Amarillo, TX 
Disc Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: RocCityDiscer Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Watch out for the creek on the right



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Surprisingly good

1    7/25/2014   8/7/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
Pros: Good variety of shots. Concrete tees. Some water. Good risk/reward on most holes. Some shot shaping holes. Tee signs at every hole. Extra optional hole for 16. Surprising elevation for the panhandle.
Cons: Broken glass. A little tough to follow around 11. Eleven was only about 50 60 feet and said it was 300+. Wind can create some issue.
Other Thoughts: Was surprised to find such an enjoyable course in the panhandle. Well maintained except for the broken glass, but it is not as big an issue as other reviews make out to be. Good variety between long/short, trees, obstacles, mandos, water and elevation. You will have to think risk reward on several holes. 4 is short but had creek on three sides. Do you go for the ace and maybe hit the water or do you play it safe and get par?

It is a very enjoyable course with one extra hole. Play this course. It is good and will require a variety of discs and shots.


A little disappointing.

1    6/14/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Gardengrower
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees. There were lots of trees and hills, a fairly challenging course. You will get your exercise playing this one, but you won't end up winded.
Cons: There were, as often happens at disc golf courses, no maps, so it was difficult to find the first tee.

There are some pretty astringent rules at this course, which is great; but there were two which we didn't know about which caused us to have to leave. Where we are from in NE, the rules are fairly relaxed. Basically:
* If you play slower than those behind you, let them play through.
*It's ok to throw while others are playing at a long tee, as long as they are well out of range.

At this course, we didn't know it, but here are the two rules which ended up getting us impolitely booted from the course for the day.
*No more than 3 people playing together at a given hole. (we have 7 people, so someone would always have to throw alone)
*Absolutely no throwing until the people ahead of you are finished throwing, no exceptions.

Being from a more relaxed environment and not knowing the rules of the course, this was disappointing.

Aside from that, there was glass on the ground at virtually every tee we did get to play. It was generally not a good experience.
Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be a lot of fun, but needs some clean up, and some more trash cans.

Amarillo has plenty of places for disc golf courses. We lived in an area that had 7 courses within an hours drive, 2 of which were very challenging, one was a PDGA course. There needs to be more courses put in this very large city for variety.

There are 3 other courses within 1.5 hrs. drive, but nothing close.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My new home course

5+    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: try122583
Played: 100  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's always nice when they take time to put in concrete tees, and not just for the main tee box. Even the alternate has concrete. The last thing you should have to worry about is footing when getting ready to drive.
- Not only the multiple tees, but multiple pin placements. This adds great variety to this course. Plus, they actually do move the baskets frequently, so playing the course doesn't get stale.
- Decent signage too, showing you were the multiple pin placements are at.
- A nice variety of short and long holes, regardless of how the baskets are placed. I find myself using multiple discs in each round.
- While this park offers a bunch of different activities to residents, they were able to keep the disc golf course away from the busier parts of the park. You don't have to worry about hitting innocent people with drives. All you have to worry about is your game.
- Good usage of what trees and water the park has to offer.
- If you're looking for friendly competition, it looks like there are plenty of local leagues on different nights. I've yet to try one out, but plan on doing so soon.
Cons: - If you like to wear sandals or play barefoot, stay away! Broken glass all over the place.
- The creek that runs through the park can sometimes pack a pungent odor. However, that smell isn't through the whole park, just on a hole or two.
- There are some nights where playing solo might take a long time. I've seen some large crowds out there. While there's nothing wrong with people playing disc golf, it could lead to a lot of waiting and standing around, keeping you from getting into a rhythm.
- If you're not a fan of playing in wind, some of these holes might not be as enjoyable. However, it is good practice!
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course and I'm glad to have it close to me for practice. I just wish there were more courses around it. That's kinda the problem here in the Panhandle; not a lot of places or towns to put courses in. Coming from a place where I was within a short days drive from a ton of courses, I would like to see some more go up somewhere. Over time, I'm sure new courses will come about. In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy Thompson Park. Also, if you're passing through the area, it is definitely worth a visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent park course

1    12/26/2012   1/14/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with scattered mature trees. There are some minor rolling elevation changes that are used fairly well in the design. The trees are enough to make you place your shots well, and there are a handful of shots where you have to contend with a low ceiling or a smaller gap off the tee.

The creek comes into play on some holes, offering some nice risk/reward decisions with pins close to the water or flight paths where you have to go over or near the water to have a chance at birdie. There is nice distance variety, with some reachable holes and some longer shots where you can stretch out your arm. The tees are nice concrete pads, and the signs show both pin placements with distance and hole layout.
Cons: I would like to see an indication of the current pin placements on the tee signs or on the course map at the beginning of the course. On the longer holes or the spots where multiple baskets are in view it would be helpful to know where to shoot. The park is very open, so the course doesn't play very technical. It's more about shot placement without a ton of real line shaping required. The design does a nice job of using many of the more heavily treed areas, but it still offers lots of open tee shots and wide open approaches and greens.

There are a few spots where navigation is difficult, the course map at the beginning is decent, but a little hard to read. Something minor like painting a basket spoke to indicate direction to the next tee would go a long way.
Other Thoughts: Beginners might find the course a little long, but it doesn't eat discs and there's not a whole lot of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will enjoy some chances to throw longer drives, and there are a few nice shots but it's a little too open to really challenge better players. There aren't a whole lot of courses in this area, so this is a good spot to stop and stretch your legs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yellow Gold in Texas DG Country

1    7/31/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Kiosk, bathrooms, excellent signage, and nice grippy tees. All of the amenities seem to be in good condition.
- Dual tees on every hole
- Creek comes into pay on several holes (#3, 16, 17). Bonus points for water hazards!
- Lots of shady spots for those hot TX days
- Nice mix of anny's and hyzers with variation in lengths (200-700 feet) and a nice balance been open and technical throws.
- Use of mandos, such as in hole #9
- Course flow and navigation is almost stupidly simple and very easy to get around. No real need for a map here!
- An acceptable course for first-timers or seasoned veterans--especially with the various tees.
- Evidence of alternative pin placements, which is nice for the locals
- Nice park altogether. You have the rolling hills, a creek, a section with a long line of big trees to navigate, some uphill vs. downhill shots, benches, and an overall nice DG experience!
- Course ends off on a really nice last hole which puts you right by the beginning.
Cons: - Very crowded. I played here at about 8:00am and there were already about 20 people here! I didn't have to really wait to throw any shots, but I did have to look out for people on my drives. I can only imagine this getting worse as the day goes on.
- no particularly difficult or demanding holes (no super big challenges) but all 18 holes are solid and fun to play
- Lacks any real elevation, although there are some rolling hills. It'd be ideal to have a nice steep drop for an uphill or downhill drive, but this is Amarillo. Perhaps I'm being too wishful as a Pennsylvania resident!
- Shards of broken glass are everywhere!
- Very dusty, but that's probably due to the drought affecting the state.
Other Thoughts: This was one the stops on my cross-country road trip, and I was really looking forward to playing in Texas; I wasn't disappointed. Seems like there's a really devoted disc golf scene here, and I'll gladly brave the crowds for that. All in all, I thought this course effectively used the park space well and made for an incredibly enjoyable round of 18. Not a world caliber-level course, but it's definitely NOT a pitch-and-putt either. Think of it as your average course with a few features that makes it above-average.

Signature holes:

#3: Creek is in play and basket is close to the water. Do you wanna hit chains or is the water going to mess with your head?
#14: Long bomb drive down the fairway. Watch out, though, because the basket is very close to the road and thus OB. Definitely a risk/reward hole.
#16: Anhyzer 277 feet to the basket, which is basically hugging the creek's bank.
#18: Fairway is just peppered with trees. Good use for a roller shot here. About 500 feet to the basket and a memorable end to the round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amarillo...I'll be there!

1    6/9/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Various Tees to suit those seeking a change of scenery from the same old course.This course has some very decent medium to long holes that were fun and challenging,beautiful red dirt grass mix in a mildly wooded park,I enjoyed the course actually.
Cons: Multiple pin placements would do the course some good,you have the tees' now get the sleeves.The holes that were short werent that boring due to elevation variance.
Other Thoughts: Coming into this course I had thoughts that it would be less then exciting and fairly boring for some reason and that is not the case its more fun but very similar to widefield dgc in Colo Springs,and way harder then Lucy park in Wichita Falls,

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amarillo's Best

1    3/23/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Variety of Shot Types Required
Distances Vary (Short, Medium, Long)
Course is Away From Other Park Users
Benches Throughout the Course
Restrooms On-Site
Other Amenities/Activities (Zoo, Golf, Etc)
Great Use of Elevation
Water On Several Holes for Challenge
Ample Parking
Cons:
Creek/Water is Nasty
Could Be Cleaner (Glass and Litter Throughout)
Course Is Hard to Locate In the Big Park
Other Thoughts:
Thompson Park Disc Golf Course is located in a 610-acre park in Amarillo, Texas. Besides the 18-hole disc golf course the park is also home to a number of other activities such as playgrounds, picnic areas, the Amarillo Zoo and a 36-hole golf course.

Enter the park from NW 24th Ave on Comanchero, just east of the the ball-golf course. Take a left onto West Chapparrel Road and veer left into the parking lot. From the parking lot you will be able to see the restrooms, practice basket, information board, and first tee.

The first hole is pretty straight forward with little to no obstacles in the way. After hole 1 the difficulty starts to pick up with water coming into play on holes 2, 3, and 4 nearly all year, and continuing on holes 5,6, and 7 during rainy weather. The larger creek will come back into play on 15, 16, and 18 and can get quite nasty so be sure to bring extra discs, towels, and shoes, if you plan on trying to retrieve any plastic.

The course makes great use of what elevation the have and you can tell the designers put a lot of care and thought into this one. The distances range from 197ft. to 619ft. and you will find yourself using a variety of shots off the tee.

Overall I really enjoyed this course and will definitely play it again when I am passing through. If you find yourself in the panhandle I recommend giving this course a try, you won't be disappointed. I feel this course could really use some exposure so they could get the chance to install more courses in and around Amarillo.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signs, lots of challenging holes, but no so hard that first time players don't enjoy themselves. Good use of the elevation changes, and obstacles (water/trees).
Cons: Wind major factor. Lots of glass and litter on the ground, some of it from the park being built on an old land fill, but more trash cans would help with the more modern trash littered about the course.
Other Thoughts: Looks like about to re-do the course with new tee pads at all the holes cant wait to see what is coming. Something on the main board about the planned upgrades would be nice.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/8/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with challenging holes and mixed in well with easy holes. Large course with good size trees and nice fairways.
Cons: Trashy (needs to be kept cleaner). Got confussing with trying to find the next tee pads.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 In the middle of a disc golf wasteland...

1    7/29/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is located in a large park with a creek running through the middle of it and some smaller drainage ditches throughout the course. Elevation changes are small, but frequent enough to give you some sense of hills. Plenty of trees, but not quite a "wooded course". Good variety in hole distances. A few more long than short holes. Ok variety in hyzer/anhyzer shots, but most holes are straight. Tee pads were concrete and were big enough. Baskets were in fairly good condition. If you miss a putt it was your fault, not the basket's. There's one mandatory on hole 9 which has a 10ft. pole marking the line above the tree.
Cons: The creek smelled like sewage and had trash all around it. There weren't any trash cans or benches around except at the first tee. The only navigation problem was from number 16 to 17 which has a long walk. This is the only course for hours around.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course with some water hazards and interesting holes. A nice stop off of I-40 if you need a break from the road. There's a lost and found area on the picnic table next to the first tee. There's lots of dew in the morning, especially in the shaded areas. Bring an extra pair of socks. I would definitely play this course if I was in the area.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.