veteran's has aged gracefully and has the distinction of having challenged and honed the skills of Texas disc golfers since the 80s. Fast discs have made the course easier, but they haven't made it easy. It's an incredibly popular course, but if you can catch it on a day it's not packed, you're in for a real treat.

Veteran's offers more elevation change and great elevation shots than almost any other course in Texas, and is especially notable for the D/FW Metroplex area, which has a lot of fairly flat courses. From the first hole, Veteran's will start teaching you how to use elevation and how to approach/putt on elevation. I can only think of two holes (2 and 13) where some degree of elevation isn't a factor.

Even on hole 12 -- the big, wide field shot, there is just enough elevation to make the hole trickier. In the long pin you can't see the basket from the tee, so you've got to air out over the slight ridge, and then make your approach shot down a slight hill, usually with massive winds throwing your disc all over the place. I know some reviewers don't like the couple of field holes, but I think they give good balance to the course and often make use of the tearing Texas wind to challenge a whole different set of skills in your game.

The course has a great mix of holes -- many are very memorable. Hole 1 is one of the best places in the country to launch a whole bag of discs and watch them work. Hole 5 is a memorable shot out over the tops of a sea of trees, having to guess the wind to have any idea where your disc will land. Hole 17 (short pin) is this 360' slight downhill into a hole that just BEGS to be aced (I can't count how many times I've hit metal on this and never stuck). Hole 18 (hilltop placement) is a great hole where you can huck to the moon off the tee trying to get up the hill.

Despite having abnormal amounts of elevation for a Texas course, Veteran's does feel like Texas, thanks to the scrubby trees, dusty paths, rocks, cactus, and blazing sun. And I mean this as a compliment. Veteran's is the most uniquely "TEXAS" of the D/FW courses and I don't think any visitor will leave unhappy as long as they find a local to show them all the holes.
Cons: The course is busy, and this can make for frustratingly long rounds at time; especially on weekends when the course is backed up with large groups.

Sometimes the busy is not just disc golfers. Unlike other disc golf parks I've played in, Veteran's often is home to folks in Renaissance or other war/medieval garb dashing about in the woods, brandishing foam swords or other weapons, and blissfully ignorant of the danger they face from flying discs. This is not frequently a problem, but happens often enough (especially on weekends) to be worth mentioning. Make sure you're errant shot doesn't take out a knight-errant. ;)

Teepads are a mixed bag out here. Some are great, some are very mediocre, though they have improved them greatly over the years.

Signage is fair, at best. Tee signs don't have any way to specify which basket is in place (and you often can't see the baskets from the tee), and there is very little to help you navigate the course if you don't know your way around. The first time I played this course years ago, I was with my Dad and brother, and we gave up in frustration after 7 holes. The tricky walk between 7 and 8 is non-intuitive. Other places on the course aren't AS frustrating, but directional signage is cheap and is of immense importance to first-time players.

Some places on the course have amazing amounts of broken glass. Hole 8 in particular, but the course as a whole has more glass than almost any course I've played. There are places you don't want to fall and wouldn't put your knee down for balance on a tricky shot.

Course has great elevation but seldom forces a wide variety of shots. This may sound strange, but most of the trees are short enough that you can throw big hyzers and avoid most of the obstacles on the course. Some of this depends on the basket placements, but for the most part, big RHBH hyzers will solve your problems 90% of the time on this course -- which works great for some folks, but is a limitation of the course in my opinion. Forcing more variety would be nice. Visually, there are a lot of trees on the course, but once you realize you can just go higher, the course gets a LOT easier.

In my opinion, the course is limited by having only par 3 holes. Admittedly, it has several challenging par 3s (holes 1, 3L, 8, 12L, 14L, 18), but it still doesn't have the range you would hope for on a course with this much great land. Again, this is largely a factor of the low trees that you can hyzer over -- it reduces the need for strategy and placement shots. Most holes, you run a big high hyzer for the birdie and hope you can your putt. This is great fun, but not a challenge that will improve your depth as a player long-term.

Despite all the trees, this course has very little shade. Playing in summer can be a blistering experience out in the sun, and you will be bone-dry a few holes into the round. Take plenty of water, and good footwear for the rocks and cactus.

Only one set of tees are present, and only about half of the baskets have alternate placements. The course is so much fun that this doesn't really hurt replay value, but it should be mentioned.
Other Thoughts: Veteran's is incredibly fun to play. The locals who run tournaments are a great bunch, and the Veteran's Park Open and Fahrenheit Fling are very enjoyable events.

If the course signage were upgraded, I would be tempted to give this course 4 stars, because it really is a great experience to go out to Veterans to play.

I learned to play in Dallas and moved away a couple of years ago, and Veteran's is the course I miss the most in D/FW. It's not necessarily the best course in the area, but it is a unique experience. You'll never birdie the same holes two rounds back to back; you'll never quite hit the perfect round, and it will keep you coming back for more. And the wind changes so much it alters the whole course, scoring and strategy with a slight shift of the prevailing wind direction.

I've played all over the country, and Veteran's still holds a special place in my heart the way few other courses do. It is the course that forced me to learn a high backhand hyzer because I needed it there to keep up. Poor signage and limited shot requirements are what will keep it from ever being a "great" course. But regardless, it is a great experience that I highly recommend to anyone who is in the D/FW area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse!!!

1    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great course!!! Incredible mix of terrain and elevation changes! You go from a semi desert type terrain to a more green park like setting. Great concrete, tee pads, good signage, great mix of short technical holes and long wide-open stuff too!!! Friendly locals, both DGer's and others just out enjoying the park. I played this course with most of the leaves and vegitaion knocked down in the winter, I can only imagine how the level of difficutly grows when this course is fully vegitaged!!! Awesome course one of my new fav's!!! Will definately be back!!!
Cons: Only real con I found was in navigation from the #6 basket to the #7 tee... We found it after a bit but a little point in the right direction would have been nice. Also noticed a bunch of broken glass throughout the course... probably wouldn't recommend playing this one in flip-flops...
Other Thoughts: This park is awesome!!! Well maintained(except for all the broken glass). Basically just a fun and very challengeing course!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Unique landscape makes the course

5+    4/24/2007   11/4/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like others have said below, the landscape in the park is quite varied and has a very rugged/hilly area that's unusual for the DFW area...lots of red-dirt, rocky hills and cacti.

Plenty of shot variety....long/open, short/tight, giant downhill/uphill and everything in between. Through the course of a round you're likely to pull out every shot in your bag.

The landscape is such that it naturally splits the course into a few distinct sections...1 and 3 are in a slightly hilly and grassy area, 4-7 play through the rocky and extremely hilly area, 8-11 or 12 play through a moderately wooded area with some slight elevation changes, the next several play in a flat/open/grassy area before going back to the moderately wooded area.

Many very unique holes...1, 6, 7, and 18 (in the hilltop position) come to mind. Also, several have multiple pin locations.
Cons: A few of the concrete tees are a bit short/narrow and have a decent drop-off on the sides.

I think someone said this below, but some of the baskets seem small or too low to the ground.

For me, the biggest Con are the flat/open holes on the back 9....it seems that holes could have been designed in a more interesting area of the park. There are 16 really fun/challenging holes...and then 2 that are wide open field shots...pretty boring.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most popular courses in the DFW, and for good reasons! Every time I've played the course it's busy but not too crowded.

The local club is very active, and has gained a lot of notariety for the Veteran's Park Open (VPO), one of the state's richest events.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.