Paw Paw, WV
Whippin' Post Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #14 (Taken 5/2010)
4 / 675ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great course needs some TLC

1    4/19/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 114  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mountain golf experience. Is one of two courses located on a remote private property. Very friendly owners/operators. Lots of interesting shots over crevices, down/up mountains. Long championship styled course. Baskets in great condition. Camping is available.
Cons: Tee signs are in bad shape if they exist at all. Earthen tee pads have eroded pretty bad. This course has more woods then its sister course and thus has more down trees from weather that needs to be cleared which makes navigating in some instances a little annoying. Some "landing zones" designed on some of the longer holes in the woods have too much growth associated with them that even if you do make a good fairway shot your still punished.
Other Thoughts: The whipping post is probably the more difficult course on the property. Besides the last few open holes the beauty of this course can be easily forgotten with the challenging lines your discs need to find on some really intriguing wooded holes. Again like its sister course I loved this place but you could tell the course had either a very hard fall/winter or hasn't had as much attention the last year or so that it probably had in its hey day. Here is to hoping it has many years left!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Totally Friggin' AWESOME!!!

1    5/26/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 80  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 Championship caliber holes (36 really) on a private course with some of the most ideal terrain and scenic quality you can imagine to play on. The variety of open and wooded holes combined with the distance and elevation really test a player's mastery of skill through the air and mental toughness. There is rolling on elevation on most holes which always makes shots more interesting. There are big downhill and uphill bombs, as well as some long holes through the tight woods, and shots around the pond. Baskets are well placed with high risk and reward in most cases. Some huge flags on the baskets where they are blind from the huge elevation change. There were decent tee signs.

The Whipping post has a little more elevation and woods than the Woodshed but a little more fair.

The course was immaculately groomed like a 5 star ball golf course when I played on Memorial weekend. There is tall grass off the fairways on the open holes, but the fairways are really generous like 50' wide, and there was little underbrush off the tighter fairways in the woods, so losing a disc is fairly hard unless it's a really bad shot or really unlucky.

Camping is available on site, so you can spend the weekend. Two very clean portapotties by the shed.
Cons: I've never given a 5 disc rating until now and I won't say there aren't things that could be better here, but this course blows every other course I have played out of the park, and can only get better!

Being nitty...A couple of the holes in the woods could use more defined fairways. Navigation can be a little tough for someone playing the first time.

Don't know if it's con but this course maybe too much a beginner or intermediate player, it really wasn't designed as such. It was designed for the best of the best. With that in mind I know some local beginners that do play the course and do ok, but can get frustrated
Other Thoughts: For anyone traveling through Berkley Springs the experience begins with the drive to the course. It is simply breathtaking overlooking the valley of the mountains with the Potomac river below. The roads do get a little scary as you get closer to the course, but it also adds some thrill and anticipation. In some cases you may have to pull off to the side to let vehicles pass from the other direction. I would not want to drive here in the snow, it's scary enough in the dark, or even daylight. If you are arriving from the west side of Paw Paw the drive is even scarier and not as scenic.

Upon arriving I put $20 in the can in the shed where the money to play and camp goes. I was only here to play both courses one day, but just looking at the property and work that has gone into here I felt obligated to pay more, and have payed more for some dinky courses comparatively. Gabby came out almost immediately to greet me with a smile and give me course map. This map is better than the ones on the website here. She also gave some quick pointers about the course and warned to watch for copperheads as one of her dogs was recently bitten. I know there are also bears, bobcats, and coyotes in the area. I was glad I ran into some old hippy pro I know from Bmore hanging out the shed waiting for somebody to play with since I'd never played here before.

Come here prepared not only as far as your golf game goes, but with enough water and food for your stay. There is hardly anything locally, and you really don't want to venture away for a few good reasons.

This is truly the best disc golf experience I know of, and if you consider yourself a disc golfer this is an absolute must play and totally worth the journey from wherever and I will be back hopefully sooner than later! What more can I say other than Paw Paw or as some call it Wap Wap is totally friggin' AWESOME!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

1    8/15/2011   2/17/2012
Review By: crystal haze
Played: 24  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variety of long, open, wooded. The shot across the ravine is cool. Great drive just to get to the course. Not far from Berkeley Springs, WV if you are not camping at Paw Paw. That made it easy for me to bring my family and bust away for a half day to play.
Cons: Some signs are fairly weathered, but decent. I didn't have a chance to play the 2nd course of the two on this same property, but heard from others that some of the wooded shots were more luck than skills as I've read in other reviews. I did not find that to be the case with Whipping Post at all.
Other Thoughts: I met a group of guys who were camping there. Seemed like an ideal long-weekend place to go and play, then jump in the lake and fish out discs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paw Paw magic

1    1/5/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This land is simply gorgeous. You have everything needed for an elite disc golf course. Diverse elevations that include rolling open hills and steep mountainous climbs. Two sister ponds that are clear and just the right size for hucking over. Dense, rough woodlands and wide, windy grass land. Amazing. Of the entire experience here in Paw Paw, it is this beauty that will be remembered most.

Incredible technical challenge. The long and often insanely tight holes will challenge even the most skilled marksman. This course spans over 8000 ft. for 18 holes. Approx. 2/3's of the holes are wooded. Expect 500 footers through 10ft wide gaps. Bring some patience with you. You will need it.

The lines are as diverse as it gets. You will need every shot in your arsenal. The extreme elevation changes will affect your disc selection...as will the density. Even though this is a big, long course, discing down for control could very well be your best option. In the woods, you rarely need to shoot strait. This course is loaded with flex lines and winding fairways.

I loved that after you play the Woodshed, you are taken through a bamboo garden (that seemed entirely out of place) to get to the Whippin' Post. It sort of wipes away the last round and sets the stage for a new and unique experience.
Cons: There was consiberable wear and tear in the woods. Also, there was debris that took away from the natural beauty.

I felt there were some undefined fairways here. I expected and respect the fact that its tight, but a few holes were just too convoluted for a clear fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nature hike with some disc golf mixed in. It is big. Don't expect a quick round here. Nor should you. Take your time to experience this place.

You will most likely be greeted upon arrival by Gabby - the owner. She greeted me warmly and explained many details of the layout. Make sure you get a map. You will certainly need it.

I can only imagine what it must take to maintain such a property with 2 mammoth courses. Be kind with your fees and tips and make sure you leave this place in better shape than it was when you arrive.

I would be remiss to not at some point make a comparison between the Woodshed and the Whippin' Post. The biggest difference is density. The Whippin' Post is a lot tighter. It also has more elevation, particularly in the woods. Beware of the hard sloping greens.

Good times all around. This is absolutely a destination property. Any and all serious disc golfers should experience the magic of Paw Paw

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My Bum is Red!

5+    6/19/2009   2/20/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
24 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Paw Paw courses in rural West Virginia are without a doubt one of the top disc golf destinations in the US. Not only is the disc golf fantastic but beautiful scenery and wildlife abounds. Both courses, Woodshed and Whippin' Post have extreme variety in the types of shots, both off the tee, and off the fairway. If you haven't thrown a sidearm, flick roller, tomahawk, etc. during your round, you probably weren't paying attention because you likely were in a position where 'X' shot could have saved you a stroke. This course will expose any weakness in your game, skillwise and especially mentally.

Do you have confidence in all of your shots? Can you make them under adverse conditions (footing, intimidating lines)?

How do you deal with a bad kick? Can you shake it, can you recover from it even under pressure?!?

Like the Woodshed, Whippin' Post also demands that you 'learn it' rather than just play it. Many of the holes have subtle scoring differences that aren't immediately apparent upon first glance. A hole that may appear to be a tight hyzer might in fact yield better scoring to a turnover sidearm. Some landing zones might be in unexpected places requiring several rounds to figure out or careful study of the hole. Some might say that this creates a bit of "home-boy" bias, but putting in a few rounds of work to figure out the course is well worth the time. I'd recommend to play with a player who knows it and you will get an idea of where to attack and where to be conservative. The usual knock on this course is that it is all "luck" because of the tight fairways but you will find players who can consistently shred this course. Luck? I would argue that they put in the work, developed the skills, and mindset to succeed where others lose patience. While I prefer the consistency of Whippin' Post to the Woodshed, you'll find better variety of holes on Woodshed along with a few of the most creative ones such as "Circles".

Hole Profile
Chloe's Run
Certainly one of the classic holes at Whippin' Post, Chloe's Run is a fiendishly long but relatively open (for this course anyway!) bomber hole on the front nine of Whippin' Post. Woods line both sides of the hole and several trees near the basket offer a stiff but penetrable defense. There is a narrowing of the fairway right near the ideal landing zone for the drive creating a classic golf-hole feel. All players will need to weigh bonus distance against increasing odds of a bad lie for the second shot. From a well-placed drive there are several routes to reach the pin from a tight, wrapping RHBH hyzer to the ideal bomb left to right finishing route ideal for a LHBH hyzer or big sidearm. This hole really rewards those who can throw 350+ from both sides as a RHBH drive combination with a sidearm or LHBH can frequently card an impressive birdie. But confidence is needed for both shots because a shank will certainly result in 4 or more strokes.
Cons: As with the Woodshed, new disc technology is starting to erode the design of a couple of the field holes. The open par 4's, while still requiring great shots, are becoming more routine birdies and the upshots are looking much easier. A good example of this can be seen in the awesome finishing hole "Ed is Watching". At 402 downhill, this hole used to allow birdies for only the most confident and skilled players (back in the days of <10 speed discs). Now, to huck an Xcalibur far over the pond is an easy three with birdie potential.
Other Thoughts: As other reviewers have stated, these courses really should be experienced at some point during a disc golfers career.

The owners are some of the best folks you'll ever meet, they have put and continue to devote a big piece of their lives to Paw Paw, so feel free to kick in an extra few $$$ if you appreciate the course!

24 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 West Virginia Classic

1    9/18/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 326  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The setting is idyllic - a large, sloping, V-shaped open space with two small ponds and a smattering of large trees scattered along and across the fields. Thicker woods on the edges define the property boundary, and the combination of the two provides the raw resources for a course that offers a blend of both openness and tightness, while mixing in elevation changes. Owner Gabi was quite friendly as she came out to meet us with a map, explain the current basket configuration, and forewarn us of potential navigation issues. Red arrows on some trees to aid in navigation. Two port-a-johns on site. Another 18=hole course at same location.
Cons:
In mid-September, plenty of bugs - gnats in the open and mosquitoes in the woods. Natural tee locations are a bit short and rough, but within character for the course. Tee signs are well-battered, like a DX disc that has interacted with too many trees. At least thirty minutes from any sign of civilization, and about an hour from the nearest interstates (I70 and I81), so come prepared, because food/petrol/other options are NOT nearby.
Other Thoughts:
A map is a necessity for a first-time/infrequent visitor, as holes 7, 10, and 13 all start near the same location, and a number of baskets are not easily visible from the tee. A few holes play across, and a few baskets are located near, deep gullies filled with dead leaves, so the chance of disc loss is high on some holes - spotters advised.

Approximately 1/3rd of the holes are primarily open and long, with obstacles (trees, pond) somewhat guarding the basket positions. The wooded holes require a variety of shots from the tee - left-, right, S-,a nd no-turners, and they are every bit as long as the open holes. Most holes are fairly flat or have minor elevation changes, but 7-12 play near some very steep slopes. Favourite hole: Number-11, a long, blind, right-turner across a leaf-filled ravine. Least favourite hole: Number-4, mucho trees to deal with early, only to find the basket within a prison cell! :-O

The length, pond, and tightness of most of the wooded holes makes this course inappropriate for beginners, low-level intermediates, and those who can't tolerate multiple challenging wooded holes. If you like your courses long, rough-n-tough, more wooded-than-open, and away from it all, certainly make the trip to play both courses at this location.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    8/2/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Whippin' Post is a tough, challenging, and fun course. This course has many of the same pros as The Woodshed as far as beautiful mountain scenery since they are right next to each other. The property owners are great people, the 5$ to play is worth it.

Course Pros:
-long open shots and tightly wooded technical shots
-great use of land and elevation
-risk/reward including water hazard and challenging fairways
-well maintained
-arrows pointing to the next tee
-secluded and peaceful

There is onsite camping available is a huge bonus!

Camping Pros:
-5$ per person is a bargain
-soft grass for sleeping and walking barefoot

I star-gazed for a long time, the sky was brightly lit with so many stars, more than I ever remember seeing before. It was amazing and I must have seen half a dozen shooting stars.
Cons: The narrow road into the courses can be scary, especially driving in at night like I did. It is far away from most of civilization but it keeps it more secluded and you do get 2 first classes courses. Spend the night, it's just easier that way!

-beginners may get frustrated
-tee signs aren't very good (bring a map and you will be fine)
Other Thoughts: My two favorite holes were #9 and #18. 9 is an amazing shot across a large ravine. 18 is a downhill shot with a large, clean pond before the basket. I chose to lay up before the pond (my arm is not ready to go for it yet!) The greenery grows in alot thicker than the pictures let on. Bring all your food/drink/supplies because you are not going to want to run out for anything. The Paw Paw courses are worth the trek!

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The more technical of the twin Paw Paws

2-4    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of wooded shots. This course is the more technical of the two Paw Paw courses IMO. Like the Woodshed, many of them require a tight fairway driver and of course, several miracles!

- Immaculately manicured greens (I don't know how Spencer does it) and amazing scenery make for one of the most beautiful courses in the world!

- Great par 4's that really test your ability.

- Spencer and Gabby are amazing hosts, as usual. Take advantage of the area and camp over a night!

- Notable holes:

#1 is not so much notable for its length of difficulty, but rather for the amazing bamboo that guards you to the right. Very unique and scenic!

#6 is a super long drive (~800 feet) that leads to a well-guarded pin placement. The best test of arm strength.

#9 is my favorite hole on the course. It's a drive across a super steep ravine. You drive off a tee and watch it sail across the wide expanse. The challenge here is that you have to get it uphill to the basket. Phenomenal!

#18 is a great way to finish. Can you clear the pond? Better have a nice tailwind to help.

- Best of all, it's just fun! Don't let the challenge keep you from having a blast!
Cons: - Like most of central WV, this area is almost completely detached from civilization.

- Signage and tees need some improvement. Many of the signs are laying down on the ground and the tees could use some gravel.

- Compared to the Woodshed, the holes seem a little more repetitive. There's a reason hole #13 is called the Twilight Zone! Others feel the same way, too. Many of the holes on the front nine seem kind of bunched together a bit.

- You will hit wood many times. They will ricochet. You will curse. However, can you really expect NOT to given the tree placement?

Other Thoughts: - It's very hard reviewing these courses individually, as it naturally seems like more of a comparison to the other than a true review. Take my word (and the word of the other reviewers) and see all 36 holes for yourself!

- The Whippin' Post is definitely one of the top 5 courses I've ever played. On a very small margin, it has a little less variety than the Woodshed, but it's still one of the most beautiful, challenging, and serene locations in the DG universe.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 413  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2010
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Whipping Post is a great mix of open holes and nasty woods holes, with many true par 4s and tons of elevation changes. Overall, I feel that the Whipping Post is more balanced in terms of giving you a tremendous variety of different types of holes with very little repetition (there are a couple of holes on the Woodshed that inspire a touch of dejavu). There are big uphills, downhills, tight fairways, roller holes, huge dropoffs, shots over valleys, places for max-D bombs, places for touch shots, lots of fast greens, risk/reward challenges, beautiful vistas and everything else you could ask for.
Other Thoughts: The camping opportunities at PawPaw are awesome -- lots of barefoot grass and flat places to pitch a tent. A clean pond for swimming. Enclosed areas for fires are provided, and Spencer usually has firewood and ice he'll sell you at a reasonable price if you've forgotten to bring your own.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Almost as good as Woodshed on same site.

5+    2/7/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 66  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.1 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Much like it's sister course, The Woodshed, The Whippin' Post offers a lot of variety and demands a lot of different shot-making skills to score well. It has everything from 800'+ grip-n-rip holes to very technical wooded holes. It includes a lot of elevation changes and you do get a workout traversing the hills. There are a couple nice holes where you're throwing over a ravine. And the closer hole is a 402', somewhat downhill, shot over water. You have to carry about 385' of that to clear the pond... unless you skip your shot off of the dock that is. Check this out...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

This is a pro level course that will punish bad shots. It's not for the weak hearted. And beginners beware, this course is long and has some very difficult, potentially frustrating, wooded holes. Be prepared to meet some trees.

The baskets are all in good shape. The tee boxes are large enough and most holes allow for a nice run-up area. There are signs for each hole and signs pointing to the next tees, although they're pretty run down at this point.

The mountains of WV are absolutely beautiful and this place is a prime example. Come and camp... stay a while. You'll have a great time. And Gabby & co. are always pleasant hosts.
Cons: Just like the Woodshed, the gravel (finely crushed) tees are ok when dry but can get rutty. And when wet they can be a muddy, slippery mess.

The signage, as I mentioned above, needs some work. It's just gotten old and is in need of some TLC.

The same thing that makes it so nice, being able to get away from it all, can also be a bother. The course is a long way from anywhere substantial.
Other Thoughts: I was going to list this as a con, but it's really more of a pet peave of mine. Holes #3 & #4 are both pretty nice holes. But they both play through dense woods and are 354' and 369' respectively. They're both considered par 3. I'm normally all about using the lowest par possible for holes. But I question whether the best pros would regularly make 3 on these holes. There is a subsantial element of chance involved which makes me think that they should be par 4. I could be totally wrong based upon how other people play the hole, thus this isn't a con.

There are a few great holes on this course that I absolutely love... #6 & #14 are two of them. I don't have a big enough arm, yet, to have a chance at birdies, but they're a ton of fun.

With both courses on the same site, the option to camp and great hosts, Paw Paw, WV should be a serious disc golf destination. If you're trying to get in 20 different courses on a two day marathon, then this probably won't work into your plans very well. However, if you just want to be able to sit back and relax after an awesome 36 holes, this is definitely the place for you. I highly recommend coming to play these courses to anyone who plays the game. It will be well worth your time.

There's a lot of property for sale nearby... hmmm.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.