Paw Paw, WV 
Whippin' Post Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #5 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 518ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Whip it Good

1    6/11/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Paw Paw is everything you could want in a disc golf venue; an incredible landscape with giant rolling hills and two courses weaving in and out of the woods. Whippin' Post is not just the best of the two on site, it's one of the best there is.

It's a combination of everything that makes a layout great and forces you to throw every shot you have and then the shots you don't have.
Let's start with the variety; open / open to wooded / wooded to open / wooded to wooded; and every single hole requires accuracy and usually accuracy over distance to score well. Not only are you being forced to hit gaps over hundreds of feet but you're dealing with fairways that bend back and forth and slopes that make you consider every possible kick and landing. It felt like every hole here needed to finish one way or the other just to be safe or have a solid look at the basket.

The kicker for this course is that all of this is playing out over a massive amount of land and elevation change. The open holes roll over huge slopes and the wooded holes teeter on e the edge of sheer drop offs that would make anyone who kicked down the wrong way regret doing so. The elevation changes not only make you throw up, down and over but they force you to take away entire parts of the course as possible avenues unless you want to pay a steep price for missing your line.

Now the open holes here aren't your garden variety bomb it out and not worry about where it lands type. Yeah you can really let some fly here but the basket positions coupled with the elevation changes and the old growth trees make you work the disc over huge distances and make you really consider what part of the fairway you're landing on.

The greens are very well designed and on the multiple shot holes how you approach the green and where you landed off the tee really come in to play. In many cases the lines shrink to fair but tight alleys that really make you want to push your distance off the tee so you can have a shorter more finesse approach. If you are looking at some of these wooded holes and didn't get far off the tee you can pretty much forget about getting to the basket unless you pull off a miracle shot and to me this all just adds to up to what disc golf at its highest level should be about.

On top of how the land creates one of the perfect settings for a course of this magnitude it also gives you a gorgeous rolling pasture and one memorable shot after another.

There's one pond on this side of the property that comes in to play twice. Once giving you a real thinker of an approach as the land goes sharp downhill towards the water where the basket sits and then another shot off the hill and over the pond as the finishing hole. Every great course needs a great finishing hole and this course really gives it to you.

I could keep going about all the details that make this course easily in my Top 5 and quite possibly my favorite pure course yet. It's challenging yet fair and gives you options on how far you want to push off the tee or how close you want to push your approach to that edge. It makes you think on a level most courses just fail to do and that coupled with the landscape it's built on creates the monster that is Whippin' Post. If you don't bring your A game to this course you will get whipped.

Equipment - The baskets are in solid condition and caught well even though they've seen some weathering. The tee signs are in poor condition and on some holes not really there or faded but on arrival you are given a map which shows the layout and hole distances. I've seen some people say it was confusing and hard to follow but with the map we found our way pretty easily.
Cons: Layout - One of the few cons for this course is what I think are a few over-guarded greens that take away solid lanes for really good drives on multiple par holes. There's only a few but I do think some could have a few more trees taken down without taking anything away from the challenge.

Without a map there are a couple intersections where multiple holes have tee and basket in the vicinity so I can see where someone could get confused. However as I said it really isn't that hard to figure out if you pay attention. Definitely download the map off the site in case the owners are not there to give you a map on arrival.

Equipment - The pads here are crush and run and in some places not level and being overgrown. I was not a fan of these pads and many times when able I threw off to the side off the grass. Secondly the teesigns here are in bad shape and in many cases don't give you a great idea of what to do. The map is actually what you should rely on. With this type of course it's easy to understand why these two features aren't more advanced but to me this is the one real drawback to both courses at Paw Paw.
Other Thoughts: As I write this review I have this course #1 in my top ten and after the recent trip I took with this course included I really had to think about how things would shake out. I've gone back and forth but when you combine every aspect of this course together it just gives you the most balanced epic course I've played to date.

Also, Paw Paw is remote. Bring whatever you might need with you because once you're up there the closest store is miles down a mountain.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

18 Ways to Say "Awesome"

1    6/6/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 66  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While there are many, many pros here, what makes Whippin' Post truly special is how packed it is with character across the board. There isn't a bad hole here, to say nothing of throw-aways: the top-level consistency is amazing, with each hole chock full of wrinkles, surprises, and brow-furrowing challenges. You'll find yourself doing battle with an astonishing range of shots, terrain, and obstacles, in combinations you've never dreamed of. Many of those dreams can easily turn into nightmares if you're not careful, but the uniqueness and beauty help temper the sting. When you gladly take a 6 on the tree-studded 4, if your putter kicks into the terrifying abyss bordering hole 8, or in case your favorite driver gets swallowed up by the pond on 18 because you fooled yourself into thinking you could throw 400', just take a deep breath, admire your gorgeous surroundings, and remind yourself that disc golfing here is the definition of the good life.

There are just so many individual nuances here that it makes singling out shots or holes difficult. Whippin' Post's awesomeness pervades throughout. I could almost say that my favorite holes are something like 2-17. The exceedingly varied terrain the course plays across helps keep things fresh throughout the round: the middle third of the holes play through thick woods, but the progression to this point is paced, with the level of woodedness slowly building over the first seven holes. Hole 14 brings you back out into the more spacious terrain that closes things out, but the excellent use of available obstacles keeps the challenge up, only shifting the focus. Overall, the mix of shots and looks is nothing less than superb. "You'll need every shot in your bag" gets thrown around a lot in course reviews, but it's the only way to describe Whippin' Post. Versatility beyond one throwing style is in high demand here: if you throw exclusively one style, be it BH, FH, OH, whathaveyou, you'll be behind the 8 ball at some point. Elevation plays a major factor throughout, as a direct challenge, OB-like deterrent, or secondary factor that further complicates your shots. The course emphasizes obstacle-laden multistage holes, with an extremely high challenge level wherein every shot counts, but within that theme Whippin' Post presents some very varied takes.

The setting is beautiful, and I was very impressed with how well the course was groomed, especially considering: 1) it's private, 2) it's huge, and 3) it plays through some crazy-thick woods. The tees are hard-packed gravel, which may not sound attractive on paper but do a great job in practice. Run-up and footing are essential here with the long holes and precise demands, and the tees were never anything less than completely reliable. Navigation is mostly intuitive, though having the map on hand can be helpful at a few points.
Cons: Whippin' Post is the most uncompromising course I've played. It's hole after hole of extreme challenge, with seemingly no concern to mix this up. Only one set of tees further hammers home that there is only one way to play this course. This intensity distinguishes Whippin' Post and is part of the fun (more like "fun" at times), but probably the biggest design critique I have is the lack of variety on the challenge front, and the accompanying focus on long, multistage holes. This is of course a huge matter of preference, especially since its this focus on demanding golf throughout that helps make Whippin' Post unique and incredible. It bears mentioning, though.

The immense challenge offered here means this course is only for experienced players. You don't by any means need to play Open - I'm a high Rec/low Intermediate golfer, and I was blown away by Whippin' Post - but the course is certainly not for everybody. The physical challenge associated with navigating the hilly, wooded terrain could also deter some. It's not an unreasonable trek, though.

The long holes and lack of adequate signage often force you to scout ahead to put eyes on the basket. This makes an already-long course play even longer. Two of us played our round here in three hours, perhaps a little more, and we weren't dilly-dallying. That's on top of an even longer round on Woodshed, too.

Though the rough is for the most part very well thinned out given the environment, there are still a lot of opportunities to lose discs, be it the extreme drop-offs, the occasional high grass, the thick woods bordering some holes, or the pond. Be mindful of the many disasters that could strike before you throw that uber-rare CE Eagle of yours.
Other Thoughts: I did not know what to expect from my visit here, with the minimal amount of pictures and the lack of recent reviews. What I found was a truly top-level course in Whippin' Post, one of the best I've ever played. It's presently one of only two 5.0s I've given out of the nearly 60 courses I've played, ranking ahead of stalwarts like Moraine, Deer Lakes, Shawshank, and Selah Creekside. I cannot urge you enough to make this trip, as long as you're willing to make a day of it and take on the challenge here.

I preferred Whippin' Post to Woodshed pretty handily: the design was more varied, more challenging, and altogether better. The navigation was significantly easier, too. I was impressed with how distinct the two courses were.

My rounds at Woodshed and Whippin' Post made for the most demanding day of golf I've ever had (and this is from a guy who has played five courses in a day). Don't expect to do anything other than play these two courses on the day you visit. They'll bring you really out of the way of civilization, so come prepared food-wise.

Play here!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

True to its Name

1    6/6/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 3 at the Whippin' Post is cleverly named "Surprise" with its basket tucked away among many trees on an uphill slope. This name would be appropriate for many of the holes here, as every time I stepped up to the tee, I was greeted with another gem of a hole, unique to others I have played: Surprise, here's another heart-pumping, one-of-a-kind hole. The Whippin' Post offers hole after hole of greatness and maintains this high-level consistency throughout the round.

It is located on an awesome piece of property with its rolling hills and dense woods that was made for disc golf. Far from anything else, you will most likely have this land all to yourself. While I didn't meet Gabbi when I was there, I had a very helpful phone conversation with her as she gave me precise directions for how to journey to their property. She was kind enough to have her son welcome us, give us a course map, and show us where each course began. "Rustic" doesn't quite adequately describe the property, which offers bathrooms and a practice basket near the parking area. There are couches to relax on between rounds and they even set out jugs of water for us in the barn.

This is one of the best courses I have played in regards to technical design, variety, and fun factor. This course truly has everything as it offers extremely tight lines in the woods, more open shots over the rolling hills and pond, and multi-stage holes playing from open to tight woods and vice versa. There are multiple holes with EXTREME elevation and ravines come into play on many occasions.

The course starts with a fairly open shot into the woods and hole 2 throws you a dauntingly tight ravine hole. Holes 3-6 play through a moderately wooded area, allowing you to throw calculated bombs through multiple lane options to tight pin positions. Holes 7-11 is one of the most intimidating stretch of holes I have played, incorporating different looks around a vastly deep ravine. 12 and 13 take you to the edge of the woods, while 14-18 offer welcoming open holes that play over huge rolling hills and near the pond.

Great risk/reward factor throughout, whether it's trying to avoid a tree kick down to the bottom of the ravine, parking an upshot without rolling down yet another steep hill, or avoiding the pond as you approach the basket.

The course has such a great replay value, as every hole could be played differently again and again. This is due to the fact that most holes are multi-dimensional, combining elevation, different lines, and different levels of woodenness. There was never a hole where, "Ok, here is a straight-forward, super tight tree-lined path to the basket, you either hit it or you don't." Even as you play through dense woods, multiple lanes are offered and catering to a FH or BH player. While most holes are very heavily wooded, it isn't devastating to scramble back onto the fairway. The course has been very well groomed and discs were always easily located.

Navigation is not really an issue here and is intuitive to finding the next tee. The map was helpful for the few confusing points and in listing the hole lengths.

I have to say, I enjoyed using these huge gravel tees and the tee signs here were well-appreciated.
Cons: -The bookend holes would be brutal to play if maintenance was an issue, but it seems as though the owner will mow ahead of time if he knows you are coming. All of the fairways were freshly mowed for us, so our experience was great in this regard.
-I wouldn't want to make the trek to this course in the rain or snow, but even my low-riding Altima with worn-out tires was able to make it here fine. Getting here isn't an issue, but the steep, winding roads encourage careful navigation. As others have said, come prepared with food, water, and gas, as not much is around this area at all.
Other Thoughts: The owners clearly love hosting these awesome courses and do their best to enhance your experience. There isn't even a remotely bad hole at The Whippin' Post. This course flows so well in variety of shots and hole types. You will use a seemingly endless multitude of discs in your bag and will want to empty it on many occasions. Even though this course gave me a severe beat down, I would come back in a heartbeat. Hole after hole greets the player with something truly special. I kept waiting to see if the course would let up in terms of its Gold-level design and variety, but it did not at any point.

Each hole was a pleasant surprise because it was unreal how time and again the player is offered yet another unique, masterfully designed hole. Heading north on 51, surprise, we saw a bear run across the road. This was Paw Paw's way of saying, "Yes, you were truly in the middle of nowhere. Yes, this is a one of a kind experience. And, yes, it was awesome!"

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great course needs some TLC

1    4/19/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mountain golf experience. Is one of two courses located on a remote private property. Very friendly owners/operators. Lots of interesting shots over crevices, down/up mountains. Long championship styled course. Baskets in great condition. Camping is available.
Cons: Tee signs are in bad shape if they exist at all. Earthen tee pads have eroded pretty bad. This course has more woods then its sister course and thus has more down trees from weather that needs to be cleared which makes navigating in some instances a little annoying. Some "landing zones" designed on some of the longer holes in the woods have too much growth associated with them that even if you do make a good fairway shot your still punished.
Other Thoughts: The whipping post is probably the more difficult course on the property. Besides the last few open holes the beauty of this course can be easily forgotten with the challenging lines your discs need to find on some really intriguing wooded holes. Again like its sister course I loved this place but you could tell the course had either a very hard fall/winter or hasn't had as much attention the last year or so that it probably had in its hey day. Here is to hoping it has many years left!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Totally Friggin' AWESOME!!!

1    5/26/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Championship caliber holes (36 really) on a private course with some of the most ideal terrain and scenic quality you can imagine to play on. The variety of open and wooded holes combined with the distance and elevation really test a player's mastery of skill through the air and mental toughness. There is rolling on elevation on most holes which always makes shots more interesting. There are big downhill and uphill bombs, as well as some long holes through the tight woods, and shots around the pond. Baskets are well placed with high risk and reward in most cases. Some huge flags on the baskets where they are blind from the huge elevation change. There were decent tee signs.

The Whipping post has a little more elevation and woods than the Woodshed but a little more fair.

The course was immaculately groomed like a 5 star ball golf course when I played on Memorial weekend. There is tall grass off the fairways on the open holes, but the fairways are really generous like 50' wide, and there was little underbrush off the tighter fairways in the woods, so losing a disc is fairly hard unless it's a really bad shot or really unlucky.

Camping is available on site, so you can spend the weekend. Two very clean portapotties by the shed.
Cons: I've never given a 5 disc rating until now and I won't say there aren't things that could be better here, but this course blows every other course I have played out of the park, and can only get better!

Being nitty...A couple of the holes in the woods could use more defined fairways. Navigation can be a little tough for someone playing the first time.

Don't know if it's con but this course maybe too much a beginner or intermediate player, it really wasn't designed as such. It was designed for the best of the best. With that in mind I know some local beginners that do play the course and do ok, but can get frustrated
Other Thoughts: For anyone traveling through Berkley Springs the experience begins with the drive to the course. It is simply breathtaking overlooking the valley of the mountains with the Potomac river below. The roads do get a little scary as you get closer to the course, but it also adds some thrill and anticipation. In some cases you may have to pull off to the side to let vehicles pass from the other direction. I would not want to drive here in the snow, it's scary enough in the dark, or even daylight. If you are arriving from the west side of Paw Paw the drive is even scarier and not as scenic.

Upon arriving I put $20 in the can in the shed where the money to play and camp goes. I was only here to play both courses one day, but just looking at the property and work that has gone into here I felt obligated to pay more, and have payed more for some dinky courses comparatively. Gabby came out almost immediately to greet me with a smile and give me course map. This map is better than the ones on the website here. She also gave some quick pointers about the course and warned to watch for copperheads as one of her dogs was recently bitten. I know there are also bears, bobcats, and coyotes in the area. I was glad I ran into some old hippy pro I know from Bmore hanging out the shed waiting for somebody to play with since I'd never played here before.

Come here prepared not only as far as your golf game goes, but with enough water and food for your stay. There is hardly anything locally, and you really don't want to venture away for a few good reasons.

This is truly the best disc golf experience I know of, and if you consider yourself a disc golfer this is an absolute must play and totally worth the journey from wherever and I will be back hopefully sooner than later! What more can I say other than Paw Paw or as some call it Wap Wap is totally friggin' AWESOME!!!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    8/15/2011   2/17/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of long, open, wooded. The shot across the ravine is cool. Great drive just to get to the course. Not far from Berkeley Springs, WV if you are not camping at Paw Paw. That made it easy for me to bring my family and bust away for a half day to play.
Cons: Some signs are fairly weathered, but decent. I didn't have a chance to play the 2nd course of the two on this same property, but heard from others that some of the wooded shots were more luck than skills as I've read in other reviews. I did not find that to be the case with Whipping Post at all.
Other Thoughts: I met a group of guys who were camping there. Seemed like an ideal long-weekend place to go and play, then jump in the lake and fish out discs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Paw Paw magic

1    1/5/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This land is simply gorgeous. You have everything needed for an elite disc golf course. Diverse elevations that include rolling open hills and steep mountainous climbs. Two sister ponds that are clear and just the right size for hucking over. Dense, rough woodlands and wide, windy grass land. Amazing. Of the entire experience here in Paw Paw, it is this beauty that will be remembered most.

Incredible technical challenge. The long and often insanely tight holes will challenge even the most skilled marksman. This course spans over 8000 ft. for 18 holes. Approx. 2/3's of the holes are wooded. Expect 500 footers through 10ft wide gaps. Bring some patience with you. You will need it.

The lines are as diverse as it gets. You will need every shot in your arsenal. The extreme elevation changes will affect your disc selection...as will the density. Even though this is a big, long course, discing down for control could very well be your best option. In the woods, you rarely need to shoot strait. This course is loaded with flex lines and winding fairways.

I loved that after you play the Woodshed, you are taken through a bamboo garden (that seemed entirely out of place) to get to the Whippin' Post. It sort of wipes away the last round and sets the stage for a new and unique experience.
Cons: There was consiberable wear and tear in the woods. Also, there was debris that took away from the natural beauty.

I felt there were some undefined fairways here. I expected and respect the fact that its tight, but a few holes were just too convoluted for a clear fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nature hike with some disc golf mixed in. It is big. Don't expect a quick round here. Nor should you. Take your time to experience this place.

You will most likely be greeted upon arrival by Gabby - the owner. She greeted me warmly and explained many details of the layout. Make sure you get a map. You will certainly need it.

I can only imagine what it must take to maintain such a property with 2 mammoth courses. Be kind with your fees and tips and make sure you leave this place in better shape than it was when you arrive.

I would be remiss to not at some point make a comparison between the Woodshed and the Whippin' Post. The biggest difference is density. The Whippin' Post is a lot tighter. It also has more elevation, particularly in the woods. Beware of the hard sloping greens.

Good times all around. This is absolutely a destination property. Any and all serious disc golfers should experience the magic of Paw Paw

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My Bum is Red!

5+    6/19/2009   2/20/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
25 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Paw Paw courses in rural West Virginia are without a doubt one of the top disc golf destinations in the US. Not only is the disc golf fantastic but beautiful scenery and wildlife abounds. Both courses, Woodshed and Whippin' Post have extreme variety in the types of shots, both off the tee, and off the fairway. If you haven't thrown a sidearm, flick roller, tomahawk, etc. during your round, you probably weren't paying attention because you likely were in a position where 'X' shot could have saved you a stroke. This course will expose any weakness in your game, skillwise and especially mentally.

Do you have confidence in all of your shots? Can you make them under adverse conditions (footing, intimidating lines)?

How do you deal with a bad kick? Can you shake it, can you recover from it even under pressure?!?

Like the Woodshed, Whippin' Post also demands that you 'learn it' rather than just play it. Many of the holes have subtle scoring differences that aren't immediately apparent upon first glance. A hole that may appear to be a tight hyzer might in fact yield better scoring to a turnover sidearm. Some landing zones might be in unexpected places requiring several rounds to figure out or careful study of the hole. Some might say that this creates a bit of "home-boy" bias, but putting in a few rounds of work to figure out the course is well worth the time. I'd recommend to play with a player who knows it and you will get an idea of where to attack and where to be conservative. The usual knock on this course is that it is all "luck" because of the tight fairways but you will find players who can consistently shred this course. Luck? I would argue that they put in the work, developed the skills, and mindset to succeed where others lose patience. While I prefer the consistency of Whippin' Post to the Woodshed, you'll find better variety of holes on Woodshed along with a few of the most creative ones such as "Circles".

Hole Profile
Chloe's Run
Certainly one of the classic holes at Whippin' Post, Chloe's Run is a fiendishly long but relatively open (for this course anyway!) bomber hole on the front nine of Whippin' Post. Woods line both sides of the hole and several trees near the basket offer a stiff but penetrable defense. There is a narrowing of the fairway right near the ideal landing zone for the drive creating a classic golf-hole feel. All players will need to weigh bonus distance against increasing odds of a bad lie for the second shot. From a well-placed drive there are several routes to reach the pin from a tight, wrapping RHBH hyzer to the ideal bomb left to right finishing route ideal for a LHBH hyzer or big sidearm. This hole really rewards those who can throw 350+ from both sides as a RHBH drive combination with a sidearm or LHBH can frequently card an impressive birdie. But confidence is needed for both shots because a shank will certainly result in 4 or more strokes.
Cons: As with the Woodshed, new disc technology is starting to erode the design of a couple of the field holes. The open par 4's, while still requiring great shots, are becoming more routine birdies and the upshots are looking much easier. A good example of this can be seen in the awesome finishing hole "Ed is Watching". At 402 downhill, this hole used to allow birdies for only the most confident and skilled players (back in the days of <10 speed discs). Now, to huck an Xcalibur far over the pond is an easy three with birdie potential.
Other Thoughts: As other reviewers have stated, these courses really should be experienced at some point during a disc golfers career.

The owners are some of the best folks you'll ever meet, they have put and continue to devote a big piece of their lives to Paw Paw, so feel free to kick in an extra few $$$ if you appreciate the course!

25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 West Virginia Classic

1    9/18/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The setting is idyllic - a large, sloping, V-shaped open space with two small ponds and a smattering of large trees scattered along and across the fields. Thicker woods on the edges define the property boundary, and the combination of the two provides the raw resources for a course that offers a blend of both openness and tightness, while mixing in elevation changes. Owner Gabi was quite friendly as she came out to meet us with a map, explain the current basket configuration, and forewarn us of potential navigation issues. Red arrows on some trees to aid in navigation. Two port-a-johns on site. Another 18=hole course at same location.
Cons:
In mid-September, plenty of bugs - gnats in the open and mosquitoes in the woods. Natural tee locations are a bit short and rough, but within character for the course. Tee signs are well-battered, like a DX disc that has interacted with too many trees. At least thirty minutes from any sign of civilization, and about an hour from the nearest interstates (I70 and I81), so come prepared, because food/petrol/other options are NOT nearby.
Other Thoughts:
A map is a necessity for a first-time/infrequent visitor, as holes 7, 10, and 13 all start near the same location, and a number of baskets are not easily visible from the tee. A few holes play across, and a few baskets are located near, deep gullies filled with dead leaves, so the chance of disc loss is high on some holes - spotters advised.

Approximately 1/3rd of the holes are primarily open and long, with obstacles (trees, pond) somewhat guarding the basket positions. The wooded holes require a variety of shots from the tee - left-, right, S-,a nd no-turners, and they are every bit as long as the open holes. Most holes are fairly flat or have minor elevation changes, but 7-12 play near some very steep slopes. Favourite hole: Number-11, a long, blind, right-turner across a leaf-filled ravine. Least favourite hole: Number-4, mucho trees to deal with early, only to find the basket within a prison cell! :-O

The length, pond, and tightness of most of the wooded holes makes this course inappropriate for beginners, low-level intermediates, and those who can't tolerate multiple challenging wooded holes. If you like your courses long, rough-n-tough, more wooded-than-open, and away from it all, certainly make the trip to play both courses at this location.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/2/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Whippin' Post is a tough, challenging, and fun course. This course has many of the same pros as The Woodshed as far as beautiful mountain scenery since they are right next to each other. The property owners are great people, the 5$ to play is worth it.

Course Pros:
-long open shots and tightly wooded technical shots
-great use of land and elevation
-risk/reward including water hazard and challenging fairways
-well maintained
-arrows pointing to the next tee
-secluded and peaceful

There is onsite camping available is a huge bonus!

Camping Pros:
-5$ per person is a bargain
-soft grass for sleeping and walking barefoot

I star-gazed for a long time, the sky was brightly lit with so many stars, more than I ever remember seeing before. It was amazing and I must have seen half a dozen shooting stars.
Cons: The narrow road into the courses can be scary, especially driving in at night like I did. It is far away from most of civilization but it keeps it more secluded and you do get 2 first classes courses. Spend the night, it's just easier that way!

-beginners may get frustrated
-tee signs aren't very good (bring a map and you will be fine)
Other Thoughts: My two favorite holes were #9 and #18. 9 is an amazing shot across a large ravine. 18 is a downhill shot with a large, clean pond before the basket. I chose to lay up before the pond (my arm is not ready to go for it yet!) The greenery grows in alot thicker than the pictures let on. Bring all your food/drink/supplies because you are not going to want to run out for anything. The Paw Paw courses are worth the trek!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.