Amarillo, TX 
Disc Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: tolson Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / --   3 / 210ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
My new home course

5+    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: try122583
Played: 98  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's always nice when they take time to put in concrete tees, and not just for the main tee box. Even the alternate has concrete. The last thing you should have to worry about is footing when getting ready to drive.
- Not only the multiple tees, but multiple pin placements. This adds great variety to this course. Plus, they actually do move the baskets frequently, so playing the course doesn't get stale.
- Decent signage too, showing you were the multiple pin placements are at.
- A nice variety of short and long holes, regardless of how the baskets are placed. I find myself using multiple discs in each round.
- While this park offers a bunch of different activities to residents, they were able to keep the disc golf course away from the busier parts of the park. You don't have to worry about hitting innocent people with drives. All you have to worry about is your game.
- Good usage of what trees and water the park has to offer.
- If you're looking for friendly competition, it looks like there are plenty of local leagues on different nights. I've yet to try one out, but plan on doing so soon.
Cons: - If you like to wear sandals or play barefoot, stay away! Broken glass all over the place.
- The creek that runs through the park can sometimes pack a pungent odor. However, that smell isn't through the whole park, just on a hole or two.
- There are some nights where playing solo might take a long time. I've seen some large crowds out there. While there's nothing wrong with people playing disc golf, it could lead to a lot of waiting and standing around, keeping you from getting into a rhythm.
- If you're not a fan of playing in wind, some of these holes might not be as enjoyable. However, it is good practice!
Other Thoughts: It's a nice course and I'm glad to have it close to me for practice. I just wish there were more courses around it. That's kinda the problem here in the Panhandle; not a lot of places or towns to put courses in. Coming from a place where I was within a short days drive from a ton of courses, I would like to see some more go up somewhere. Over time, I'm sure new courses will come about. In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy Thompson Park. Also, if you're passing through the area, it is definitely worth a visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Yellow Gold in Texas DG Country

1    7/31/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Kiosk, bathrooms, excellent signage, and nice grippy tees. All of the amenities seem to be in good condition.
- Dual tees on every hole
- Creek comes into pay on several holes (#3, 16, 17). Bonus points for water hazards!
- Lots of shady spots for those hot TX days
- Nice mix of anny's and hyzers with variation in lengths (200-700 feet) and a nice balance been open and technical throws.
- Use of mandos, such as in hole #9
- Course flow and navigation is almost stupidly simple and very easy to get around. No real need for a map here!
- An acceptable course for first-timers or seasoned veterans--especially with the various tees.
- Evidence of alternative pin placements, which is nice for the locals
- Nice park altogether. You have the rolling hills, a creek, a section with a long line of big trees to navigate, some uphill vs. downhill shots, benches, and an overall nice DG experience!
- Course ends off on a really nice last hole which puts you right by the beginning.
Cons: - Very crowded. I played here at about 8:00am and there were already about 20 people here! I didn't have to really wait to throw any shots, but I did have to look out for people on my drives. I can only imagine this getting worse as the day goes on.
- no particularly difficult or demanding holes (no super big challenges) but all 18 holes are solid and fun to play
- Lacks any real elevation, although there are some rolling hills. It'd be ideal to have a nice steep drop for an uphill or downhill drive, but this is Amarillo. Perhaps I'm being too wishful as a Pennsylvania resident!
- Shards of broken glass are everywhere!
- Very dusty, but that's probably due to the drought affecting the state.
Other Thoughts: This was one the stops on my cross-country road trip, and I was really looking forward to playing in Texas; I wasn't disappointed. Seems like there's a really devoted disc golf scene here, and I'll gladly brave the crowds for that. All in all, I thought this course effectively used the park space well and made for an incredibly enjoyable round of 18. Not a world caliber-level course, but it's definitely NOT a pitch-and-putt either. Think of it as your average course with a few features that makes it above-average.

Signature holes:

#3: Creek is in play and basket is close to the water. Do you wanna hit chains or is the water going to mess with your head?
#14: Long bomb drive down the fairway. Watch out, though, because the basket is very close to the road and thus OB. Definitely a risk/reward hole.
#16: Anhyzer 277 feet to the basket, which is basically hugging the creek's bank.
#18: Fairway is just peppered with trees. Good use for a roller shot here. About 500 feet to the basket and a memorable end to the round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amarillo's Best

1    3/23/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Variety of Shot Types Required
Distances Vary (Short, Medium, Long)
Course is Away From Other Park Users
Benches Throughout the Course
Restrooms On-Site
Other Amenities/Activities (Zoo, Golf, Etc)
Great Use of Elevation
Water On Several Holes for Challenge
Ample Parking
Cons:
Creek/Water is Nasty
Could Be Cleaner (Glass and Litter Throughout)
Course Is Hard to Locate In the Big Park
Other Thoughts:
Thompson Park Disc Golf Course is located in a 610-acre park in Amarillo, Texas. Besides the 18-hole disc golf course the park is also home to a number of other activities such as playgrounds, picnic areas, the Amarillo Zoo and a 36-hole golf course.

Enter the park from NW 24th Ave on Comanchero, just east of the the ball-golf course. Take a left onto West Chapparrel Road and veer left into the parking lot. From the parking lot you will be able to see the restrooms, practice basket, information board, and first tee.

The first hole is pretty straight forward with little to no obstacles in the way. After hole 1 the difficulty starts to pick up with water coming into play on holes 2, 3, and 4 nearly all year, and continuing on holes 5,6, and 7 during rainy weather. The larger creek will come back into play on 15, 16, and 18 and can get quite nasty so be sure to bring extra discs, towels, and shoes, if you plan on trying to retrieve any plastic.

The course makes great use of what elevation the have and you can tell the designers put a lot of care and thought into this one. The distances range from 197ft. to 619ft. and you will find yourself using a variety of shots off the tee.

Overall I really enjoyed this course and will definitely play it again when I am passing through. If you find yourself in the panhandle I recommend giving this course a try, you won't be disappointed. I feel this course could really use some exposure so they could get the chance to install more courses in and around Amarillo.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/8/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course with challenging holes and mixed in well with easy holes. Large course with good size trees and nice fairways.
Cons: Trashy (needs to be kept cleaner). Got confussing with trying to find the next tee pads.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 In the middle of a disc golf wasteland...

1    7/29/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is located in a large park with a creek running through the middle of it and some smaller drainage ditches throughout the course. Elevation changes are small, but frequent enough to give you some sense of hills. Plenty of trees, but not quite a "wooded course". Good variety in hole distances. A few more long than short holes. Ok variety in hyzer/anhyzer shots, but most holes are straight. Tee pads were concrete and were big enough. Baskets were in fairly good condition. If you miss a putt it was your fault, not the basket's. There's one mandatory on hole 9 which has a 10ft. pole marking the line above the tree.
Cons: The creek smelled like sewage and had trash all around it. There weren't any trash cans or benches around except at the first tee. The only navigation problem was from number 16 to 17 which has a long walk. This is the only course for hours around.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course with some water hazards and interesting holes. A nice stop off of I-40 if you need a break from the road. There's a lost and found area on the picnic table next to the first tee. There's lots of dew in the morning, especially in the shaded areas. Bring an extra pair of socks. I would definitely play this course if I was in the area.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

5+    1/23/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: Froztfx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent for a junkie to get hooked. I started playing here. It so far is the only one in Amarillo so not much to compare to for a new player. Got a friend of mine hooked & my brother from San Antonio, who took a few of my extra discs back and got some of his friends hooked back home.

After playing a few courses in San Antonio I would say it is really easy.

Excellent idea with the benches in case of slow play.
Cons: Could use some more sculpted holes with trees to throw thru/around. The creek comes into play a lot on holes 4, 15, 16, and 18. Can definitely lose one if the water is murky. If you have a golden retriever bring it!
Other Thoughts: Bring more Disc golf to Amarillo!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course everyday/ Great course on a calm day

1    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 27  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice park with plentiful space, decent grass and mature trees.

-As much distance as any disc golfer would ever need (some ULTRA long holes).

-Layout uses trees, creek and elevation as obstacles very well.

-I was able to find the layout without much trouble.

-Winds will add a tough challenge if you like that

-At the edge of the park there is a zoo with giant bison and other animals. It is amusing to shoot off the tee with giant exotic animals in the background.

Cons: Winds- They can be extremely frustrating for those of us who dont play flawlessly in the absense of wind. It is much more a nuissance on the longer holes that are grip and rip from the tee.

There were a couple holes in which I could not find the basket from the tee.

Teepads- I played in the morning when the morning dew made it very wet, and with the short teepads it was very hard to get some long drives off.
Other Thoughts: The layout definitely gets a 4. There are not too many extremely easy, boring holes. This course will challenge you with distance, wind, elevation and many obstacles. Yet accuracy is hard enough for me without wind, so it was very frustrating trying to get good shots off. On a calm day I would love to play this course. But with all the wind this course didnt have me itching to come back another day. Nevertheless this course is very well done and deserves an above average rating.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great park!

5+    8/1/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout, varied distances, and great tee pads. Elevation changes good for Texas! This course will challenge you, and it's a good walk. The creek plays into several holes and adds a great challenge. If you are intermediate or above player, you will be challenged - but don't let that scare you, scoring well is still possible.

Great mix of straight shots, anhyzers, and hyzers. Need to bring every shot in your bag. Also has a good mix of par 4's! Great trees and large objects to block the sun!
Cons: Bring all of your discs and Water! Especially in the summer!
In the panhandle of Texas it can be very windy so keep that in mind.
Won't affect play but some of the tee signs are missing or vandalized.

My buddy lost one of his discs in the creek that was ankle high and went shoeless in after it, he came out with the disc and a LEECH! I thought it was awesome but he did not, so be careful in the creek.

The creek will eat plastic. Water is in play on 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Friendly and active locals. I had someone come up to me as I was playing a solo round and introduce themselves and invite me out to play in the bi-weekly tournaments. You should play here if you get the chance! If I lived any closer I would love the locals and activity of them!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Better than a 3

1    6/17/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- This is a nice course. It is definitely better than the 3 rating it has. I would score it higher than a 3.5 if it had better signage.
- It gets dark late in Amarillo. I was racing from Albuquerque to get there and didn't think I was going to make it. Pulled in at 8:15 and played the whole course with daylight to spare.
- The course has a mix of tough holes that are long (par 4ish) and short birdie opportunities. There are several places you can go OB... a dirty river skirts along a few of the holes and there are several pins near roads.
- For Texas... they sure did utilize the little bit of elevation they did have.
Cons:
- The creek/river that skirts a few of the holes was lined with broken glass and plastic bags that had floated downstream and become intertwined in the vegetation, etc... It was pretty dirty.
- Signage was terrible... everyone is a fag apparently because every tee-pad was graffitied with the names of dudes who other dudes thought were fags. Distances of the holes would be good enough for me.
- Supposedly, the neighborhood is dangerous. Either way, you could get lost in this park looking for the course... or even lost in the neighborhood surrounding the park as you try to find your way.
- I think I saw a prostitute giving a BJ in the parking lot. Seriously!
Other Thoughts:
- Bring your own beer and ice chest with you on your road trips... I slept in a dry county after leaving Amarillo on my way to Oklahoma. That F-ing sucked.
- Thanks for the help John Rock... your course in Amarillo was fantastic!
- My Score: -1

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety here.

1    6/13/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the fact that this is not a flat course and it is designed well with that in mind. Truly does have a full range of holes here: long/short, sharp right/left, uphill/downhill and water comes into play on several holes. There is quiet a bit of variety on this course and no tow holes felt the same. Large teepads provide plenty of run up. Baskets are in good shape. It has a nice flow to it, each hole leads nicely to the next. Good group of local people that were then when I was that help you out and whom really enjoy the game.
Cons: There was some navigation issues between the holes, better signage needed. A few holes had trash and broken glass around them. Graffiti on signs and baskets. I am partial to heavily wooded courses and this is not. A park road runs throught so watch for cars and people.
Other Thoughts: To me this is a classic disc golf course. It has appeal for both beginner and pro alike. A course that you would want to play time and time again. Even if it is the only course for a hundred miles around, it would satsify that daily fix of getting some throwing in. If traveling in the area on I-40, then it is definately worth the stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.